Recent Searches
Book online or call: +1 (702) 648-5873+1 (702) 648-5873

Skip-the-Line: Guided Colosseum Tour Including the Ground Floor and Second Tier

Roma, Italy
Book online or call: +1 (702) 648-5873+1 (702) 648-5873
Special Offer

From €30.60

€34.00  Save €3.40

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

1 hour (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
Offered in: English and 6 more


Discover the history of the Colosseum on a skip-the-line tour of the ancient amphitheater. After bypassing the long entrance lines, you’ll visit the ground floor and second tier with a guide. Hear about the emperors who presided over the battles, and the gladiators who fought to their deaths as you explore. Groups are limited to 30 people, and several start times are available when you book.
  • Skip-the-line tour of the Colosseum in Rome
  • Avoid standing in the long entrance lines at the monument
  • Hear the history of the gladiator battles from a guide
  • Explore the ground floor and second tier on your tour
  • Choose from a selection of start times when you book


42 Reviews
5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Excellent tour
Andrea H
, Jun 2019
Travelled with parents and decided to do the hour tour. Quick entry and our tour guide ( a very informed Irish lady) was very entertaining and made sure we all had time to see the areas we had paid to see on this tour. She was excellent and made sure we all got what we wanted out of the visit - offering us more after our initial hour should we like . Highly recommend !!
Still Trying to get a refund
, Jun 2019
Don’t waste your time. This company have no idea. We booked an English tour and ended up ‘on an Italian tour’. We weren't the only people this happened to. Their customer service? Cancel your ticket with no refund and rebook this afternoon at full price. I would avoid as this add as it doesn’t align with their systems when you show up. Funny that after contacting Viator later that day they said the company had the money and could have rearranged at no cost. Smells like a tourist trap.
Response from Host , Jun 2019
We are very sad about your review. We use Viator connected to our system. Every booking is automatically confirmed and the tickets issued. You booked with us the Italian Skip the Line Colosseum tour. On the Name of the tour, in the description also and on your voucher is clearly noticed that the tour is in Italian, with an Italian speaking guide. We provide tours in 7 languages. All this information is clearly provided on our booking page. We provided you with the tour you booked with us. We understand that you made a mistake booking the wrong tour, but we couldn't reschedule your tour with a later one without new tickets. We paid your tickets, the guide and taxes for you. We asked you to pay the new tickets only, to reschedule your tour with a later one. Within 24 hours we cannot cancel or change tickets as Colosseum don't allow us to do. We have properly replied to you from our customer service about this. If you have any other doubt, we are at your disposal. You can contact us and we will send you all the documentation and information about your case.
Loriann G
, Jun 2019
We took our tour in the morning. We had a wonderful tour guide. She was funny and had a lot of great information. Really enjoyed all the sites! Had a lot of fun!
Great to skip the line and have a little history.
, Jun 2019
This was the perfect tour for my teen girls who didn’t want to go on any tours. We got a lot of history and the skipping of the lines was great. The crowds are no joke, so go early. We did the 8:45am tour and it was perfect. The audio could be improved, or the guide should slow down so that she does not get out of range. That happened a few times. Overall, we are glad we did it.
"skip the line" literally!!!
Neel P
, Jun 2019
We were greeted on time at the meeting point. Check in for the tour was quick and easy. The meeting point is easy to find if you have Google maps and follow the instructions as per the tour operator. We had good loud and clear earphones to hear to the tour guide. The guide was very informative (working part-time as an Archaeologist!) and made the tour interesting as she shared facts about the Colosseum that even the locals are not aware of. She also gave us some time to take pictures. Some people in our group would have preferred more time to take pictures. The best part was "skip the line". Without that we would have to at least wait an hour in a queue to get in. Definitely recommend booking this tour.
Poor. Guide
, Jun 2019
The tour guide was very poor, he rushed through the tour (I,ve got a sneaky feeling he was paid by the tour, the more tours he did the more pay he got) one of our tour had a very bad limp and was little slow, we came to a part of the tour where we had to climb a number of steps, the one of our group with the bad limp struggled in pain climbing the stairs, before we did ascend the stairs the guide casually mentioned that there was a lift if we couldn’t make the stairs, he made no effort to show where the lift was, he Just rushed off up the steps, if any one had used the lift they would have lost the tour group, the poor lady with the limp had a torrid time keeping up. Sorry but the tour guide poor
Lots of history
, Jun 2019
I only did a 1 hr tour of the colosseum due to my flight and I would have liked to have done the full tour to Palatine Hill as well. It was so interesting learning about the history from the guide. I would have liked to have more time inside looking at the information available through the museum. Still, definitely worth the money.
Great tour, bad organizing
, May 2019
The tour itself and the guide were fantastic. But it took me a while finding my group. After I registered, Viator gave me no information whatsoever on where I'm supposed to find the group. None. I had to ask a ton of random people outside, and even when I found the group, my name initially wasn't in there, the guy had to call the office and confirm.
Colosseum fabulous- guide was ok
, May 2019
We loved seeing the Colosseum but the only downfall to this tour was that our guide talked sooo fast that it was very hard to keep up. He had a very strong accent, so that combined with the speed of his talk made it difficult to understand him. Also, if we didn’t stay extremely close to him, our headphones cut out so we lost a lot of what he said. He was very knowledgeable and very easy to ask questions to, but I wish I could have understood more of the facts.
Response from Host , May 2019
Hi schipwl, Thank you for posting a review about your Explore Italy Tours tour. We are very sorry to hear that you found the explanation during this tour difficult to understand. On the other hand, thank you for your comments on the guide, as he easy to ask question to and was knowledgeable as well. At Explore Italy Tours, we work very closely with our guides in order to offer a meaningful and unforgettable customer experience and it's disappointing to find out that was not the case on this occasion. Once again, thank you very much for your time writing a review. Best regards, Explore Italy Tours CS team.
The initial tour was fine, very...
, Jan 2018
The initial tour was fine, very informative. I wish we had been given time to visit the book shop on the second floor, but were not. We also took the second part of the tour on the Palatine Hill, suggest everyone skip that because it was not that good.

Product code: 21985P2

Explore Similar Things to Do