Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Girona and Costa Brava SMALL GROUP Tour from Barcelona

star-4.5
|
Barcelona, Spain
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

From US$100.46

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon10 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Discover the coastal splendor of the Costa Brava region on a full-day trip to Girona and Calella de Palafrugell from Barcelona. Travel through the scenic Catalan countryside, and discover the atmospheric streets of Girona’s medieval Old Town. Admire the flagrant fortresses of Pals, absorb the seaside charm of rural fishing village, Calella de Palafrugell, and admire the dramatic landscapes of Begur, the former home of an ancient castle. Receive personalized attention from your guide on this small-group tour.
  • Girona and Costa Brava tour from Barcelona
  • Visit the rural fishing village, Calella de Palafrugell
  • Catch sight of the Girona Cathedral
  • Relax on the beach or go for a swim
  • Transport by air-conditioned coach
Climb aboard a comfortable, air-conditioned vehicle at a centrally located pickup point in Barcelona, and admire the picturesque Catalan countryside as you travel toward your fist stop, the ancient city of Girona. Listen as your guide regales you with tales dating back to Girona’s 76 BC origin, and then embark on a tour of the medieval metropolis’ rich architectural tableau. 

During some leisurely free time, see the great Cathedral, founded in 1038 on the site of a former Mosque, admire the spectacular Roman walls that defended the city from attackers, or travel back in time at one of Girona’s comprehensive museums. 

Return to the vehicle and then head to Pals, a small city that grew from the foreboding fortress at its center. Continue to the charming fishing village of Calella de Palafrugell, and gaze at the dramatic hillside scenery as you travel past Begur, site of ancient castle ruins. 

On arrival in Calella de Palafrugell, relish the picturesque tableau of whitewashed houses and pristine sandy beaches, and set off to explore the rugged coastline. Sink your toes into the soft sands of the beach, take a dip in the refreshing waters of the ocean, or absorb the botanical beauty of the cliff top gardens at Cap Roig. 

Reconvene with your guide and group at a prearranged time, and relax during the journey back to Barcelona, where your tour concludes.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Pals
The tour leaves Barcelona at 8:30am and head straight up to visit de pristine medieval village of Pals. Pals is one of the best preserved medieval villages in the region. Its picturesque cobbled streets are home to a number of interesting shops, selling everything from ceramics and local handicrafts to tradicional food and souvenirs. Your guide will give you a short tour, taking in the medieval defensive tours, the old church and the original villages walls. From Pals, we head to the fishing village of Calella de Palafrugell.
Duration: 45 Minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Calella de Palafrugell
Follow your guide as they introduce you to the stunning Costa Brava and to one of the most beautiful villages on this stretch of coast. You will have time to explore some of the coastal footpaths, take a dip in the water in a secluded cove, and try some local seafood in a traditional restaurant. This delightful escape has whitewashed houses that reach right down to the sea-front and a number of tradicional restaurants, perfect for a leisurely lunch. From Calella, we head to the medieval Roman city of Girona.
Duration: 150 Minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Girona
Our last stop is the colorful medieval Roman city of Girona. Girona is a well-established city that has survived many sieges in the course of its long history, since its founding in around 76BC. The guide will take you around the old part of the city, giving you and pointing out information about the most important historical sites such as the Cathedral, founded in 1038 on the site of a former Mosque, the spectacular Roman walls, along which you can walk, and various sites of historial interest as the Jewish Call and the Arab Bath house. If you prefer, the narrow streets of the old town are very pleasant just to wander around, indulge in a spot of window-shopping, or find a secluded café and sit back to watch people pass by. Your guide will give you recommendations of what to do in your free time so you make the most of it. From Girona, we will head back to Barcelona arriving around 7:00pm.
Duration: 150 Minutes
Admission Ticket Free

Traveller Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
675 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travellers
star-5
Amazing day!
Connector21073538565
, Jan 2020
This was our favorite tour of our whole trip to Spain and that is saying a lot! We had Chavi as our guide and he was incredible! He was so kind and smart with amazing details and history given throughout. We learned so much about Spain and the Catalonia region and culture. The stops were so beautiful and we absolutely loved stopping for some down time and lunch in the fisherman's village of Calella. My husband swam and I laid on the beach and then we had an amazing lunch on the water. Girona was incredible and the architecture was so much to take in! Thank you for an amazing memory!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear, We are really glad you had such a wonderful experience. The Costa Brava region is really beautiful and authentic. Sincerely, Núria
star-5
Incredible!
HoFamilyTravels
, Dec 2019
We originally signed up for the Game of Thrones Girona tour. Was informed the day before the tour had to be cancelled as only two of us signed up. They asked if we were interested in joining this tour instead which also covered the GoT filming locations...... and MORE! No regrets as our guide Enrique also Happened to be a guide on GoT tours. So we go more than we bargained. In addition to Girona we got to see the beautiful Costa Brava. Our tour started the second we hopped into the van. Enrique was knowledgeable and happy to share all the sights along the drive. We couldn't have asked for a better tour guide. Not forgetting... we were also blessed with a great tour group. Very kind, considerate and respectful bunch. I'd certainly recommend this tour to anyone... Game of Thrones fans or not!
star-2
Thankful to be alive
AttackedInTheShower
, Nov 2019
The destinations were incredible. There was so much to be learned but unfortunately our tour guide, Pablo, was so busy trying to "clown around" and entertain us that he missed the mark, in my opinion, of sharing with the group all the amazing things we were seeing with so little actual focus. The biggest complaint would be his driving. Texting while driving on a freeway. Doing dance moves and waving hands to the music and off the steering wheel on a freeway right next to 18 wheel truck. Never once using a turn signal. This guy would be fun to have at a party to entertain your guests with a limited time frame but 10 hours of non stop tom-foolery in place of sharing all that could have been shared....too bad. For example, we walked by a burial site that a couple of us stopped and happen to read the descriptive plaque without a mention as he was busy with his antics.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Sir, I am appalled to hear about the behavior of Pedro. This is NOT what we except of our guides. It is OK to be amusing and funny, but any guide should know where to draw the line. I am especially upset about your comments regarding his driving. I will talk to him and I can assure you that this will not happen again. Thank you so much for letting us know. Best regards, Robert
star-5
Great time
BobbyGil
, Nov 2019
Our trip to Girona and Costa Brava was fun but not our best trip while visiting Spain. First we went to Girona and Costa Brava the first part of October and the weather was nice and the crowds were small. We were able to take great photos on our trip. Our guide was great and recommended a great restaurant for lunch. We would recommend Viator when traveling.
star-4
Great locations - not good balance of time
H8931HXjan
, Nov 2019
We enjoyed all 3 stops - really loved Girona. Problem was that our tour guide allowed us too much time for lunch in each location. Too much time along the beach deprived us of much needed time in Girona.
star-4
Lovely day out
895melissa
, Oct 2019
We enjoyed this tour to Girona and Costa Brava. Our guide Marta was friendly and knowledgeable. With such a small group she was able to answer our questions and give personalised advice on what to do in our spare time. The only downside to this tour was that when we were sitting in the back seat of the minivan (with the airconditioning on) it was very difficult to hear what she was saying and so I feel that I missed quite a lot of the interesting information that she had to share. There were only 8 of us on the tour and so I know it might seem as though it would be unnecessary but in that noisy van, a small microphone would have been great! Otherwise, a beautiful part of the world and a lovely day out.
star-2
Equipment failure
Virginiatravelor406
, Oct 2019
We were unable to visit the final stop, Girona, when the bus clutch went out. We spent 3 hours waiting for a replacement bus. No refund offered. Very disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hello, I am sorry about the breakdown you had with us. There are some things totally beyond out control. In actual fact we took everybody from where we broke down to the town of Girona by taxi. There was a delay while we arranged the taxis, but the tour continued as normal, albeit slightly later. We did everything in our control to make sure we gave the tour we promised, which was why we did not offer a refund apart from complimentary refreshments., Best regards, Robert
star-5
Great day out from Barcelona
BuoyoBuoy
, Oct 2019
This was a long day from 0830 till 1645 but was well worth the experience. Being only 8 in the van was a good number of people and our guide was the driver. He was very good in his talks and conducted a good timetable.The places we visited of old towns and their history was very informative and the beach resort we visited for lunch was excellent. The price for the tour was well worth the money
star-3
Leave out Calella
suezb2015
, Oct 2019
Girona and Pals were awesome, but rushed. And yet we spent almost 2 hours Callella, which should just be a photo stop if at all. We were highly encouraged to eat at 2 local restaurants. The food was awful and very expensive. My hunch is that the tour company gets a kickback. Can’t think of any other reason to recommend these two restaurants. The time there could have been much better spent divided between the other stops - which were incredible and that had wonderful and plentiful options for food.
star-5
Must to do when u r in Spain
Sightseer44030232546
, Oct 2019
Fell in love with the place..besides Girona being the place where game of thrones was shot i believe the place has such a old town vibes which is such a fantastic change from the everyday rush we all go through. The guide gave us a good details about each place and enough time for us to explore the place and take pics in leisure. Loved every part of the day

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 3142GIRONA

Explore Similar Things to Do