Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena

Cartagena, Colombia
Likely to Sell Out

From US$49.00

Select Date and Travellers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Totumo Mud Volcano is a one-of-a-kind attraction home to mineral-infused mud that’s reputed to have healing properties. Avoid the hassle of public transport and the expense of taxis on a stress-free trip to the the volcano, which include snacks and convenient hotel pickup and drop-off. You’ll have ample time to soak in the mud bath and, unlike conventional tours from Cartagena, this excursion includes a stop at Manzanillo Beach.
  • Save time and travel to Totumo Mud Volcano with ease
  • Avoid finding a meeting point with convenient hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Spend ample time soaking in the mineral-infused mud
  • Make a bonus stop at Manzanillo Beach

What's Included

  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Driver/guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
  • Snacks
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Centro Historico (Amurallado), Centro Historico, Cartagena 130001 Colombia

Please Note

We pick up all travelers at the hotel, so we need mandatory the location of your hotel for the pick up, please give detail information.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Swimsuit required inside the volcano
  • Each traveler is allowed a maximum of 1 suitcase and 1 carry-on bag. Oversized or excessive luggage (e.g. surfboards, golf clubs or bikes) may have certain restrictions, please inquire with the operator prior to travel to confirm if your excess luggage is acceptable
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Operated by BackpackersCtg

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travellers upon arrival

Q:What is the policy on sanitisation during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?

A:The policies on sanitisation are:
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?

A:The policies on social distancing are:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips


Its a great half day experience but try to get there early.
Short and sweet The volcano mud is remarkably rich and feels great The wash down afterwards is definitely a part of the experience as they literally bathe you Food is more of a snack but it is tasty
Once you get to the volcano you’ll be a little weary with how tall it is but after the climb you see the mud and be a little hesitant but just jump in and you won’t regret it.
Reviews
4.0
131 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers
Showing 1-10 of 131 reviews
Our tour guide Jose and...
Charmaine_D, May 2022
Our tour guide Jose and driver Jesus were amazing. The experience was once in a lifetime. The massage was relaxing and the lake wash was fun. Highly recommend to anyone.
It’s a weird and...
Barbara_C, May 2022
It’s a weird and different feeling once the massager let’s you go, you will know what I mean. Must do
1 traveler found this review helpful
Waste of a time and money grab
Juan_S, May 2022
Swimming in mud, laying in mud, in a desolate village that’s run down. No working toilets or any of that. Def not something I’d do again. And you pay for the tour then pay everyone there from the kid who talks to you to the person who just pours water on you. It’s a money grab. Save ya money and go to a spa.
Awesome experience!
Marlana, Apr 2022
Tour guide Alex was awesome. There were a lot of people there and a lot of people in the mud volcano at the same time. Not great for pictures as you'll have a bunch of other people in with you. Amazing experience none the less.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thanks Marlana for us is very important to know we are doing a good job.
Buyer beware
candi, Apr 2022
It was memorable. We tan late because some people didn’t show. Then we had to rush back because someone had scheduled a Covid test. So, I don’t feel as though I had much time to experience anything. It was poorly organized. Also, the tips for all the photographers, washer women, etc was very confusing and poorly executed. Come with small bills!! It was interesting.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Candi Thanks for letting us know in which things we need to work in and get better, always we are looking for the best so we hope we can have a second chance if you come back.
Highly recommend
Matthew_L, Mar 2022
Great time - Jesus the guide speaks amazingly good English, very helpful, very clear, very nice once in a lifetime experience.
Excellent experience.
Olivia_K, Mar 2022
Excellent experience! Thoughtful guide, really well planned, highly recommended. And the mud volcano was so incredibly cool! Such a unique experience.
DO IT!
Rontreisha_J, Mar 2022
This experience was unforgettable. From the guide (Alex) to the men who helped you up the stairs (Miguel), the guys massaging you in the mud and the ladies who THOROUGHLY clean you in the water afterwards. I’d never done something like this before but I’d definitely do it again. I felt so refreshed afterwards and the designated picture person took GREAT shots
Great half day trip
Steven_M, Mar 2022
Our guides Jesus and Luis were the best. Very helpful. They explained our trip at the start and made sure we were never alone. Jesus shared many interesting facts and the massages in the volcano, ladies try at helped us wash off the mud and the great restaurant made for an amazing day. Highly recommend.
Muddy crew
Fatima_C, Mar 2022
The mud had warm spots once you entered. My family and I enjoyed ourselves. This was our first time experiencing this mud adventure. I highly recommend it.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Hi Fatima thanks for your comment we really appreciate it.
MUST DO ACTIVITY!!!!!
Kody_V, Mar 2022
The experience was amazing! Jesus was patient, informative, and kind! The Mud was AMAZING! I felt so rejuvenated after I got out and rinsed off in the water. I immediately saw my dead skin shedding and my skin felt clean and clear. I would 10/10 recommend this tour!
A Must Do Experience
Aaron_G, Feb 2022
Such a wonderful half day driving down to the active mud volcano. We read others reviews to help prep, but with Jesus as our guide (ha!) everything was well explained. Come in comfortable clothes and just change into your swimsuit there. They guard all your belongings and you give tips to the people who help you with photos from your phone (don’t worry it avoids all mud), mud massage (fun but interesting experience), and the lady who will help clean all the mud out in the lake. Be prepared that lady does not mess around, but get the mud out. Also bring flip flops or something other than your shoes to wear for hiking up to the volcano. Such a fun trip, so glad we did it.
Unique Experience | Totally Worth It!
SMZ, Feb 2022
Great tour! Picked up in air-conditioned van, transportation to Volcano, guides watched out things, we changed and got to enjoy the mud bath which was awesome! We received massages and were washed clean in the water below by locals. We enjoyed a snack from one of the local vendors before returning back. Be sure to bring money for lots of tips.
Great experience but have n open mind
Ronna_D, Jan 2022
I had a good time on this tour and Jesus was a experienced guide. Once in a lifetime thing to do. Just a couple of things people u should be aware of. Make sure you have plenty(and I mean plenty ) of small tip monies because you will be tipping no less than 4 people but probably several more. The guy who takes photos for you (and you want those photos ) the person who takes n keeps your shoes safe, the person who gives you a massage whether you want it or not, the person who bathes you (and by this I mean BATHES you). Try to get the earliest departure to this experience as possible As we did with Jesus which was great because we beat a large bus getting there and they had to stand around waiting for the rest of us while we were enjoying our mud experience and they stood standing in the searing heat. If you have any mobility issues know that you will be climbing several stairs going up when you are dry but it becomes trickier when you are coming down and you are full of mud that is dripping off of you so you are slippery and it is slick to come back down those stairs and by stairs I mean that loosely. Bring an old bathing suit as you will be getting mud out of it for days even though you were rinsed off in the lake nearby. If you don’t like to be touched make sure you let the massage guys in the mud know that otherwise you will be touched all over the place. On a more serious note if you do have any open wounds I would not suggest this experience as it’s not the most sanitary. This brings me to where you are washed off in the nearby lake. When we arrived there were no less than four cows grazing in the water where we would eventually be rinsed off so you can imagine the things the cows do in addition to eating and drinking from that water. When you do go down to be rinsed they are very careful to help you into the water so you don’t slip and when you get in they are very assertive in getting all the mud off of you and from every crack and crevice. By this I mean that there were several men and women that had their bathing suits taken off of them by the ladies to “get the mud out of the bathing suit“. This didn’t bother me or my friend however I feel the need to mention it because you will get to know the people in your tour group rather quickly if you hadn’t already introduced yourself ha ha. After that you are headed back to where you left your personal belongings for a free non-alcoholic drink or a beer which was a very nominal fee plus some delicious empanadas. This is where all the money for the tips Is handed out because each of the people that assisted you along the way will show up and ask for tips. It’s very humbling and unique experience and one I recommend.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Amazing!! Highly recommended
Nealraj_B, Nov 2021
What a great day trip! Our guide Melany was incredible! We got to the volcano early before the crowd and had plenty of time to enjoy the mud with our two young children. We then had a great snack where our guide knew everyone and even got us more food. Overall awesome trip. Absolutely recommend!
Awesome
Tanisha_P, Nov 2021
This experience was one of a lifetime. The tour guide was very nice I can’t remember his name I think it was Alex. I was nervous about leaving our stuff with the owner of the restaurant but he was super honest and watched our stuff so we could enjoy the mud. The massage, pictures and bath afterwards is work the extra 5,000 pesos each. That is not even 10 USD. Just do it. I would definitely do this again.
Got it out da MUD
Tiffany_J, Nov 2021
We had a great experience at the mud volcano. Our tour guide Mel was excellent had a great playlist for us to listen to and very knowledgeable. Would definitely go back on this tour.
Tour was 2 hours late,...
Corey_K, Nov 2021
Tour was 2 hours late, hadn’t even picked everyone up by 2:30. We Had to cancel. Expecting a refund.
A worthwhile experience
Yaasmin_M, Nov 2021
Our tour guides were amazing. We were picked up from our airbnb. We were able to stop at a gas station to get water and change (definitely bring small bills for tipping). The mud volcano was a different experience in a good way. It felt very refreshing and relaxing. We did the morning tour and there was barely anybody else there so we spent ample amount of time there. Afterwards we washed off on a lake. If there's enough of you, you can wash each other off instead of young the women there to help. We even had empanadas and drinks afterwards which was an unexpected but great surprise. I highly recommend it!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Jesus is the best tour guide
kfaulk573, Oct 2021
This was an awesome experience. Our tour guide Jesus created a safe space with casual conversation. He was knowledgeable and helpful. The people of the city are pleasant and excited to host tourists.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Thanks a lot we make everything possible to give you the best Experience.
Totumo Mud Tour
Michelle_H, Sept 2021
Mel and Louis were both AMAZING! They were punctual. Communication was great. They were nice, informative, and helpful!
Had a great time!
Judith_J, Sept 2021
A great tour! Nico was a fantastic guide and took the time to explain the historical significance of places along the way. The mud volcano has a weird sensation when you first step in, but feels amazing once you get used to it. Be prepared and bring cash to tip!
🌋
Ari_S, Aug 2021
It was nice seeing the countryside on the way to the attraction. We got there early so it was empty.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
We appreciate your comment and that you had fun on the tour. We hope to see you soon to assist you.
Once in a Lifetime Experience
A_S, Aug 2021
AMAZING experience!! Our tour guide Melany was truly a gem and made sure our group was well-informed and appropriately stepped in when the locals were getting aggressive with tip requests. She was very flexible with us and willing to accommodate according to our requests within reason. We really enjoyed this unique experience!
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thank you very much for choosing Backpackers to be your hosts, we appreciate your recommendation and your excellent rating, we hope you return to have the pleasure of serving you. Thanks a lot!
Be prepared to get dirty!
Karrah_B, Jul 2021
The tour guide was really nice and friendly. The area where the volcano is is not a really nice area. When we exited the mud bath, guys were cat calling and whistling which was uncomfortable. There is no working/clean bathroom. You rinse off in the ocean. Overall it was an ok experience! The mud bath felt really cool to sit in.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thank you very much for choosing Backpackers to be your hosts, we appreciate your recommendation and your excellent rating, we hope you return to have the pleasure of serving you. Thanks a lot!
Great experience
DelilahBlue, Jul 2021
Great tour. Melany and Luis were amazing tour guides. They were knowledgeable and informative.. ESP with how to haggle and deal with tips. We knew what was happening every step of the way and the ride back was enjoyable with melanys playlist!!
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thank you very much for choosing Backpackers to be your hosts, we appreciate your recommendation and your excellent rating, we hope you return to have the pleasure of serving you. Thanks a lot!
Great time.
Terrence_R, Jul 2021
What a great trip and the tour guide and driver were also so nice. I had a great time doing this I am so glad I did this if you ever go to Cartegnea please do this tour.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thank you very much for choosing Backpackers to be your hosts, we appreciate your recommendation and your excellent rating, we hope you return to have the pleasure of serving you. Thanks a lot!
Mud Volcano Experience
Jorn_H, Jun 2021
The experience was awesome, at first heading up the stairs and realizing the rails that keep you fro. Falling are quiet nerve rocking if you're not adventurous. Getting in the mud volcano and massage while relaxing. Tour guide Melany did a wonderful job communicating with the locals and picking us up and getting. Us back safe to our hotel. Tour also stops for you to take a pic of the Cartagena sign.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
We appreciate your comment and that you had fun on the tour, we hope to see you soon to assist you.
Great would do it again
Kevin_W, Jun 2021
Relaxing in the mud and the entire experience was awesome. The staff and everyone apart of the tour was helpful and informative
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thank you very much for choosing Backpackers to be your hosts, we appreciate your recommendation and your excellent rating, we hope you return to have the pleasure of serving you. Thanks a lot!
Amazing
Jaime_M, Jun 2021
The tour was amazing. No complains at all please listen to what the tour person is telling you before you arrived on ur tour.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thank you very much for choosing Backpackers to be your hosts, we appreciate your recommendation and your excellent rating, we hope you return to have the pleasure of serving you. Thanks a lot!
...

Questions?

Product code: 34334P2