Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Montenegro - Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Dubrovnik, Croatia

From US$75.71

Select Date and Travellers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 11 to 12 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup from select hotels
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

From Dubrovnik, visit off-the-beaten-path Montenegro, a diminutive southeast European country that boasts big things: the UNESCO-World Heritage-listed Bay of Kotor, the walled seaside town of Budva, and the eye-pleasing city of Kotor, situated within Europe’s southernmost fjord. Have some free time to explore Kotor and Budva on your own and then enjoy a ferry ride across the Bay of Kotor on your way back to Dubrovnik.
  • Day trip to Montenegro from Dubrovnik, including Kotor and Budva
  • Learn about Montenegro’s colorful history from a guide
  • Explore at your own pace and check out sights such as the Cathedral of St Tryphon
  • Cruise back across the idyllic Bay of Kotor, a UNESCO World Heritage site

What's Included

  • Transport by coach
  • Tour escort
  • Local taxes
  • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
  • Ferry ride across the Bay of Kotor (on the way back)
  • Local guide in Kotor
  • Entrance fee to the Church of Our Lady of the Rocks in Perast
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Turistički informativni centar Gruž / Tourist Board Office GRUŽ
    Obala Ivana Pavla II 1, 20000, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

08:00 am

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Port of Gruž, Port Authority building, Obala Ivana Pavla II 1, 20000, Dubrovnik Post Office Lapad, HP - Hrvatska pošta, Ul. Miljenka Bratoša 21, 20103, Dubrovnik Cavtat Bus Stop, Bus Terminal, 20210, Cavtat

What To Expect

Begin the full-day trip to Montenegro at Gruz Port, Dubrovnik’s ‘new’ port, located in the northern part of the city, or start with a pickup from your hotel. As the comfortable air-conditioned coach snakes along the gorgeous seaside highway in a southernly direction, enjoy the views of the shimmering sea and learn from your guide about the history and culture of Montenegro.

After crossing the border, encounter the Bay of Kotor, flanked by towering craggy mountain and dotted with bay-side medieval villages. Ride through Risan, one of the most ancient settlements on the bay. Learn how how Queen Teuta, monarch of the Illyrian dynasty, once fought off the mighty Romans. From there, ride on to gorgeous Kotor, a UNESCO-protected town tucked away within a fjord. In Kotor, enjoy free time to explore the Cathedral of St. Typhon or the city walls.

Hop back on the bus and after reaching the medieval walled seaside town of Budva, hop off the bus and take some more free time for exploring. Lounge on the beautiful beach, wander the streets, sit down for a seafood lunch (at own expense), and gawk at the plus-sized yachts in the marina.

In the late afternoon, reunite with your guide. After a short bus ride north, board a ferry for a trip across the Bay of Kotor. Finally, get dropped off back at Dubrovnik’s Gruz port or at your hotel in Dubrovnik.

Dubrovnik

Pick up from selected hotels within Dubrovnik area.

5 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Konavle (Pass By)

Passing through

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Due to new EU regulations, the border crossing on some occasions can take up to 2-2.5 hours.
  • Due to a situation at the border crossing making this tour last longer, it is not suitable for children under 4 years of age.
  • Please note that the official currency of Montenegro is Euro.
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel.
  • For some countries, visa is required.
  • Passport name, number, expiry and country is required at time of booking for all participants.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations.

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips


Given the amount of travel that's done throughout the day, it would be impractical to spend any longer in either location.
I would however take the steps to the top and take the same route back down, the path on the other side is quite treacherous.
It would be good if there was something in the advert to tell you to bring something to do while you are waiting.
Reviews
4.0
469 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 469 reviews
Good trip - long border queue
Philippa_E, Aug 2022
A good trip and guided tours - the only loss of a star is because of the border. Not the company’s fault but it took about an hour at the border for one to way and over 1.5 hours the way back - it meant the day was very long and a lot of time just sat on a bus. Given the amount to see and do in Dubrovnik do have a think about whether losing this time is worth it.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, the border crossing is something we cannot change. Thank you for understanding. Kind regards, Ivan Elite Travel
Beautiful Kotor
Seaton_J, Jul 2022
Great experience but Elite Travel should give 2 hours in both Kotor and Budva. Leaving at 3pm was way too early and therefore felt like only half a trip. Nora was a fantastic tour guide but calling ALL Montenegrins VERY lazy was unnecessary racism!!
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Seaton, Thank you for your feedback. All the best, Ivan Elite Travel
Great trip would recommend
Katrina_D, Jul 2022
This was a great trip and the guide Nicole was fantastic. Both places were good and the views along the way were stunning.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Katrina, We appreciate your feedback. Thank you. Kind regards, Ivan Elite Travel
Worth seeing Montenegro!!
Carolyn_T, May 2022
You canceled the English Wednesday tour and put me on a tour with majority Germans. Fine except guide spoke German like 80% plus of the time. Trip itself nice. Guide nice etc. The walking tour of Kotor I cut short because we were standing most of the beginning in the heat. Also not listed on description of trip I was given. Overall I enjoyed the trip. Oh I also found out others paid so much less for the trip than I.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Carolyn, Kindly note that all our Montenegro tours are bilingual. In other words, provided in either English and Frech or English and German. As for the price of the tour, I am not sure how the others booked this tour and through which agent, but for all those who book through Viator the price is always the same. Thank you for understanding. Kind regards, Ivan Elite Travel
Good day trip worth doing from dubrovnik
Maryam_F, May 2022
This was a great day trip, though I can see why it has 4 instead of 5 stars. The actual day itself is just stop overs at (beautiful) parts of Montenegro but when you’re there all there really is to do is shop and eat. I still do recommend this day trip it was great to be able to visit another country from Croatia.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi, We appreciate your feedback. Thank you. Kind regards, Ivan Elite Travel
A quick look at Montenegro
Laurel_D, Sept 2021
This was a good way to get a simple glimpse of Montenegro. Both towns were of interest and the bay around Kotor is incredible. Budva seemed to be overly commercial in its quest for tourism funding, but I was glad we went to both locations. Kotor's medieval setting was charming and interesting. It was easy to navigate the little city and find your way around. Budva was more confusing and I got turned around numerous times, but that is part of the charm of an ancient city.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi Laurel, Thank your for your feedback. We appreciate it. Kind regards, Ivan Elite Travel
1 traveler found this review helpful
Day Trip to Montenegro
Valerie_S, Sept 2021
Overall, the day trip to Montenegro was a nice trip and I was glad I went. That being said, while I appreciate the free time to explore, it would have been nice to have a tour in the old towns for Kotor and Budva. Our guide was not licensed to give tours in Montenegro. Because of the time consuming transfers at the borders, we didn't get much time to explore Budva at all. We had lunch there and managed to have about 25 minutes until it was time to go back to the van. The van itself was a miserable ride. We had to sit in the very back and bounced all the way to Montenegro and back. At times, it was quite painful. If you go on this trip, be prepared to spend a lot of time traveling. It's a long day - 12 hours for sure.
Response from Host, Sept 2021
Hi Valerie, thank you for your comments. It is clearly stated what is included in this excursion what not, the stops and duration of the excursion are stated in description and itinerary. Due the epidemiological situation we managed to honor 12 hours of duration of the excursion, you were in 19seater minibus not a van. Kind regards, Ivo
Great Experience
Ashton_B, Aug 2021
Beautiful country, guide and driver were helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Cities were beautiful and well worth the visit.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Excellent
Eva_B, Aug 2021
Nice day tour in Monténégro, everything has been precisely organized, and the agenda has been respected very carefuly. We had the time to stop and take pictures, and to visit the cities of Kotor and Budva. Kotor and its bay are mind-blowing. Budva is disapointing in my opinion. Too many construction sites to welcome nightlife guests. Deteriorating its inner natural beauty. Guide speaks good english and is very sweet. So does the driver. The bus is small and clean. The only black spot is the waiting at the border and the way back especially (+/- 2h). But it's not the tour operator's fault. I highly recommend this tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Excellent tour!
Footprints729371, Nov 2019
Daniela & Marco were excellent guides. Very personable and knowledgeable. Got to see quite a few sights in one day, and definitely recommend this trip package. Excellent value. Be sure to ask for Daniela as a guide!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Montenegro day trip
Curiosity228824, Oct 2019
I was expecting this trip to be great but not necessarily excellent. It surpassed my expectations. The guide was average, but it is worth the trip for the amazing views. You definitely have enough time to climb up to the church or beyond and look down on the city. Allow a few more minutes to get down as the rocks are very slippery. The border crossing can take longer, so just bring some headphones to chill out during this part of the trip.
Highlights
kuipersjen, Oct 2019
Great way to see the highlights of Montenegro. It has so much natural beauty and Kotor has amazing scenery and really nice Old Town. If you are in shape I would highly recommend walking the steps to the fortress the views are incredible. I would however take the steps to the top and take the same route back down...the path on the other side is quite treacherous. And for sure don’t do it in inclement weather the stones would be so slippery...some people wearing sandals were slipping on a dry sunny day when we were there. Have plenty of patience at the border....because it takes a long time and it just is what it is but you will relax more if you know this and just bring a book along or listen to music:) All in all a great trip!!
Beautiful...but
Katharine_A, Oct 2019
The parts of Croatia and Montenegro we saw during our trip were beautiful. There were breathtaking views throughout our journey and interesting old sites to visit. The trip around Kotor Bay was picturesque, with majestic mountains and endless water to gaze at. Kotor Old Town has lots of gift shops and things seemed very inexpensive (we had three drinks in a cafe for under €5) Budva is very pretty, again with lots of gift shops and delicious looking restaurants (we saw a place that had strawberry, banana and chocolate pizza!). You can walk a few steps right to beach from the old town. We had expected the tour to include some more historical information about the sites we visited. Our guide gave us a lot of information on the bus about Montenegro generally but we like to learn about the things we are looking at as we see them. We would have preferred more time in Budva and less in Kotor old towns. Crossing is the border is boring. It takes at least 1.5hours in each direction. I know we got off lightly and we realise this cannot be avoided but it would be good if this time was spent learning about the places being visited on the trip or building some rapport between the group. It would be good if there was something in the advert to tell you to bring something to do while you are waiting. Also to explain there is no working toilet on the coach (rather than a bucket). We also noticed that people were made to feel a bit guilty if they were the last back to the coach, even if they were still early. On the whole the trip was worthwhile (our group has spilt views about whether we would go again) but it is a very long way to go on a coach for one day, so our advice is to be prepared (with activities and treats!). Thank you for taking us.
4 travelers found this review helpful
Montenegro
Susan_J, Sept 2019
Awesome day and well looked after by our tour guide and bus driver. Adaptable on where to go first so that it wasn’t so crowded.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Day Trip to Montenegro - Kotor & Budva
Piyter, Sept 2019
Excellent - starting from hotel pickup, visiting Kotor & Budva. Guide and bus driver were excellent.
Nice day trip
Katri_L, Sept 2019
The Montenegro day trip from Dubrovnik was really good considering that it is just a DAY trip. We saw quite a lot, our guide was extremely knowledgeable and views were gorgeous. The only thing that I would complain about is that they really should inform people on the reservation page that during the summer's high season crossing the borders takes A LOT of time. Like three hours both ways, just waiting in the bus. So the length of our trip was something like 16 hours, not 11/12 or whatever they say on the web page.
One day in Montenegro
Monique_B, Aug 2019
Great day trip! It's a long day but worth it. We found we had time to do everything we wanted in Kotor and Budva. A little longer in Kotor and less time in Budva would be better but still we had a great day. Our guide was good and helpful, good balance of info and time to ourselves.
Great day out
Mrs Dorinda J, Aug 2019
The day was exactly as described. The local tour operator contacted us and confirmed pick up time at our hotel. We were collected promptly and driven to meet the coach. We had a lovely knowledgeable guide with us all day, although as expected, we were left to explore on our own in Kotor and Budva. Kotor was the obvious place for lunch, so we could have done with a little longer to explore, but it was such a warm day that getting back to the air conditioned coach was welcomed (and we did have time to wander and visit part of the walls and a coup!e of churches). Recommend for a snapshot of Montenegro.
Montenegro
Odete_C, Aug 2019
We loved our trip to Montenegro, Elite Travel did an excellent job and I would recommend them to anyone. Well organized, excellent guide and driver. Kotor was amazing and we wish we could of stayed a full day just there, the stop after was a beach resort with a small medieval town as well . We loved the full day trip. Bus was very comfortable with air cond that worked very well, on a scale of 1-10 I give it a 10 . Thank you for a memorable and fun experience.
Breathtaking Views
nicolacD5816UY, Aug 2019
Coach picked us up from the Port and off we headed to the border. We were thru within 20mins and then stopped for a toilet break and snacks at a garage. The views from the coach were amazing, such beautiful scenery. We arrived at Kotor first, beautiful town but we felt lost as there was no-one to actually guide us around and explain what exactly we were looking at. According to our coach guide, Croatian guides can't guide in Montenegro so we were taking to the entrance and told to meet back at the coach at a certain time. We had longer in Kotor but the guide advised us to wait and have lunch in Budva. In hindsight this was not a great piece of advice. Off then to Budva. The guide then advised us on a restaurant to have lunch in, she said it was quick and very good food, I think it was called Jadran. The food was alright but once it was served and eaten there was no time to see around Budva, so I would recommend eating in Kotor and use your time to view Budva. Lastly, we mistakenly booked this tour, after many hours of searching different options and found unfortunately this one does not allow for an optional boat trip to Our Lady of the Rocks island. Overall the coach trip was very easy, the scenery breathtaking and we had a lovely relaxing day.
...

Questions?

Product code: 2562MN