Recent Searches
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Whale watching in luxury

Reykjavík, Iceland
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
Offered in: English


Scout out minke and humpback whales, dolphins, and orcas as you cruise from Reykjavik by luxury yacht. The Amelia Rose vessel offers a smooth sail over the sometimes-turbulent Icelandic seas, and boasts three partially sheltered viewing decks plus a sumptuous lounge that’s complete with cozy blankets and onboard Wi-Fi. You’ll learn about the sea life from the team as you go, cruising around Iceland’s wildlife-rich Faxaflói bay.
  • Take guidance from the onboard crew to spot Iceland’s porpoises and whales
  • Enjoy a smoother ride aboard an offshore boat that can cope with choppy seas
  • Cozy up in the yacht’s inside bar and use the Wi-Fi to post photos of Faxaflói
  • Make use of provided seasickness tablets, if you feel nauseous on the open sea


232 reviews
5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star
Reviews by Viator travellers
Lovely trip
, Oct 2019
Amelia Rose was a super boat. Easily found as soon as l walked into the old harbour and boat found immediately on the left, Wonderful interior of carved wood. Staff were very informative and answered questions with a smile especially the young man who l believe said he was a marine engineer. Great trip but sadly didnt see any whales but were told could repeat trip but couldnt due to other trips booked/
We didnt see any whales, but had a good time anyway.
, Oct 2019
No whales, but the boat and crew were great. Sometimes mother nature doesnt cooperate. They offered a free second trip, but our schedule didnt allow for it.
Whale Watching
Joe G
, Oct 2019
Booked the tour and was excited to see the whales. Unfortunately when we got to the harbour we didn't know where to go?. We had to ask several locals and after 10 minutes or so we finally found the boat dock. The boat was late. Didn't arrive until 1.25 for a 1,15 departure time. Crew was polite and helpful. We did see a few whales, no dolphins or puffins. Company has to do a better job on location details.
Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks so much for writing this review it really helps us. With regards to directions have big signs by the office (first one on the old harbour) and another next to the ship, our google location is accurate and we hand out maps fir everyone checking in. We can't do much more and think this is an issue for everyone trying to locate the old harbour in general. However the city council is erecting more signposts to the old harbour in the next few months! I am sorry the boat was late, normally it is because customers are late arriving to the boat however we always stay out the same time after to ensure you get the same amount I am sorry you didn't get to see dolphins or puffins...but as this is a whale watching boat they aren't our main priority. Also this is the wrong time of year for puffins as they are only here to breed in the summer, so we wouldn't expect to see them at all. Thanks so much for your kind words about our crew though! We do appreciate it! And I am glad you got to see the whales we went out looking for :) All the best.
Great whale watching experience
Kelly G
, Oct 2019
We were lucky enough to have a beautiful, sunny day for this excursion, but it was still chilly. Make sure you bundle up and bring warm clothes (the boat does provide blankets though). We saw several Minke whales, dolphins, and porpoises. The boat is nice, with clean bathrooms and a snack bar. The hot chocolate was excellent and we enjoyed learning about the whales and marine life in Iceland. Great way to spend three hours.
Response from Host , Oct 2019
Oh I am so glad you had such a lovely day with us! It does get a lot colder out on the water even on a sunny day so I agree that is a top tip to dress warm. Thankyou so much for taking the time to review us and I am so happy you had a lovely time. Enjoy the rest of your time here in Iceland.
, Sep 2019
We were a little confused about the location of our ship, but hat was the only negative part of our tour. We had a beautiful day out at sea. We saw a humpback whale too. The crew really worked hard to spot the marine life.
Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thankyou so much! How wonderful seeing a humpback, they are a truly magical creature! I am sorry about the difficulty finding us, we have put big signs up and the walk from the office is only 3mins walk directly behind the office and we also give out maps in the office. But I am happy you did find your way and had a lovely day with us, all the best!
, Sep 2019
we booked the luxury yacht whale watching trip through Viator prior to our visit to Iceland for my friends 40th birthday and what an amazing experience it was! we were lucky with it being a bright sunny day (still cold at sea though) but the yacht was very nice with 3 decks, bar etc and the knowledge from the tour guide was very good. we first saw a mink whale several times swimming by the boat and then they had a sighting of a hump back whale so we chased it down and saw it twice breach its huge fin/tail out of the water and then saw it swimming & spouting water several times which was amazing to see! great trip all round
Response from Host , Sep 2019
Oh such a lovely review thanks so so much! What a brilliant way to celebrate a birthday! I am so happy you got to see both the minke whale and it's even larger cousin the humpback. Thankyou for your kind words about our boat and crew we really appreciate it. Hopefully your entire trip here was as enjoyable as your day on the ship.
Nice ship, but no whales (twice!)
, Sep 2019
We went out with this nice ship, but didn´t see any whales. Therefore they offered us to go again, so we took the next tour the following day. This time we didn´t see anything either!!! They say it is 95% chance to see whales during this period, but it must be much lower than that!
Response from Host , Sep 2019
I am so sorry you didn't see any whales with us, and thanks so much for coming again to give it another go. Unfortunately it happens like this sometimes, especially if the tours are in quick succession, as if we didn't find them because they weren't in the bay they mayn't have had time to come back between trips. This is peak whale season as they are here feeding. It is like saying summer is hot, and it mostly is but sometimes we get a week of rain and we can't help that. Your tickets are valid for 3 years so if you come back through please give us another go! All the best.
Whale watching in Reykjavik
Mary M
, Aug 2019
Great experience, wasn't too cold. Saw whales, puffins, jellyfish. Yacht was equipped with a bar which sold hot drinks
Response from Host , Sep 2019
That's so awesome you spotted the jellyfish! We adore our whales and puffins - how could you not, but our ethereal blobby friends are often underrated. We've had quite a lot lately, but don't worry, just like everyone in Iceland they are friendly :) So glad you had a great day out with us. All the best
no whales - but very friendly staff !
Michael A
, Aug 2019
We stayed at sea quite a whiie but did not see any whales. Shame but - hey - one does not have controle over that ! Super friendly staff/crew and nice boat.
Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thankyou for your understanding! We are always so sad when we don't see whales, I hope you can find time to come out with us again, even in a couple of years just drop us an email and you can come on board for free. We really want to show you these incredible creatures! All the best
Whale watching Rekyavik
, Aug 2019
Fantastic!, highly recommend, we are planning on doing this tour again on our next trip to Iceland... will probably take the morning tour next time.
Response from Host , Aug 2019
Awesome! We look forward to seeing you again :) if you come in the winter we also do northern lights trips. Thank you so much for writing us a review we really appreciate it.

Product code: 59943P1

Explore Similar Things to Do