Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Sal Island Experience Tour with a native and certified guide

Badge of ExcellenceSanta Maria, Cape Verde

From US$37.51

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
Recommendations
  • 7 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

    What's Included

    • Private transportation
    • Native Guide and Certificate
    • Hotel Pick up and drop off
    • Stop for a swim in a natural pool
    • Shark bay
    • Liability insurance
    • Lunch
    • Photos (optional)

    Departure & Return

    Departure Point

    Possible departure locations
    View departure locations

    Departure Time

    9:00 AM

    Please Note

    From the reception of your hotel or accommodation, airport or other departure point previously agreed with the client. If you cannot find your hotel or accommodation in the list above, send us your address and we will pick you up there. The guide will be fully identified with badge, company shirt and a yellow sign written Sal Experience. It is a yellow car.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Infant seats available
    • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
    • Please bring a bottle of water, sunscreen, sunglasses, hat, swimsuit, water shoes (if you have one) and towels.
    • Not recommended for pregnant women in the first 3 months
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travellers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    about cancellations.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

    Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Sal Island Experience Tour with a native and certified guide?

    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
    • Face masks provided for travellers
    • Temperature checks for travellers upon arrival

    Q:What is the policy on sanitisation during Sal Island Experience Tour with a native and certified guide?

    A:The policies on sanitisation are:
    • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
    • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised

    Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Sal Island Experience Tour with a native and certified guide?

    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

    Traveller Photos

    See more
    Reviews
    5.0
    497 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Reviews by Viator travellers.
    Showing 1-10 of 497 reviews
    A good day out with Nany
    samanthaP, Aug 2022
    We had an amazing day with Nany and his driver, The sharks were really good. A lot of off road driving so not good for bad backs. Lunch was lovely my children loved the spaghetti and asked for seconds. The Salt lake was a strange experience and best to go in the morning as it gets very smelly later in the day. We didn’t get to see the blue eye due to the weather but went to a local beach instead. Overall well worth the money but remember you have to pay 5€ for salt lake and 3€ for blue eye. Lunch was also not included in the price.
    Great tour
    Maria_T, Jul 2022
    The tour was amazing! You can explore all islands with this company and it is amazing! I truly recommend to do it when you visit Sal! Very good experience
    A great way to explore the island in one day
    Irina_K, Jul 2022
    A great way to explore the island and learn about cultural aspects of the country . Loved the experience with sharks and the fishing village
    From start to finish we...
    Nigel_B, Jul 2022
    From start to finish we were looked after expertly by our knowledgeable and most friendly guide Nany. Every location we visited was worth it. We spent time in the rear of the open top jeep then swapped with others inside at intervals so you could hear the information that Nany had to give. Would recommend without a doubt and don't worry about the sharks, they are very friendly!
    Amazing!!
    Grant_A, Jul 2022
    From start to finish this trip was so much more than we were expecting. Our guide Adilson was very knowledgeable and really made the day for us. A truly memorable experience!
    Must Try!
    Jordan_B, Jul 2022
    From start to finish Nanny was amazing, lots of knowledge, very kind made us feel so welcome. Must try experience, visited near enough the whole island In one day, stopped off for lunch with the locals and got to experience the village. Very good for value for money, shark bay was particularly amazing!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    See the whole island
    Kelvin_B, Jun 2022
    We had a great full day tour with Nany. He has great knowledge of the island and was very friendly. The day was full of activities and we stopped for a nice lunch. Thanks for a great day
    Great tour
    Andrew_H, Jun 2022
    Great tour with a great guide, Chan was friendly, knowledgeable and got to see some great sights and views of the island, highly recommend
    Amazing tour!
    Natalia_K, Jun 2022
    Really great experience with our guide Chan! He organized it very well and has an amazing knowledge to share. We really enjoyed the tour. And as it is a small group it is a nice opportunity to meet people.
    Amazing guide and trip
    Liv_B, Jun 2022
    It was amazing! We had a really nice guide, Chan. Full of energy with an extremely positive vibe. His English was really good and he knew a lot about the places we went. He drove carefully so I felt save the whole trip.
    Great experience with all the sights of Sal
    Henri_V, May 2022
    We had Chan as our guide. Chan is a very energetic and knowledgeable man. He always has a smile on his face and provided us a super experience. We saw all the sights in Sal: shark Bay, salt lake, Fata Morgana and much more. We strongly recommend to book a tour with Chan to get the best out of your holiday.
    NANY our guide was very...
    Daniel_G, May 2022
    NANY our guide was very informative and not only showed the beauty of the island, but took us around the other parts which was great to see how the people live. we literally had 6 tours in one. The tour is much better value than the tour operators who would have charged us for each individual tour item.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Lovely Day
    D_B, May 2022
    Excellent your. The guides were well-informed, friendly and professional. I learnt so much about the island. As a lone female traveller I can thoroughly recommend. P.S the shark experience is amazing!
    Good fun, great guide , lovely people on the trip.
    Dawn_M, Apr 2022
    Had a great time. Met some really nice people and had fun exploring the island. Chan is full of stories and very knowledgeable. He knows everyone on the island! Would definitely recommend.
    Strongly recommended
    steff_h, Mar 2022
    Really everything was perfect. Chan was such a nice and fun person that you just enjoy to be with him. He shared his detailed knowledge about Sal with us and it was so interessting to listen to him. He perfectly switched between languages (in our case Englisch and Franc) which makes it easy to follow the Story. We are grateful for this expierence. Thanks to Chan and the Team
    Fantastic tour with a...
    Andrew_F, Mar 2022
    Fantastic tour with a highly knowledge guide Chan. Highly recommended tour great variety of things to see and do
    I went solo but did not...
    Kamiel_V, Mar 2022
    I went solo but did not feel alone at all during the trip! Lovely people with me in the car+ a nice guide who made sure i got enough pictures and had a memorable experience. Definetly would recommend to get a full experience of sal island, and a fun day
    A fun and interesting day out
    Pamela_C, Mar 2022
    Chan was an excellent guide with a great deal of knowledge and enthusiasm. We got a good understanding of island life from someone who grew up on Sal. The tour operator also text with an updated pick up time in the morning so we weren’t waiting around. It was great fun riding on the back of the 4x4. My tip would be to bring a jumper, shirt or jacket as it can get very windy on the ride!
    Tour around the SAL
    JrgenClausager_N, Mar 2022
    Good tour. Pro Guide, that took time to explain it all. Nice weather, a bit Vindy on the back of the pickup truck. No Stress 👍
    Bucking the trend of exploitative tours
    Helen_A, Mar 2022
    I've been on many trips that don't really care about you, don't give you enough time or info, aren't knowledgeable and take you shopping. Our guide, Chan, bucks thus trend. We got such an authentic experience and he insisted we have a good time, living up to the Cape Verde motto of "no stress" even when he was getting stress about taking us shopping. Basically, if any tour operators are reading this, we don't want to shop. It's a waste of everyone's time. Your guests will enjoy it more if you focus it on their enjoyment. Like Chan did.
    Response from Host, Mar 2022
    Thank you for recommending us Helen, we are delighted to hear you had a great experience and enjoyed your day, our mission is to give you a great EXPERIENCE on your holiday, completely customer focused and we don't take customers the shops because Sal island has so much to see and experience with our local and professional guides, and Chan is a really great guide and we are glad you are satisfied, thank you! Enjoy your holiday!
    ...

    Questions?

    Product code: 120356P1