Recent Searches
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua City Explorer

Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Loading available options...

icon7 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Make the most of your time on New Zealand’s North Island with this 7-hour Rotorua City hop-on hop-off shore excursion from Tauranga. Travel by air-conditioned vehicle on a route between 12 of the region’s top attractions as your driver talks of the different destinations to visit. Head along the shores of Lake Rotoiti to the kiwi orchards of Te Puke. Hop on and off at your leisure between sites of interest such as Rotorua lakefront, Skyline Skyrides Rotorua and the Polynesian geothermal spa, and enjoy 10% discount at featured destinations.
  • Excellent value for money
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
  • Instant Confirmation
Experienced, professional and friendly guide
Great discounts on selected attraction entry fees
Comfortable, air-conditioned transport
Full commentary
Port pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks
Destination/attraction entrance fees

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.

Departure Time

10:00 AM

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour is not suitable for user of mobility scooters or wheelchairs (unless very small collapsible ones) . Folding walkers/frames can usually be accommodated but passengers must be able to enter a minibus using the standard steps. You must advise us at the time of booking if you are bringing any mobility device - failure to do so may result in you not being able to take the tour.
  • The driver will provide details of all destinations served by the Rotorua Explorer and you will receive the timetable for the day upon boarding
  • Tour departs at the time shown unless this conflicts with the ships ETA or ETD, in which case the tour will operate so that you are back in port at least one hour before sailing. Please meet us at least 15 minutes prior to the departure time
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • This tour runs with a minimum of 4 fare paying passengers. We will advise on the day if the minimum hasn't been met, and offer alternative options if necessary
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Please purchase a ticket for all travelers in your group - including 'purchasing' a ticket for all infants. NZ transport law requires us to count all heads on board. One child or infant max per adult ticket.

If you cancel at least 3 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.

If you cancel within 2 day(s) of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua City Explorer?
This activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua City Explorer.

Traveller Tips

  • "Long bus ride not a lot of time to do anything." See review
  • "It's a long drive but two things made it good." See review


21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travellers
Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews
Long bus ride
, Feb 2020
Long bus ride not a lot of time to do anything. The stops had limited things you could do. One stop off was all you really get.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the review. This is a tour that we do not actually run ourselves, but we just sell the tickets as we find clients looking for a lower cost option often go for a Hop On Off service. We will pass on your comments to the company who operates this tour. We offer these in Auckland, Wellington and Dunedin, where to be honest there are plenty more things to see and do than on the Tauranga HOHO service. You may have been better to book our full or half day Tauranga Highlights tour TRG-1, which shows you a lot more of the city and the surrounding area with chance to get off the coach and our guide then gives a full commentary, plus you also get a free Fish N Chips lunch right on the wharf by the fishing boats. Regards Ian
Too little time to see Rotorua
, Dec 2018
On this trip we were able to see the Geysers and Maori Show, but after that we only had 1 hour in Polynesian spa and then had to return to ship. Being a hop on hop off tour we had expected to see more venues in Rotorua. Having said that our driver/guide was excellent throughout and we had a good day.One suggestion we made was for the ship pick up to be earlier.
It's a long drive but two things...
Thomas D
, Feb 2018
It's a long drive but two things made it good. First, the driver was extremely knowledgeable about the area and had a wealth of information to give us. He did it in an entertaining way that held our interest. Second, we returned via a different route. The driver was exactly where he said he would be at the time he specified so all went smoothly.
Driver was excellent and very...
Gregory Neil B
, Jan 2018
Driver was excellent and very helpful and obliging to all the passengers. Still kept us on time schedule while still being flexible. Thanks Kelly.
A good way to see this area of New...
Frank F
, Sep 2017
A good way to see this area of New Zealand. Our driver was great, took a sidetrip to a waterfall which was beautiful. He basically allowed the tourist to determine where the bus would go, drop us off and pick us up on our schedule. We went to the Sky Park in Rotorua...forget its actual name where we rode the sleds several times down the track. It was beautiful and a very fun experience. Both my wife and I are over 60 and it was easy sledding. We could have booked the same tour through our Cruise Ship but again Viator saved us a significant amount of money on all of our tours in New Zealand.
This worked out very well. The...
, Feb 2017
This worked out very well. The driver was very knowledgeable and helpful about where we could go. He dropped different people off at their choice of venue and then picked us up to go to somewhere different. All very flexible and easy. He came back a different route so we saw more of the scenery.
It wasn't really a hop on hop off...
, Jan 2017
It wasn't really a hop on hop off arrangement . You had to tell the driver before you went where you wanted to go with a choice of 5 stops and then he would arrange when he could drop you off and pick you up.This meant that quite a few passengers spent long periods of time travelling on the bus and not being able to get off and just experience the area. I had read this before so I knew what I wanted and where I needed to go but so many others on the bus didn't and had a lot of wasted time. When you are short of time it is important to get the most from your day especially if you are only there for a day as a cruise stop.
The driver was friendly, very...
Mary R
, Jun 2016
The driver was friendly, very informative and couldn't be more helpful.
You can't see everything in one day...
Clyde A
, May 2016
You can't see everything in one day so this is a good way to pick and choose the sites that are the most important. Driver was very accommodating in letting passengers go to different sites and then picking them up. Much cheaper than the cruise ship tours.
The bus guide was friendly and...
Sueanne P
, Mar 2016
The bus guide was friendly and knowledgeable about all stops and provided interesting information about the area to Rotorua . He accommodated everyone's request and made suggestions based on their interests. Our group went to Whakarewarewa Thermal Village and it was excellent.

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 9218P5

Explore Similar Things to Do