Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Full-Day Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki

Badge of ExcellenceThessaloniki, Greece

From US$62.74

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
Nearby
  • 11 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Making a day trip to the UNESCO-listed monasteries of Meteora from Thessaloniki can be difficult without a self-drive car. This full-day tour eliminates transport stresses: taking you direct to the medieval rock-pinnacle monasteries by comfortable air-conditioned minivan or coach, and with a guide to explain the monasteries’ construction, art, and history. On arrival, tour two of the six retreats and enjoy lunch (own expense) in nearby Kalampaka before your return.
  • Admire the UNESCO-listed Meteora monasteries on a day trip from Thessaloniki
  • Go direct to the monasteries with ease, without train or bus changes
  • Tour and hear tales about two of the rock retreats that you might miss alone
  • Includes return transport, with tickets and lunch in Kalampaka at your cost

What's Included

  • Transport to and from Meteora
  • English speaking excursion attendant
  • Basic travel insurance (during transport)
  • Entrance fees (€3 per monastery – cash only)
  • Guided tour inside the monasteries and museums
  • The cost of the lunch at the restaurant

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Statue of Eleftherios Venizelos
    Egnatia 78, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece

    Aristotelous square and Egnatia square in front of Statue of Eleftherios Venizelos at 08:00

Departure Time

8:00 AM

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Our trip attendant shall wear a clothing with the AMMON Express marking so that he will be recognisable easily.
  • You should be at the departure points 10' before the time indicated in the schedule. The bus cannot remain at designated stops, except for boarding.
  • The monasteries have strict dress rules prohibiting entry to male visitors wearing shorts and women visitors with sleeveless sweatshirts. Women need a long skirt/ dress to enter the monasteries.
  • The approach to the monasteries is achieved through stairs and requires comfortable footwear.
  • Please be consistent with the exact appointment times specified by the Ammon Express escort, so that the excursion to Meteora will remain unforgettable to all participants.
  • Please bring cαsh with you for entrance fees (€3 per monastery)
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Full-Day Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki?

A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:
  • Face masks provided for travellers

Q:What is the policy on sanitisation during Full-Day Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki?

A:The policies on sanitisation are:
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Full-Day Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

Traveller Photos

See more

Traveller Tips


Also bring snacks as the day is long and lunch was expensive.
breathtaking views, a place worthwhile visiting, explanation of the guide was not very elaborate , could be better
Reviews
4.5
153 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travellers.
Showing 1-10 of 153 reviews
Well organized
Christopher_M, Jul 2022
Tour guide was nice and knowledgeable. Maybe a few more monasteries, 2 more lets say. Guide should come with guests in monasteries
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time share your review. We are happy that you had a wonderful time visiting Meteora. We take into consideration your comments about visiting a third monastery. Although it is difficult to do cause of lack of time. We wish to see you again in the future in one of our excursions. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Great tour. Absolute must...
kenneth_l, Jul 2022
Great tour. Absolute must see in Greece! Don’t drive this yourself as it’s a little scary. It is worth the money to take the tour!
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Kenneth_I, Thank you very much for recommending our Full-Day Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day. We really hope to see you again for more great experiences. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
A bus ride to a unique place. NOT A GUIDED TOUR
sngoldb, Jul 2022
Firstly, the Monasteries at Meteora are visually stunning…unique. The ‘stars’ are for everything else. It’s NOT a guided tour. It’s a coach ride to Meteora accompanied by a rep, who seemed like a nice girl, but whose English was just not good enough. Even as a native English speaker, it was different to understand what she was saying. Secondly, when you get to Meteora, you’re on your own. She doesn’t come with you into the monasteries and explain what you’re looking at and the significance of what you’re looking at. Other tour groups had guides with them. We didn’t. Since you pay for entries, lunch and any extras, this is a bus ride to a beautiful place. Sorry, Viator. That’s just not good enough.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review for our Full-Day Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki. Please note that we clearly state that it is not guided tour on every website. We take into consideration the comments about our escorts English. We hope to see you again in the future. Kindest regards, Mary Polatidou
Average tour, nice monasteries
Mike_A, Jul 2022
I would have preferred a greater, more informed narrative than what was provided. Lunch was not the best, over priced restaurant. Go to a different restaurant than the one provided. No tours of the monasteries were offered.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Mike_A, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki. As we mention on every website, there is no guided tour inside the monasteries. We take into consideration your comments for the restaurant. We hope to host you again in the future. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
2 travelers found this review helpful
Good day, moderately...
Cristian_I, Jul 2022
Good day, moderately meets expectations. The only thing I want to emphasize is that for me it is unacceptable that the bathroom on the bus is not available, being several hours of transfer, the bus was full of people and needs like urinating sometimes cannot wait.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Christian_I, Thank you for taking the time to review your Full-Day Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki. We take into consideration your comments for the lack of bathroom inside the bus. We really hope to see you again in the future. Kindest regards, Mary Polatidou
Give it a try and you won’t regret at all!!!
Nga_N, Jun 2022
It’s worth every penny. You should give it a try and I’m sure you won’t regret at all. Anw the tour operator need to double check their bus before the trip more often. Cos we have had to switch to other bus on the way back to the city as the air-con on the previous bus suddenly stopped working. You can easily understand the situation we have had to get through when the weather of the day was over 36oC. But I still give 5 stars for the experience I have had with amazing Meteora!!!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy that you had an amazing time on your day trip to Meteora overall. We are sorry that you had a bad experience with the bus. Please note that we take your comments into account. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Enjoyable trip to Meteora
Jonathan_F, Jun 2022
The tour was great, however I did feel like we were just paying for a coach to get us there, would be good if they included the cost of the monasteries in with the tour cost. The lunch stop they recommended was disappointing, very bland food so either bring your own lunch or go elsewhere!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your day trip to Meteora. We are sorry that you had a bad experience with the restaraunt. Please note that we take your comments into account. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Good experience: a must do in Greece
Georges_M, Jun 2022
Good experience: a must do in Greece Very nice sceneries and places. The guide gave us very interesting informations about visited locations. The only bémol is the restaurant where we had lunch. Globally, I recommend this trip!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you for your kind feedback. All we, in Ammon Express, provide you with unique experiences. We will gladly provide you with our services again in the future. Kind regards, Mary Polatidou
An amazing visit!
Christopher_E, Jun 2022
Well organised trip, with a friendly guide. It was a long trip but Meteora was well worth the effort!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki. It was our pleasure to have hosted you, to find out that you were satisfied with our tour and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the future. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Must see! Meteora
Siobhan_M, May 2022
It was spectacular- a must see! I was glad we had come in May though as both heat and crowds may have been too much during the summer. Would recommend.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki. We are glad that you had a wonderful time. We really hope to see you again in the future for more breathtaking views. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
A trip worth taking
Breda_D, May 2022
Lovely guide and bus driver. Stunning scenery and comfort breaks at very good restaurants. Would highly recommend this trip.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are happy that you had a wonderful time visiting Meteora. We wish to see you again in the future in one of our excursions. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Simply perfect
Syed_N, May 2022
I have been travelling all over the Europe for last 6 year and I never took a single guided tour. But as I was in Thessaloniki and I had only one day to cover Meteora and traveling to and fro is really long via public transport. I was just googling around how to go to Meteora from Thessaloniki and suddenly this tour popup. Trust me , its end up so well that I can't even describe: firstly - it is on budget (if you take public transport it will cost you same or maybe little bit more) , secondly - if you don't have enough time (time friendly) , thirdly - our guide (Nepheli) is amazing , she is very professionally- during the entire trip she explained each and everything that comes on the way , starting from Mount Olympus to Meteora. Because of her I learnt many things, she also gave many tips about Thessaloniki ( what you can do and all ) Big thanks to our guide (Nepheli)
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Syed_N, Thank you a lot for your review of our Full-Day Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki. We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour with us. We are very happy that you where able to find our agency and visit Meteora as you wished. Indeed, Nepheli is one of our best guides, very experienced and professional. We will transfer your comments to her the soonest as possible. Hope to see you again on one of our future tours. Best Regards, Mary Polatidou
1 traveler found this review helpful
Well-paced & profound
Tan_Y, May 2022
The tour is relaxed & well-paced! Eleni is very nice, takes good photos for all of us! Meteora is amazing & profound!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Tan_Y, Thank you for your feedback about our Full-Day Trip to Meteora from Thessaloniki. What a better reward for us than meeting your expectations. Hope to see you soon in one of our future tours. Best Regards, Mary Polatidou
Despite the guide telling...
Eliot_S, May 2022
Despite the guide telling everyone on the bus to wear masks, a number of people apparently felt that this did not apply to them. In order to protect the others, they should not have been allowed on the tour. The view of and from the monasteries was great, however there was not much to see in monasteries themselves; it was not worth the administration price. There were no explanations given inside the monasteries, and very little explanation of any kind was offered on the trip at all.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your trip to Meteora. We take into consideration your remarks and we will try to do our best for the future. We hope to see you again in the future for a better experience. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Amazing landscape
LeSuong_H, Apr 2022
Totally worth a trip. The tourguide was so sweet and explained many things on the way to Meteora. She definitely did a great job!
Response from Host, May 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your experience with Ammon Express, we are glad to know that you have had an amazing trip to Meteora. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for more experiences. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Definitely worth it!
NICOLO_F, Apr 2022
Everything was excellent, we can summarize this review with this sentence: it was a very well-organized and interesting trip, the Meteoras are indeed a gem in Greek History and the both the destination chosen for the trip were astonishing in cultural and religious richness. I should mention that it wouldn't have been the same trip during Easter without Eleni (the tour guide) and Apostolis (the bus driver) that both did an excellent job in making the tour entertaining! An experience I'll surely recommend to my friends!
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Nicole, Let us thank you for choosing Ammon Express for your trip to Meteora and we are glad we were able to meet your expectations. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our excellent guide Eleni and driver Apostolis. We would love to welcome you back in the nearest future for more great experiences. With Kind Regards, Mary Polatidou
Great Day trip
Robert_L, Apr 2022
Can’t really fault this trip. Everything went like clock work from pick up to drop off. Helene the guide was very friendly and helpful. The monasteries are beautiful. Also enjoyed the restaurant for lunch!
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Robert_L, Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your trip to Meteora. We really hope to see you again in the future for more trips with Ammon Express! Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Unmissable trip
Ash_R, Apr 2022
Well organized day trip to a mind-blowing location. Our guide, Nepheli, took really good care of us and ensured the trip went smoothly. While the journey took 7 hours overall, it was worth every second as Meteora is amazing beyond words.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Ash_R, Thank you very much for your beautiful review. We are glad that you had a wonderful time on your day trip to Meteora. As for Nepheri, she is an excelent guide that gives 100% on every journey. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Some views thats about it
Alyson_T, Apr 2022
Overall the tour was okay, the people in charge were friendly and helpful. There were random facts thrown in here and there on the bus ride. The tour bus was clean and neat, so it was worth the price. We basically went into each monastery on our own. However, we only got to see two monasteries and I think if we shorten the time we could've seen more? Also, didn't get to stop by the iconic james bond movie scene to take a pic.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Alyson, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We take your comments into consideration. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Stunning excursion very well organized
BERNARD_K, Apr 2022
As good as it gets. Between Eleni our guide and Tolis our driver they took excellent care of us. As for Meteora, words fail to describe how stunning this experience was! I wouldn't have wanted to miss it for any reason.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thank you very much for your beautiful review. We are so happy that you had a wonderful time on your day trip to Meteora. We hope to see you again in the future for more unforgetable experiences. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
...

Questions?

Product code: 63073P2