Recent Searches
Clear
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Half-Day Small-Group Provence Cru Wine Tour from Avignon

|
Avignon, France
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


5 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
Offered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Sample the fine wines of Provence on this half-day small-group tasting tour from Avignon. Visit three different wineries in Vacqueyras, Gigondas, and Chateauneuf du Pape; learn more about French winemaking and wine appellations; and sample an array of grand or premier cru wines.
  • Visit wineries in Vacqueyras, Gigondas, and Chateauneuf du Pape
  • Enjoy three expert-led wine tastings and sample Provence’s prestigious Cru wines
  • Great-value tour includes hotel pickup, wine tasting, and round-trip transport
  • Small-group tour limited to 8 people ensures a personalized experience

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
41 Reviews
5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Great guide!
ashllanos
, Sep 2019
The tour was so pleasant from being picked up conveniently at our hotel to being driven through the historic town of Avignon and into Cotes du Rhone. Our guide started with a brief history of the town and went into the different grapes that were grown there and why. Every vineyard was so beautiful, the people that helped you were so passionate about their jobs and their wine. I highly recommend it!
Excellent tour with great wine experience
Alina S
, Aug 2019
The tour was great overall with a very knowledgeable guide, tasting excellent wines and traveling in beautiful countryside.
Below expectations - no wineries!
392courtneyl
, Jun 2019
Would not recommend this tour. We did not visit any wineries, despite the description. We went to one wine store that felt like a strip mall or a BevMo or Total Wines and More. We then visited 2 tasting rooms. Given the region’s beauty and the tour description, we expected to visit wineries and their vineyards. Our guide was rude and not welcoming. I’ve been on other small group winery visits where it’s a delight to chat with the group between stops. This guide did not really encourage this, dominating the conversation and scolding us like insolent children, not paying adult customers. She made people in the group feel bad for their tastes and opinions. She wanted it known that she knew the most. Our guide also drove the van very fast and didn’t seem to care that she was making for a very uncomfortable ride for passengers. She had no bottled water, despite the description promising it. As another reviewer noted, she was often rushing us. Poor time management - the tour should allow for more time and/or not waste time at a wine store. The only saving grace was the last stop at Les Caves St. Charles with Guy Bremond, a maitre sommelier. He was a delight. He is a wine broker, and his tasting room is gorgeous. Knowledgeable and fun - highly recommended going to visit him. Excellent curation of delicious wines. Save yourself the aggravation though and go on your own, not through this tour. The tour did not match its description. I would like a refund. Holiday time is precious - I would not advise spending it with such a rude guide.
Wine with Will was Wonderful
John S
, Jun 2019
Our guide Will was spectacular. You might as well be touring with a sommelier. The stops were top choice. The wine tastings was unhurried and thorough. The stop at the top of the hill and Castle in Chateauneuf du Pape was outstanding. What a charming afternoon. Worth ever dollar (euro). Please tell Will I found the wallet.
Response from Host , Jun 2019
I am so glad that you found your wallet back John, we were all so worried for you. Hopefully they didn't kick you out of the country. :)) Guillaume.
Our wine tour was not as expected...
Michelle T
, Oct 2017
Our wine tour was not as expected unfortunately due to the tour operator Anne who rushed us from the time we were picked up to the time we got back. I was really looking forward to seeing the wine country since it was my first visit to Provence. The tour operator was very rude and mocked one of our group members because she does not drink alcohol but went on the tour. The purpose of the tour other than tasting the wine, is to learn about French wines and Provence not just drink the wine. This was uncalled for as she also mocked one of the men who was doing the wine tasting at Brotte and he was obviously upset by it. We were rushed from one place to the next. Our time at Brotte was very interesting and I felt that I learned alot about French wine, the grapes and the region. Our visit to the ruins of the Papal summer Castle and Chateauneuf du Pape was terrific as we tasted wines in the cave area of the ruins. The man who did the wine tasting, Guy was very nice to our group and had great knowledge to share with us. I left the tour feeling positive about the experience however, driving back into Avignon with a tour operator who again was rushing and driving too fast was unnerving. I give this tour 3 stars because of the efforts of the people at Brotte and Chateauneuf du Pape who treated us with respect and were friendly and informative. Also I learned a great deal about French wines. If not for the poor attitude and rushing of Anne our driver, this tour would get 5 stars from me.
Just 2 of us + our guide Anne. She...
Rachel M
, Oct 2017
Just 2 of us + our guide Anne. She was fantastic: enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and a highly regarded Australian Cinema-phile...a great surprise for 2 Aussie tourists in Provence! Anne, the wineries and the museum graciously accommodated our varying tastes with unfailing graciousness. A terrific day
Amazing, Amazing! Gordana is an...
Helene P
, Sep 2017
Amazing, Amazing! Gordana is an amazing guide, filled with enthusiasm and passion for what she does. It was a real personal experience and what's great is that she has many personal connections in the area so you really get to go to places - and get the attention - that you would not otherwise be able to. Because of her connections we also went to places that was off the beaten track. Many people in previous comments allude to Cheateauneuf-du-Pape and the surprise that awaits... I won't give it away either! All that I can say is that it was the highlight of our holiday! You do not want to miss out on it. I recommend this tour 1000 - you will miss out if you don't book it!
Fantastic tour! Gordana took us to...
Hannah A
, Jul 2017
Fantastic tour! Gordana took us to some really lovely places - all off the beaten track with no other tourists in sight really refreshing compared to the other tour we did on our trip. My favourite part was in Cheateauneuf-du-Pape...I won't give away the surprise, but it was truly special and delicious!. Highly recommend!!
Guertena, the guide, is just...
Zhengjia H
, Jun 2017
Guertena, the guide, is just amazing! She really loves wine and let me fell in love with wine. She not only took us to the chateau for the wine but also to the vineyard and let us know how tough it is to harvest the grapes as well as let us enjoy the quiet afternoon in south France villages. I am sure I will recall this trip every time I drink wine in the future.
Our guide was so ethusiastic and...
Ilze V
, Jun 2017
Our guide was so ethusiastic and excitable. The van was rarely quiet because she had so much information to share. It was a great tour!

Product code: 31254P2

Explore Similar Things to Do