Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík

|
Reykjavik, Iceland
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
4

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 to 5 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
Chat now

Overview

The winter months in Reykjavik are the perfect time to spot the Northern Lights. During this midnight adventure, taking place between September 1st and April 15th, journey to the perfect place to see the Aurora Borealis, and learn about this beautiful phenomenon from your guide. Your guide also captures the colorful night sky so you don't have to fuss around with your own camera or a professional photographer.
  • Search for the northern lights from September to April
  • Stay comfortable during your drive in a climate-controlled vehicle
  • Learn about the solar phenomenon from your guide
  • This Reykjavik midnight adventure includes hotel pickup and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
National Park fees
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Beverages
Coffee and/or Tea

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
General pick-up time is between 8:30pm and 9:00pm. At approximately 6pm on the evening of the tour we will email you to confirm your pick-up place and time.

Your pick-up place will depend on the location of your accommodation:

1. If you are staying within the Reykjavik City Restricted Area, we will pick you up at one of the designated bus stops. When you notify us of your accommodation, we will let you know which bus stop is the closest one to you.

2. If you are staying outside of the restricted area, we will pick you up at your accommodation.

In the email we will also give you a more accurate pick-up time (+/- 5 minutes) so that you won’t have to stay out in the cold for too long while waiting for the tour bus.

Departure Time

9:00 PM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Iceland everywhere tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.

Reviews

5.0
star-5
85 Reviews
2 stars
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews
star-5
Great experience
kelly_k
, Dec 2020
Driver was highly persistent in finding the lights,,warm hot chocolate on board and the offer of a 2nd FREE trip out a day later and we didn't see the lights very well the 1st night,,however we was not dissapointed on 2nd trip!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Super trip if you are lucky enough to see the lights
Andrew
, Mar 2020
Great experience would highly recommend this trip .But you are truly at the mercy of the weather. Luckie enough to see the lights after being able to change our night
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted that you got to see the Northern Lights on our tour. It is true that Northern Lights tours are weather dependent but we strive to do best by our customers and we go out hunting for the Northern Lights if we believe we can find and see them. We hope the photos will warm your hearts and bring back memories for years to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere Tours
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Dancing lights
katieanziani
, Feb 2020
We couldn't have asked for more. The guide told us all the science behind the phenomenon which was interesting. Then we waited. We got even more than predicted, 3 times!! Amazing dancing lights
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked out presentation about the Northern Light and we are delighted you saw the Aurora dancing in the sky. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere Tours
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Seeing the lights! Having photos taken for us.
kathrynrussell
, Feb 2020
Amazing tour! It was clear our guide wouldn’t have gone out on the tour if he wasn’t sure there was a chance to see the lights. He was so knowledgeable about them and gave us lots of information. We saw the lights and it was incredible! The hot chocolate after was an extra treat. Our guide also was happy to take lots of photos with his camera and share them with us.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our tour and our guide knowledge and of course the hot chocolate. We hope the photos will warm your hearts and bring back memories for years to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere Tours
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
fantastic light show
mcjohnjm
, Feb 2020
Great trip with Iceland Everywhere Tours. Siggy the guide was very informative and passionate about the subject of Northern lights. He goes out of his way to ensure a great teip for all
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. We are delighted your enjoyed our tour and guide. Siggi strives to make everybody happy and our tours enjoyable. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere Tours
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great
ealfenas
, Dec 2019
Great Northern Lights adventure. we were originally scheduled for the following night - got an email from operator asking if we could switch because the next few days' trips were expected to be cancelled for weather, so they were able to accommodate us coming that night. Driver knew everything there is to know about the northern lights and was very helpful getting pictures
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great adventure on our tour. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere Tours
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Thanks Siggi
Kayte J
, Oct 2019
Siggi we t out of his way to make sure me and my children had the best chance of seeing the lights - which we did!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for your review. We are glad you saw the lights and you are satisfied with Siggi's enthusiasm to find the Northern Lights for you. Kind regards Staff of Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wow
490monicas
, Sep 2019
We did a stop over in Iceland and originally were going to Iceland in late August then Europe but switched order to be hopefully able to see the Northern lights, which start in September. We were not disappointed and boy what a show. Our guide did a great job of explaining all about the lights. He also did a good tutorial on camera settings. Glad my husband had a "real" camera as I didn't know that my I phone cant capture the images. So bring a real camera and tripod and dress warmly. Our guide also posted his pics so if you dont have a camera you will have pics
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our tour and our service. Kind regards Staff of Iceland Everywhere Tours
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Midnight adventure
nusalo10
, Aug 2019
We didn’t see the Aurora Borealis, but we had a real midnight adventure ... it was well informed, fun evening and night.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Waste of time and money
Justin M
, Aug 2019
If you go to Iceland, you have to see the northern lights! Its a big thing! So that is why we booked this tour. We received a confirmation in the day that the tour was a go and they would pick us up. That was great. The bad part is that this tour should have never been operated and should have been cancelled. Our guide was friendly and prompt with the pickup, but as soon as we were all picked up, he dropped a bomb on us. "You are not going to see the Northern Lights tonight". He explained his passion for the northern lights and that he knows everything about them. He continued to tell us it is too light out at midnight and there is a 0 chance we will see them. But that we will "still try!". He explained that he had never seen them until the end of August in his entire life, yet they still offer the tours months before you even have a chance. In addition, Iceland has a northern lights forecast web page that shows the likelihood of seeing the lights and where the clouds are. It also said 0% chance of seeing the lights, yet again, they still operated the tour. We spent the evening driving around to a few places we couldn't see really because it was dark. It was also too dark to take any photos. Everyone on the bus was upset and fell asleep during the tour. Overall it was just a waste of time. A tour should not continue if they admit there is a 0% chance of seeing the lights and instead will just drive you around to look at things you cant really even see in the dark. Dont book this tour unless it is late September or later and look at the weather yourself so you can cancel or reschedule as they will not offer that option to you.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thank you for writing this review for us. We were very disappointed to read that your experience of the Midnight Adventure tour was negative as your main reason for doing it was to view the Northern Lights. On our company web site, it is very clearly explained that the Midnight Adventure Northern Lights tour doesn’t operate until after 1st September as that is when the sky becomes dark enough to see them. Prior to this date, our web site explains that the Midnight Adventure tour is the SUMMER TOUR which is designed to see the sunset of the midnight sun, plus other features of the Reykjanes Peninsula displayed in the midnight sun and semi-darkness of the Icelandic summer. As a result of your review, we checked the information on the Viator site and found that it did not accurately match our company descriptions – and is in fact misleading. We are now in the process of working with Viator to correct this mistake. Until the Viator description has been corrected, we have now stopped accepting bookings for this trip from this site. We kindly request you to please contact us directly via email so that we can follow up your complaints in a more personal matter. You can find our contact details on the Iceland Everywhere Tours web site. Best regards Staff of Iceland Everywhere
HelpfulHelpful

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 107666P1

Explore Similar Things to Do