Recent Searches
Clear
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Giethoorn & Enclosing Dike Full-Day Tour from Amsterdam

|
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


7 to 8 hours (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
Offered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Visit the picturesque town of Giethoorn on a full-day tour from Amsterdam. Take a boat ride through ‘Dutch Venice’, where you'll have free time to  explore, then climb a dike for views of lakes and polders, or reclaimed land. See, too, Enclosing Dike (Afsluitdijk) is a 20-mile (32-km) long dike connecting the provinces of North Holland and Friesland. Plus, receive a pass for a canal cruise, to enjoy at any time during your stay.
  • Full-day trip to Giethoorn from Amsterdam
  • Tour the "Dutch Venice" by boat
  • See the Netherlands at their most historic
  • Enjoy some free time and lunch on your own (at own expense)
  • Pickup and drop-off in central Amsterdam
  • Enjoy a day away from the hustle and bustle of the city
Meet in central Amsterdam and begin the trip to Giethoorn in a comfortable vehicle. Upon arrival in the car-free town, transfer into a boat for a tour of Giethoorn’s waterways, where restored farmhouses sit on carefully-tended plots at the edge of the water.
Following the boat tour, you’ll have some free time to explore on your own or eat lunch in one of Giethoorn’s cafes—lunch is not included in this tour, but the guide can help you find the perfect place to eat. Meet back up for the trip to the Enclosing Dike (Ijsselmeer), one of the largest lakes in Western Europe, where you’ll have views of water and reclaimed land, the polders that Dutch people have drained and farmed for centuries.
Benefit from a free Amsterdam canal cruise ticket per person (worth €16) as a bonus to use in the city at any time during your stay.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
58 Reviews
5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Stunning
ericamurgia94
, May 2019
I loved Giethoorn. Really loved it. I haven't 100% liked the tour itself as much as I did in Bruges the day before though; the guide was really nice, she was lovely, but I struggled to follow her explanations for some reason. I liked the restaurant we've been taken but I think it was a little restrictive for some of us - I didn't mind in this case but not all people might want to choose a restaurant meal, maybe they want to save let's say, and we were kinda just taken there as we were also short on time for our boat trip? Maybe I misunderstood the situation. Boat trip was BEAUTIFUL, this place is a heaven. I was very disappointed only by the speakers lol; it made a horrible metallic sound and barely understood anything the gentleman said. I can actually understand spanish too so whenever I miss somehting from the english explanation I can listen to the spanish but whenever the lady would translate, her voice was even more distorted. At some point was even annoying to hear that screeching sound. Everything else was amazing. I did enjoy the tour so please do not take this as a useless complain I just wanted to give my opinion as a tourist. I really appreciated that on our way there we passed through the enclosing dyke and then we took another way back to Amsterdam, as Giethoorn is relatively close and the day trip is not too long, I felt that gave a better touch. I do reccomend this trip but I just wanted to give some insight on little details as I felt the trip in Bruges was a lot more "polished" at all times. I didn't catch the name of the guide but thank you for taking care of us for the day.
Not totally as expected
travelbugsofDelaware
, Apr 2019
Impressed with seeing the Dike. Was somewhat disappointed with Giethoorn. Was expecting a small boat. We received a large boat . The pilot was supposed to give us some information. We received none. The canal through town was a nice ride. Although , it was very crowded and I was expecting to see a number of old homes. The tour guide was impressive. Speaking 4-5 languages well and handling upset clients. He mentioned he would report various issues. But, wonder if he did. As its difficult to believe the issues had not been experienced before. At Giethoorn, the bathrooms should have been noted. The tour says it starts at 9:30am and you have to be there 30 min. before. We get there at 9am and they say the tour starts at 10am and now ends at 7PM. Then the tour guide runs into issues and we get extended from 6:30 PM to 7:30 PM return time. The photo of the tour is deceiving.
Giethoorn and Enclosing Dike
Cindy S
, Oct 2018
History of Enclosing Dike interesting. Boat ride was not good. 81 people were crammed into 2 boats. We were seated with out backs facing the front with a window and a wood pillar blocking my bride for one hour. Uncomfortable to have people sitting so close on back bench with occasional bumpimg if we tried to turn to see. Exploring the islandWas good, ice creamGood, prices in shops good.
Terrific trip!
Candkkuhn
, Sep 2018
Elsa, our tour guide, and Eric, our bus driver gave us a wonderful trip to the charming village of Giethooorn!!! The trip was very scenic and very informative!
Amazing
arsenal911
, Sep 2018
Wr really enjoyed our trip to this georgous little village, this trip is a must to anyone visiting Amsterdam!
A fairytale day!
Donna-Michelle R
, Jul 2018
Beautiful place, quiet and unspoilt!Well worth the trip. Food at the Italian restuarant not good but otherwise amazing. Tour guide was noce.
Way too long
dianea261
, Jul 2018
Beautiful little town. We enjoyed the boat tour. Then we had three more hours to walk around and look at the same thing. I would not recommend this trip.
Great change of pace from the city
sanrionjb
, Jul 2018
I enjoyed this day trip- gave some variety to my Amsterdam trip and even though I love the hustle and bustle of a city, this was a nice change. The village was very interesting and I enjoyed the boat ride. Compared to other tours I found this one very relaxing and not rushed at all. The bus ride is not long and we had plenty of free time to explore Giethoorn, Also, often on these tours there is no time to eat or you just grab something quick for lunch- not the case at all for this tour. We had plenty of time to have a nice lunch in a restaurant.
Out of town paradise:
sergiobob
, Jul 2018
Beautiful paradise outside the city. Tour guide gives you more than 3 hours of free time with the opportunity of renting your own small boat and explore around the canals or biking.
Wonderful experience
alefkovitz
, Jul 2018
The tour was well organized , and our guide was very knowledgeable. Giethoorn is beautiful town/village. I recommend this tour to everyone.

Product code: 2550P98

Explore Similar Things to Do