Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. The WHO is closely monitoring the coronavirus and more information can be found here.
Reserve Now & Pay Later

UNAM, Xochimilco and Frida Kahlo

|
Mexico City, Mexico
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Visit Frida Kahlo’s house, the colonial-era neighborhood of Coyoacan, and Xochimilco’s floating gardens on a small-group tour in Mexico City that explores art, architecture, and history. You’ll get a fascinating glimpse into Kahlo’s life and work in “Casa Azul,” then take in the main sites in Coyoacan. Next, head to Xochimilco for an hour-long boat ride in a trajinera, following a series of flower-lined canals. The tour concludes with a trip through the UNAM campus, including a series of beloved murals by Diego Rivera, O’Gorman, and Siqueiros.
  • Full-day tour of Coyoacan, Xochimilco, and UNAM
  • See Frida Kahlo’s “Casa Azul”
  • Optional stop at Leon Trotsky’s house (own expense)
  • Boat ride through Xochimilco’s floating gardens
  • Tour of the UNAM campus, stadium, and murals
  • Includes pickup and drop-off at selected hotels
  • Entrance fees included
  • Tour is wheelchair accessible

Reviews

4.0
star-4
15 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-5
Mexico City Highlights
marvin_P
, Mar 2020
Excellent excursion but a guide with more fluency in the English language would have even made the tour better.
star-2
Poor tour.
Unhappy
, Feb 2020
This tour sounds great but it is not what it seems. You only see the outside of the stadium at UNAM and in the distance you glimpse the library. You are taken to a tacky souvenir shop for 45 minutes! The food served on the boat at Xochimilco is way overpriced and poor quality. The back seat of the van has no suspension and the seat slides sideways when you turn corners. The on route information is minimal. I would not recommend this tour.
star-5
Great overview of two top sights in CDMX
jglsongs
, Jan 2020
The two top tourist attractions outside of the area from the historic district out to Chapultepec Park are Coyoacán and Xochimilco; this tour combines both areas - the historic parts of Coyoacán, the Museo Frida Kahlo (avoiding the long lines to get in), and Xochimilco. You could do this on your own, but believe me, between the metro, waiting on line, the light rail, and walking, it's worth it to go with Viator for something like this. In addition, you get to meet interesting people - and riding on a trajinera with a group of people is a lot more fun than just with your traveling companion. On a side note, I've done this tour before, but this time brought someone else who had never been. After a confusing incident at the pickup location (we were told to get on a bus after showing the Viator confirmation) but unfortunately it was for another tour company - there were others on this bus going to numerous places and it left us all on the street near Bellas Artes but off the beaten path waiting for this other tour company to group people going to wherever they were supposed to go. Our Viator pickup arrived and, although we were 15 minutes early, we were not there; they waited; they contacted us, and picked us up at our unplanned location - which wasn't easy knowing CDMX morning traffic. We didn't miss a thing, and the rest of the people on the van didn't hate us for being the last, late ones. Thank you to the Viator/Encounter team, our guide Melissa (who is excellent) and our driver for making what could have been a let down into a wonderful day.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear jglsongs, Your comments and experiences are very important to us. As you say, the tour is better when you share it with a group of people. We are very happy to choose us for your tour in Frida and Xochimilco. Mexico is your home! BR
star-5
Frida Kahlo and other adventures
nmalanizjr
, Jan 2020
Mario was great. Very informative and kind man. The insight and history was great. Would do the tour again!!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Nmalanizjr, Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy you enjoyed your tour. We will be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico! Have a great day!
star-2
Bad tour guide for an otherwise great tour
49deniset
, Dec 2019
It can't be denied that these sites are interesting and important unfortunately we got stuck with a terrible tour guide and it ruined half the experience. We were told to be at the hotel of our lobby at 8:30am but the guide didn't show up until 9am. At that point people were restless and had gone off to find coffee which made him have to wait 7 whole minutes for us to gather and he glared and scolded us that entire time. The unhappiness continued when he informed us that he had not secured the tickets to Frida Kahlo's house until 2 pm and because of that, in order to hit all the attractions we would need to SKIP LUNCH. This is a 7 hour tour for 14 people; you can't just ask that they don't eat (or they should have given us some warning to pack a lunch). The ridiculousness continue when he refused to help us find a bathroom two hours into the tour. He acted like this request was unreasonable and said we should have "planned" to not use the bathroom for longer! His explanations were cursory and in some cases inaccurate and when someone in the group would correct him he would get annoyed (he told us, for example, that Frida's father was Austrian - he was of German background). At the UNAM murals he only showed us two and then rushed us out (I think there are 8 total, including one that was *right across* from the large one in the library, and he didn't know about or care to explain). We had to wait another 35 minutes to get to Xochimilco to use the bathroom. Once we got to Coyoacan, we managed to convince him that we needed a snack (it was 1:10pm), he tried to convince us to go to the 7/11 and was VERY upset that we decided to go to a Taqueria instead (no one wanted stuff from 7/11). We bought him lunch thinking we could improve his mood but he acted annoyed again, that people needed to use the restroom (the nerve of humans who need to pee!) and rushed us to the Blue House. Thankfully he didn't enter the House with us so we had a reprieve but let us go with a warning to use the restroom before we left because he would not be stopping. On the way back we inquired whether he could make two stops so that some people could stay at the crafts market and the answer not surprisingly was "no" Our 7 hour tour ended 20 min early as our "very busy" tour guide rushed us through every site and we were dropped off at the hotel with the clear sense that we didn't get our money's worth. Mario's poor English we could have accepted but lack of knowledge = unacceptable
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Dear 49deniset, I really sorry because of your bad experience. We can´t allow situations like this. Please let me know your name or booking reference, I will contact the operator and try to give you a 50% refund of your trip. We will contact you within the following days. We kind regards
star-5
This was a perfect combo tour when...
eleanora1920
, Feb 2018
This was a perfect combo tour when we didn't have the whole day for a longer tour of these places. Victor was an excellent, experienced tour guy who spoke fluent English, who knew tons about Mexican history and culture etc. Skipping the line at the Kahlo museum was important, even so it was very crowded on a Sunday afternoon. The floating gardens at Xochimilco are lovely and relaxing, not to be missed. Another time I would take more time on my own with Kahlo museum and walking around Coyoacan, which was brief because of our 1 pm museum tickets. Note this says full-day tour, but we were picked up at 9 and finished up by 2 pm would have been more like 3 but we skipped lunch after the museum.
star-5
A great day. Victor was a great guide...
Edward A
, Jan 2018
A great day. Victor was a great guide. Highly recommended.
star-4
Too crowded, but crowds kept flowing...
amendez911
, Jan 2017
Too crowded, but crowds kept flowing nicely. I wanted photos and they were not allowed, later found out that you could pay for a photo pass, information not given at the entrance. Knowing that before entering the museum would have been nice. University city your was short, may have beeen avoided all together. Xochimilco needs work to keep with the Unesco designation, not bad but will skip next time.

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 30922P27

Explore Similar Things to Do