Thessaloniki
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Day Trip to Dion and Mountain Olympus from Thessaloniki

Badge of ExcellenceThessaloniki, Greece

From US$59.99

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
Nearby
  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Leave Thessaloniki for a day and discover ancient Dion and Mt. Olympus without the stress of public transport or hire cars. Travel to Dion Archaeological Park, home to city ruins dating from the 6th century BC; and explore its relics and museum. Next, visit Mt. Olympus, the home of the gods in Greek mythology, and walk in the Epinea Gorge to absorb the scenery surrounding the peak before returning.
  • Visit Dion Archaeological Park and Mt. Olympus in a day from Thessaloniki
  • No transport to organize: simply hop inside a comfortable minivan or coach
  • Explore and learn more about Dion and Mt. Olympus than if alone
  • Choose from multiple Thessaloniki pickup and drop-off spots for convenience

What's Included

  • Pick up and drop-off from main locations in Thessaloniki
  • Bus transportation to all locations
  • English-speaking trip attendant
  • Basic travel insurance (during transportation)
  • Entrance fee to the Archaeological site of Dion (8€ during Summer season - 4€ during Winter season)
  • The guided tour at the archaeological site and the Museum of Dion
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Statue of Eleftherios Venizelos
    Egnatia 78, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece

    Aristotelous square and Egnatia square in front of Statue of Eleftherios Venizelos at 08:00

Start time

08:00 a.m.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • The hiking that leads to the cave of Saint Dionysius takes about 20 minutes and requires comfortable walking shoes
  • Please be informed that there is the possibility of modifying the schedule of the excursion and adjust it on the current weather conditions. In chance of non favorable weather conditions (mostly during winter season) the short trekking may not be included. In this chance, it is replaced either by visiting the picturesque village of Litochoro (walk in the main traditional square) or by visiting the Holy Monastery of Saint Dionysus (visit to the old and the new one)
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers
Operated by Ammon Express

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more
Reviews
4.5
101 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 101 reviews
Very good 👍
nataliia_k, Dec 2022
Thank you for unforgettable trip! The guide Nikos was very friendly and helpful. He organised everything perfectly.I recommend to anyone use this possibility to see fantastic place with a good company!
Mt. Olympus and Dion day trip
Richard_K, Dec 2022
Tour guide Eileen was excellent. The trip was organized very well and exceeded my expectations. Highly recommend!
Dion and mountains of Zeus -things may change
kelliga, Nov 2022
Fun trip even though we didn’t have the best weather(no rain just foggy and overcast).Dion was interesting. Mostly just walking thru the ruins. No gift shop or snack bar to get coffee!! But once at museum we had time to grab something to eat/drink at a local restrauant. Once at mtn base, our tour guide gave the group the option for a simpler 20-30 minute walk which would be great for those with no health issues as it was a well laid flat path to the waterfalls. The other option was to hike up the mtn to see, not sure what, but sounded fun, so the group chose this one. It was way more treacherous than anyone anticipated. Very rocky, loose stones/gravel and required holding into rocks to support yourself at times. As you can see in our photos, we were not dressed for THIS kind of hike. We hiked about an hour up, then turned around, as a few in our group had stopped and said they would wait for our descent. Hour back down then we did the simple walk to the falls( bathing holes of Zeus). No regrets but Definately know which hike you will be doing or be ready for both types. The views were beautiful. After hike we were supposed to stop in the little town of Litochoro for lunch, but our guide told us because the “season”was over most of the restaurants and shops were closed the only thing open was fast food and he didn’t think we came to Greece for fast food. So, he said we would head back to Thessaloniki and everyone could get lunch there. I wish we’d known this information, because we had been told by others that the little of Litochoro was quaint and would be a lovely place end to the trip with lunch. Overall we enjoyed it but I think if the seasons changing cause things in the tour to change that should be noted. Would have been nice to know that we would have hiking options and if not eating in the town then have restrauant suggestions back in Thessaloniki or stop in another town(we heard the town of Katrini could have been a good lunch spot.) We ended up walking for 30min in Thessaloniki looking for food, not a patisserie! Jyst know that what you read about tour is subject to change.
Nice to get out of town
Christiane_G, Nov 2022
Dion is a bit sparse, ruins wise. Nice museum. Easy 15 min walk among foothills Mt. Olympus. Guide very knowledgeable.
Buyer be careful on cancelation policy
csirisena2, Oct 2022
I bought the tour the night before the departure date as a last minute trip. But then I got sick that night and couldn’t go on the tour. Tour operators were not at all willing to refund my tour since it was within the 24 hour cancellation policy of theirs. I understand their policy but when traveling things happen people get sick. I was surprised they were not willing to even consider a refund. What should I have done? Come to a tour sick and get everyone else sick? Buyer be warned invade you have last minute issues you will be stuck with a $54 charge you can’t do anything about.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us. Please note that we offered you a future voucher that you or a family member / friend could use in the future. We hope to have the chance to welcome you in our trip to Mt. Olympus in the future. Kind regards, Mary Polatidou
History,stories and yummy Greek food
sormila_s, Oct 2022
It was well organised and Nikos our guide told good stories and Harris our driver drove us calmly around.the sites and museum were full of history and the lunch at the traditional tavern was the icing on the cake.it was a wonderful day trip indeed!!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you very much recommending Ammon Express after your Sunset Trip to Cape Sounio and Temple of Poseidon. We always try to serve our customers in the best possible way, and we are pleased you experienced this effort. Hope to see you soon on one of our future tours. Best Regards, Mary Polatidou
Disappointement
Zeev_B, Oct 2022
Olympus is an impressive mountain but as a day trip the experience is not recommended. The Dion archeological site is dull.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
hank you very much for taking the time to review your Day Trip to Dion and Mountain Olympus from Thessaloniki. We can always suggest you trips that may interest you more in the future. Kindest regards, Mary Polatidou
Not worth the price
WanPing_L, Oct 2022
There was nothing much to see at Dion. The “guide” from the agency was more of a coordinator and did very minimal explanation, not even at the museum. Unfortunately, the lack of interaction made the trip to Dion extremely boring and I could not appreciate Dion at all. The hike to a small segment of Mount Olympus was fair. We were just walking and rushing, even stops to take photos was pressurising. When we reached the gorge, it was a short stop for photo and off we went. No explanation or anything. On the way down, the “guide” was actually lagging behind some of the group members. We were then left at the village (which had nothing much) for 1.5h after that (obviously wanting us to spend at that village). I would rather they just do away Dion, do a bit more at Mount Olympus then go back to Athens for lunch where there are more options. Bottomline: Join this tour only if you have nothing better to do. OR if you have your own means to get to the foot of Mount Olympus (that village), go on your own. This tour, for this point, not worth it. I would give 1 star for Dion, and 3 star for Mount Olympus.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all kind of reviews from our travelers either positive or negative, as this way we have the chance to optimize our services. Regarding your comments, we would kindly like to inform you that in the reservation process is stated clearly that the excursion is followed by a trip attendant (English speaking excursion attendant). Out trip attendants are people who have all the necessary archaeological and historical education background in order to provide you with all the useful information as well as to answer you any question you might have during the excursion. They cannot enter with you in the museums/monasteries as they are not tour guides. We would like to specify that trip to Mt. Olympus starts and returns to Thessaloniki. (mistakenly you mention Athens euro in your review). Once again thank you very much for highlighting your remarks as this way you help us improve our services and overcome ourselves. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Take it or leave it - it’s one way to use a day
Ehren_B, Sept 2022
It seemed important to see Mt. Olympus while we’re here and having done this, I can’t say we would’ve missed much if we hadn’t. Dion was a bunch of used-to-be-buildings, the gorge hike was beautiful, but the waterfall endgame was a dead-end trickle. We loved Litochoro. Our guide seemed just to be going though the motions til she could send us to explore on our own. Overall, $100 is reasonable for the tour. I’d say this was an average tour, but didn’t feel right giving it 3 stars (gave it 4 stars). Do it for something to do. Do it to say you saw Mt. Olympus. Or go ride the pirate ship a couple extra times and visit skyline cafe.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you very much for your 4 star review. We really hope to see you again in the future for more trips with Ammon Express! Best regards, Mary Polatidou
1 traveler found this review helpful
Mount Olympus a must; Dion only if extra time
vduarte1, Jul 2022
Mount Olympus is not to be missed! Our time at mount Olympus was the highlight of the excursion. I wish we had more time in the area of Mount Olympus instead of Dion. The order of visiting the archeological site then museum should be reversed to provide background knowledge for time at archeological site of Dion. Hike was very short in comparison to the time spent at Dion & museum.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are happy that you had a wonderful time on your Day Trip to Dion and Mountain Olympus from Thessaloniki. We take into consideration your comments about visiting times and order of visiting the sites. We wish to see you again in the future in one of our excursions. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Very enjoyable day..
DVDANDREWJONES, Jul 2022
Tour delivered everything as described. The guide gave just the right amount of information and also enough free time to explore on our own. Dion is not the most spectacular ancient sight I ve visited but clearly very important historically. Very good choice and because of this I m booking with Ammon Express when I get to Athens.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you for your feedback on our Day Trip to Dion and Mountain Olympus from Thessaloniki. What better reward for us than meeting your expectations. Hope to see you soon in one of our future tours. All the best, Mary Polatidou
A tour not to be missed!
Anne_M, Jul 2022
Such a beautiful trip.. Not to be missed if visiting Thessaloniki! The Dion museum and archaeological remains are worth visiting and enjoying a relaxing go through the past. Mt Olympus is spectacular.. Breathtaking views.. The waterfall is spectacular. Lazorus, the tour leader was very nice and helpful. A tour not to be missed!
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience with us in Mt. Olympus and Dion! This activity is indeed a perfect combination of history, nature, spirituality and of course Greek hospitality! Such positive and warm comments from our travellers are most welcome in order to continue our actions and provide each traveller this unique experience that you also had the chance to live with us. Lazarus will be very happy also once he is informed about your words. we hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Most Beautiful Tour Guide I’ve Ever Seem
Phong_T, Jun 2022
I am half-blind and was scared I would fall to my death walking on a narrow walkway up a mountain with a steep fall. So my beautiful tour guide came and told me to hold her arm up the mountain. She then use my iPhone to do a video with the two of us. She said “we are not dead yet” in Greek at my request. She then let me hold her arm to guide me down the mountain. Then when we went to a Greek taverna for lunch she opened a bottle of water for me since that type of water bottle is not common in the United States. Then after I paid for my meal Elenn was waiting for me to offer her arm to guide me back to the tour bus. Elenn, my tour guide, made all the difference in the world and made this trip a success.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Mr. Phong_T, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your Day Trip to Dion and Mountain Olympus from Thessaloniki. We are very glad to hear that our escort Helen was so helpful and offered you our best services! We really hope to see you again in the future for more great adventures. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Beautiful views of Olympus
Patrick_v, Jun 2022
Great day trip from Thessaloniki to the archaeological site of Dion where you have 1,5 free time. After this you’ll walk at the foot of the Olympus mountain with great views. Nepheli was a great tourguide
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Patrick_v, It has been a pleasure for us to read your positive review and we are so glad that Nepheli made your trip to Mt. Olympus plus Dion a great and memorable experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Great day out and a ‘must see’ archaeological site. A bit hurried at Dion and could have done with a map for guidance.
triciaburritt, May 2022
Size of the archaeological site is impressive. Snow on Mt Olympus and surrounding countryside very beautiful.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Day Trip to Dion and Mountain Olympus from Thessaloniki. We take into account all of your comments. We are glad that you had a safe ride. We hope to see you again in the future to offer you a better experience with Ammon Express. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Great day trip
happyrvers2014, May 2022
Dion Archaeological park is quite extensive and we enjoyed the walk up to the Waterfalls - Beautiful
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thank you very much for your 4 star review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the Day Trip to Dion and Mountain Olympus from Thessaloniki. We really hope to see you again in the future for more trips with Ammon Express! Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Fantastic
Eleanora_G, May 2022
Tour guide was very welcoming and sweet. Everything was great! We could have used more time near the waterfalls for pictures and just enjoying the moment. The rest was amazing
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on our Day Trip to Dion and Mountain Olympus from Thessaloniki. What better reward for us than meeting your expectations. Hope to see you soon in one of our future tours. All the best, Mary Polatidou
Great experience!!
Eric_J, May 2022
Amazing day at Dion archeological site and Mount Olympus, our driver and guide Yiannis was very helpful and a lot of fun! The trip is perfect for anyone looking to learn about Dion and to see Mount Olympus and learn about its history without it being very taxing. I would definitely recommend!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Eric_J, Thank you very much for your review. We feel more than happy we met your expectations and you enjoyed your tour at Mt. Olympus plus Dion. We always try to serve our customers in the best possible way, and we are pleased you experienced this effort. Hope to see you soon on one of our future tours. Best Regards, Mary Polatidou
Nice experience
Jovana_R, May 2022
Great guide and nice bus. Helen was very knowledgable and share good tips. She shared some myths and facts that We were not aware of. We loved it
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Jovana, Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are glad that you enjoyed your day trip to Dion and Mountain Olympus. Helen is indeed a very knowledgeable. We will transfer to her your kind words as soon as possible. We wish to see you again in the future Best regards, Mary Polatidou
Looked like a good tour
Daniel_C, Apr 2022
The tour was canceled without notice, due to strike. Refund issued, but we could have made other plans.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Dear Daniel, Thank you for your review. Please note that there was a last minute strike to the archaeological sites and museums. We tried our best to offer everyone alternative choices or to give a refund. Best regards, Mary Polatidou

Questions?

Product code: 63073P3