Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles

Are you interested in?

Day Trips
154 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
920 Tours & Activities
Uruguay Day Trips From Buenos Aires
Uruguay Day Trips From Buenos Aires
5 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires

|
Comuna 1, Argentina
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles
28

From US$ 101.67

Lowest Price Guarantee

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Loading available options...


icon9 to 11 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
Chat now

Overview

Discover the UNESCO-listed Uruguayan town of Colonia del Sacramento on this day trip from Buenos Aires. Leave the cosmopolitan capital behind for a slower pace of life on the other side of the Rio de la Plata. After a ferry ride, take a guided walking tour of Colonia upon arrival. Pause for a meal at your choice of restaurant (own expense), then spend the afternoon discovering Colonia on your own. You'll return to Buenos Aires by ferry after a full day of exploring. Upgrade for hotel pickup and drop-off.
  • Full-day trip from Buenos Aires to Colonia
  • Take a scenic ferry ride across the Rio de la Plata to Colonia
  • Enjoy a sightseeing city tour and a walking tour to discover top Colonia attractions
  • Enjoy free time and explore the vibrant city at your leisure
  • Upgrade to include hotel pickup and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
Private hotel pickup and drop-off (if option selected)
1-hour guided city tour
Ferry tickets
Gratuities
Lunch

Departure Point

Colonia Express, Av. Elvira Rawson de Dellepiane 155, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Traveler pickup is offered
The pick up transfer is only from selected centrally located hotels. If your hotel is outside the geographic area, we will confirm you the closest meeting point. Indicate the name and address of your hotel.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Make your way to the ferry port in Buenos Aires (or opt for hotel pickup) and prepare to leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind. Hop aboard the ferry from Buenos Aires to Colonia for a scenic boat ride across the Rio de la Plata. When you disembark in Colonia, ask inside the ferry station for directions on where to meet your guide for your city sightseeing tour. 

You'll get to know the charming town of Colonia, a UNESCO World Heritage site full of fascinating architecture. After your tour, disembark the vehicle for an optional walking tour along cobblestone streets as your guide points out historical landmarks.

Afterward, you're set on your own for the remainder of the afternoon. Choose a restaurant for lunch, tasting regional Uruguayan specialties as well as Argentinian and international cuisine (own expense). Then wander the quaint streets of Colonia at your own pace. Peruse the local shops, visit the museums or take a stroll along the coastal beach. 

When it's time to board the ferry for your return trip to Buenos Aires, enjoy a great vantage point for views of the city as you approach. Disembark at the ferry terminal and make your way back to your Buenos Aires hotel (or enjoy drop-off, if option selected).

Please note: Ferry tickets for this tour regularly sell out weeks in advance, so book ahead to avoid disappointment!
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Port of Buenos Aires
Our Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires by Ferry begins at the ferry port (details above) at 7:15am or at your hotel from 6 am if you selected the option.
Stop At:  
Colonia Express
Embark on our trip to Colonia at 8:15am. The ferry takes about 2 hours to cross to Uruguay.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Colonia del Sacramento
Head inside the ferry station and get directions of where to go for a 1-hour sightseeing city tour inside the historic neighborhood. Full of old cobblestone streets, rustic buildings and famous landmarks, this historic town has a captivating atmosphere and charm. Then, walk around the city while absorbing the history of Colonia. Admire the beautiful architecture that gives this city its rustic charm – in fact, both Colonia's old and modern architecture are now protected as UNESCO World Heritage sites. You will be on your own to have lunch. Head to the restaurant of your choice and enjoy a delicious Uruguayan meal (own expense). After lunch, enjoy free time to explore the city at your leisure. Walk through the streets, visit the local museums, browse the pottery and jewelry shops, or take a stroll along the coast to admire the town’s remarkable beauty.
Duration: 4 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Buenos Aires
At around 15:30 pm we’ll be taken back to the port to board our boat, which leaves at 16:30 pm. After 2 hours on the water we’ll be back in Buenos Aires, where our tour will come to a close at the ferry pier or at your hotel if you selected the option.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Ferry ride is approximately 2 hours
  • Please note: a current valid passport is required to enter Uruguay
  • Possession of proper government issued documentation is the responsibility of the passenger. You may require additional documentation to enter Uruguay. A Uruguayan visa may be required for some nationalities; check your home country requirements for entering Uruguay.
  • Passport name, number, date of birth, expiry and country is required at time of booking for all participants
  • Note: The city tour may include an English-speaking guide, subject to availability. Please contact the local tour operator upon booking so they can arrange this service for you
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Tangol

All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Colonia Day Trip & Optional Private Transfers from Buenos Aires.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "The problem is: Colonia is deadly dull and really not worth a day" See review
  • "A 7 am pick up would allow ample time to check in." See review

Reviews

3.0
star-3
43 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews
star-3
Well...
Rick L
, Jun 2019
The ride to the ferry and home after we’re great. The guía in Colonia was ver good, but the whole “tour” only lasted maybe 45 minutes, then we were “on our own” for 4 or 5 hours. Three of us hired the guide independently for a couple of hours and that was great. Without that, it would’ve been a bust
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Dear Rick, we are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this experience. The day tour to Colonia, is the most basic option to know the city in one day from Buenos Aires. Of course, you have the option to add other services. The ship company is who programs the circuit in Colonia. We will send them your comments so they can improve the quality of their services. Kind regards.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Day trip to colonia
Trek01439214820
, Jan 2019
The tour was a waste of money. The tour guide guided us for about 45 min then we got into some van that drove us out of town for lunch for 2 hours. The food was awful. Then we only had an hour to explore colonia after lunch before heading back to the ferry port. Total waste of money.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this experience. The day tour to Colonia, is the most basic option to know the city in one day from Buenos Aires. Of course, you have the option to add other services. The lunch is not included in this tour so you received an upgrade, we regret that you did not like it. The ship company is who programs the circuit in Colonia. We will send them your comments so they can improve the quality of their services. Kind regards.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Not Really worth a Visit
Barjay
, Jan 2019
We chose to meet the tour at the ferry terminal, which was an east thing to do. It saved a lot of money to take our own taxi transportation. All the details went exactly as described, and we hAd no complaints with the tour operator. The problem is: Colonia is deadly dull and really not worth a day
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Thank you very much for your comments, We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this experience. Colonia del Sacramento is one of the oldest towns in Uruguay. It is renowned for its historic quarter, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. For these reasons, the city is visited by many tourists who wish to see it during the day. We regret that the city has not fulfilled your expectations. We really appreciate your comments as it helps us improve our services. Kind regards.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Worth a visit
peggyfloodct
, Jan 2019
We decided ahead of time to book this trip and it was worth it. Colonia is beautiful. The ferry is not a complicated process and tickets can be purchased at the Colonia Express terminal. We were on the 9a.m. ferry but were picked up at our hotel at 6am, which was too early. We sat at the terminal for 1 hour before others passengers arrived. A 7 am pick up would allow ample time to check in. Colonia is charming and a perfect day trip from Buenos Aires.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Thank you very much for your comments! We are glad to know that you enjoyed this nice experience. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you soon! Greetings, Tangol.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Colonia
Explore65733434408
, Nov 2018
- guided tour was too short- problems with the lunch-value for money - really poor (assuming that the ferry ticket can be bought for 80 USD, paying 112 USD for that one was waste of 32 usd)
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment. According to our company's policies, our rates are updated daily to be sure you get the best available price online or at destination. Sometimes, to complete the places that are free, cheaper rates are offered at the destination. This involves a risk: by paying the regular rate the passenger is guaranteed a place on the tour; waiting until the last minute, most of the time, there are no places available. We would like to clarify that when our agency made the purchase of your tickets we suffered an increase, so we had to absorb in order to confirm your reservation. On the other hand, the ferry company is who programs the circuit in Colonia. We sent them your comments so they can improve the quality of their services. Kind regards, Tangol
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Day Trip!
brownida
, Oct 2018
The trip was well organized. A driver picked us up at our Airbnb and dropped us off at the end of the day. The walking tour of Colonia upon arrival was very good. Maria was very knowledgeable. We had the rest of the day on our own to explore the city. The weather was lovely and we had a great time walking the streets of Colonia.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Thank you very much for your comments! We are glad to know that you enjoyed this nice experience. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you soon! Greetings, Tangol.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
It was perfect. Nice difference...
Richard J
, Mar 2018
It was perfect. Nice difference between BA and Colonia. I wish I could have stayed a few days there to really slow down. Everything was good and I encourage anybody to go.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
We feel this tour was a rip off...
Robert H
, Jan 2018
We feel this tour was a rip off, extremely expensive for what we got. The guided walking tour was about 15 minutes. Colonia is just not that interesting. It is worth about an hour visit to see a few old buildings and some ruins. The rest of the town is souvenir shops and restaurants. It ended up being a 12 hour day, very tiring waiting for the ferry, a crowded boring ride, and a minimal tour. Don't waste your time or money.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Dear Robert Hanson, Thank you very much for your comments. We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this experience. Colonia del Sacramento is one of the oldest towns in Uruguay. It is renowned for its historic quarter, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. For these reasons, the city is visited by many tourists who wish to see it during the day. We regret that the city has not fulfilled your expectations as this city it is known for its cobblestoned Barrio Histórico, lined with buildings from its time as a Portuguese settlement. We hope you can visit us again so that you can reverse your opinion and enjoy the quality of our services. We really appreciate your comments as it helps us improve our services. Kind regards, Tangol
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
This tour was horrible. Actually it...
Parvin P
, Dec 2017
This tour was horrible. Actually it wasn't even a tour, in fact I would give it a 0 if I could. Somebody picked us up at our hotel, took us to the Port. When we got to the port we just learned that the tour will meet us in Uruguay. We could travel with ourselvs on a ship, but it was verry disappointing that the Viator didn't say anything. After 3 hours boat ride we got to Colonia. There was another ship. We asked the personal at the port and they told us that we came on the slow car ship. Again we were speachless, why Viator placed us on the car ship when we could go with a fast one that only took about 1 hour instead of 3. We waited on a long line for our tour in Colonia. Then The Day Tour person did not even speak a word of english, she started screaming at us and other people why we didn't speek spanish. She threw all our papers at her collegue who knew english. The second one left us at a Hop-On Hop-Off Station in the middle of nowhere. She told us that we paid about 600 dollars for a Hop-On Hop-Of. On the website said we were paing for a tour, not for a Hop-On Hop-Off in a village that is so small you don't even need a bus. You need a tour guide to explain the history. We could buy our ship ticket much cheaper than 600 and go to Uruguay by ourselvs. So, we just walk around the Colonia by ourselvs. Don't get me wrong Colonia was amazing. Even though we went there in Christmas resturants were open and a couple of the souvinier shops. Colonia is also very pretty evert cobelstone street leads to another one and the prettyness never stops. Viator told us that there would be someone wating for us at the Port of Buenos Aires to take us to our hotel. But nobody was there. We had to take a Taxi there were not many at 10:30 pm. So this 'tour' was the worst 'tour' we ever had. But if you are in Buenos Aires you should go to Colonia.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Dear Parvin Pooya, We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this experience. The day tour to Colonia, is the most basic option to know the city in one day from Buenos Aires. Of course, you have the option to add other services or request packages with accommodation. We offer different alternatives, in relation to the itineraries, which are adapted to each traveler's profile. We are sorry that the tours you have contracted have not met your expectations. We appreciate your comments as it helps us improve the quality of our services. Kind regards, Tangol
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
This is the worst tour I have ever...
Zahra S
, Dec 2017
This is the worst tour I have ever been on, if you can even call it a tour, which is such a shame as Colonia seemed lovely! We got off the ferry and it was very disorganised. Eventually we were put on a bus which is pointless as it is no more than a 5 mins drive but we had to sit on it for almost 30mins. There was a lot of confusion with how the tour would work and whether it was a walking tour or a bus tour. The walking tour offered no interesting information on the place or history of Colonia and we didn't even go into the main attractions such as the church! We then got on a bus to see a bit more of Colonia and again the explanations offered were not very interesting. I was comparing my experience to my friend who had been on another tour the week earlier and told me how great it was. Our ferry back was not scheduled until 9pm, which we managed to change but then no one understood that we needed to change our pick up from the ferry terminal to our hotel to arrive earlier so we gave up explaining and just got a taxi back. Below is an equivalent explanation in Spanish if you wish to forward it to the provider. A quien corresponda, Buenas tardes, mi nombre es Zahra y escribo para expresar mi profunda disconformidad con el servicio que me ha prestado la empresa en términos de organización. Desde un primer momento tuvimos problemas con el bus, tuvimos que esperar mas de 20 minutos a que el mismo comenzara lo cual no fue un buen comienzo. También tuvimos problemas para regresar a nuestro hotel una vez finalizado el tour. Siendo que el transporte de regreso estaba incluido, tuvimos que toma un taxi por nuestra cuenta. Pero lo mas decepcionante es que el tour en si mismo no nos proporcionó ninguna informaciónon sobre el valor histórico del lugar que era lo que a fin de cuentas mas nos interesaba. Espero que esta información sirva para que puedan mejorar el servicio.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Dear Zahra Shahab, We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy this experience. The day tour to Colonia, is the most basic option to know the city in one day from Buenos Aires. Of course, you have the option to add other services. The ship company is who programs the circuit in Colonia. We will send them your comments so they can improve the quality of their services. Kind regards, Tangol
HelpfulHelpful

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 5674COLONIA

Explore Similar Things to Do