Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Malolo from Ma'alaea Harbor

Badge of ExcellenceWailuku, United States
Likely to Sell Out

From US$119.95

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 hours 30 minutes (Approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Imagine swimming in a sunken volcano that teems with thousands of fish, while splashing in crystal clear water. On this Molokini snorkeling tour, cruise out to the crater, before jumping in the crystalline waters and scouring the colorful reef. Make a second stop dependent upon conditions, and search for turtles at Turtle Town or a spot named Coral Gardens. This family-friendly Maui activity is one of the island's most popular, and an unforgettable day of exploring the underwater world.
  • Search for sea turtles and tropical fish
  • Cruise the island's scenic coast
  • Receive onboard instruction and snorkeling gear
  • Continental breakfast and deli lunch included

What's Included

  • Professional, friendly, safety oriented, experienced captain and crew
  • Continental breakfast, cinnamon rolls, donuts, coffee, juice and fresh fruit
  • Deli lunch
  • Ice cold sodas and juice
  • Use of Snorkeling equipment
  • Flotation device
  • Easy stairway in and out of the water
  • Shady cabin
  • 2 Restrooms
  • Freshwater showers
  • Great informative and historical narrative
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
  • Gratuities
  • DVD (available to purchase)
  • Wetsuits and Underwater Cameras available for rent
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off Not Included or Offered

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • 300 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA
    6:00AM Check-in // 6:30AM Departure Departure Point: Maalaea Harbor, Slip 87 Address: 300 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA Directions: Meet at Boss Frog's Dive & Surf (Ma'alaea Location) next to Beach Bums

Departure Time

  • 6:30 AM

Return Details

  • Returns to original departure point

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Vegetarian & Gluten-Free option is available; please advise at time of booking if required.
  • A 48-hour notice is required for cancellation or reschedule.
  • Mandatory Check-in 30 minutes prior to departure.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Minimum drinking age: 21 years old.
  • Bring cash if you'd like to tip the crew!
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • All Snorkel Spots Are Determined Daily Weather Permitting. Please Understand and Respect Captain’s Decision on Snorkel Locations – In Your Best Interest.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 66 travelers
Operated by Malolo Charters

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Filter by:

Q:Is there public parking near the departure point for the Maui Morning Snorkeling Tour to Molokini Crater & Turtle Town!?

A:There are two parking lots nearby: the Ocean Center (complimentary) and Harbor Parking (fee)

Mar 2021

Q:How long is the boat ride to Molokini on the Maui Morning Snorkeling Tour to Molokini Crater & Turtle Town?

A:The boat ride is approximately 45 mins to 1 hour in each direction.

Mar 2021

Q:How much time do we spend snorkeling during the Maui Morning Snorkeling Tour to Molokini Crater & Turtle Town?

A:On average, we spend approximately 1-1.5 hours snorkeling.

Mar 2021

Q:Are there restrooms on board for the Maui Morning Snorkeling Tour to Molokini Crater & Turtle Town! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?

A:Yes - there are two restrooms on board for your convenience.

Mar 2021

Q:What should I bring with me on the Maui Morning Snorkeling Tour to Molokini Crater & Turtle Town! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?

A:We recommend bringing sunscreen, swimwear, sunglasses, a towel, a camera, and cash/credit card for any additional purchases.

Mar 2021

Q:Is there a Vegetarian/Vegan option for lunch on the Maui Morning Snorkeling Tour to Molokini Crater & Turtle Town?

A:Yes, but we must know in advance. Feel free to let us know of any dietary restrictions in the "Special Requirements" box at checkout.

Mar 2021

Q:Can I bring my own food/drink on the Maui Morning Snorkeling Tour to Molokini Crater & Turtle Town! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?

A:Yes, you may bring your own food and drink, however outside alcohol is not permitted.

Mar 2021

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Malolo from Ma'alaea Harbor?

A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Malolo from Ma'alaea Harbor.

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Malolo from Ma'alaea Harbor?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Adventure Aboard Malolo from Ma'alaea Harbor.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


They offer wet suits, but it only feels cold when you first get in.
Food on boat is ok.If the vendor can provide better gear, find a better than this Turtle Town, and make more fun on boat, it will be more attractive.
Try to get there early so you can sit upfront.
Reviews
4.5
737 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 737 reviews
I’ve Done Better Snorkeling Solo
Aaron_R, Jan 2022
I was pretty disappointed in this experience. The snorkeling on the front side of Molokini isn’t anything you can experience elsewhere by renting your own snorkel gear. The staff was okay, I had to ask multiple times for my veggie option meal, and they seemed to really limit you on food (recommend bringing your own snacks). Also, Turtle Town was nothing to rave about. The water is murky and dozens of people are swimming all around you just to get to one honu (Hawaiian green sea turtle). From what I’ve heard from others, go with a tour group that’s smaller and takes you to the backside of the crater so you can see larger sea life.
child friendly tour
Olgalluliana_c, Jan 2022
awesome experience, worth every penny. My 5 year old had an amazing time after he got comfortable in the ocean. Staffing was very pleasant and made us feel secure and comfortable.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
The Malolo snorkeling tour to Molokini is perfect for all ages and abilities. The best family activity on Maui!
Trip was awesome. Crew...
Steven_J, Jan 2022
Trip was awesome. Crew very pleasant. I would definitely recommend this to friends and family. Just remember to bring your own towels.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Awesome! The Malolo crew is the best. Thank you for sharing your tips and joining us on the snorkeling tour to Molokini.
Great crew, nice boat, not great snorkeling
Kathryn_H, Jan 2022
We weee booked on the early cruise on the smaller Molola but the day before we were rerouted to the Calypso. The crew on the Calypso was fantastic. The boat was full—not sure how many but I’d say about 50 people. It didn’t feel terribly crowded on the boat because everyone had their own seat and we even had our own table! We saw several whales including a momma, baby and “escort” who came within 75 feet of the boat. Another whale breached no more than 50 yards from us. I took away a star because of the experience at Molokini. There were way too many people crammed into the small area they allowed us to snorkel in. Since we were positioned in the center of the island there wasn’t much to see there either, so it was confusing as to why we even bothered. The next stop at Coral Gardens (fortunately, high ocean swells kept us from the usual stop) was fabulous, though. Great snorkeling and they allowed us a much bigger area so we could all spread out in the water. We had a great time but I’d skip snorkeling at Molokini unless you can find a smaller boat that takes you to the best part of Molokini. Unfortunately, Coral Gardens is not the normal stop for the Calypso and I’ve not heard great things about “turtle town.”
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Mahalo for joining us aboard the Malolo snorkeling tour to Molokini!
Fish, whales, and turtles - oh my
Grant_G, Jan 2022
The whole experience was great. The captain was friendly and knowledgeable and had fun facts about the islands we were seeing as we were driving by them and about whales as we would pass them or see a breach. The rest of the staff was also amazing. I can’t remember everyone’s name but one of them was Emily and she was so friendly and made everyone feel welcome. The snorkeling at Molokini was great. Turtle Town just means anywhere close to shore. Food was better than I expected honestly - Costco muffins and fruit for breakfast, and then some deli turkey meat sliders for lunch. Bring your own towel and bring a jacket if it’s chilly in the morning! Overall I definitely recommend this trip.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
WOW! Whales and turtles are a huge bonus. Thank you for taking the time to review the snorkeling tour to Molokini aboard the Malolo.
Amazing morning!!
Vickie_F, Jan 2022
Worth every penny and the very early rise. We didn't get to go to turtle Beach because of tides but the captain followed whales on the way back to make it up. We got to see a baby swimming with mom just right beside the boat. Arrive early to sit at the front of the boat (10-15 min before actual check in time). Know where to park to save time! Fabulous time!!!! Food was simple but plentiful and tasty. Can't recommend this enough!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Wonderful! The snorkeling trip to Molokini aboard the Malolo is a must do Maui activity for all ages. Thank you for sharing your experience.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great trip with lots of wildlife
Amanda_H, Jan 2022
It was very fun and beautiful. We saw lots of pretty fish, sea urchin, large tuna, an eel, and lots of humpback whales from the boat ride. Favorite part was hearing the whales sing underwater. Keep in mind the time of year your book this trip, as well as the weather.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Wow! That's a lot of awesome fish and whales at Molokini. Thank you for joining us aboard the Malolo snorkeling tour.
Wonderful!
Jerry_B, Jan 2022
Overall wonderful experience! Crew was very knowledgeable and had the passengers safety as a top priority while performing wonderful customer service and a great experience. I would recommend this crew and trip to anyone!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
We appreciate your review and recommendation of the snorkeling tour to Molokini aboard the Malolo!
Good experience overall
Avinash_V, Jan 2022
Overall, a nice experience. We were on board with Walker, Cessa, and Molly (I apologize if I got the names or spellings wrong). Walker and Cessa are very helpful and knowledgeable. The snorkeling itself wasn’t great, there just aren’t as many fish near the crater and we skipped Turtle beach because of weather. Walker was very helpful, keeping an eye out on the water, and Cesse was offering tips being on board. We were offered breakfast (muffins and coffee), lunch (turkey sliders) and cookies as part of the package. On our way back, we stopped briefly to see whales since we were done early. One disappointing experience: Molly (or Dolly, I can’t remember now) was in charge of taking photos of each party both before and during snorkeling. She went around and took photos of all parties on board and she skipped right past us (we are an Indian couple). Even under water, there were very few photos taken of my husband at the surface, even though he was diving quite a bit. I just hope it was an honest mistake, but I am not convinced that you could forget taking a picture of someone, as you’re making small talk with them and you would remember doing so. Even if you’re unsure, you have to check as it was your responsibility. This left us with a bad taste in our mouths, and we let the crew know about this. Other than that, Walker and Cesse were really friendly and helpful.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience snorkeling at Molokini aboard the Malolo. Our crew is trained to provide the best possible snorkeling experience for all of our passengers.
AMAZING!
Prachedes_G, Jan 2022
It was a fantastic experience, and the whole crew was perfect. Ash was our underwater photographer, and we got lots of amazing pics. I highly recommend it.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
We appreciate your review and recommendation of the snorkeling tour to Molokini aboard the Malolo!
1 traveler found this review helpful
...

Questions?

Product code: 9281P1