Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Small-Group Deluxe Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5
|
Reykjavik, Iceland
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Hunting for the Northern Lights is one of Iceland’s most popular winter activities, and this 3-5 hour tour from Reykjavik lets you do it in style, in a small group. Traveling by minivan, head into the dark countryside away from any urban light pollution, and visiting different viewpoints to see the radiant natural lights. A camera tripod for taking photos, plus blankets, delicious ‘kleina’ pastries and cocoa are included to keep you warm.
  • 3-5 hour Northern Lights deluxe tour from Reykjavik
  • Head into the countryside far from light pollution to chase the Northern Lights
  • Stop at viewpoints and with luck, see the radiant display overhead
  • Learn the science and legends behind the lights
  • Camera tripod, blankets, ‘kleina’ pastries, and warming cocoa included
  • Includes air-conditioned transport by minivan, with pickup and drop-off near your Reykjavik hotel
  • Small group of 16 travelers or fewer
Dress warmly and after pickup from your Reykjavik hotel, meet your guide and small group of no more than 16. Settle inside your air-conditioned minivan and journey into the darkness-cloaked countryside.

On route, hear fascinating facts about the Northern Lights, otherwise known as the Aurora Borealis, from your guide. Learn how they form when solar particles collide with the Earth’s atmosphere, and hear the Icelandic folk tales associated with the natural phenomenon.

During your drive, your guide will keep watch for the lights, and look for the clear skies needed for sightings. You’ll also head as far from Reykjavik and towns as possible, to escape any urban light pollution.

Gaze out from your minivan, and stop at viewpoints to seek or catch up with the luminous displays. Hop outside and keep warm with melt-in-the-mouth kleina pastries and hot cocoa.

With luck, observe the lights overhead, and if you wish, use the supplied tripod to steady your camera and capture pin-sharp photos.

After four to five hours — the exact tour duration depends on when and if the lights appear, and how long it takes to find clear skies — return to Reyjkjavik, where your trip concludes with a drop-off near your hotel.

Please note: sightings of the Northern Lights are not guaranteed on this tour. If the lights are not seen, you will be given the option of joining the tour on another date, free of charge.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Sterna Travel Iceland
Admission Ticket Free

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
131 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-1
Don’t touch them
lynnberry60
, Jan 2020
We were booked to go on the ‘northern lights tour’ on Thursday and appreciated the fact that a natural phenomenon cannot be made to appear to order so the trip was cancelled,no problem .We we’re unable to rebook as already booked and paid for a tour the day/night after then home on Saturday ,but we didn’t worry as. They promise a refund should the situation arise......I have e mailed and tried to contact them by phone with no response! I await their refund!
star-4
Northern Lights
l0wprfl
, Jan 2020
Make sure you do research on how to program camera to take pictures. We saw white hazy lights but on cameras it comes out green.
star-1
cancelled twice
lisa11111112016
, Jan 2020
this company cancelled twice due poor weather. (all of the other companies still ran their tours from what i can tell? We therefore booked with another company and had a wonderful time.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Lisa1111, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry to hear that you didn´t have a chance to join our Northern Lights tour. We never hide that the final status regarding the Northern Lights tour is updated till 5 pm and it is always an individual decision of each tour operator. When the weather forecast is not obviously great those decisions can be different. Some of the companies take the risk and others don´t want to risk the time and money of their customers. Of course, we can never be sure who is right - we just try our best. We are happy to know that you tried the luck anyway on that day and had a chance to catch some lights! Greetings from snowy Iceland! Sterna Travel
star-5
Incredible!
685monkie
, Dec 2019
This tour is really good. Our driver Peter was lovely and very informative. He drove us to a spot where he thought the lights might show and they did!! The first spot he drove to and the lights showed. Worth being in a small group because it’s easier to get in and out of the minibus. Can not fault this tour at all.
star-1
Nothing deluxe about this tour it was awful
Hazel H
, Dec 2019
Bus turned up late, left freezing with no shelter from the elements, no blankets on bus, bus freezing. Tour guide gave no commentary on bus apart from a poor joke where one of the passages asked him no to swear as they had children on the bus. We did not get to see the northern lights not sure the driver was even looking in the right place as loads of other bus were out but none near us. Would not recommend this tour company.
star-5
Recommend
nycfamilytravel20
, Dec 2019
Fred was a great tour guide. Tried to make sure we saw the best views. And took individual photos so we could have the best view of the lights with his professional camera. Please note, only iphone 11 picks up the northern lights as a picture unless you bring a professional camera.
star-5
Wonderful experience
Pipe M
, Dec 2019
Booked the tour hoping to see the northern lights, but unfortunately the first night was to cloudy so we weren’t able to see them. Our guide was great a knew a lot of this phenomenon. The second day tried again and was able to watch them! Highly recommended. Best wishes!
star-5
Northern Lights Tour
clarehowe92
, Nov 2019
Incredible tour, with the most informative and kindest guide. When all hope was lost at 1am he saw a glimpse of light and he used his local knowledge and drove us to an area to view them. He didnt stop there, he helped with the settings to use on our cameras and gave us a tripod for the night. It was clear he wanted us to see the lights and we did!!
star-3
Northern Lights
Scenic754198
, Nov 2019
Disappointed with our tour guide, she failed to communicate effectively. I was given to understand we would be taken to more than one place, but that was not the case in reality. Not worth the price!!
star-5
Tour guide Karolina
favorsndesigns
, Oct 2019
Our guide Karolina was excellent. Ive been with different tours around the world but she’s one of the best. Very informative, accommodating and with a gentle soul. Highly recommended.

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 39660P8

Explore Similar Things to Do