Dedicated to the preservation and history of Dutch and foreign films, the EYE Film Institute (EYE Filmmuseum) is an archive museum located in Amsterdam. It houses over 37,000 film titles, 60,000 posters, 700,000 photographs and 20,000 books, with some of the earliest materials dating back to 1895 when the movie industry was just starting in the capital. The permanent collection offers a fascinating glimpse into Dutch and world history. EYE is a vast complex that includes a cinematography museum (previously known as the Dutch Historical Film Archive), an auditorium, a souvenir shop filled with memorabilia, four movie theaters, as well as a waterfront restaurant and café. Many specialists refer to the EYE as the best cinema museum in the world.
The acclaimed, futuristic building was unveiled by Queen Beatrix in 2012 and was designed by Viennese firm Delugan Meissl Associated Architects, which specializes in über-modern buildings that appear to be in motion. Guided tours of the EYE are available upon request, although it is possible to simply wander around and admire the daring features free of charge. The EYE Film Institute is in the up-and-coming neighborhood of Overhoeks, across the canal behind Amsterdam Centraal; it is the first cultural attraction in Amsterdam to be located outside the main canal ring.
The EYE Film Institute is located the Overhoeks neighbourhood just north of Amsterdam Centraal. It can only be reached by ferry (#901) with departures every 12 minutes from the train station. Entry to the exhibitions cost € 12,50 per adult and € 8 per child; entry to the movie theater cost € 10 per adult and € 7,50 per child. The Film Institute exhibitions are open daily from 10am to 7pm, and until 9pm on Fridays, whereas the movie theater is open until 11pm on the weekends.