Recent Searches
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Day Trip to Rila Monastery and Boyana Church from Sofia

Sofia, Bulgaria
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


It’s impossible to visit both the Rila Monastery and Boyana Church by public transport in one day, so this convenient tour saves both time and energy. Check off not one but two UNESCO World Heritage sites as you explore the medieval church on the outskirts of Sofia and the 19th-century monastery in the Rila Mountains. The day includes guiding and door-to-door transfers but entrance fees are at your own expense.
  • Admire the majestic medieval frescoes of Boyana Church
  • Learn the long history of Rila Monastery, founded in the 10th century
  • Soak up views of peaks and pine forest in the Rila Mountains
  • Take it easy with door-to-door round-trip transfers


1 Review
5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star
Reviews by Viator travelers
The WORST tour experience
, Nov 2019
Scheduled a tour with hotel pickup. I received an email the night before and I replied to confirm I was still going and highlighted my hotel. The following morning i receive an email and I confirmed again that I'll be attending the tour and mentioned my hotel. I get a response literally MINUTES before the scheduled pickup that I would not be getting picked up at my hotel. I would have to go to a central location within the city. I paid extra for a hotel pickup. I requested a full refund and I have not heard back from this company. I'm surprised I got this link to leave a review. It must be automated. I've been to a dozen countries all over the world and this has been the worst experience! I'll never use this company again. They basically stole my money through deceptive advertising. I wish I could give a zero or negative star rating.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hello Lorri, we advised you that on Saturday you need to reach the meeting point and we arranged a taxi for you as sometimes we organize big buses and make a meeting point and arrange taxis for the ones who would like such and who pointed that out. The communication is not last minute at all, well it depends when you check and read your emails. We had you missing on the day no matter that the taxi was outside, the group was waiting for you and your phone was unreachable. We are pretty sure you were not down for the taxi on time. That's not a private tour, it's a shared tour. And your pick up was free, you never paid anything extra for it. Your words are harsh and do not represent the tour in its excellent light. The communication with you was just 1 time from your side. We would allow any review but not the ones which mislead the people. What's more, you never ever called the emergency number, not at least once. Given all that we are not happy with your review which does not represent the real situation. We are happy to get you on for free on any tour in Bulgaria just to prove you wrong and show appreciation for our customers. Best regards, Hristo

Product code: 8728P20

Explore Similar Things to Do