Recent Searches
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Wellington Sightseeing Tour

Wellington, New Zealand
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon3 hours 20 minutes  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Whether it’s your first time in Wellington or you just want to see as much as possible during your time in port, this half-day sightseeing tour offers a great introduction to the city and a diverse range of sights. Visit the iconic Weta Cave and the historic Old St. Paul’s Cathedral, ride the Wellington cable car to the top of the city, and enjoy panoramic views from the top of Mount Victoria.
  • If you’re at a hotel or on a cruise ship, pick-ups and drop-offs are provided
  • Don’t miss any city highlights with your guide's help
  • You won’t fight to get your questions answered on this small-group tour
  • No hidden costs: all entry fees and taxes are covered with this tour


148 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Confusion on Pick Up Time
, Jan 2020
We received a confirmation from Viator with two conflicting tour start times. One was an hour after docking which would have been approximately 8:30 am. Another place on the confirmation said it was at 10 a.m. Big difference! Since we didn't want to miss the tour we arrived at the earlier time to find that the tour pick up time was actually around 9. Very confusing and stressful. Some other tour companies on this trip sent confirmation texts the day before so I wrongly assumed this would be cleared up via text the day before, but there was no text. Also I didn't realize I had booked an 18 person van and it was filled to capacity. We had booked our previous tours for small vans and were lucky that they were not filled to capacity. 18 people was a shock after being in vans with only 6-9 people total. For those reasons I would not book this tour again. The driver was great and generously bought ice cream for everyone. I would rate him 5. The stressful confusion was the reason for the lower rating. Whether this was the fault of Viator or the actual tour company I don't know, but it was unacceptable..
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
I am sorry for your stressful time in not knowing when your tour started. When a booking comes in I reply immediately what time the pick up time is. It is always 1 hour after your cruise ship berths with the earliest time being 9am. You would have had this message. The reason for this is that ships change their berthing times often from that orginally published. There is no start time now in Viator exactly for this reason so you must have booked your tour a long time ago. Our tours are for small groups with the maximum being 17 people not 18. Most of our minibuses take 11 people maximum. We also cater for private tours if the clients wish. I am glad that you rated your guide a 5 as I believe Ray is the best tour guide in Wellington. Cheers
Great tour of Wellington!
, Dec 2019
Our tour guide Brian was very knowledgeable and welcoming to the small group. He gave us great tips on must see sights in Wellington!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. I will pass on your comments to Brian. Once again thank you for your review.
Wellington tour missed
Tim L
, Dec 2019
Too bad we missed the email advising the tour started 1 hour earlier - the email was sent the afternoon we sailed so unfortunately we missed our tour. I had no phone package so missed Richard's call as well. Richard arranged a reduced replacement tour which was very disappointing as we were stuck in traffic for 50+ minutes and missed the railcar ride but managed many photos of pretty Wellington. Oh well, hard lesson.
New Zealand Cruise
, Dec 2019
Another Fabulous Tour. Great Group of people. 4 Wineries and chocolate factory. Tour was amazing and great tour guide. Was easy to find guide and van just where they said they would be. Highly recommend this tour !
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. I am really glad you enjoyed the tour.
Wellington sightseeing by Xplore
, Nov 2019
our guide Rob was excellent, picked up at terminal although it was raining we were able to see a lot of the sghts in Wellington.He was truly a local knew about all the businesses in Wellington, went to botanical garden at which time weather cleared up, our Rob dropped us off at TePaPa museum which was great & shuttle back to port. Highly recommend this tour.
Great small group tour
, Oct 2019
Thanks to Richard in Wellington our tour was great. We were sailing onboard Ovations of the Seas and it was to dock early but ended up delayed. Richard and his team were keeping aware of this and we were onboard his bus to start the tour 1 hour after we docked. The weather was king to us on this day in Wellington. We saw all the main spots as well as riding the Cabel car ( we bypassed the people lined up as we had prepaid tickets YAH) Richard and his staff are friendly and know their city well. A very good tour thanks to Richard at Xplor tours Wellington NZ.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. It was tricky with the ship changing its arrival time about 3 times but we met up on time which was great. Glad you enjoyed the tour because that is what we have to do is make it a good experience for our customers. Once again thank you for the review.
Fabulous Tour
, Jul 2019
This was an excellent tour and I would definitely do it again. Richard was very knowledgeable and we made several stops for photos. He is a superb tour guide.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Hi Jane Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. I enjoyed taking the 3 Js on a tour around Wellington and we had fun. Once again thank you very much for your review.
Wellington Sights
, May 2019
This was one of the best short tours we have done. It was well managed and organised and covered all of the main sightseeing points in Wellington. The tour guide kept everything interesting and had gone out of his way to make the tour enjoyable.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Hi 28dennisc Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. Sorry in my late response. Once again thank you for your review.
Bruce & Robyn S
, May 2019
Richard was absolutely fantastic. He made our group feel quite at home. Had some very personal touches that no one was expecting. Small and personal.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Hi Bruce Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. I did have a nice tour with your group. It was fun!!! Once again thank you for your review.
Nothing a trouble, well organised, no stress, and saw maximum in time available :) Thank you!
, Apr 2019
Would recommend to independent travellers :) Safe, fun and GREAT overview in time available :) Small group made for quick stops and more time to cover SO much :)
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Hi Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated.

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 66479P1

Explore Similar Things to Do