Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. The WHO is closely monitoring the coronavirus and more information can be found here.
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Street Food & Old Taverns Night Tour in the Historic Center of Lima

|
Cercado de Lima, Peru
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
Booked by 221 travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Small group
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Taste your way through historic Lima on an evening food tour that combines local landmarks with a series of food and drink tastings. Since Lima draws foods and traditions from all around the country, you’ll have the chance to try a wide range of treats, with a local guide to help find the very best versions among the overwhelming options in the city center.
  • Itinerary features key landmarks and historic sites
  • Enjoy included tastings—with the chance to purchase even more snacks
  • Group size is limited to 10 people for personal service or small groups

Reviews

5.0
star-5
85 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-1
Not knowledgeable late, couldn’t hear her with only three people, horrible horrible not Street food all restaurants
Frank_K
, Feb 2020
Big big disappointment, this Tour was a complete lie, it shows fire a grill shish kebabs on the street and tables in the background looking like it’s outdoor and you’re going to have all this grilled food and really cool and there was no street food at all we stopped by four places they were all horrible foods one was greasy fried dough with sugar, one was beer and some chips one was a pork sandwich with bread an inch thick dry it out. I didn’t stay around for the last one I was so disappointed and the guide didn’t know much else going on so soft spoken you could even hear her and she touched on gas stone one of the top chefs in the whole country that open the cooking school I had to tell more about him and his wife the pastry chef and the cooking school that they opened and where he went to school and Europe where he went to court I’m blue in France and I actually knew more than she did which is really sad because I just learned it earlier in the day, I definitely want to get my money back on that disappointment anyway
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Frank, Thank you for taking the time to review our experience. First of all I'd like to point out our guide wasn't late, and we have proof of that – we do GPS tracking via Whatsapp and the two other people on the tour, who wrote a great review, didn't report this. Our food tour in the historic center is not solely based on street food, which you missed as you left the tour more than an hour before it ends, but also on visiting old taverns. It's in the tour description, detailed stop by stop, we do not lie. The places we select are very popular among locals, and we can understand that they were not to your taste and we are sorry about that. However, we find that "horrible" is a bit exaggerated. The greasy fried dough with sugar is called churro, which is often the highlight of the tour as you can read in all the other reviews. Upon checking with our guide and the other people on the tour, they all mentioned that you were distant and not interested in listening to the others. Our guides all know about Astrid Gutsche and Gaston Acurio very well, however as it's not the point of this tour, thinking about the other clients (it's a shared service after all), she decided to focus on the places and foods that are included in the tour. It happens that some people know more than us in certain fields, and that's great. We know more than them in other areas. We like to think of our tours as vehicles for knowledge and cultural exchange – it only works if everyone is open-minded though. Although we disagree with most of what you are saying (some terms are borderline defamatory), we are sorry that our experience didn't meet your expectations and we hope that you'll have more luck with future bookings.
star-5
Wonderful Taste of Lima
sanewk002
, Feb 2020
Our Lima Tour was great!! My husband & I traveled by cruise ship to the port of Callao. We were required to take a bus from the port to the Miraflores area - 45min. ride. The tour company set up our transportation by taxi from Miraflores to Lima Center which was key for us as we do not speak any Spanish. Our tour guide, Desireé, spoke excellent English and gave us detailed historical information as we walked from venue to venue to taste the delicious food & drink that was offered for our tour. There was an abundance of food offered - no worries there!! She also made sure our return to Miraflores was flawless. Desireé was a very sweet lady & provided us a perfect "Taste of Lima"!!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hey! Thank you very much for this great review! We are so glad to hear that our food tour in the historic center of Lima with Desirée, trying all the wonderful street food Peru can offer, has pleased you. Please do let us know if you ever visit Lima again – it would be great to connect with you again, and show you Lima through our other tours! Saludos, Jessy
star-5
Wow, the food of Peru!
jdtracy1
, Jan 2020
Guide Galia was great. There were only three people on our tour, so it was really nice. SO much food. All very tasty with a wonderful representation of the combination of different cultures that make food in Lima amazing. Recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hey Jean, Thank you very much for the review! We are so glad to hear that our food tour in the historic center of Lima with Galia, trying all the wonderful street food Peru can offer, has pleased you. Please do let us know if you ever visit Lima again – it would be great to connect with you again! We have plenty of other tours that might interest you! Saludos, Jessy
star-5
Make this tour a priority
Warren N
, Oct 2019
One of the best tours I've been on in S America! We had to cut it short due to an ailing injury but Lorenza introduced us to some incredibly tasty and native treats I'm sure I would not have discovered on my own. She was very knowledgeable, accommodating, and friendly to me and my parents. I have to come back and do this again!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you so much Warren for sharing your feedback! We were a little bit sad to learn that you were not able to have the full experience because of your dad's knee issue, but what an amazing review! Please, reach out any time if you come back to Lima, we have so much more to show you :) Thanks again, Enjoy the rest of your stay to Peru, Emilie
star-5
Great tour!
JeanV433
, Oct 2019
We had Nathaly as our guide and she is amazing. My best tour so far with Viator. Nathaly is very knowledgeable and very nice. It felt like hanging out with a friend. The food that we tried are really good! Best chicken soup I've ever tried! Go to the tour with empty stomach so you have enough space for all the delicious food!
star-5
Excellent evening with Nathaly
L2155VZnadined
, Sep 2019
Excellent evening with Nathaly, who explained a lot about the history of Peru and especially the foods and drink, we got to a point where we could really not eat any more. Good value for money, and a great insight into Peruvian food and culture. Highly recomended.
star-5
Great Communication
Tonya C
, Aug 2019
The tour operator was great in accommodating me when I ran late for the tour! She promptly responded to any questions I had. As far as the tour, the food was ok. I didn't care for the restaurants included but the guide Desiree was outstanding and funny. She knows Peruvian food and culture. Thanks Desiree for being a great guide.
star-5
Ohhhh yes. I learned so much about...
jess.tseng130
, Sep 2018
Ohhhh yes. I learned so much about Peruvian food, culture, and history from my tour guide Gonzalo. He is very knowledgeable. The restaurants and food stands that we visited were all very very yummy Peruvian local foods that usually tourists will not know about. There is definitely a difference when you go eat with a local and as a tourist. I loved every food and everything I learned about this tour. Thank you so much and you will finish your tour with a delicious authentic local beer! Cheers!
star-5
toller abend mit viel zu viel leckersten essen
knut42
, Oct 2019
tolle tour, eigentlich ist man schon nach dem ersten stop fast satt und dann kamen noch 4 weitere, puh, teil euch euren magenplatz gut ein. schöner abend mit vielen zusätzlichen infos über die Altstadt und natürlich die lokalen speisen. danke galia!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi Knut! Thank you so much for your great review!! We're really glad to see you ended up well-fed on our tour, and that you enjoyed your time with Galia :D Feel free to reach out anytime if you come back to Lima, we would love to have you on our other experiences! Best regards, Emilie

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 66022P2

Explore Similar Things to Do