Recent Searches
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Are you interested in?

Newport Cliff Walk
Newport Cliff Walk Tours
3 Tours & Activities
Outdoor Activities
3 Tours & Activities
Marble House
Marble House Tours
6 Tours & Activities
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Newport Cliff Walk Self-Guided Walking Tour

star-3.525 Reviews
Newport, United States
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
Newport Cliff Walk Self-Guided Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon1 to 2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Explore scenic, Newport’s historic Cliff Walk at your own pace using this self-guided, GPS-based tour. Download an easy-to-use app and set off on an attraction-packed audio tour. Learn the little-known stories behind famous families of the Gilded Age—the Vanderbilts, the Astors, and other millionaires—and see their iconic oceanside mansions.
  • A self-guided walking tour of Newport’s Cliff Walk
  • Enrich your visit with the stories behind Newport’s iconic millionaire mansions
  • Enjoy a mix of natural and historical attractions on a carefully chosen itinerary
  • Benefit from online support as needed and an easy-to-use downloadable app
Saved to wishlist!
Audios and Text
Online Support
Newport’s Cliff Walk offers beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Gilded Age Mansions.
Admire the scenery — both natural and architectural — as you stroll along this peaceful walk.
The scenic Cliff Walk trail passes famed mansions like the Breakers, Rosecliff, and Marble House.
Admission to Paid Attractions

Departure Point

175 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840, USA

After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection.

Departure Time

3/18/2020 - 2/7/2023
Monday - Sunday:06:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Return Details

Cliff Walk, Newport, RI 02840, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • No expiration — the tour is available from the minute you book until forever!
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Sarla Analytics
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Newport Cliff Walk Self-Guided Walking Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Newport Cliff Walk Self-Guided Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Bathroom facilities were available only once early on the walk, with an inoperable water fountain (due to COVID)." See review


25 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews
Not necessary.
, Nov 2021
The Cliff Walk is incredible. PLEASE note: the red sections ARE HARD!!! But Why buy this guide when you can get it for free from the city?? It skips. It starts over. It repeats itself. Not a total waste as the bavkground information was good.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
We created this tour for the simple reason that it offers more than free versions do — after all, you could always just use Wikipedia when vacationing! This is meant for visitors who want more. The “welcome” audio plays each time you re-start the app. However, this doesn’t mean the tour is starting over. It picks up where you are. The best practice is simply to keep the tour running while on the cliff walk because then the welcome won’t re-play. Other stories will appear to skip or repeat if directions like “pause and look” were not followed. The tour naturally works best when all instructions are followed. If you feel that the issues you faced were unique, please feel free to reach out! We care deeply about our tour and test it regularly across all types of devices. We’d love the opportunity to improve our app.
The only way to walk the walk.
, Oct 2021
This was the perfect way to walk the Cliff Walk. There was so much interesting information offered. Without the self-guided tour, it would have just been a “pretty” walk. With the tour, we learned so much and had immediate answers to questions raised as we walked by.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
That’s exactly what we were aiming for! I’m so glad to hear about your experience. We have a number of other self-guided tours (some walking, some driving) across the country at Thanks again!!
Sometimes starting backwards is not all that bad. It worked for us!
, Oct 2021
Our walk was delightful. By pure accident we started backwards of the audio. The map showed some rough terrain at our start but the trail was worth it. The audio program worked automatically and was great informative company along the way. My only suggestion would be to somehow allow for a reverse option. Since we started at the end and worked our way towards the audio beginning we had to look back to match audio to visual. Great experience. I would recommend this self guided tour.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Good to know! As you mentioned, walking the Cliff Walk in reverse requires looking “backward” a bit but it’s great to know that this wasn’t a problem (and we will definitely consider a standalone “Reverse Tour” too)! If you enjoyed the self-guided experience, we have more tours at Thanks again!
Not able to use it
, Sep 2021
I was not able to download it on my phone for some reason we were never able to use it was a waste of money for me I was very disappointed
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Did you reach out to us for support? We’re available nearly 24/7 over call, chat, and email, along with an extensive FAQ. Please reach out now so that we can help you get set up and going before your trip ends!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Broken, would like a refund
, Aug 2021
The link to the audio tour was broken when I got there and I was unable to use the audio tour I purchased for 3 people
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi there! Can you help us understand what was broken? The app link is currently working and your password is still valid. We have 24/7 support to help if you need it! If you would prefer a refund, please email us with your purchase receipt and we will take care of that for you.
Audio crashed on pixel, couldn't recover
, Aug 2021
The program crashed and lost the so-called download (that's not what is considered offline mode). Further, cell coverage was weak so we couldn't re download. Unacceptable! We want our money back as you ruined the cliff walk experience as I fought with both my phone and my spouse's!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We’re so sorry to hear this! Were you able to get in touch with our 24/7 support team? This sort of crashing is very unusual, so we’ll have our team look into the matter right away. For a refund, please email us with your purchase receipt.
GPS challenged battery eater
, Jul 2021
The info in the audio was interesting. However, the code didn’t arrive that quickly. The download of content took multiple tries. The GPS was never accurate, so it would skip whole areas to the point where we had to watch the map to see if it had passed an audio stop or not, and at the end, it had chewed up 50% or more of the battery.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thanks for your feedback. We don’t usually see reports of poor GPS on the Cliff Walk — it’s a well-serviced area. I’d love to know what type of phone you were using. We’re working on delivering the password faster but are constrained by the time it takes for your order to reach us in the first place. Thanks for letting us know.
Wonderful guide on challenging walk!
, Jul 2021
My sister and I had a great time with this challenging walk! It was so helpful to listen to the audio guide as we walked. We actually started from the end of the Cliff Walk as was suggested to us. The map gps connection adjusted to that.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed the Cliff Walk tour. If you are still in town, we have a driving tour of Newport that you may enjoy as well - more details on the website,!
Great experience
, Jun 2021
Loved it. When we went it was foggy out but still was a great experience. Rocky area isn’t recommended for ppl who are unstable in their feet. Also wear proper shoes!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you so much! I’m so glad the self-guided tour was fun despite the fog. And both tips are excellent! Are you still in town? You may enjoy our self-guided driving tour around Newport — it’s a different perspective on the mansions (and visits a whole lot more of the town).
, Jun 2021
Didn’t take it because of parking. Heading back to New York. A waste of my money . Refund!!!! Refund!!!!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
This is not a parking pass. It’s a self-guided audio tour along the Cliff Walk.

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 259640P2

Explore Similar Things to Do