Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles

We’re committed to helping you feel confident as you get back out there. Check out our flexible cancellation policies and learn what steps operators are taking to keep you safe. As conditions evolve, check local regulations for the latest information.

Read More
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms

star-4.5
|
Roma, Italy
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon2 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
Chat now

Overview

Experience some of Rome’s most important artistic and spiritual attractions with a 3-hour guided tour of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter’s Basilica. Beat the crowds with priority access and see highlights of the Vatican Museum’s immense collection while your guide shares the legends behind the masterpieces. Stand beneath Michelangelo’s famed frescoes in the Sistine Chapel, and skip the long lines to enter the heart of the papacy at St Peter’s Basilica.
  • Beat the long queues with priority access
  • See the most important and beautiful pieces in the Vatican Museums
  • Admire the awe-inspiring frescoes of the Sistine Chapel
  • Skip the long lines to enter the magnificent St Peter’s Basilica
The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Skip the line & tour: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel & Raphael Rooms.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4,5
star-4.5
115 Reviews
5 stars
86
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-1
We were Scammed.
Debbie B
, Dec 2019
My group of 5 booked this tour including pickup/drop off. Our tour guide could only provide text book art history answers of art, but no real detail of the property. Then, at the end of the tour they said we don't have a return transfer. The poor young man who I was dealing with at the gift shop was trying to help - saying the ticket is confussing because it says pick up and drop off, but they stopped the return to your hotel a year ago. Basically we paid $120 extra dollars for 5 of us to be picked up and dropped off for a $30 uber ride. Such BS. The manager Sean was rude and no help. Statingn we booked last minute - I guess that means you don't honor what you sold? I made the bone head move of no screenshotting everything - because by the time we returned to our hotel the description had been changed. I was warned in the gift shop that this could happen by a woman working there. (Supposedly these guys are known to take advantage of tourist).
star-5
Incredible!
cassiesboss
, Dec 2019
Our guide was Marco. Marco was very knowledgeable and friendly. He took the time to answer all of our questions and was very patient guiding us through the tour. My girlfriend and I booked a few tours while visiting Rome and this was my favorite one. Thanks again Marco!
star-4
Be prepared to walk! A lot!
Karen L
, Nov 2019
We forget how huge the Vatican complex is..,.and this tour covers a lot of it....so make sure to wear good shoes. Leader was very knowledgeable but moves fast.
star-2
Herding Cattle through the Sistine
Suzie H
, Oct 2019
This tour was very underwhelming. We had to go through three different pass-offs between groups, taking over 1 hour to even get started. Our tour guide Margherita was visibly exhausted before we even began, and made it feel like she was doing us a favor by taking us on the tour. She did tell us some really neat facts about the plaza of the Basilica. Once inside, it was absolute chaos though. We joined with yet another group, resulting in there being around 25 of us. There were so many people inside, which should be known for October, everyone had a hard time trying to keep up with our guide, couldn't hear or understand her... it was possibly the worst tour I have ever been on. Having been to the Vatican before, I kept filling my husband in on facts that weren't being discussed. Some of these factors have nothing to do with the tour; they can't change how busy it was. But the group was way too large and unorganized from the beginning.
star-5
Tour of the Vatican
Tour55248436776
, Sep 2019
Edward was a great guide!! Very nice tour !! I would definitely recommend this tour to others . We thought Edward ( Eduardo ) kept us informed and was a lot of fun ! Can’t wait to come back!
star-5
Fantastic Tour, Well-Informed Guide
margaret50797
, Sep 2019
I enjoyed a fantastic early morning tour with just two other guests and a fantastic guide. She allowed us to customize our tour based on what we wanted to see, and knew lots of good information about everything we viewed. The tour was informative and I would take it again in a heartbeat!
star-5
Great tour!
emilyruney
, Aug 2019
Claudia our tour guide was lovely! It was a hot day and she made it a breeze while still being enjoyable. Would book again in a heartbeat! Thank you!
star-5
Amazing tour with Erik
485ralfr
, Jul 2019
Erik was a great tour guide and with his PhD in ancient Roman history he was able to provide a wealth of information about the Vatican which was both fun and educational. Our entire family enjoyed the tour and highly recommend it.
star-2
Skip the line Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica
Lynne D
, Jun 2019
The guy that escorted us to the venue and got us instant access was great, avoiding long queues outside. Not so good on the inside as our tour guide didn't turn up as she was still on an earlier tour. We went from a small group of 10 to merge with another group, making it a large group of 25. The tour guide seemed to be in a rush to get us through the tour in order for us to gain access to St Peter's Basilica before it closed. We were unable to stop and take photos due to the speed we were moving and missed a lot of the artifacts as a result. He was very abrupt and rude to one of the couples, threatening to remove their microphones as they were standing in front of him instead of behind. It was embarrassing to say the least seeing as the entire group could hear what was being said. The attractions themselves were superb and well worth the visit.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Dear Lynne, Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you happened to visit the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel on the day when the Sistine Chapel closed for 3 hours during the usual opening hours. When this happens, a couple of times a year, everybody visiting the Vatican Museums encounter several problems related to crowds, security check delays, some Museums’ sections get congested by too many visitors… On that day we have been trying to do our best for our clients, as we wanted all of you to avoid any kind of stressful moments due to the crowds gathering inside the Museums and waiting for the Sistine Chapel to open. Due to these exceptional circumstances, our guide, due to too many visitors, got stuck inside the Vatican Galleries and couldn’t make her way to the starting point of the tour. We still didn’t want to let you down and the very last minute we found a solution for you to have a guide for the promised itinerary. Also if you carefully read the description of your tour, you will notice that you booked a group tour (24 participants max) and not a semi private option (10 participants max). We decided to keep the group size small on that day due to the unexpected changes of the opening hours of the Sistine Chapel and due to the crowds and chaos that these changes would create. That’s why initially we were 10. We apologize anyway for the exceeding numbers of people (1), as your originally booked tour was max 24 participants. As for the guide, you might be probably right, as the gentleman who led the tour wasn’t one of our guides and he was almost certainly stressed and agitated because of the demanding conditions he was working in. So we deeply apologize for the experience that hasn’t been as you expected and it wasn’t how we are used to run our tours. At the end, we are wondering if you would have left a review in case everything went as planned and if you would have mentioned that instead of 24 we have kept the group small and you were 10 participants in the group and that the guide was informative etc… Nowadays, it just seems that people write reviews only if they have to complain. We are sure this is not your case and we apologize again for the experience in circumstances that were completely out of our control. However, we will be glad if you contact us again during your next visit to Rome and if you do, we will find the best solution and make it up for the experience you didn’t enjoy. Happy travels!
star-5
Rome in June
Global32491859074
, Jun 2019
Didn’t know what to expect during our Vatican tour. We knew there would be a crowd but never imagined the thousands of people in one place. Best decision we made was to book skip the line tour of the Vatican. We went right thru in a matter of minutes. The museum is crowed none the less but the overall experience was very good. We would recommend 100%. Skip the line is a must and very well worth the extra expense.

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 7599P3

Explore Similar Things to Do