Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Private Santiago City Half Day Tour

Badge of ExcellenceSantiago, Chile

From US$46,90

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (Approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


Explore Santiago on a private vehicle tour that introduces you to some of the city's main sights. Pass by a variety of landmarks, see colonial architecture, and visit Mercado Central. When booking, you have the option to select a morning or afternoon departure time, plus choose to visit either Santa Lucia Hill (Cerro Santa Lucia), San Cristobal Hill (Cerro San Cristobal), or both.
  • Half-day private Santiago city tour
  • See Santiago de Compostela Cathedral and La Moneda Palace
  • Visit Mercado Central
  • Great way to get an overview of the city
  • Choice of morning or afternoon departure

What's Included

  • Professional bilingual guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Hotel or address pickup and drop-off
  • Private Tour
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Traveler pickup is offered
    Departure Point: Your Santiago accommodations in the districts of Providencia, Las Condes (hotels area), Vitacura (hotels area) , or Santiago Centro, or at another meeting point in those districts

    Dates: Daily

    Return point: Returns to original departure point

What To Expect

Your tour starts with hotel pickup for the drive through one of the city's old, wealthy neighborhoods where you can admire the architecture and hear about some of the people who live here.

Then head toward the city's civic center to see sights such as the parade ground, Santiago de Compostela Cathedral, La Moneda Palace, and the post office. Next, depending on your option selected when booking, head up to Santa Lucia Hill or San Cristobal Hill for photo ops, and then check out a traditional craft shop.

Your last stop is Mercado Central (Central Market), where you can look around and have lunch, if you wish (own expense). Your tour then ends with return to your pickup point.

Central Market (Mercado Central) (Pass By)

The Central Market in Santiago, Chile, has been named as one of National Geographic’s top ten food markets worldwide. Taken from National Geographic’s book Journeys of a Lifetime, the list runs through the best markets in the world for offering fresh local produce alongside a slice of local life.


Plaza de Armas

Paseo Ahumada is four-block-long street in downtown Santiago. It extends in a north–south direction from Plaza de Armas to the Avenida Libertador General Bernardo O'Higgins and is lined by buildings housing retail establishments at their lower levels. At its northern terminus is Plaza de Armas metro station, whereas that at its southern end is Universidad de Chile metro station.

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • pickup from your Santiago accommodations in the districts of Providencia, Las Condes, Vitacura, or Santiago Centro if your hotel is outside the pick up area recharge will be applied
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Operated by MTO Tour Chile

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Private Santiago City Half Day Tour?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Private Santiago City Half Day Tour.

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Private Santiago City Half Day Tour?

A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Private Santiago City Half Day Tour.

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Private Santiago City Half Day Tour?

A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Private Santiago City Half Day Tour.

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Private Santiago City Half Day Tour?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Private Santiago City Half Day Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips

I would recommend Patricio and Viator to anyone who wants a Private tour.
A very good way to see the city and get your bearings.
97 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 97 reviews
Half Day Tour of Santiago,Chile
Joan_M, Apr 2020
Just before the pandemic took over all parts of the world my friend and I were privileged on Friday, March 13,2020 to have a half day tour of Santiago with Orlando Sanhueza. We were somewhat bleary eyed after an all night flight and little sleep. Orlando was very attentive to our fatigue.He took us to see the downtown area with its lovely buildings,We were taken to a beautiful park with unusual to us swans, to one of of the funicular railways, and did a lovely walk to see the magnificent Madonna statue. Orlando was very good about giving us history of his charming city. Regrettably we did not have time until later in our three days in Santiago to visit a winery. We found Orlando to be very knowledgeable. His English was very good.Sadly we knew little Spanish. We were very grateful to Orlando for his hospitality as our guide. We would highly recommend Orlando.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Dear Joan_M First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. Don't hesitate to contact us the next time you or your friends want to come to live another gratifying experience in one of our tours. Best regards, MTO Tour Team
Great guide and driver
Kevin_G, Mar 2020
Great guide and driver. Both were friendly and knew the city very well. They provided an interesting mix of history, current events, background of what we were seeing and some "little known facts" along with a good sense of humor and personal interaction. A perfect way to get an overview of this beautiful and interesting city.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Dear Kevin_G Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Our mission is to provide the best quality tours for our customers, and we are happy to let Patricio know you liked his guidance in the tour. We look forward to welcome you and/or your friends on board soon. Best regards, Maria from Mtotour
see the comment above
Bonifacio_C, Mar 2020
I do not recommend this supplier. Several calls were made to confirm the pick up but no answer. The tour guide finally came an hour late. The tour guide could speak English but the driver was more knowledgeable, unfortunately could not speak English. All the countries I visited, I used Viator because I was satisfied with the service but this tour is the worst which is very disappointing.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Dear Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately the original vehicle assigned to your service suffer a machanic problem during the way to do the pick up and on way of no cancel the service we send other vehicle with driver on spanish and a tour guide on english. This guide was on training that is the reason that our spanish driver was adding topics to the service that were transmitted to you on english by the guide. According this you didn't lost any information on the service and the route was made complete too. Sorry if the communication between the driver and guide for give you more information was a problem for you despite that you received all the information. By other part the delay of this was communicated via email and with call to your hotel. We tried to contact you whatsapp too but with no sucess. There is a shame that all the effort mentioned on give you the service on the moment despite the human problems were not appreciated from your side. We do all for no cancel your service because we understand the importance of your time.
Private Drive around Santiago
Karen_B, Mar 2020
We were in Santiago for 3 nights before we left for a cruise. I found a great tour on Viator, who I use around the world. Our driver Patricio Fuentes Rodriguez picked up my mother and I at the specified time in the lobby of our hotel. He was a fantastic guide. He showed us so much of Santiago, great views, different neighborhoods, beautiful parks, downtown. Loved every minute. He had a very nice vehicle and was a great driver. I would recommend Patricio and Viator to anyone who wants a Private tour. Much nicer doing private tours! Thank you!
This tour lacks some punch and a better vehicle
Harold_I, Mar 2020
This tour was conducted by a very nice young lady with pretty good English capability and a very courteous and good driver that spoke no English at all. The driver was obviously a good guide as well as he was frequently reminding the young lady about some things to mention to us. Two English speakers would have definitely helped the tour. The tour started an hour late due to traffic problems in the city which I'm sure were unavoidable. I think the biggest problem in conducting what is mostly a driving tour in a fairly small SUV with limited line of sight. If you are seated on the wrong side the vehicle when passing a described site, you will see very little of what is being described. I guess more stops on the tour would help and possibly sitting both members of the couple on the same side of the vehicle would also help.
Missed out
Thomas_R, Mar 2020
Had problems with our cruise travel arrangements for the following day and had to take care of pressing arrangments to return home, unable to cancel with a refund. The tour operator should have considered our plight and made concessions
Very interesting tour covering city highlights
Mark_D, Mar 2020
Janina (guide) and Mauricio (driver) are a husband and wife team who conducted our tour of Santiago. Their van was large, clean and comfortable for the four of us. They were on time and well presented. Janina took us through the city with stops at monuments and lovely old world architecture and buildings. (The cathedral is just beautiful.) We also did walking tours of the two main hills (cerros) overlooking Santiago, both very interesting. We opted to walk up the little one and drove to the summit of the second hill. (Mauricio talked our way past a roadblock to get to the top otherwise we wouldn't have proceeded.) Anyway, they did a terrific job on our tour and are highly recommended.
Well worth it.
John_D, Mar 2020
Great way to see Santiago. Isidro was an excellent guide who went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of the tour.
Great Introductory Tour
DanS, Mar 2020
We enjoyed an excellent half day tour with our guide who provided excellent commentary on the sights and locations we visited.
Alfredo_P, Mar 2020
Excellent service he went beyond clean car was explaining different places gave extra time maneuver traffic wee


Product code: 32917P20