Pucará de Tilcara was a fortification from pre-Inca times that is located outside the village of Tilcara about an hour north of San Salvador de Jujuy, Argentina. Its location on a hill was strategically chosen to be easily defensible and to have good views over a big portion of the gorge called Quebrada de Humahuaca. It is the only publicly accessible archaeological site in Quebrada de Humahuaca, and it was declared a national monument in 2000.
The town was originally built by the Omaguaca tribe who settled the area in the 12th century. The civilization thrived for several centuries. They built living quarters, corrals for animals, and sites for religious ceremonies here. However, in the late 15th century, they were conquered by the Incas. The site was rediscovered in 1908, and today visitors can see the ruins on the hill as well as artifacts in the town's archaeological museum.
The Pucará ruins are located 53 miles north of San Salvador de Jujuy. To get there by car, take route 9 north.