Recent gezocht
Wissen

Full-Day Meteora Tour vanuit Athene met de trein

|
Athene, Griekenland

Vanaf 111,02 US$

Laagsteprijsgarantie

Selecteer data en reizigers

Aantal reizigers
0 reizigers1 reiziger2 reizigers3 reizigers4 reizigers5 reizigers6 reizigers7 reizigers8 reizigers9 reizigers10 reizigers11 reizigers12 reizigers13 reizigers14 reizigers15 reizigers
Gratis annuleren
tot 24 uur van tevoren
Beschikbare opties aan het laden ...


icon14 uur  (ong.)
Mobiel ticket
iconAangeboden in: Engels

Overzicht

Als u Athene bezoekt, maak dan een omweg van een hele dag naar het UNESCO-werelderfgoed Meteora. Rijd met treintickets door het platteland van Griekenland en reis van de stad Kalambaka naar de eeuwenoude klifluipaarden in een luxe minibus met WiFi aan boord. Bekijk alle zes hemelhoge monastieke retraites en bezoek er drie. Je zult heremietgrotten ontdekken en onderweg genieten van de lunch.
  • De hele dag met de trein naar Meteora vanuit Athene is inclusief vervoer en lunch
  • Bezoek de spectaculaire klifluiskloosters op de Werelderfgoedlijst van UNESCO
  • Reis van Kalambaka naar Meteora in een luxe 19-persoons minibus met WiFi aan boord
  • Tour drie kloosters en zie de anderen van buitenaf
De reis begint 's ochtends op het treinstation van Athene, waar je de trein alleen kunt halen met de meegeleverde tickets. Ontspan en geniet van het gevarieerde landschap van het Griekse platteland tijdens de ongeveer 4 uur durende reis naar Kalambaka, de stad die het dichtst bij Meteora ligt. Bij aankomst wacht een Engels sprekende chauffeur op u in een Mercedes Sprinter minivan uitgerust met airconditioning en WiFi aan boord.

Reis door een landschap van groene valleien bezaaid met dramatische grijze kliffen om Meteora te bereiken, een werelderfgoedlocatie gebouwd door Grieks-orthodoxe monniken die deze ongelooflijk moeilijk bereikbare heiligdommen hoog boven de grond bewoonden. Bezoek drie actieve kloosters en besteed ongeveer 45 minuten aan elk ervan (entreegelden niet inbegrepen). Bekijk de anderen van buitenaf op een busje en ontdek de heremietkelders van Badovas en stop bij elke site voor fotomateriaal. Een afhaallunch voor broodjes is inbegrepen.

Na het rondreizen, keert u terug naar Kalambaka en neemt u afscheid van uw chauffeur op het treinstation. Je hebt ongeveer een uur vrije tijd om in het centrum van de stad te wandelen voordat je op de terugweg naar Athene gaat, waar je aan het einde van de avond aankomt.
Reisroute
Komt langs:  
Meteora
Ontdek welk klooster het eerste was dat werd opgericht en de ware beweegredenen achter het besluit van de monniken om te proberen de steile rotsen van Meteora te beklimmen en daar de kloosters te bouwen. Je bezoekt twee van de zes actieve kloosters in de twee, we nemen je mee naar de mooiste plekjes om van een fantastisch uitzicht te genieten en foto's te maken van alle Meteora-kloosters. Met deze uitgebreide halve dagochtend Tour of Meteora, ontdek je deze verbazingwekkende site door de ogen en het verhaal van de lokale bevolking!
Duur: 45 minuten
Toegangskaartje niet inbegrepen
Stopt bij:  
Varlaam Monastery
Het heilige klooster van Varlaam is het op één na grootste klooster. Het ligt tegenover het klooster van de Grote Meteoro en het werd gesticht in het midden van de 14e eeuw door de exercitant Hosios Varlaam. Het elegante klooster Catholicon werd gebouwd in de eer van Agioi Pantes in 1541-42, door twee broers van Ioannina, de priester-monniken Hosioi Theophanes en Nectarios de Apsarades. De hoofdkerk werd in 1548 ingericht. Gebaseerd op stilistische criteria wordt deze prachtige muurschildering toegeschreven aan de beroemde hagediograaf uit Thebe, Frago Catelano.
Duur: 45 minuten
Toegangskaartje niet inbegrepen
Komt langs:  
Agios Stefanos
Dit is het meest toegankelijke klooster, waar je in plaats van trappen gewoon een kleine brug oversteekt om bij de ingang te komen. Het is ideaal voor bezoekers die de trap niet kunnen gebruiken en toch een echte ervaring willen opdoen met een Meteora-klooster. Het begin van het monastieke leven op de rots van Agios Stefanos dateert uit het begin van de 12e eeuw. Hosios Antonios, in de eerste helft van de 15e eeuw, en Hosios Philotheos, die de oude kleine en elegante Katholoon, de huidige kerk van Agios Stefanos, in 1545 renoveerden of liever herbouwden, worden genoemd als haar grondleggers. St. Stephen's Monastery bevat twee kathedralen; de oude 16e-eeuwse kapel die tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog zwaar werd beschadigd en de daaruit voortvloeiende Griekse burgeroorlog, en de 18e-eeuwse kathedraal die is gewijd aan Saint Charalambos en zijn heilige relikwieën omvat.
Duur: 30 minuten
Toegangskaartje niet inbegrepen
Komt langs:  
Great Meteoron Monastery
Het Grote Meteoronklooster is de grootste en oudste van allemaal. Het werd het klooster genoemd dat "in de lucht zweefde" (meteoro), vanwege de formatie van de gigantische rots waarop het gebouwd werd. Het Grote Meteoro-klooster werd gesticht door Sint Athanasios de Meteoriet die de eerste stichter was van het klooster en de organisator van het systematische koenovion.
Duur: 10 minuten
Toegang is gratis
Komt langs:  
Agios Nikolaos Anapaphsas
Het heilige klooster van Sint Nicolaas van Anapafsas is het eerste klooster dat we tegenkomen op onze weg naar de Heilige Meteora en werd gesticht aan het einde van de 14e eeuw.
Duur: 10 minuten
Toegang is gratis
Komt langs:  
Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)
Het klooster van de Heilige Drie-eenheid (Agia Triada) is het moeilijkst te bereiken, maar als je eenmaal de top bereikt, is het panoramische uitzicht op de omgeving gewoonweg boeiend! Dit klooster ligt zeer dicht bij het klooster van Saint Stephen en ligt op een steile en prachtige rots. Het was al georganiseerd sinds het jaar 1362, zoals aangegeven in een document van Symeon Uressis Palaeologos. Bezoekers moeten een pad volgen dat hen aanvankelijk naar de voet van de rots leidt, voordat ze ongeveer 140 treden omhoog gaan.
Duur: 10 minuten
Toegang is gratis
Komt langs:  
Roussanou Monastery
Het Heilige Klooster van Roussanou heeft de naam gekregen van de eerste waarschijnlijke heremiet die zich op de rots heeft gevestigd. De belangrijkste kathedraal werd gesticht aan het einde van de 16e eeuw en werd dertig jaar later gedecoreerd. Vergeleken met andere rotsen waar kloosters werden gebouwd, heeft die van Roussanou een lagere hoogte, waardoor deze toegankelijker wordt. Het klooster werd oorspronkelijk gesticht door monniken en het leed zware schade tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog. Het werd een klooster in 1988.
Duur: 10 minuten
Toegang is gratis

Beoordelingen

4,5
star-4.5
105 beoordelingen
5 sterren
4 sterren
3 sterren
2 sterren
1 ster
Beoordelingen van Viator-reizigers
star-4
Beautiful Experience
993sashar
, dec 2019
The tour of Meteora was absolutely beautiful! We started the day with a 4 hour train ride from Athens, and were met by our tour guide, Maria, and our driver for the day. They took us to two different monasteries, where we were given time to explore on our own. Our tour ended with some free time in Kalambaka, where we were able to have dinner prior to boarding our 4 hour train ride back.
star-5
We had a fun day biking and seeing the temple
Sue R
, nov 2019
The staff was exceptional. They could answer all of our questions, help with everything we needed. They were flexible with our plans because rain had been forecasted. It was a beautiful bike ride and time well spent
star-1
Horrible Experience
AndrewM2093
, okt 2019
The tour guide was great and sights were great. However, they stuck us on buses for 11 hours instead of the agreed train trip. We did not spend anywhere near an adequate amount of time on in location and wasted an entire day traveling.
icon Reactie van aanbieder , okt 2019
We are very sorry you had such a horrible experience with our tour! Truth is we did our best to ensure that on a day of a train strike all of our customers would have the chance to visit Meteora if they wished for. That's why we did inform all participants a day before of the available 19-seater Limo mini-bus option we had arranged at no extra cost for their trip to Meteora to go as planned. Meteora is such an awe-inspiring site that any visit for a few hours it's never enough, That's why we encourage people to consider spending at least a day or 2 here. We also know that for many they simply don't have the option to spend much time here. For the majority of them, it's far better to seize the day in order to experience Meteora even for few hours, even if this means spending 10 or 11 hours on a train or a bus than to miss their only chance they'll ever have to visit one the most beautiful sites in the world! For such people, we strive our best! For the rest very few, unfortunately, there are always some willing to sell their "horrible experience" and their "wasted day" for a nice refund...
star-5
Highlight of My Trip
MaureenTownsend
, sep 2019
My fiancé and I went and enjoyed every minute of it. I searched through several companies before I found this tour. Highly recommend!
star-5
Magical Trip
TrailBlazer400891
, jun 2019
Viator takes the difficult journey and makes it easy. You start out with a pleasant train ride then you are picked up with a comfortable, air conditioned transport. Then you are taken to all the monasteries for pictures and allowed to climb and enter 3 predetermined ones. You are then taken back to town where you have about 1-2 hours to shop and/or eat before boarding the train back to Athens. All I can say is "WOW!"
star-5
Beautiful Meteora!
christophewhite709
, mei 2019
Our guides were great and scenery beautiful. Only complaint. We weren't given the option to pick our sandwiches .
star-5
This is well worth the money and...
Christy P
, dec 2017
This is well worth the money and time even tho it doesn't seem like it! Check to make sure it is not rainy or foggy tho. The views are absolutely amazing and I felt like a day was more than enough time to view and tour a couple monasteries. The train ride might be long but it is well worth the wait and three hours tour is enough to get some great views and pictures in while learning about the history. The tour guide was a local and was knowledgable, funny and very accommodating! They really knew the best places to stop and get pictures since the tour guide grew up there. NOTE: Tips on train ride from Athens: Don't feel abandoned. Get to the station early the tour will start in the area where Meteora is so no one from the tour will meet you at the Athens station. Take food and drinks since it is a long train ride there and back. When you get to the Athens station don't spend time trying to figure out the platform just ask someone which platform to take because there are no displays that will inform you unlike most train stations in Europe. The paper on the display is confusing and not in English. And don't worry if the train gets to destination 30 mins late from the time it is supposed to arrive there is enough time for the tour. Once you get to the destination the tour bus and tour guide will be waiting for you probably holding a sign or with a list.
star-4
They were very helpful in getting my...
Cynthia B
, jul 2017
They were very helpful in getting my train ticket to me and meeting me at the train station in Kalambaka. The small group was nice and the guide was knowledgeable. I only wish that maybe he had gone in the Monasteries with us to tell us more details but he did tell us a fair amount before entering
star-4
Meteorea is fascinating but it's a...
MOHSIN A
, mei 2017
Meteorea is fascinating but it's a long way from Athens. The train got some delays. However the tour and the guide were very good.
star-1
Meteora is well worth visiting. The...
john h m
, apr 2017
Meteora is well worth visiting. The tour was very disappointing. First of all the train journey from Athens arrived at its destination forty five minutes late and I was told by the locals that this happened more or less every day. I expected to be picked up by an English speaking travel guide, I was picked up by a taxi driver who then whisked me off to see the sights calling for a take away lunch on the way. I must say the taxi driver was a very nice person but he was not a guide. Meteora is breathtakingly beautiful and I would recommend a visit but this tour needs to be modified. I have booked numerous tours through viator and this tour is the only one where I feel that I have been disappointed and let down. J Marsh.
icon Reactie van aanbieder , apr 2017
TOUR OPERATOR FEEDBACK COMMENT: Dear John, We would like to thank you for taking the time to give your precious feedback for the tour.Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every customer. Please accept our sincere apologies. We would like to express our sympathy because the experience you had with us fell short of expectation. We think that everything went wrong from the beginning because of the trains huge delay. We understand that you spent most of your day in a train and that was not a good way to start the tour. Unfortunately we do not control the trains and sometimes the train can arrive here with delay, lately the delays are very rare as they have almost finished with the works on the railway. When we realized that the train will have over 60 minutes delay and actually you are about to loose the 1/3 of your tour, we decided to take action and use a much faster and more flexible vehicle than the slow bus, and thats why we offered a Mercedes E- Class private transfer. Just 20 minutes before the trains arrival our tour leader called our office and told us that he is unable to lead the tour for personal reasons. We did our best to find a replacement but it was a last minute notification and unfortunately you did the tour without a tour leader but only with English speaking Driver. Since that day we always make sure that there is a back up just in case. We are doing this tour on a daily basis and we had never faced a similar problem, neither we had an unsatisfied customer. We always offer the quality standards, a Mercedes Sprinter New min bus and local English speaking tour leader who is explaining the history and answering all the questions. All our tours are listed on Trip advisor and over the last five years we are winning each year certificate's of excellence for every single tour we operate. We have never had a single negative review in over 1.000 reviews! The very negative thing for us is that this was the first review we took for the specific tour that was listed recently on Viator. Our company has 8 different certificate of excellence on Trip advisor and 2 golden prize's on the Greek Tourism awards. We are here to make sure that we will do our best to minimize the odds for a similar experience. Yes the train can have a delay but we are now prepared with more local guides and if someone will feel sick or he will face a serious problem that will not allow him to perform we will have the replacement arranged. The positive conclusion is that your bad experience it is not a systemic problem that each customer will face if he/she signs up for this tour. Please reach out to me directly via e-mail if you are willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be a pleasure to personally welcome you back to show you around this magical place! George K General Manager

icon_solid_phone
Boek online of bel
+31 85 888 1845
+31 85 888 1845
Productcode: 6575P10

Ontdek vergelijkbare bezienswaardigheden