Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Sitka has the interesting distinction of having been continuously settled for thousands of years, and thus, for being the oldest city in the Northwest. The city itself is a rich cultural blend of local Native Tlingits and American life, sprinkled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Helend3066

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The fortress of the Bear is like going to the Zoo. The money goes for a good cause but the description of the tour is deceiving. Not as exciting as we had hoped. The Totems were interesting but we needed more time to go through the museum. There also needs to be a disclaimer about uneven ground or Forrest Trails both of which we encountered making it hard for our elderly to participate. Our Tour Guide Maria was wonderful. She is why it got 3 stars instead of 2.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Ekirtman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The bears at the fortress were in clear view and were very photogenic. A great experience.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Martin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Guide, Marie, was special. Her knowledge of her town was wonderful

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Joanne I

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good tour. Tour guide was fun. Would recommend

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

susanna.barto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was wonderful. The black and brown bears were wonderful to watch them playing and eating. It was also good to know that they are safe, being feed, and have good care.

Doing what: Sitka Super Saver: Whale-Watching Cruise and City Sightseeing Tour

Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great time! Had a great guide who had lived in Sitka all his life. We saw a whale, sea lions, and otters. The whale sighting was most exciting!

Doing what: Sitka Whale-Watching and Marine Life Tour

V A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This family-owned business treated you like family. If we had more time, we would have taken the boat trip, also.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Brenda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Maria our guide was very knowledge on the nature surrounding. Sitka. We had many stops for photo's and visited places we just would not have know about on our own. Maria spotted several Bald Eagles and took us through woodland and showed us a river where the salmon go to spawn. The Fortress of the Bears was the highlight for me to see the Bears close and playing.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour of the area prior to checking out the Fortress of the bear...wonderful experience...tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly...would recommend this to everyone...

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Ruth E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip is all about the Fortress of the Bear, and our guide was savvy enough to know that and spend lots of time there. The rest of the tour was forgetable, as I don't much remember what it was.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

RICHARD B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our Guide, Bruce, made the day for us--his knowledge and general help was fantastic.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

sjokeefe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was wonderful! We had been to Sitka before, and had seen the Russian influences on this town. But this time we were given a tour of the native culture and wildlife in the area. The Fortress of the bear was a great way to see bears up close, and learn how they were being saved when they became orphaned.

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Yvonne M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour started late and we had a limited time at Sitka (from cruise ship). The tour guide was way to chatty about personal information and he did this while stopped at no place that was interesting wasting more time. He was not concerned about our time frame saying he it was okay as we were his last tour for the day. We ended up getting back about 40 minutes late and didn't have time left to finish touring the town. Very disappointing!

Doing what: Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear

Rob W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This was my first time kayaking so there was a bit of a learning curve for me but great weather and the water was calm. This made for good learning conditions. The guides were extremely knowledgeable about the local area and provided really good information. They provided a warm chowder and cider after the trip. The boat ride to and from the kayak dock was simply breath taking. If you go on a clear day you will see all the surrounding mountain peaks. I am not a water lover naturally but went out of my comfort zone and seriously enjoyed this adventure.

Doing what: Sitka Sea Kayaking Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message