Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

The Cape Coast Tour

Badge of ExcellenceAccra, Ghana

From $169.00

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 11 to 15 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Offered in: English


Visit the castles of Cape Coast and spend time in Kakum National Park with this tour from Accra. You'll visit Cape Coast Castle, which now hosts a historical museum and gift shop before heading to Elmina Castle, where you’ll learn about its role in the harrowing Atlantic slave trade. You'll wrap your tour up at Kakum National Park, home to hundreds of bird species along with a variety of mammals.
  • Take a stroll on the Kakum canopy walkway
  • Dinner will be served at no extra cost
  • Round-trip transportation from Accra is included
  • All admission fees are included in the price of the tour

What's Included

  • Local transportation
  • Entrance fees to attractions
  • Fuel Charge
  • 24hr Ongoing Support
  • Hotel pick-up and drop-off within Accra
  • Cost of Activities in Itinerary
  • International Airfare
  • Sightseeing not listed in the itinerary
  • Meals

Departure & Return

This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.

Departure Point

  • Accra, Accra, Ghana

    We pick up from agreed pick up location

Pickup Details

Possible departure locations
View departure locations

Departure Time

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
9/12/2019 - 7/19/2023
Monday - Sunday:12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

Please Note

We pick up from agreed pick up location

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
Operated by ProTour Africa

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during The Cape Coast Tour?

A:The policy on sanitization is:
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The Cape Coast Tour?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

I really enjoyed this tour, it was well worth the money.
Cape Coast , Elmina Castle and Kakum are a must visit and I would recommend Zainab to visitors to Ghana planning to go there.
72 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews
Darkness balanced with light
Abrea_A, Jul 2022
If you’re a Black American, you know what it is. This tour balances the darkness with life through the rainforest tour visit (which was equally as memorable as the castles themselves). We stopped at a super dreamy lunch spot by the beach. Absolutely idyllic. Heads up: the car ride out there is an adventure in itself—but unavoidable. George and Zainab were excellent tour guides and hosts.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you Abrea for the review. We're glad you had a nice experience and we hope to see you again.
Thank you George for...
Camille_B, May 2022
Thank you George for being a great tour captain. The canopy walk was scary yet exciting. The beach front lunch was amazing. Elmina castle & cape coast castle were very good tours & gave alot of historic information I hadn't been taught. Thank you again & best wishes always
Response from Host, May 2022
We’re glad you had a good experience with George as your driver and guide. And we will always be honored to provide you with a professional guide anytime you visit Ghana. Best wishes to you as well Camille, have a safe flight back home.
Great Tour!!!!!!
Matthew_B, Apr 2022
Great tour guides and professional customer service was provided during the entire trip.... Really enjoyed this trip and will revisit again.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
We appreciate the review Matthew. We're glad you had a great experience. Thank you for the review.
Shantol_H, Apr 2022
Zainab was such a wonderful guide. This tour is one of the reasons I visited Ghana. Be prepared it’s an all day excursion. Bring snacks and water. Also make sure you have a pair of sneakers for the stop at the National Park because it is a short hike up to the canopy and it can be slippery.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thank you for the review Shantol. We are glad you had a great time. We hope to see you again. Have a safe flight back home.
A great experience
Srijit_B, Mar 2022
It was a great tour. Be ready to walk a lot. Not recommended for people afraid of heights. Wear comfortable shoes.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Hello Srijit, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know you had a great experience on your tour. It is very important to wear comfortable shoes as the tour includes some walking and hiking and we make sure to always inform our guests of this so they are prepared. Thank you for emphasising on this and it will surely help future guests know what to expect on the tour. Thank you also for sharing with us the beautiful culture of India. We are always happy to learn more from our guests as we also share with you about our culture.
The tour to Cape Coast...
Timothy_R, Mar 2022
The tour to Cape Coast was fascinating and we learned a lot about the history of the Gold Coast, the international slave trade and even a bit about the local cuisine and culture. Zainab was wonderful and took great care of us. Our only desire was for a bit more commentary about what we were seeing. Also, the driver was a bit reckless and fast. But, hopefully, it was a one time hire.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
We are sorry to hear you had a frustrating driving experience on your trip, and we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. We will re-access the driver's performance and take necessary measures regarding this issue. We apologize once again. And we hope to see you again. Have a safe flight back home.
Perfectly run day
MarieSoleil_L, Feb 2022
The best part of my day was meeting my guide Rashida. Wow! Super friendly, smart and knowledgeable of the local culture. Everything was planned ahead of time so no queue, no waiting anywhere, perfectly coordinated. Car was spotless and driver very nice. Everything was A+
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Hello Marie, Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to host you and take this trip with you. Have a safe flight back home and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ghana!
Unforgettable trip
Esther_A, Dec 2021
We had an amazing day. Rashida was a fantastic guide, informing us on many aspects of Ghanian life, culture and history. The hours spent in the car passed by very fast with all of her stories. We really appreciated learning so much about daily life in Ghana. Rashida is a very sociable and cheerful person! We very much enjoyed the magnificent canopy walk in Kakum park even if we were at first hesitant because of the height. Here also Rashida was very encouraging. Learning more about the histories of Elmina and Cape coast castles and seeing them in person was sobering the say the least but a very important experience. Last but not least, our driver also did a fantastic job and we always felt safe on the roads. Thank you to you both!
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again!
Enjoyable trip!
Monica_C, Dec 2021
The canopy walk was beautiful, the hike up is steep but short. The guides at the Elmira and Cape castles were very knowledgeable and gave an excellent tour. The dinner was delicious, I recommend the fish and yam chips!
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Thank you very much for your review Monica. Enjoy the rest of your stay!
Great trip!
Madelyn_D, Sep 2021
I had an amazing trip with Rashida! She has so much knowledge of Ghana and is great to spend time with.
Response from Host, Sep 2021
Thank you very much Madelyn. I appreciate the helpful tips you shared with me as well. You are amazing too.
Perfect day trip from Accra
Alex, Sep 2021
Absolutely wonderful day tour from Accra. We visited Kakum park, as well as Cape Coast Castle and Elmina castle. Rashida is super fun and knowledgeable, not only about places we visited but also history, culture, and day-to-day life in Ghana overall. This made our 3-4 hour drives between Accra and Cape Coast fly by with very entertaining and educating discussions. 100% recommended, this tour is a must if you are in Accra!
Response from Host, Sep 2021
Thank you very much Alex. I enjoyed the trip with you as well. Safe flight back home.
Could have been better
Jasmine_S, Sep 2021
1. The tour started 1 hr later than what was stated. We were told to be ready at 7am. Our driver/tour guide did not arrive until 8am. 2. We were picked up in a small 4 door car that was visibly banged up, check engine light on, brakes needed replacement, and made noises like it was going to break down for the entire trip. 3. This was a 4 hour ride there and a 4 hour ride back. There was no space in this tiny car to stretch legs or comfortably hold 2 people and personal items in the backseat. 4. Our 2nd castle tour was condensed because they were closing by the time we got there. This was due to a late departure, being pulled over by the police for speeding, and waiting an hour for food at the restaurant. 5. We were given 10 minutes to eat because it took an hour for the restaurant to make our meal. 6. Our tour guide was very sweet, easy to talk to, and very helpful. I have no complaints about her. She was very nice. However the driver never spoke one word to us.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello Jasmine, your complaints have been acknowledged and we will work harder to improve our services to ensure a more satisfactory experience for our guests. It is normal that we use a private saloon car not a bus for a tour for just two people. We would really appreciate it if special needs are communicated to us prior the tour so we can better prepare ourselves to suit your comfortability. Also, please read the itinerary of the tours well before booking so you have an idea about the duration of the tour and activities involved so that you can assess yourself to see if this is something you are up for. Always read instructions given to you before the tour (such as change in pick up time)as not doing so can cause a lot of delays during the trip. Thank you again for this review and our team will seriously work on creating a better tour experience for all our guests. Enjoy the rest of your stay in Ghana.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Wow! What a Day!❤️
Gloria_M, Jul 2021
My time in Cape Coast and with Rashida, my tour guide, will never be forgotten. It was truly a life changing experience. I learned so much at the castle and I now have renewed joy in my heritage. My eyes have been opened and I so blessed and proud of being an AFRICAN American. As for Rashida, I don’t have enough words or space to express, just how awesome she is! Kind, intelligent, knowledgeable, caring, joyful, respectful, and beautiful are just a few. She is an Exceptional young lady and Ghana is blessed to have her. If it were possible, I would make 100’s of Rashida clones and take them to the USA. Thank you and God Bless You🙏🏽
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Hello Gloria, Thank you very much for this heart warming review ❤. We are so grateful to have had the opportunity to tour with you. We look forward to your next visit to Ghana 🇬🇭. Cheers 😊
1 traveler found this review helpful
Nice organized day trip
Pamela_H, Jul 2021
The tour with Zainab was really great. Everything was organized and she was quite flexible about how the day went. Cape Coast , Elmina Castle and Kakum are a must visit and I would recommend Zainab to visitors to Ghana planning to go there.
Response from Host, Jul 2021
Thank you Pamela for the review. Have a nice day!
Fascinating guides
Benjamin_S, Jun 2021
Lovely and knowledgeable guides. Full of fascinating stories about Ghana. But traffic is unpredictable so give yourself extra time.
Response from Host, Jun 2021
Hello Ben ,thank you very much for your review. We really had a great time with you with the interesting stories that were told during the car ride. We do apologise for the traffic situation. We will inform guests about such unforseen situations in the future so they are always prepared. Thank you very much again 😊
Two thumbs up!
Tiffany_R, Jan 2021
I really enjoyed this tour, it was well worth the money. Rashida was our tour guide and she was very knowledgeable, accommodating, and fun to talk to and hang out with. We had a great time!
Response from Host, Jan 2021
Hello, thank you very much for your review. I had an amazing time with you as well. Two thumbs up to you too for your awesomeness 👍👍
Pro Tours - Excellent Accra Tour
Huge thanks to the Pro Tours team - Zainab and Rashida who were exemplary tour operators. We couldn't have asked for more from Zainab, who provided exceptional service during our 2 escapades. We initially booked the Cape Coast Tour which was fantastic and informative, it led to us booking a City Tour for the following day. If you're visiting Ghana - we would strongly recommend Zainab and Rashida to be your guides around Ghana - their service was superb! For 2 young entrepreneurs their focus, customer service and professionalism are of a high standard, we wish them all the best - and we will certainly use them again in future.
Response from Host, Mar 2020
Thank you very much for your time and the review. We hope to see you soon in Ghana for your next visit. Have a nice day!


Product code: 172863P6