Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Wild Dolphin Watch Cruise

Badge of ExcellenceGlenelg, Australia

From $54.67

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Look for dolphins off the coast of Adelaide on a dolphin-spotting cruise from Glenelg, a seaside town just south of the city. As you glide across Holdfast Bay by catamaran, keep your eyes peeled for some of the thousands of dolphins who live in these waters. To enhance your encounter with these lovable creatures, upgrade your tour to include a dolphin-swimming experience from the boat.
  • 3.5-hour dolphin cruise from Glenelg
  • Spot wild dolphins in Holdfast Bay
  • Upgrade to swim and interact with the dolphins
  • Onboard commentary and safety briefing included
  • Wetsuit, snorkel, mask and other equipment provided

What's Included

  • Dolphin sightseeing cruise
  • Live commentary on board
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Swimming with dolphins

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Temptation Sailing, 10 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg SA 5045, Australia

    Boarding for the cruise will be 15 minutes prior to departure time in the Marina Pier, Glenelg – at the bottom of the stairs/ramp in front of the Oyster Bar.

Departure Time

8:00 AM

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

What To Expect

At Marina Pier in Glenelg, just 6 miles (10 km) south of Adelaide, hop aboard your catamaran for your dolphin-watching cruise on Holdfast Bay. (One easy way to get to Glenelg is by tram, a 20-minute ride that operates regularly from the city.)

As you depart the marina and set off across the water, watch for the wild dolphins who love to swim around the boat. Thousands of dolphins call Holdfast Bay home, so you are extremely likely to see them. If you select the swimming upgrade when booking, you’ll spend up to one hour in the water with different dolphin pods. A wetsuit, snorkel and mask are provided so you can dip under the water to watch them swim and play.

Your cruise ends with return to the marina in Glenelg.

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Wild Dolphin Watch Cruise?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Wild Dolphin Watch Cruise?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Traveler Photos

See more
257 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 257 reviews
Best experience ever
Fern_M, Apr 2022
Loved every minute - got up close to the dolphins and crew were so knowledgeable. Definitely be back.
A must do when you are in Adelaide
Dinnendra_D, Apr 2022
Cruise left on time and the staff was amazing and they explain everything and answer any questions you have. They try their best to give you the most memorable experience.A+++
This was my first...
Gayle_G, Mar 2022
This was my first experience on a catamaran and although warned the waters were a little rough, did not feel so. The day was grey & overcast, but this did not stop the staff from attempting to find the pods, of which we only saw one. We will return for hopefully a better day weather wise & dolphin spotting.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi Gayle Wow, how exciting your first time on a cat! We look forward to seeing you again soon, we recommend over the summer period! Regards TS
Educational and fun.
Kate_H, Mar 2022
What fun.this was a real adventure. The staff were marine biologists and stressed that we were not allowed to touch the dolphins. The dolphins were free to come and go as they chose. Climbing in and out of nets was quite physical but even I managed at nearly 70. Good quality equipment, friendly and knowledgable staff. I would highly recommend this for competent swimmers. Dolphins were magical.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi Kate Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad you had a fantastic time onboard with us and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon Regards TS
Didn’t end-up well
Sanam_S, Mar 2022
Since the waves were too violent We couldn’t swim to see dolphins Had to go back So they promised to refund the money for the swimming part
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Hello The weather does change unexpectedly at times which we have no control over. The safety of our passengers is our number one priority so if that means returning to the port we will do so. Things that are out of our control. Regards TS
Dodgy as
Karina_G, Feb 2022
I was disgusted, paid for two tickets as a gift. Tried message to get tickets upgraded, request was ignored. The couple I gifted the tickets to arrived at directed destination to find no sign of anyone. Refused to refund money.
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Hi Karina We are unsure what you are referring to regarding the tour. If you could contact us directly via email that would be great appreciated as this review isn't clear on what happened or the tour you were on.
Crew were very friendly...
Keren_F, Feb 2022
Crew were very friendly and knowledgeable. Incredible experience to see the dolphins up close. Would easily recommend and definitely do it again
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed the experience and would love to welcome you back another time! Regards Temptation Sailing Team
Fabulous morning
Kim_S, Jan 2022
Great experience, fantastic staff, they were knowledgeable and really friendly. Can’t recommend it enough.
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Hi Kim Thank you for your 5 star review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you onboard with us again soon. Regards, Temptation Sailing Team
Great relaxed staff -...
Daniel_D, Jan 2022
Great relaxed staff - willing to answer any questions which we had, which accompanied the huge pods of dolphins making a great trip!
Response from Host, Feb 2022
Hello Thank you for your 4 star review. I am glad you had a great time with us. The dolphins are something special! Regards Temptation Sailing Team
Boring and Uneventful
Christine_C, Jan 2022
There were no dolphins, the event was rather boring. Just sailed out to sea for ages, no interaction with staff members. Lots of people were sick no fault of sailing staff - but there did not seem to be any empathy shown either. Did not recieve a full refund, only partial, even though I am a tourist and will not be able to rebook another. Dull experience.
Amazing dolphins view
Vanessa_B, Jan 2022
It was amazing, we saw dolphins everywhere and they were really kind, friendly and they paid attention and all the details.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so spoilt to be able to see the dolphins everyday, they are amazing! Regards Temptation Sailing Team
Best day ever
Sheena_U, Apr 2021
Just AMAZING. We had the best morning ever. The crew were amazing. We hooked up with Dolphins as soon as we left and got in the water with them safely and carefully. Overall the most amazing experience.
Overall a good trip
Christopher_T, Jan 2020
Overall we had a great day and we saw plenty of dolphins. However when we arrived we were told we were not on the manifest. When they rang up there boss the lady didn't have a clue about our booking and didn't know what to do. We proved everything was payed for so they kindly let us aboard but I feel rather disappointed with Viator for not having everything sorted for us. Especially as I had purchased this for 3 other people including myself as a Christmas present which felt rather embarrassing. I just hope I don't have any other issues with my upcoming bookings with them.
Dolphin cruise Adelaide
Matthew_R, Dec 2018
Fees in US dollars and confusing people, so they charge more to covert the currency.There is no one to response.
Actually, we've passed time chasing...
stephane k, Jan 2018
Actually, we've passed time chasing dolphins. Go into the water, get back on the boat. The guides know they're work and the wild for sure. But it was really hard to see dolphins.
This was very disappointing. I had...
Caroline_J, Jan 2018
This was very disappointing. I had tried to find out more about how it worked twice on the phone.Only to get a very unhelpful woman on the phone who kept saying it would be explained on the day. So along I went - we were given stinger suits - as expected - then briefed on how the swimming with dolphins would work. Not so much swimming with Dolphins as jumping from a boat whilst holding a rope - and moving down to make room for others -into the water and being dragged along on the rope behind a boat in the hope of seeing dolphins under the water. Plus we had to get into the water quickly on command when Dolphins were spotted. Well quite a few people who'd booked for swimming with the dolphins backed out at that point. This included some families with children as well as some couples. Now despite my age 60 and mobility issues I walk with a stick due to arthritis I am normally okay in water. So I decided to give it a go. I lasted about 7 minutes - i was about the middle of the rope and kept being swept to the wrong side of it. I was s obusy working out how to do that I saw nothing! Same as many round me. So with my neighbours help I made it back to the side and a crew member helped me out. At this point i stayed on deck and enjoyed the sight of the Dolphins jumping around quite happily. Had I opted for just the Dolphin boat trip I'd have been happy enough. But personally I feel that describing the experience as swimming with Dolphins an simply inaccurate description of the experience. I have starred at 2 because I did see Dolphins and the crew wee actually very good and very helpful. But the description of this trip needs to be more accurate.
Great trip but cold, try to go...
junkkksk, Oct 2017
Great trip but cold, try to go during warm weather. The crew is fantastic and works hard to find dolphins and tell you where to look.
Dolphin Cruise was awesome. We were...
JenniA_B, May 2017
Dolphin Cruise was awesome. We were fortunate enough to have a beautiful morning. The cruise operators were very thorough and provided ample information. We saw quite a few pods of dolphins and when we didn't see any, just the boat ride was very enjoyable. I am glad we didn't opt for the dolphin swim as I do believe you see more from the boat rather than in the water. The whole experience was exactly as advertised and I really did appreciate the reviews I had read on Trip Adviser before I booked.
Great little cruise, hard to see the...
Courtney W, Dec 2016
Great little cruise, hard to see the dolphins sometimes but great experience.
The tour was effective in that they...
Todd Z, Feb 2016
The tour was effective in that they did get out to the dolphins and interacted with them. The operators handled the experience in a way that was respectful to the animals which I feel is crucial for this type of tour. I do have reservations about the boat, though. It is basically a sailing catamaran with no modifications for a large number of tourists. we had to move bow to stern and back so the pilot could see and it was difficult to suit up with really very little room for each person. There was no place to secure personal items and make sure to bring water and sun protection. Again, you get to see the dolphins, but there is not much concession to comfort.


Product code: 5692WDW_S