Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Benagil Area Kayak and SUP

Badge of ExcellenceAlbufeira, Portugal
Likely to Sell Out

From $44.05

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


The only way to reach the Benagil caves is by sea; whether you take a boat, kayak, or paddle there. On this half-day adventure, venture to the caves by boat from the Albufeira Marina. When you arrive, choose either a kayak or a stand up paddleboard to head deep inside the cave system to explore. Then, head back to the marina by boat, soaking up the sun along the way.
  • Take in the views of the Algarve coast from the boat
  • Enjoy photos from your tour taken by your guide
  • A central meeting point makes for a seamless start
  • All necessary kayak and SUP equipment is provided

What's Included

  • All necessary equipment with the kayaks/ SUP is included. Life jackets are included also
  • Lunch

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • SeaAlgarve Kayak&SUP And Boat Tours
    Marina de Albufeira, Beco da Orada Apartado 2422, 8201-918 Albufeira, Portugal

    Once you arrive at the marina, Go to Gate 3, Our office is there with a green flag on the top. Check-in is 30 minutes before departure.

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • On the tour we have double kayaks, single kayaks and SUP's avaible, Please send us and email to let us know what you would prefer, so that we can try and reserve it for you.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Benagil Area Kayak and SUP?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Benagil Area Kayak and SUP?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Benagil Area Kayak and SUP?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Benagil Area Kayak and SUP?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff

Traveler Photos

See more
303 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 303 reviews
Benagil Kayak Tour
Jorge_O, Aug 2022
Great kayak tour. This was our second tour and has been our must do when in Algarve. Crew was great.
Such a lovely day on the...
Karen_L, Aug 2022
Such a lovely day on the sea. Very relaxaing and suitae for all. Very friendly staff. Highly recommend the trip.
Very relaxing kayak trip....
marcin_s, Aug 2022
Very relaxing kayak trip. The crew are amazing and friendly guys, you can see, that they like their jobs and they are good at it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great way to spend a morning!
Grainne_C, Jul 2022
Great trip. We chose to SUP rather than Kayak. Note that there are a lot of boats in the area where you will be on the SUP, this causes big enough waves making standing up difficult. I was happy to kneel on my board but it is tiring after some time. Maybe choose a Kayak if you think this would be a problem. Great trip. Lovely spin out to the disembarking point. Then a tour through the caves and rock formations on your SUP/Kayak before having the chance to jump from the boat for a swim. Lovely way to spend a morning. Trip was 3.5 hours in total. 1.5 hours on SUP.
Must do experience
Paul_B, Jul 2022
Fun crew, well organised! Amazing caves and views of the algarve coast. Modern boat and an opportunity to swim afterwards
A let down
Loveth_A, Jul 2022
The tour guides barely know anything about the caves. Other tour guides from different companies were there and they explained it better that our guys… quite disappointing. The kayaking part was really fun with friends but you learn nothing about the caves other than the fact that the hole on the top was due to rain and the opening of the cave was due to the sea. Basic knowledge :/
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you for feedback, it is important for us to improve. We are glad you enjoyed the kayaking :) All the best, Seaalgarve team
Do not do if you get seasick!
Maureen_C, Jul 2022
The caves and scenery on this tour were beautiful and very unique. It is really cool to get to go into the different caves and see the rock formations up close and the water is beautiful. However, this is not a good tour if you are at all prone to seasickness. Almost everyone on our boat was sick while kayaking and on the boat back home. The water was very very choppy making it almost impossible to kayak through. There were boats everywhere in the caves and along the coast that get very close and is dangerous at times. Our group was split up with people not being able to paddle through the waves, boats going in between everyone, and some people being unable to go on because of seasickness. Not sure I would recommend unless you are a confident and experienced sea kayaker that doesn't get motion sick.
3 out of 5
Armando_M, Jul 2022
The Benagil cave was beautiful to see but was disappointed we only spent a max of 10-15 minutes inside. The process of getting the kayaks on and off the boat was unorganized, and took up a good amount of time. Kayaking overall was a good experience, but I wish there was better planning to prevent time wasted sitting in the water waiting for the guide to guide us, and getting on and off the boat with our kayaks.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you for expressing your point of view. The tour is called Benagil area kayak and sup so we show the clients the full area, that's why we don't stay over 15minutes in the cave of Benagil because there is more beautiful places to see and that's how the tour is planned. We are glad you enjoyed kayaking. Best regards Seaalgarve team
Padraic_L, Jul 2022
Highly recommend this to anyone in the Albufeira area , staff were very accommodating and professional, music and drinks were a nice touch and the kayaking and the views itself were amazing
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Padraic Thank you so much for your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed the tour. See you soon :) Best regards Seaalgarve team
Great experience
Srishti_B, Jul 2022
This experience was fantastic and I highly recommend it. I went with a group of friends and it was so fun. The crew was so nice and friendly, for the time we went it was a real value for money.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you so much for your nice comment Hope you come back soon :) Best regards Seaalgarve
Niamh_P, Jun 2022
Loved that the sea was a bit choppy it made for some big and fun waves. The staff were so friendly and helpful
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Niamnh, Thank your for your feedback and we hope to see you back again :) Best regards Seaalgarve team
Felt more like a chore
6p7pqjpsdc, Jun 2022
Can I just say the journey to the area where you kayak was great as well as the journey back but the kayak part was dreadful, take in mind I am 22 years old and completely fit and this was just a complete chore, we didn’t get to go through any of the caves apart from the main one (for 10mins) the kayak tour guide was very disorganised and the amount of beautiful beaches that we went passed but never once stopped at was just sad. Their was one point where we went past an amazing secluded beach and the guide told us that it’s only accessible by kayak and boat… then he changed his mind and wanted us to continue on the kayak’s stating that the beach is only accessible by boat when there was literally 3 people arriving on the beach by kayak lmao. It was just so repetitive and by the end of it I was just really disappointed.
Search Elsewhere for a Better Tour
Bethany_G, Jun 2022
Honestly, if you're interested in seeing Benagil, I recommend finding another tour. This specific tour seemed so unorganized, and very impersonal. I'll try to keep my story brief. My boyfriend and I booked this tour along with two of our friends. The night before we were messaged asking if we wanted a double kayak, a single kayak or a SUP. I messaged back nearly immediately asking a couple of questions our group had that we wanted answered in order to make our decision. The guide responded minutes later with the answers, but then informed us that double kayaks were no longer available. We selected single kayaks, given that was our only choice at this point if we wanted a kayak. We got to the meeting point the next day and got on the boat. There were 3 guides who said next to nothing until we got to the launch site. It seemed like they were not there for pleasantries, they made a couple of corny jokes and gave some short water safety instruction. My boyfriend is 6'2" and a bigger guy. He got in his kayak and the guides launched him off the back, he was in the water for less than 5 minutes before he tipped his kayak - essentially what happened was, the single kayak was MUCH too small for him, he was unable to maneuver the kayak comfortably, and accidentally tipped while he was trying to see if the seat moved back further. At this point, he took in so much sea water he asked to get back on the boat. The guide TOLD him that he would be much more comfortable in a double kayak, but that they were all taken. Less than 30 minutes after this happened, a double kayak holding 2 women came in, as one of them was tired and wanted to relax on the boat instead. The guides didn't even offer the woman who wanted to stay in the water a single kayak so that my boyfriend could have the double. So, we watched this woman struggle in waves over 1 meter trying to navigate by herself with a huge double kayak. Meanwhile my boyfriend sat on the boat for the entire time because there was no option that would have suited him to be able to come out into the water (the waves were too high for a SUP that day as well). It just seemed inconsiderate, disorganized and not very well planned. There is nothing in writing or the description of the tour stating to consider body size while deciding on a kayak. The sea conditions did not seem safe for us on the day we went, the guides seemed very concerned with getting us safely in and out of the caves, which was nice, but also added a layer of anxiety to the tour. It's a miniscule detail - but the details of the tour say you can 'relax with a drink on the boat.' There are no drinks provided, so bring your own. Overall, I feel like we wasted time and money. My boyfriend was really looking forward to seeing Benagil, and this tour did not accommodate him, AT ALL. I would say be picky while you're looking at tour offerings, and maybe do a tour, that launches directly from Benagil Beach. It will save time, sea sickness and ensure you're able to see the cave. I wish we had done that.
Benagil caves experience
zjj25h5vtw, May 2022
The crew were awesome, informative and helpful. Apart from the choppy waters during our trip, it was a fun and great experience! My only gripe is better instructions to finding the booth to check in.
Response from Host, May 2022
Thank you for your kind feedback, and you are right regarding check-in, we have been trying to change the info given to clients by Viator for a while and we will keep trying :) All the best Team SeaAlgarve
Great experience. Got to...
Jennifer_J, May 2022
Great experience. Got to tour the Algarve coastline and cliffs. You end up going into 3-4 small coves/caves. About a 40 minute boat ride to Benagil. Make sure you are physically fit enough for a lot of kayaking or paddle boarding - it was a workout.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi Jennifer, Glad you enjoyed the tour :) Hopefully we will see you another time and then remember that the catamaran always follow you, so that if you get tired arms, you can get back to the boat at any time, no problem at all :) Enjoy the rest of your stay Best regards Team SeaAlgarve
Fantastic unique trip
Hao_D, May 2022
Very fantastic trip. Kayaking is not tough, the staffs took care everyone. And with kayaking you can get into Bengali cave, which is the highlight of the tour.
Response from Host, May 2022
We really appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon :) Best regards Seaalgarve Team
Awesome trip, it was...
Daniel_A, May 2022
Awesome trip, it was really great, I enjoyed it, crew were very nice, sights were great and a very enjoyable experience
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Daniel Thank you for choosing us and the nice comment :) We hope to see you soon! Kind regards Seaalgarve Team
I really enjoyed our day...
Sarah_F, May 2022
I really enjoyed our day kayaking! Safety demonstration was given, easy check in, beautiful sights. Biggest warning I would give is this is not so much a beginner activity. Water was really choppy on our day so it was A LOT of work and I don't think how far we were going was clearly communicated to all. We also were not told until check in that we could not purchase drinks on board (but there was a grocery store about 8 min walk away so we got waters). Starr were friendly but more matter of fact than on other tours i've been on. Overall, I'd go again!
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Sarah, Thank you for choosing Seaalgarve and thank you for leaving your feedback. Hope to see you soon :) Kind regards SeaalgarveTeam
Kayaking in Benugil
Vigneshwaran_K, May 2022
It was an amazing experience overall. We were first timers among our batch, so struggled a lot in between but the crew took care of us really well. They were kind and helpful throughout the whole trip. Definitely would recommend them.
Response from Host, May 2022
Dear Sarah, Thank you for choosing Seaalgarve and thank you for leaving your feedback. Hope to see you soon :) Kind regards SeaalgarveTeam
The best way to see a gem in the Algarve
Mariana_R, Oct 2021
We had a lovely experience. The tour guides were great and we even got a surprise visit from some dolphins! One of the most beautiful sites to see in the Algarve and a unique way of seeing it. It was our first time sea kayaking and our guides were very helpful and supportive.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thank you for choosing SeaAlgarve and your nice feedback. Hope to see you soon :) Best regards, SeaAlgarve Team


Product code: 163787P3