Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Skip the Line Acropolis of Athens Tour

Badge of ExcellenceAthina, Greece

From $38.81

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 1 hour 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


    What's Included

    • Local licensed English-speaking guide
    • Athens guide magazine
    • Athens map
    • Guaranteed to skip the long lines
    • Small Group tour
    • Entrance fee to Acropolis (20 €/adult) depending on the option you choose; paid in cash on the spot.
    • Hotel pick-up and drop-off
    • Food and drinks, unless specified
    • Gratuities

    Meeting And Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Fresko Yogurt Bar Acropoli
      Dionysiou Areopagitou 3, Athina 117 42, Greece

    End point

    • Acropoli
      Athens 117 42, Greece

    What To Expect


    1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

    Parthenon (Pass By)

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Please wear comfortable shoes and clothes
    • BABY STROLLERS are not allowed on the Acropolis archaeological site and there is no cloakroom at the side entrance we use to enter. For your own convenience, it is recommended to use a baby pouch instead of a baby stroller.
    • ENTRANCE FEES (Depending on the option you choose they can be included or NOT included):from April 1st to October 31st: Adults 25+: 20 euros . Reduced prices apply for youth 6 - 24 years old, senior EU citizens (65+) and infants are entitled to a free entrance
    • ENTRANCE FEES (Depending on the option you choose they can be included or NOT included): from November 1st to March 31st: Adults 25+: 10 euros, youth 6 - 24 years old, senior European citizens (65+) and infants & youth (Eu citizens) are entitled to a free entrance
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • If you are entitled to a reduced entrance at the site, then a valid ID or Passport is required for verification of age and nationality at the sites.
    • Comfortable walking shoes, sun-screen and a hat are recommended
    • Bring a bottle of water
    • Dress according to weather
    • The Covid19 Measures set by the Greek Government frequently change. Thus, it is advisable to check local restrictions applicable to indoor and outdoor activities.
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    about cancellations.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips

    The Acropolis has a very rough terrain and some of the stone has been worn slick and can be very treacherous especially for those with knee or ankle problems.
    If you arrive early you can do some shopping on the street or sit down and have something to eat.
    A note of caution should be made that the tour is rigorous and lengthy, requiring a long climb over slabs of stone and marble on narrow paths.
    620 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 620 reviews
    Wonderful informative tour.
    Susan_S, Mar 2023
    Great knowledgeable guide. Easy to find the meeting point. Perfect length tour. Nice group size. Friendly guide.
    Very cold; great tour!
    Kevin_K, Mar 2023
    The weather up top the Acropolis was bitterly cold. Aigli handled it exceptionally well (better then us!) and maintained her professionalism during.very difficult conditions. Thank-you Aigli for the wonderful tour!
    ElizabethSchmidt, Mar 2023
    Amazing tour and guide. Then tour was organized, informative. I would recommend to anyone. Our guide was lovely and gave us great tips and insight.
    Great Start to our Trip!
    Jackie_N, Mar 2023
    This was our first tour in Athens and it was absolutely incredible. It was so thorough and well paced. Our tour guide made it so enjoyable and it was a great start to our trip!
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Thank you for sharing your experience of our Acropolis of Athens Tour. We are thrilled to hear that it was an incredible start to your trip and that you found the tour thorough and well-paced. We are delighted that our tour guide was able to make the tour enjoyable for you and provide you with an unforgettable experience. Warm regards.
    lyudap20, Jan 2023
    I have had free tours that are more educational and entertaining. Very mediocre experience. Written descriptions had more details than the tour guide provided.
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with Athens Walking Tours. We apologize that you felt the tour was mediocre and did not live up to your expectations. Our guides are licensed professionals who have extensive knowledge and experience in the history and culture of Athens. However, we understand that some people may prefer a more in-depth and detailed tour. We strive to provide a balance between providing important historical and cultural facts while still keeping the tour entertaining and engaging. Our Acropolis tour is designed to be one and a half hours in duration, and we prefer to focus on the most important and relevant information to make the most of the limited time. We Know by experience that this duration is ideal for most visitors and at the same time we understand that this may not be suitable for everyone, and we apologize if this caused disappointment. We would like to assure you that we take all feedback seriously and will use it to improve our tours in the future. If you have any additional feedback or suggestions, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you for choosing Athens Walking Tours. Best regards,
    2 travelers found this review helpful
    Excellent tour with Sissy
    ESTHER_I, Dec 2022
    We took the tour with Sissy. She was very informative and knowledgeable and included many stories of Grrek mythogy. We enjoyed it very much
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    Great to hear it, Esther! We value our guests' time and always strive to provide the best possible service. Please join us again soon, and have a pleasant day!
    Amazing tour
    PEDRO_S, Dec 2022
    Was a very nice expirience , at the begginig climbing up seems not an easy task , but the interesting and professional explanations of the guide meant that we found ourselves at the top, without feeling it. Thanks Apollon ( OUR GUIDE)
    Response from Host, Jan 2023
    We’re very pleased to hear that everything is working just as it should, dear Pedro, and that you've enjoyed your Acropolis experience so much! Our entire team works hard to deserve such amazing feedback! We hope to see you again soon; have a great day!
    a great visit at the Acropolis with Fotini!
    bella_s, Nov 2022
    Our guide Fotini was very attentive and shared her knowledge in an easy going way, descriptions and point of view were very interesting! thank you Fotini! November weather is perfect for the visit!
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    We are incredibly grateful for the lovely review full of appreciation, Bella. We definitely expect to see you again next time you're in Athens! All the best!
    Incredible Experience!
    Wendi_B, Nov 2022
    I’m so glad I took this tour! The guide was informative, attentive and told interesting stories about what we were seeing. I was considering just going up to the Acropolis to walk around on my own but I got so much more out of the experience by taking the tour. Highly recommended!
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    We are glad you took the tour too, dear Wendi; we are always happy when our guests are satisfied! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us, and please visit us again soon! Have an amazing day!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    It was great!
    Laura_T, Nov 2022
    We are so glad that we took a tour for the Acropolis. Our guide is actually an archeologist so was very knowledgeable. It would have been overwhelming had we not been with someone who could really talk us through the history of the site and and Athens.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    And we are really glad we had the opportunity to host you, Laura! We are grateful for your warm comments, and hope to welcome you to Athens again soon!
    Great Guide, But Too Long
    Chelsea_E, Nov 2022
    While we loved the guide and getting to see the Acropolis, we found the tour to be a bit long. I would recommend this tour to a history junkie, but not for someone looking for a more laid back experience. I would have loved for this to be shorter and more “to the point”. It was information overload!
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    We appreciate your feedback, Chelsey! We are happy you loved your guide as well as the opportunity to see the Acropolis. Our skip the line Acropolis of Athens Tour, which is our most popular, lasts 90 minutes. We believe that the wealth of history surrounding this ancient hill, and the many significant monuments it contains require much more time than one hour and a half. However, we try to include the information pieces which are absolutely essential for visitors to fully grasp the landmark's importance. We are sorry that in your case we did not succeed, and you felt that the experience was too long. Overall, the majority of our guests find that the duration of the tour is perfect and that its content is consice and relevant. Please note that we have private tours available, where visitors can plan every little detail according to their preferences, and we would love to see you again enjoying a customized experience. Thanks again for your comments! All the best!
    Cynthia_H, Nov 2022
    Kate was excellent and knowledgeable guide!! Would recommend but note steep in some places and slippery too due to worn marble.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    We take pride in the fact that you spared precious time to write to us, Cynthia! We expect to see you again soon. Have a great day!
    A must see experience!
    MARYJ_B, Oct 2022
    Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his job - would highly recommend the skip the line option.
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Thrilled to hear that you had such a smooth experience with us, Mary! We look forward to your next visit! All the best!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Wonderful Acropolis tour with Katherina
    James_B, Oct 2022
    Our tour guide, Katherine, was great. She was very knowledgeable and spoke very clearly. She answered any questions anyone had without hesitation. She walked slow enough so she was easy to keep up with. She also allowed us to walk back down with her as we were unsure if the exit and also were interested in finding the Platka area. We appreciated her going the extra mile. Our only suggestion would be for perhaps a headset/microphone for louder sound.
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Thank you for sharing your experience with us, James! We're grateful for your comments (Katherine was very pleased), and your suggestions. Please join us again next time you are in Athens! Have a beautiful day!
    Great pace up to the top
    Gary_D, Oct 2022
    Nice 1.5 hour tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Nice pace to the top of Acropolis. She handled our group of twenty like a pro. 330pm on Sunday 10/16. Recommend this tour with the Acropolis tickets included.
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Thanks a lot, Gary! Taking the time to share your positive feedback means a lot to us! We look forward to your next visit, and wish you all the best!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    The guide was great,...
    Anita_T, Oct 2022
    The guide was great, acropolis is impresive. Take guide to feel the spirit of ancient Athens. Warmly recommended.
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Thank you so much, Anita! We would love to host you again soon! Keep traveling and collecting beautiful memories!
    Tour guides are worth the investment.
    ShawnMorris_J, Oct 2022
    A well informed guide provided important context to the various parts of the Acropolis, much more than was available from the signage around the site. She kept a steady, but moderate pace for a fairly long climb to the top. She answered questions and offered good context to what we were seeing, providing good time-lines and perspective. The tours value was more in the information than "skip the line" ability.
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    We are very happy with your feedback, Shawn; thank you so much. Positive remarks like yours enable us to strive for a better experience each time. Especially your comment regarding the value of the tour and where it really is, made our day! We'd love to host you again soon, and wish you all the best!
    Huh? What did she say?
    David_B, Oct 2022
    The English speaking tour guide spoke with such a heavy accent that most of her information was unintelligible.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Dear David, please accept our apologies about your unsatisfactory experience with us. Our quality assurance department is looking into this as we speak, in order to resolve the situation asap. We pride ourselves on our excellent reputation and definitely welcome further discussion on the issue. Please contact us by email, text or phone to talk about this incident and try to make it up to you the best way possible. Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we expect to hear from you the soonest possible. Have a great day!
    Not worth it
    Colette_G, Oct 2022
    I don’t like to leave bad reviews, but this tour was horrible. We originally booked for a 10:45am tour during our honeymoon. We we’re contacted last minute that our tour was changed to 11:30am. We get there 15 minutes early, as required and our tour guide started the tour late. The entire time we were unable to understand her, she talked so fast and didn’t pause once. Many other guests on the tour said the same thing. One couple said “ you should just unplug and go home and read about it yourself.” Needless to say, my husband and I decided to return our headsets early and finish the tour on our own. Save yourself the hassle and just by your own ticket and walk it yourself. We would appreciate a refund.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Horrible is a strong word, dear Colette, and one we hardly ever hear from our guests, therefore, we are really sorry to see it in your feedback. Indeed there was a change in the schedule, and you were promptly notified about it. Unexpected incidents beyond our control do happen sometimes, although we do our best to foresee and avoid them, and that is why we very rarely change the start time of our tours. However, we do not share your view that the tour started late. On the contrary, it started right on time, and we have to say we are surprised by your comments about other guests' dissatisfaction with the guide, as many people from your group wrote enthusiastic reviews regarding this specific tour. Of course, we will be addressing your feedback with the team so that we can do better in the future! We again apologize for any inconvenience this caused for you in your honeymoon. We will do our best to resolve the situation! Congratulations on your marriage, and enjoy your new life with your husband!
    Unique experinence in the Acropolis
    GaborPeter_N, Oct 2022
    Thank to Dafne we had a great and informative time in the Acropolis. She did a really great job. We were also advosed where and how to continue our tour un Athens.
    Response from Host, Nov 2022
    Grateful and glad for your feedback, Gabor! We hope to see you again soon! Take care!


    Product code: 2906ACROPOLIS