Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Half Day Athens Private Tailor-Made City Tour (Skip the line of Acropolis)

Badge of ExcellenceAthens, Greece

From $384.06

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Customize your own tour of Athens and visit the landmarks that are of more interest to you on this private adventure. Choose from a number of key landmarks like the Royal Palace of Athens, the Temple of Zeus, the Archaeological Museum, and enjoy skip-the-line admission to the Acropolis. Discover ancient Greece’s rich history as you stroll around the ruins with your dedicated guide and get insider tips on the best places to eat and drink.
  • Take a customized half-day tour of key Athens landmarks
  • See the Royal Palace, the Temple of Zeus, and Hadrian’s Arch
  • Avoid large crowds with skip-the-line admission to the Acropolis
  • Enjoy a personalized experience with a private guide and vehicle
Operated by:

What's Included

  • Start the tour when you want, by choosing your own departure time with a Hotel pickup and drop-off.
  • Get exclusive use of an official private guide, a driver-host and a fully airconditioned minivan.
  • Personalised care, dedicated to you and your group.
  • Flexibility towards time, allowing you to dictate when to stop and how long for.
  • Bottled water
  • Acropolis skip the line entrance tickets
  • Entrance fees to all the other museums and areas except from Acropolis
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Pickup details

Pick up from all Athens located hotels , AIRBnB apartments and Ports. Please indicate your hotel name , apartment address or Cruise ship name to aRrange pick up. You will receive exact pick up time through email 48hrs prior departure. In the case of cruise ship and airport arrivals please notice that our guide will wait for you outside of the arrivals terminal ,holding a sign with your name on it.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Post Covid 19 Policy: Vehicles will be sanitized before every pick up. Hand sanitizing done before departure and after every major stop. Face masks available for clients. Guides will wear facemasks and use microphone when guiding. Fresh trash bag will be place in every vehicle and waste will be destroyed at the end of the tours.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Do some research ahead of time so you can discuss with the guide your "must see" items so you get to see as many of them as you can in a half day.
Reviews
4.5
85 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews
Must do on limited time
Rebecca_F, Nov 2022
The guide and driver were excellent. I would consider this a must do tour if you are only going to have limited time in Athens.
Way over priced. Save 66% and find a local guide on line.
Leslie_B, Oct 2022
If you light your cigars with $100.00 bills, then this custom tour is for you. LOL. “Custom”. No one ever reached out to see what our interest or priorities were. Our were the Acropolis, Parthenon and the Olympic Stadium. The driver was on time and off we go to meet our guide. Once we picked up the guide, I explained to her what we had done the day before and what our priorities were. She advised that we do the Acropolis and Parthenon last. Now this is the opposite of what we wanted, (go early, beat the crowd and the heat, take great photos and get off the hill) but I trusted the guide and off we go the the Olympic Stadium. On the drive she does a good job pointing out and explaining local points of interest and historical landmarks. Once at the Stadium we look around, take a few photos and I want to go in and see the track. Yes, there is a ticket to buy, but I’m aware of this and even happy to buy a ticket for the guide. Nope she advised against it. She explains that it is “just a stadium” and would be a waist of our time and money, as there is so much more to see. Call me stupid, but I again trust my guide. So off we go to waist an hour in traffic and her pointing out local building that we had seen the previous day on our FANTASTIC Walking City and Food Tour. Long story short. When we do finally get to the Acropolis we find that our goal of beating crowd and heat had passed. The guide did a great job of explains things and knows the history. She did get frustrated with me taking a few photos and ask that we allow here to complete the tour and then we can take time for photos. How about, I paid $700 for the two of us to do a CUSTOMIZED PRIVATE GUIDE TOUR and let’s do it my way. By this point both my wife and I have had enough. We both feel that we have been ripped off. My advice to those who are reading this review is to save your money. Find a private local guide on line and pay 1/3 the price. Please note, this is the first negative review that we have ever posted. We have done close to 50 private and semi private tours. This is way over priced.
Highlights of Athens by private tour
Gregory_S, Oct 2022
I am the travel advisor who booked this tour for my clients while they were in Athens after completing a cruise. Clients are older, and could not do a lot of walking, but they really enjoyed the pace of the private tour, it was just right for their energy level.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Wonderful experience touring the Acropolis and Museum
Mary_W, Oct 2022
My husband has mobility issues as a side effect from cancer treatment, so we were worried he might not be able to get to the top of the acropolis. I booked this tour so he could take his time climbing up without the pressure of keeping up with a large group. Everything worked perfectly. Our driver Christos picked us up right outside the cruise ship terminal and drove us into Athens. Our guide, Effe, took us up the Acropolis and then through the Acropolis museum. She was great and we learned so much during the tour. I would highly recommend this tour.
First time at the Acropolis
Jennifer_B, Oct 2022
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. It is usually a very crowded venue and we were able to skip most of the line and spend plenty of time there. We also walked the “Plaka” and took the rest of our time viewing from our van. A very good tour!
Excellent private tour!
Melissa_B, Oct 2022
Micala brought the Acropolis to life for me and my husband. She told us stories about the myths and how the ruins came to be. The city tour was educational and Micala provided just the right amount to help us understand. We most appreciated her explanations of the Greek words and their root meanings!! This is the only way to see Athens.
Awesome!!
Matthew_D, Oct 2022
Our private tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and her recommendations were perfect. Highly recommend!!
Fabulous tour.
Rachelle_H, Oct 2022
Our tour guide Effy made the Acropolis become alive. A group of old stones suddenly had extraordinary meaning with her historical background and knowledge. Our driver was very accommodating and also was so pleasant to talk to and be with. We had excellent communication via text with our driver and he was punctual. I recommend this private tour. We saw so many highlights of Athens in context with what we were seeing and its historical perspective or present purpose.
1 traveler found this review helpful
An exceptional tailor made tour of athens
RA_E, Oct 2022
Our tour began at our hotel where we had a dedicated driver to transport us from site to site and a dedicated tour guide. Everyone involved was very professional, courteous, and accommodating. This was a one-on-one tour and our guides knowledge of the city and Acropolis was exceptional. I highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting a tailor-made view of Athens
If you love history, this tour is for you.
Danna_P, Sep 2022
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and loved the history of Greece, which made the tour extra special. They were accommodating to what we wanted to see and do, and made recommendations for things to do and see around the city after the tour.
Bad experience, won't recommend.
William_D, Sep 2022
We had several challenges with tour scheduling in Athens. For our primary tour, the operator canceled the night before and we had to reschedule. When I tried to cancel this tour - I was told "no refunds". You can save $700 by skipping this tour entirely and buying skip the line passes for the Acropolis with a downloadable audio guide.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Dear sir, Our company has nothing to do with your bad experience with your tour operator regarding your own arrangements coming to Greece.You just informed us that you will not participate in the booked tour with our company 8 hours prior to departure. Consequently cancelation fees applied according to Viator terms and conditions. We are very sorry for the bad experience with your tour operator but our company has nothing to do with it. Thank you.
Great guide but a bit less than expected
KenB, Sep 2022
We had great driver (Shoterie.. spelling??) And gude (Effie .. again probably misspelled). With that said, the acropolis takes up most of the tour with a quick stop to see the Olympic stadium and changing of the guard. Would have liked a bit more for the cost. If not for the great guide, this might have been a 3.5 star review
Overpriced, big time. Better options.
mit817, Sep 2022
Extremely over priced. 3 hours tour, very little to show. Rushed tour for 750 euro. Barely 3 hours. Guide needs to learn how to take photos... Most critical part of pantheon, got a nice big photo of me and wife, yet missed the pantheon.... Brilliant.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Dear Sir, We are very sorry this tour didn’t met your expectations. However we would like to clarify the following: This is a half day tour. Which means the duration is 4 hours. It would be very helpful to inform us your name and the date you joined the tour, as you are signing with a nickname and we impossible to understand what to look for and cross check the quality of the service. You can email us this information. Regarding the guide: We are not choosing guides judging from their photo shooting skills. This is not required and frankly it is not important! We collaborate with guides that are evaluated from their academic degrees, their expertise in archaeology and history and of course their communication skills. All reviews help us improve the experience and makes us better. Thank you.
Private tour athens
Eric_W, Sep 2022
Our guide Mikhael was so knowledgeable. It was unbelievable learning all we did about the acropolis. Also our driver Chris was incredibly knowledgeable about history in the city. We had a wonderful day exploring Athens we these 2.
Great guide...very pricey
Heidi_M, Aug 2022
Guide was great...but price was a lot...to costly...need to lower the price and we give a better recommendation
1 traveler found this review helpful
M is Chelle was very...
mark_w, Aug 2022
M is Chelle was very knowledgeable and you can tell her love for being a tour guide. She and theo did their best to accommodate us as we are an older couple with difficulty walking. Highly recommend them
Guided tours are always better than trying to figure it out yourself
allen_g, Aug 2022
Tour guide was fantastic with great detail of the history of Athens and Greece. The who, what, where, why, was given for all monuments, statues, historic buildings, and events.
Viator at its best in Athens!
Jane_M, Aug 2022
Our visit to the Acropolis, despite the heat, was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guide, Stratos, was exceptionally considerate- ensuring that our friends who needed to use the elevator were able to access it while ensuring that the rest of us made it safely to the top. Thank you for this amazing tour!
Our tour guide and driver...
William_B, Aug 2022
Our tour guide and driver were both wonderful with lots of knowledge about the sites we visited / saw. Bravo!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great people, great tour, highly recommend!
Fayth_R, Aug 2022
What a way to start our Greece tour! If you want to learn ALOT about Acropolis and Greek history, at the same time trying to Beat the summer heat as much as possible, this is the tour for you. Garyfallia, George and Kalimera Sotiris were an amazing team, pleasure to be with and we left wishing we had more time. They even gave us great recommendations for the rest of our trip. Would highly recommend this tour!
1 traveler found this review helpful
...

Questions?

Product code: 13498P26