Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles

Are you interested in?

Mycenae Tours
162 Tours & Activities
Day Trips
880 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
2065 Tours & Activities
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens

|
Athina, Greece
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles
36

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
Chat now

Overview

Follow in the footsteps of the ancient Greeks on a fascinating full-day trip to Mycenae and Epidaurus from Athens. Traveling by air-conditioned coach, you'll drive along the beautiful Saronic Gulf and into the Peloponnese to the atmospheric hilltop ruins of Mycenae, a fortified city from the second millennium BC. See the famous Lion’s Gate, Tomb of Agamemnon and Palace, and after a stop in pretty Nauplia, continue to another archaeological treasure, Epidaurus. Pick your way around the UNESCO-listed Sanctuary of Askeplios and ogle the age-old theater, a wonder of ancient architecture.
  • Day trip from Athens to Mycenae and Epidaurus
  • See ancient Greek remains and the tomb of Agamemnon in Mycenae
  • Enjoy a scenic drive along the Saronic Gulf coast
  • Visit Epidaurus, birthplace of Apollo's son and an ancient place of healing
  • Stop at the town of Nauplia
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Entrance ticket to Mycenae
Entrance ticket to Ancient Epidaurus and museum
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
guided tour of Asklipeion
Pick up from Piraeus port, airport, airbnb and apartments

Departure Point

Leoforos Vasilisis Amalias 10, Athina 105 57, Greece

Departure Time

8:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Begin your day trip with a pickup at your Athens hotel or from near Syntagma Square in central Athens. Settle inside your air-conditioned coach and admire the scenery as you trace the coast of the Saronic Gulf into the Peloponnese.

After around 1.5 hours, arrive at the ancient hilltop city of Mycenae and enjoy a walking tour of the ruins of this once powerful, fortified settlement. Hear how the city was, in Greek myth, ruled by King Agamemnon, and view highlights such as the Palace, Tomb of Agamemnon and Lion’s Gate.

Afterward, stop in the pretty seaport of Nauplia before continuing to ancient Epidaurus, the mythological birthplace of Asklepios, the Greek god of healing.

Tour the spectacular relics, including the UNESCO-listed Sanctuary of Asklepios, with its crumbled buildings. Then, ogle the breathtaking ancient theatre of Epidaurus. Built in the 4th century BC, the colossal theater is considered one of the world’s most beautiful and still boasts fabulous acoustics.

Your trip ends back at the original departure point in Athens.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
The Great Theatre of Epidaurus
The ancient theater or Epidaurus
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Citadel and Treasury of Atreus
tumb of Agamemnon
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Archaeological Site Mycenae
part of Cyclopean walls, Lions Gate, Palace of Agamemnon
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Corinth Canal
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Nauplion Promenade
walking in the city of Nauplia, Panoramic view of Palamidi Castle and Bourtzi
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Due to COVID19 protocols all tourists must have smartphones with headphones and charged batteries to listen their guide in the museums and arch. sites due to the social distancies.
  • Pickup from port , airport or private apartment (air BNB) are not available
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Very important: Children , students aged 5 to 18 years old must hold passport or ID in order to get the discounted price. Otherwise they will pay entrance ticket to the Archaelogical sites or Museums.
  • No tours on Christmas Day, New Years Day and Orthodox Easter
  • Guides allowed only through the mobile App to guide in the archaeological sites and museums
  • Your guide will give you your entry tickets to the sites and museums
  • May be operated by a bilingual guide (English/French)
  • Mask: is mandatory for clients and staff
  • Hand cleaning: Visitors are asked to wash their hands regularly and use the hand sanitizers that are in place
  • Social distancing: Maintain distance of 1.5 meters
  • Most travelers can participate
  • People with fever (≧ 37 ℃) with issues like cold, runny nose, sneezing, sore throat, mild cough, or shortness breath cannot participate.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 26 travelers
  • OPERATED BY CHAT Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 26 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens.

Still Have Questions?


Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.0
star-4
324 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 324 reviews
star-5
Great guide!
rsanders3861
, Jun 2021
Stafis the guide was very knowledgeable. Answered all the questions any one had and had such a complete understanding of the sites and their history.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We are thanking you for your kind review as help us to investigate the case of a very negative review for this tour on same date received from other single traveller! We know that Stathis is one of the best guides and we are happy that you enjoyed his lguiding . Hope to see you gain on our tours. Best regards/ Hara Kritikidou/ Customer Service Manager
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Terrible Tour
Corbin_W
, Jun 2021
Probably worst tour I've ever taken. Guide rambled the entire time, and the driver was terrible as well.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear client, We really don't understand what do you mean that guide rambled the entire time? Please clarify and also explain us why the driver was terrible. you mean on driving? awaiting your kind reply,Hara
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Silence is NOT Golden
Brian_D
, Jun 2021
I’m not one to leave a negative review, but this tour was the low point of our Greece trip. We were a very small group, only five people, and we endured an hour and a half silent bus ride to Mycenae that could have easily been filled with the history and myths of the House of Atreus. The site was amazing but access was limited due to COVID which I don’t think was communicated enough before booking. The last stop of the tour was the theater of Epidaurus. The theater is beautiful but there are many other equally amazing points of interest on the grounds but we didn’t visit them. And then back in the bus for another hour and a half ride of silence back to Athens. We did many tours while in Greece and realize that the guide can make or break the day.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear client, We are very surprised with your negative review. We read very carefully and we feel that is completely unfair as we investigate the case and we received review from the other couple who rate the tour with 5 starts as all of you received more than the inclusions. Our guide Nancy who is archaeologist add more time in Mycenae ,as you was a small group just 5 persons , and show the graves of Klitemnistra and Aigisthos after the Mycenae museum. you had full access to all places that itinerary includes and we are very sorry but the theather of Epidaurus is the must as it is rated as best ancient theater at the world. Of course Peloponesse have a lot of treasures but our tour focus to Mycenae and Epidaurus theater and this was very clear written when you choose to book a shared tour. On a private you can visit the places that you wish but on an organized tour you have to follow a specific route of visits. This was a 10 hours tour and it is impossible to expect Nancy to talk for 10 hours... She was with you in all sites and museums and she gave all the Information. For your info please see the review that we received from other couple : A day on the Peloponnese Tripadvisor review: Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens Nancy was very knowledgeable. We were a small group because of COVID. Very complete tour of the Peloponnese (of the main structures that survived to these day) and the schedule was on time. I liked it. kind regards Hara Kritikidou Customer Service Manager
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Avoid
Andrew_F
, Mar 2020
If you want to take a 300 level college course and not be shown the sights this is your tour. The guide would go to one or two places at each sight and give a very long lecture. When people start walking away and checking their phones, read the room. Even other tour guides were getting mad waiting for our tour to move. At the end of the very long lectures were given a whole 20 minutes to look at the large sites.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
please advise date of the tour in order to investigate your case. thanks. Hara
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fantastic tour! Glad we chose it!
Anggle_ArmyWife
, Mar 2020
Truly a wonderful day trip! Staffis (spelling?) is patient, funny, knowledgeable and he definitely made the bus ride enjoyable! My husband and I opted for hotel pickup/drop off, and the bus was there exactly at the time they stated! It was an immediate thumbs up from us 😊 Return was on schedule as well. We opted not to do the tour with lunch option and that was a great idea, because we got to walk around Nafplio on our own and enjoy a bite to eat and a nice relaxing sit down in a nearby park. The bus was back at the time designated for departure to return to Athens. The ride is about 2 hours both ways...and Staffis (spelling?) made sure we had a well timed rest stop break. Again super patient and refreshingly friendly!!! No question went unanswered! Nice group of people in our tour group! I recommend this tour and the tour company (Chat Tours). They did not disappoint us all honestly. 😊
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Perfect day
jane_l
, Mar 2020
Tour was fabulous!! Our guide, Vicki, was phenomenal- I don’t know if all the guides are as good, but she was delightful and knew absolutely everything. Depending on amount of time you have in Athens, this is not to be missed. Gorgeous scenery and fascinating history. I skipped hotel for lunch and spent extra time in naplion- definitely suggest that - you can eat in naplion if you want or just walk around the whole time - it’s a charming place. Thank you, Vicki!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Awesome trip to Mycenae
samantha_L
, Mar 2020
Great trip! Our guide, Vicky, was very knowledgeable, with a background in archeology. She did a wonderful job of explaining the history behind each site we visited. I am not normally a fan of group tours, but this one was well done and much easier than trying to visit all these places yourself. We did skip lunch and go straight to Nafpoliu, which was a beautiful little town. The settings for the ruins is beautiful and peaceful, nice break from Athens.Would definitely recommend!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour
Aileen_K
, Feb 2020
Excellent tour. Very well planned and timed out. Joy, our tour was very informative and passionate about the history throughout the tour. If you like history, definitely a great tour to do. Lunch was good too.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Walk in the Footsteps of Agamemnon
Robert S
, Nov 2019
The trip not only provides for a a visit to the Acropolis at Mycenae and the Lion Gate, but also to Agamemnon's tomb bot these structures are awe inspiring. On the way there you stop at the Corinthian Canal for a photo op. The Theatre at Epidaurus is icing on the cake. Lunch is taken at a restaurant but is an extra cost.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Excellent tour and guide
downhomers
, Nov 2019
Tour guide made this tour awesome. Only thing is don’t include the lunch, we didn’t and we’re happy as we got to choose what we wanted. The paid lunch didn’t look so great. The tour is great and definitely would recommend it.
HelpfulHelpful

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 31404

Explore Similar Things to Do