Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout

Badge of ExcellenceBanff, Canada
Likely to Sell Out

From $101.67

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


Saddle up for a ride along the Bow River in Banff and a Western style cookout. Choose from riding on horseback or in a covered wagon through the beautiful Rocky Mountain terrain. At the dining site, spend some time perfecting your roping skills or relaxing with a game of horseshoes before “tucking in”--that’s cowboy speak for “eating”—a yummy BBQ meal.
  • Choose from morning rides and lunch or afternoon/supper options
  • If you are traveling with family, the covered wagon is fun for all ages
  • Cook-out meal includes steak, salad, baked beans, potatoes, and dessert
  • Horseback riders need to be over 8 years old and under 250 lbs (113 kg)

What's Included

  • A 2-hour wagon or horseback ride in Banff National Park
  • Food and drinks
  • Use of horseback-riding equipment
  • Helmets (mandatory for riders)
  • Basic horseback instruction for riders
  • Dinner
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Banff Trail Riders - Stables, 100 Sundance Rd, Banff, AB T1L 1B9, Canada

    Warner Stables is the big red stables located at the end of Sundance Road in Banff. When you arrive, please check-in for your ride at the office in the east barn which has signs for ‘Warner Stables’ and ‘office’. The stables are located approximately a five minute drive or a 20 minute walk from downtown Banff, and there is plenty of free parking at the site.

Return Details

This activity will end right where it started.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • All guests must arrive 30 minutes prior to their ride time.
  • Guests participating in horseback riding will need to be 8 years or over and a maximum of 230lbs. Banff Trail Riders is committed to the health of our horses and the safety of our guests, which means that the minimum age and maximum weight requirements are strictly enforced. As part of the check-in process, guests may be required to confirm their current weight on a scale and provide proof of the child’s age. In the event that these requirements are not met, the booking will be forfeited without a refund.
  • Please note that children will not be paired with an adult – they must ride their own horse.
  • For our foreign visitors we require an understanding of basic English for our horseback rides, so that you can understand simple instructions from our guides.
  • Children aged 17 years and under must be accompained by a parent or guardian.
  • For safety purposes helmets are mandatory to be worn by all riders.
  • Riders must wear long pants and sturdy closed toed shoes enclosed to the ankle - no open toe shoes or shoes with big heels.
  • Adults must sign a waiver for all activities, and a waiver must also be completed by the parent or legal guardian of any person under the age of 18 (documentation may be required to confirm the signatory’s authority).
  • Riders must be physically capable of controlling the horse during the ride without assistance and for the health and safety of all riders we regrettably cannot accommodate any disabilities or special needs riders. We recognize that disabled riding is a unique and respected skill set that we at the barns do not have the appropriate equipment or skills to safely execute.
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 56 travelers
Operated by Banff Trail Riders

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

about cancellations

Traveler Photos

See more
59 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews
Great family outing!
Bart S, Sep 2019
Covered wagon with cook out was excellent! Our entires Our Our family enjoyed the adventure! 18 months to 60 years of age. Our wrangler was fantastic who answered many questions from our grandchildren and family.
amazing experience
Jacqueline_E, Sep 2019
we were a family with adult children. My husband and I went on the wagon ride as I have mobility issues. It was very comfitable withfairly easy steps up. Our two sons, 34 and 22, did the horse riding. They were complete beginners. Tuition was given first and they soon felt confident and coped really well. We all met up together at the cookout. Excellent meal was provided - steak, beans , baked potato, salad and fixings. Lots of entertaining information was given in the wagon ride.
Response from Host, Sep 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, Im glad your family enjoyed the ride and wagon.
Pretty nice tour- a bit difficult to book
Therese_c, Sep 2019
I wish I had booked this directly on the website instead of through TripAdvisor- we weren’t able to choose the number of horse riders v wagon riders- then it was a big hassle to try and change it. We weren't able to choose directly with the company- but had to spend ages on the phone with viator to cancel the original booking and change the new one. It ended up being on an hour earlier than the time on the original booking and you’re supposed to be there a half hour before that. Managed it in the end! We had a two year old with us and hoped I could bring him on the way there and then swap with his dad to horse ride the way back- but the tour wouldn’t allow it which was disappointing. They said they needed to match the horses with height and riding ability...which is fine but we have the same height and riding ability so I dunno... It seemed a bit pedantic. The tour itself and tour guides were really nice! They were knowledgable and friendly. The food was great and we practiced lassoing :-)
Response from Host, Sep 2019
Im sorry you had issues booking through Trip Advisor, we will take a look at how it is presented and see if we can make it easier. We are glad you enjoyed the ride.
Be careful what you really sign up for
psfrierson1, Aug 2019
I had signed up to ride horses and when we got there they said we had signed up to ride in the covered wagon. This place has 300 horses so what would have been the big deal to saddle 2 more horses?? It is the same price. Covered wagon ride not that great. Maybe for a 5 year old or 80 year old! No refunds were offered. I would not record this!!! Not happy
Response from Host, Sep 2019
Im sorry you were not happy. I am unsure how you booked so can not comment on that side. We do have 300 horses but these are spread out over multiple trips including backcountry and 2 stables and include 70 mules. Our horses are also rotated to have days off just like our staff so its not always possible to get extra horses. I apologize for the confusion.
Not quite what we hoped
Kirk_A, Aug 2019
First, you need to be at the registration 45 mins or so before the ride. We weren't and the staff's patience was appreciated and hence this my advice. The rides were very large about 20 (but I did not count them) plus 3 guides. The pace was dreadfully slow. The ride out was kind of boring. The supper was good. The crew all tries to engage with the group but by the end of the day it appears most are ready to leave (not really a criticism- more of an observation). The food was good and at a level of expectation. This is not Ruth-Chris Steakhouse. The ride back was very slow. The trail back was lovely with climbs, descents and meadows. Always maintain a single file orientation. If you want real slow this is for you. Idea if you have children.
Response from Host, Sep 2019
I appreciate your comments, Im sorry it was not what you expected but I do not believe we advertised anything different than we deliver. We do walk on the trails and this is for everyones safety.
Not as good as the previous time
Ruthanna_F, Jul 2019
My party of three opted for the Steak Ride. One hour of horseback riging to the cooksite called 3 Mile, and another way back for an hour on horseback. 3/4 of the first hour was spent with the horses slogging through a foot deep of mud. Not so pleasant a ride. My steak was fine but the other two were not. The hour back was pleasant enough. Heavy rain for weeks created the muddy environment and also prevented us from going up the mountain as the decent wold have been dangerous. Having taken this ride before, I know that scaling the mountain leads to much more interesting views and photos. Again in life, timing is everything! My guests were happy that we had done the event though, despite the drawbacks. Staff were very friendly and excellent riders. We felt safe.
Response from Host, Sep 2019
Thank you for the feedback and understanding of the trail conditions due to record rain this season.
Covered wagon ride and cookout
Katherine_B, Jul 2019
Awesome experience and cookout was excellent. Great bang for the buck if you’re looking for a relaxing ride through nature and a fantastic meal! A big thank to our hosts!
Response from Host, Sep 2019
Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed the cookout.
Do it!
Fenya_S, Jul 2019
Love that all the horses are rescues. Some of the guides are friendlier than others. Slow paced ride. Good dinner, beautiful views!
Nice evening.
Lisa_W, Jul 2019
Was raining so very glad in covered wagon. Food was really good with great staff. Certainly alot better than expected.
Wonderful Experience
kimthodge, Jul 2019
The guides were so friendly & helpful and the steak diner was Awesome!!! Even though it started to rain when we loaded up in the wagon...this adventure was wonderful!!
Ros_R, Jul 2019
This was so enjoyable. The staff are amazing, friendly & very helpful. Would go again & definitely recommend to anyone else.
Response from Host, Jul 2019
Thank you for your comments were glad you enjoyed your experience with us.
missed good time
Eric_H, Jul 2019
i think it would have been a great day but we had a hail storm and lightning and horses that didn't want to corporate because they had just come off 6 month pasture and the storm was coming in fast
Response from Host, Jul 2019
Im sorry the weather did not cooperate for your ride.
Low key picturesque activity
Randolph_D, Jun 2019
The cool pleasant evening was the perfect setting for a lovely covered wagon ride. The staff were kind, informative and engaging. In the short time we had together they seemed like friends rather than guides by the end of the evening. Although dinner was good don’t expect a 4 star gourmet steak dinner. While waiting for the cooks to prepare your steak to order, several activities were available and encouraged. Again the staff instructed and participated as well. Overall lots of fun and definitely well worth the time and money. Our entire group enjoyed it (not really sure if appropriate for young children as scenery intake and conversation were the main activities). Don’t miss this one especially if you are looking for a relaxing way to end your day.
Amazing Tour
Sightseer19867462446, May 2019
This tour was really well done. The staff was professional and great with horses. The steak lunch was amazing!
Beautiful and Fun
Navigate17958621138, May 2019
Great evening with Brody and Max on our covered wagon dinner ride in Banff. The weather had cleared but it was cold. That didn’t stop the team for providing a wonderful experience for my husband and I. Dinner was great and the scenery was spectacular. If you want something a little different this is for you.
Response from Host, Jul 2019
We are glad you enjoyed our Cowboy Cookout, its a great experience and we are honoured to be able to share it with visitors to Banff.
I went on the horseback tour, my wife...
Ryan J, Oct 2018
I went on the horseback tour, my wife went on the covered wagon, we were both very happy with our experience. The horseback trail follows the Bow River and the views at sunset were Absolutely Breathtaking. The cookout was good, the staff was excellent, the ride was just enough of a terrain challenge to make the ride an adventure, and the views were jaw-dropping. Saw some mule deer and a herd of elk as a bonus. If you like horses and being out in unspoiled nature, don't miss it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Very relaxing travelling along the...
Mr George J C, Oct 2017
Very relaxing travelling along the river bank. The staff were friendly and informative and the BBQ was excellent - plenty to eat and the steak was superb. We had the opportunity to try lassooing. Although the weather wasn't the best, we were given blankets to keep warm.
Went on a day that was pouring rain...
Tanya M, Feb 2017
Went on a day that was pouring rain. Found staff a bit rude, came for the tour and was treated like intruders. Beautiful scenery. Lunch was okay.
A relaxing ride taking in beautiful...
E traveller K, Sep 2016
A relaxing ride taking in beautiful scenery as you go.
Unfortunately it had rained heavily...
Norma P, Aug 2016
Unfortunately it had rained heavily in Banff before our BBQ but we were lucky we had opted for the Chuck Wagon BBQ as the trail taken by the horse riders was very muddy. The BBQ food was just ok but our guide in the Chuck Wagon was excellent telling us stories about the area during our ride.


Product code: 12217P14