Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

The Original Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra, Spain from Barcelona

Badge of ExcellenceBarcelona, Spain
Likely to Sell Out

From $149.18

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover three countries in just one day on a full-day tour to Baga, Ax-les-Thermes, and Andorra from Barcelona. Emerge early, and head to Baga, a beautiful village shrouded in medieval heritage, and then cross the border to Ax-les-Thermes, a charming spa town with loads of French character. Continue to Andorra via a high mountain pass, stopping for a break in a mountain valley before going on to the capital to indulge in some duty-free shopping.
  • Visit three countries in one day: Spain, France, and Andorra
  • Tour the medieval Spanish village of Baga
  • Wander the medieval streets of Ax-les-Thermes
  • Experience the healing waters from one of the many spas
  • Take in the magnificent views from a high mountain pass
  • Enjoy a short walk in a typical Andorran valley
  • Small-group tour with a maximum of 20 people provides an intimate experience with your guide

What's Included

  • Local guide ( English Only)
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Lunch

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • C/ Palau de la Música, 1, C/ Palau de la Música, 1, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

    Explore Catalunya Office. We are located in a little alley between the Palau de la Música building and Via Laietana, opposite the Palau de la Música's cafeteria.

Departure Time

7:00 AM

Return Details

  • Hard Rock Cafe, Pl. de Catalunya, 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

    Depending on the size of your group, and the traffic conditions on the day of the tour, you will return either to the main office or to Place Catalunya, which is just an easy 3-5 minute walk away.

What To Expect

Depart from a central Barcelona, and relax during a scenic journey toward Baga in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Marvel at the majestic perimeter of rocky peaks in the Cadi-Moixero National Park as you arrive in Baga. Tour the village and it's medieval church and square, before enjoying you some free time to explore alone.  

Traverse the French border on route to your next stop, the charming ancient spa town of Ax-Les-Thermes. After your guide recommends some of the best natural fountains to visit and soak your feet in, indulge in some free time to enjoy the healing waters and browse the local artisan shops.

Next, meet back at the bus to head toward Andorra. Travel through the beautiful Pyrenees Alps and cross the Pas de la Casa, a high-mountain pass with multiple photo opportunities.

Descend into Andorra, stopping at a typical mountain valley where you get a glimpse of stone huts dotting the mountainside, a Roman church, and embark on a short hike to experience the landscape.  

From here, continue on to Andorra de la Vella, Andorra's charming capital. Explore the city and indulge in some duty-free shopping before climbing aboard the minivan for the return trip to Barcelona.

Your tour concludes with drop-off back at the departure point.

Palace of Catalan Music (Pass By)

7.00am - Your day starts when you arrive in our office, which is right across from the famous Palau de la Musica. Your guide will there to greet you and tell you all about the day ahead.

Baga

8.30am - Where else but in Europe can you visit three countries in one day? Three different countries, three distinctly different atmospheres, stunning drives, and breathtaking scenery. Depart from Barcelona at 7am, and relax during the scenic journey to Bagà. You will have the chance to marvel at the majestic rocky peaks in the Cadi-Moixeró National Park as we drive to Bagà. In Bagà, as this sleepy village comes to life, you can get a fresh pastry or sandwich in the local bakery, or a coffee in one of the many typical cafes, before rejoining your guide who will give you a short walking tour of the village before leaving you free time to explore alone. From Bagà, we will head deeper into the countryside as we drive towards the French border.

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel. You MUST confirm and obtain any visa requirements prior to border crossing. All visa requirements are the sole responsibility of the traveler.
  • Please bring a towel if you plan to use the spa water in Ax Les Thermes
  • This tour operates in English only
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Operated by Explore Catalunya

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

about cancellations

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during The Original Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra, Spain from Barcelona?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during The Original Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra, Spain from Barcelona?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during The Original Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra, Spain from Barcelona?

A:The policies on social distancing are:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The Original Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra, Spain from Barcelona?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


The smaller villages sometimes do not have open stores in the off-season so take along snacks and water.
It's a long day on this trip, but worth it.
It was a full day so be prepared to arise early in the am.
Reviews
4.5
1,615 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 1,615 reviews
Worth the trip!
jeremy_b, Jun 2022
Gloria (guide) and Angelo (driver) we're GREAT! Gloria gave lots of information about the history and present condition of the areas we passed through. She was very aware of keeping our group on track, no strays! Angelo was a superb driver!
Beautiful, educational, engaging, experience. Enrico was a joy.
William_V, Jun 2022
Watching the wide eyed amazement in my 10 year old daughter’s eyes.thank you. We’ll paced, enjoyable free time. Thanks for the drink.
Will definitely recommend.
Divinia_M, Jun 2022
The mountains were breathtaking. Wonderful glimpses of village life. The tour guide was knowledgeable. The bus driver was cautious and careful.
Great trip
Dawn_B, Jun 2022
Seeing the amazing countryside and Pyrenees was amazing. Our guide was very informative and I learned alot. We didn't have too much time in each place, but still a very cool experience and I would do.it again!
Absolutely worth the €$ for this beautiful trip
Norafida_I, Jun 2022
Guide : Stephan; Driver : Mickey. Meeting point C/ Palau de la Música, 1, 08003 Barcelona, was tough to locate. From Boga to Ax-les Thermes & to Andorra. Views along the way were captivating while guide explained history. Got our passports stamped for Andorra 👍🏻
Great experience!
Jennifer_S, Jun 2022
It was great to hear the history and get to see these other cities! So fun to get to say I went to Fran e and Andorra! Andorra was very different than expected but it was beautiful and our guide, Gloria, was fantastic!!
Must do
CHARNAE_B, Jun 2022
Wish we spent more time in Andorra. The shops are marvelous there. Other than that Jordi was the best tour guide a group could ask for
Biggest trap ever!
Daniel_H, Jun 2022
Ac broken…, the bus almost broke down in the hill… Awful experience that I’d never repeat. Inside the bus was around 46 degrees no Windows no curtains which made the whole experience even worst. In general, The trip was too expensive for what it was. I’d rate 0 stars but it’s not possible.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hello, I cannot apologise enough about your tour. The AC was completely overloaded thanks to the heat wave we had. But there is no excuse. I am deeply sorry that your day was ruined because of this. We have double checked all of the buses, and we will ensure that the does not happen again. Regards, Robert
1 traveler found this review helpful
A fabulous day.
Brian_W, Jun 2022
Gloria, our guide was wonderful! She made the tour more memorable and knowledgeable. The food and beautiful sites made it a fabulous day.
Fabulous day great experience
Catherine_D, Jun 2022
Fabulous day out Anna out guide and Angelo our driver were just brilliant, would highly recommend. I went with my teenage son who is still delighted he went
Three countries
Helen_M, Jun 2022
The trip was informative and interesting. Loved seeing the places and going through the mountains. The guide provided information on the different places as well as pointed out interesting places on route. Thanks Stephen.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hello, I love seeing this reviews for this tour. We pack so much into one day, but that does mean a fair amount for driving. I am so glad that you thought it was worth it. Thanks, Robert
100 virgin cows
Michelle_M, Jun 2022
So this was an amazing tour. Rod was wonderful. He told us right from the beginning how the trip was going to work. Essentially we would drive about 1:45 and stop for a break in the destination town at that point. We saw amazing cities/towns. They all had their stories which made them even more interesting, especially the 100 pregnant women and 100 virgin cow town, LOL!! Faux pax there. Anyway, I would highly recommend this tour. There is a lot of driving but you get to see amazing places that you would have never seen otherwise. It is well planned out. We had only wished for more time in Andorra to shop. Better on the pocketbook that we didn't.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi, Thank you for a lovely review. As you will see in the previous review that talks about the driving, the actual drive itself is so much more than just a way of arriving somewhere. Thank you so much for appreciating everything. Regards, Robert
Too much of driving
Vashine_K, Jun 2022
The tour company was very accomating and the tour guide was awesome, however it was 13 hours in total, with only 3-4 hours of actual time spent in the countries, with the rest spent in driving. Overall I felt like it wasn't the best use of my day since I spent about 8-9hours in a car. The sceneries were nice but if you are short on time, I would advise you to spend the day in Barcelona.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hello, First of all, thank you for sharing your thoughts. This is a very hard review to answer because you are quite right about there being a lot of driving. If you hate driving then this is not the tour for you. If you prefer to spend your time in Barcelona and time is tight, then this is not the tour for you. However, this tour takes you to three countries in one single day, and, in particular, takes you to Andorra. This is a tiny landlocked country sandwiched between Spain and France, and is impossible to reach without a long drive. But the drive itself is not merely a way of getting somewhere. We pass through stunning scenery, even crossing a high mountain pass as we arrive in Andorra. The drive in itself is more than worth it. We try to advise our customers that this tour does involve plenty of driving, and it should not come as a surprise. The only negative reviews we get are when people don't expect it. In case you are worried about the drive, please read the overwhelming number of excellent reviews here. Also, please be assured that we stop frequently on this tour, either for bathroom breaks, photo opportunities, or to spend more time exploring some of our destinations. Having said all that, we are always looking at ways to shorten this tour, and cut out any driving that is absolutely not necessary. Best regards, Robert
Great ending to a wonderful vacation in Barcelona
Dean_V, Jun 2022
Trip was fantastic… really well organized….really well timed… Gloria and Arturito were great… really friendly…. Knew what they were doing, and made us all feel safe and secure, while having fun at the same time!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi, Thank you for a fantastic review. Robert
Unpleasant experience in a cramped mini-bus with bad sound system.
LinnA_W, Jun 2022
On June 2, using Viator’s booking, we took the over 12-hour Explore Catalunya tour, “The Original Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra, Spain.” Unlike our excellent, professionally led June 1 Viator tour (Salvador Dali Museum, Port Ligat and Cadaques) led by Jordi the prior day, the Three Countries tour was fraught with serious problems: a. While supposedly an English-language tour, Judy, our young tour guide, spoke minimally adequate English. This, in fact, was her first Three Countries-led tour. While pleasant, her bus tour comments were very infrequent and uninformative. The large balance of her trip time was spent chatting with the bus driver in Spanish, and with members of our group who spoke Spanish. b. The bus driver’s erratic driving behavior as we proceeded through the Pyrenees Mountains — jerky, swerving, uncomfortable, taking curves too fast, aggressively passing other vehicles in no-passing areas — caused increased anxiety as he drove up through Bagà, Spain to Ax-les-Thermes, France. At our noon stop in the latter town, four fellow tour passengers (from Los Angeles) approached us to express their safety concern about his driving. (Three were suffering motion-sickness, and we offered them Dramamine tablets for the return drive back via Andorra.) Of note: At tour’s start, Judy told us that because all Explore Catalunya buses were mechanically out of commission, our Three Countries bus and bus driver were contracted from another transportation firm. c. Before the tour began, when introduced to Judy in the office, we requested to sit in front seat opposite the bus driver, to take 35mm scenic photography (no other passenger was). She said that would be fine. However, when boarding, a Spanish-speaking woman passenger declared she was “claustrophobic” and claimed the seat. Judy let her keep it. For balance of day, we had to sit behind the driver and try taking pictures through the Lexan plastic sheet behind his seat. Of note — Judy, at noon, apologized to us for this matter, but did nothing about it. Indeed, she chatted frequently in Spanish with the woman throughout the day. d. The final problem — a surprise and shock to everyone on the bus — was where the bus driver and Judy ended the tour. Not anywhere near our original point of departure, but miles away in Barcelona’s seaport area. By chance, we had our hotel’s address, so after walking several blocks in the evening in an unfamiliar area, were able to hail a taxi.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hello, I am sorry that you were not happy with this tour, and while I can understand some of your concerns, I don't agree with others. Regarding the guide, Judy, I speak with her in English all of the time. It is her third language, and while she has a Spanish accent, she is perfectly understandable. She can be a little shy, and was probably a little nervous on her first solo tour. Everybody needs to start somewhere, and she has done many Three Country while supervised. Her mistake was to tell the group this was her first tour, but Judy is such an open, friendly person she probably thought that it was only fair to share her feelings. I don't see what is wrong with talking to the bus driver who was sat next to her, or any other passenger who was close by. We try not to overload the customers with long arduous commentaries as we drive along. There's nothing worse than a guide talking through a microphone non stop when people are trying to relax or enjoy the views. However, I will make sure that she, along with all of our other guides gives the right amount of information. Regarding the bus driver being erratic. I strongly disagree with this. We use professional bus companies, when we cannot use our own. All the drivers undergo intensive training, and we would never use a company that did not meet our strict safety standards. There are parts of the journey that can be a bit windy, and we try to drive as considerately as possible. The buses we use are not that fast, and so it would be impossible to pass anything aggressively. Regarding the comment about our own fleet of buses being out of commission. The reason we are not using our own buses is because they are all being serviced and cleaned following a long period not being used during the pandemic. Regarding where you sat. It is true that Judy said you could sit in the front in order to take pictures. However, when we found out that another passenger was claustrophobic, we decided to let them sit in the front out of consideration. I don't think she was pretending. Finally, we did not drop you off miles away. We left you a five minute walk from our office by the Post Office, which is in front of the marina. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the tour, but I don't think that some of the comment are fair. Kind regards, Robert
A ggod trip but some things not so good
Ingrid_B, Jun 2022
Andorra was very interesting. Nice ålaces in Spain and France. Pitty in France to not meet opening hours for restaurants. Hurra and not nany choices. Last drink place boring. Bus to warm in afternoon. A lot of coughing people without using mask... Good guide easy to listen too.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi, I am really sorry that you did not enjoy the trip as much as you hoped. I don't understand why you could not find a restaurant in France. There are many that are all open at the times we are there. The stop on the way home is more for a break than anything else, and the masks wearing is enforced on the bus as much as we can. Having said all of that, I am really sorry that the trip was not just as you hoped. Regards, Robert
1 traveler found this review helpful
Book it
Liliana_F, Jun 2022
Our tour guide was amazing. Everything was taking cared in advance for us. I wasn't convinced to take such a long tour but it was worth it.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hello, Thank you for the review. I'm vey pleased you decided to take the tour! Regards, Robert
Andorra experience
Jonathan_R, Jun 2022
The viewing points in Andorra was the highlight of the trip. Some of the most spectacular sights to see. The tour guide was very insightful and helpful.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi, You are so right. The views from the tops of the mountains in Andorra are amazing. Thank you for giving your feedback. Robert
Most definitely worth...
Miguel_T, Jun 2022
Most definitely worth every penny. I say this as a broke college student so trust me this is an incredible trip.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi, We really appreciate that you decided to join us on this tour. Thank you so much, Robert
Rod was a great guide. We...
Marie_H, Jun 2022
Rod was a great guide. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Andorra and Baga. He was very knowledgeable and shared great details throughout the trip. Thank you!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi, Three Countries in One Day! Who would believe it. Tank you so much for the review. Robert
...

Questions?

Product code: 3142THREECOUNTRIES