From USD $ 96.64 View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Advertisement
Advertisement
Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 181 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

zak s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

very good

Fan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

It was a long day, with lots of driving around, but the bus driver / tour guide was informative and funny, and made the whole experience much more enjoyable. If you're only on Big Island for a few days, it is well worth doing.

Janet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

A Long Day, but so worth it. A great way to start your trip, the only critism I have is that they have stops at placeslike, the Macadamia Factoy/Shop and the Candy Factory/Shop, when I would rather have had time looking at waterfalls that actually had flowing waterfalls. Sal, our driver, a Cowboy at heart from New Jersey!!! really knows his stuff about the island and its histry, he was very entertaining. Highly Recommended :-)

Brian R. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A very enjoyable and interesting tour. A lot to see and experience. Our driver, Hilary (that's ONE L), was extremely well informed, spoke fluent Japanese to the benefit of a few of the passengers, and provided many interesting side notes along the way around the island. Comfortable ride and seating on the bus. It's the best way to see what Hawaii is, and was, all about. Would I recommend this tour to anyone? Oh Yeah!

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

We really enjoyed this tour. We would have never taken the time or energy to plan and visit some many great places. We also learned all kinds of neat things that our tour guide shared regarding history, culture, and local's lives. I would recommend this trip in order to see the whole island. It was a great time!

Carole S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This was an excellent tour of the Big Island. Hilary was our Tour Guide and he has a vast knowledge of the Island and the history which he shared with us all along the bus ride. He gave ideas of what to look for at the individual stops. EXCELLENT!!

Eddie D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was awesome from beginning to end. The stops were great.

Katia T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was nice! More time with the turtles would have been great. Volcano museum, great. Hike next to the waterfalls, beautiful. We spent a lot of time on the bus, but the tour guide kept us awake with the information, stories and jokes.

Tammy H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was long but really good. We had a nice time.

Lois A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Delightful. Our tour guide made the trip worth so much more by giving his personal experiences and local knowledge as a true islander. He even sang us a song in his native language! I would definitely recomment this tour.

Helen D. G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It was a great way to tour the island for my stater and I both in our 80's. I highly recommend this tour and it covered so much in one trip.

Clifford R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great trip, lunch was a bit of a let down way too pricey for what you got.

jamnmam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much. Learned many things about the islands history.

James M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour. The guide was funny and gave a lot of information. Sometimes he was hard to understand though. Needed to be clearer and leave out a few jokes.

Litz

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informational.

David B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Leo the guide was very knowledgable. Good whistlestop overview of the island.

Lesli F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was great, saw so many wonderful things. The guide was very informative.

Gracy S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great overview of the island but its a long day and we didnt see any turtles.

Thomas G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour was very informative. It was a long day so if you opt to take this one, plan it accordingly dependent upon your day before and day after activities. Lunch took longer to arrive than expected even though it was called ahead which did not give us much time to look around before getting on the bus.

jona b

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide was fantastic and had great knowledge of the island.

Robert G Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Good and informative trip around the BIg Island. Driver well versed on history information and looked after us.

Great sights and picture opportunities with changing landscapes around every corner, thoroughly enjoyable,

Covey W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour was great. We really enjoyed it after we realized that the first driver that picked us up at the King Shops was not our driver for the entire tour. Although we has a blowout of one of the tires on our bus, the running commentary of the second driver more than made up for it. He was knowledgeable and engaging, and share a wealth of information about the islands.

Pat D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I recommend the tour but with some reservations. In booking this tour we knew it was going to be long… however would not recommend taking it with this tour guide. Although he was knowledgeable, he spoke in monotone and with no enthusiasm he also made us feel that we were really putting him out by taking up so much of his time. We did the tour so we could see the island and I feel that the tour would have been better if the candy factory in Helo could have been replaced with a visit to the Akaka Falls, one of the most iconic sites in Hawaii. Seeing all the different ecosystems was very interesting as was the volcano, rainbow falls, the black sand beach and the turtle! I would recommend it, but would not have the same tour guide as he made the tour very boring and made us feel like we were keeping him from other things.

con_verceles27

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

LIZA MARIE D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Amazing tour! Our driver and also a tour guide name Hilary was really knowledgeble I told him he can write a book about big island.. As he has so much to share and lots of information about the island.

Douglas M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Hit the high spots with lots of information and history. Kona Coffee for GREAT coffee (free samples)... Dole stop for pineapple ice cream a must. Go back on your own to try the maze. Rainbow Falls... not so much. Macadamia Nut outlet in Hilo is a great place for souvenirs and orange-pineapple ice cream. Amazing volcano stops. Last stop at another Macadamia Nut place for coffee and nut samples including SPAM flavored nuts!

David P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour - we saw the turtles on the black sand beach, lava (lots), mangoes, coffee, volcano and craters (smoke only but got perspective and context), lush area around Hilo, Chocolate factory, Cattle ranches in north. An excellent day with adequate time at each stop. Friendly driver, gave us historical backgrounds. Staying on the island at King Kamehameha Hotel ensured we were totally rested and got to see the local Kona sights in depth.

Edesnedu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Sam, our tour guide, made the difference. I could tell that he did a lot of research about Big Island and we were the recipient of his efforts. And he is funny, too. Thanks, Sam for, how would I say it(?) .. for your thoughtful way of telling us how important Hawaii Island is. I learned a lot. Mahalo.

Jane K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great Day had by all enjoyed the day

Turid S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It gave us an overview of the island that was great, and it was a fun day. The only thing that was a little dissappointing was we never saw any orchids. This is after all the orchid isle.

Marié D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was interesting and give a good overview of what is going on on the island.

Don R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour! We were picked up and dropped off right in front of our hotel right on time. The driver/guide was packed with knowledge about island facts and history and was easy to talk to. It made for a long day on a bus but with several stops to stretch and look around was very enjoyable

pat r

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Sal was a great guide.

Bret S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Enjoyed tour thoroughly.

Kristine W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Had a great day. Polynesian tours looked after us very well. The driver was very knoweldgeable.

Jayashri P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good tour! Loved the macademia nut factory and Kona coffe plantation tour!!

Kathleen L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

great guide. I was sorry we couldn't see more of the volcanos.

Torinos72

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Great tour! A must do when you first get to the island. Driver, Sal, was very nice and knowledgeable

Ryan F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Greg was our bus driver and he was an excellent guide. He was friendly and shared a lot about the sites we passed and stopped at. We were also blessed with beautiful weather, too. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit the ranch at the end. One thing I think would be good is to have is a warning signal from the bus, a loud but not annoying audible indicator that everyone could recognize to alert people to return to the bus as quickly as possible. It doesn’t seem fair that people who returned to the bus according to the time indicated should have to wait on the bus for an additional 10 minutes after the designated time to depart.

With that said, I think we had a nice group of visitors and the tour itself was a splendid way to see the island. The macadamia nut factory was good because I could send some packages as a present from their onsite postal service. That was very convenient.
It was a tiring day but very rewarding as well, meeting people from many parts of the world and seeing the beauty of Hawaii. Thank you very much for this opportunity and wish you and future customers an excellent experience as you share the wonders of this Big Island!

PETER T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour. Picked us up at King Kam in Kona and we were on our way- Wasn't sure what kind of day it would be as we moved slowly along the roadways of the many small coffee areas.. but Mack the driver was a great source of information about the islands geology, ecosytems, climates etc. The trip got only better as we moved along--you were left wondering what's next- the area just outside the Kona airport with its volcanic landscapes and impressive resorts was breathtaking. A long day but one filled with tons of new info thanks to driver John. As we departed everybody was of the opinion, "When I return to Hawaii....". There's not much else to say. Mahalo!

DARCY D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour guide..."i gues your not interested in that so moving on"....might want to think about splitting it into a two day tour one around the north end and one around the south...would have love to see more of Hilo and area.

ChrisC Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour thanks mainly to our tour guide/driver Sal. He shared with us his knowledge of the island and passion for it as well as his dry sense of humour. Highlights were the Volcanoes National Park, black sand beach with turtles and the macadamia nut shop with free tastings.

Jan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was very informative and customer friendly..transport was comfortable. Only downside the day was extremely long.

Charles S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Positives: Had a great time. The tour guide was awesome very entertaining. We made a few of the optional stops. It was a great way to see the whole island and learn different spots for visiting later
Negatives: It is long! We left at 7am and didnt get back until 830 that night. Hit traffic and it put the trip behind.

Maria G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The tour was great. We stopped at a lot of interesting places. Our driver was VERY imformative about landmarks. My only disapointment was not seeing lava, but had a great time.

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message