Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Brussels Small-Group Chocolate Appreciation Tour

Badge of ExcellenceBruxelles, Belgium

From $40.36

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Taste and nibble your way through the world's chocolate capital on this small-group tasting tour in Brussels. Visit five of the city's most renowned and elegant confectioneries to sample gourmet Belgian pralines (truffles) and learn fun facts about the history of chocolate making from a guide. Take a taste of Brussels back home with a 10% discount on shop purchases.
  • Taste your way around Brussels with a guide
  • Learn about the chocolate-making process
  • Receive a 10% discount on store purchases
  • Small group ensures personal service

What's Included

  • Knowledgeable guide
  • At least 7 praline/truffle samples
  • Gratuities

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • Galerie du Roi 12
    Galerie du Roi 12, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium

    We meet right outside the BellePaga shop located inside the Royal Galleries St. Hubert in downtown Brussels. Exact address is Galerie du Roi 12.

Departure Time

2:00 PM

Return Details

  • Place du Grand Sablon
    Pl. du Grand Sablon, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium

    From Thursday to Sunday

  • Quai aux Briques 36
    Quai aux Briques 36, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium

    From Monday to Wednesday

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Tour is offered in English only
  • Tour is offered rain or shine
  • Nut and peanut allergy friendly (warn your guide of your allergy at start of tour)
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Celiac friendly (warn your guide of your allergy at start of tour)
  • Children under 10 join for free.
  • No refunds for late arrivals or no-shows, sorry.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Don't miss it if you love chocolate or if you are planning to bring chocolate treats upon your return from Brussels.
Reviews
4.5
153 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 153 reviews
Good tasting tour
ilorenzon, Aug 2022
Enjoyed chocolate tasting - history, stories associated with chocolate in Brussels. We tried at least 2 treats in each shop. Our guide was a nice young guy.
Julia was a fantastic...
John_B, Jul 2022
Julia was a fantastic tour guide. She was outgoing, knowledgeable, and it was a great experience. We learned quite a lot about the process of making chocolate and the pride the Belgium's have for their art/craft. Would highly recommend this tour!
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi John, Julia is happy to learn you enjoyed your chocolate tour with her. Thank you for recommending us. Cheers!
Fantastic guide! Super...
Harris_B, Jul 2022
Fantastic guide! Super animated and energetic. Very knowledgeable on the subject and managed the group like a pro! Great value for the cost.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi Harris, thank you very much for your compliments. We try our best to provide you with an unforgettable experience. Until next time. Cheers!
Excellent chocolate tasting tour
Lawrence_R, Jul 2022
Our guide, Hon was excellent and very knowledgeable , not only on her subject but also on the sights that we passed A most enjoyable experience
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it. Cheers!
A chocolate experience
Naeem_G, Jun 2022
Our guide, Caesar, was great.. He took us to chocolate shops we would not have visited and was able to explain the differences and what to look out for when purchasing chocolates.. definitely a must do in Brussels
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you Naeem. We're happy you liked the tour. Cheers!
Viator is no help - Vendor took money for nothing.
JamesBell, Jun 2022
Booked the wrong day and they would NOT let us change to the next day. Kept our money for NOTHING. It was pouring rain on Monday (yesterday), the day I booked in error - contacted both vendor and Viator BEFORE tour time. Heard nothing from vendor - hours later Viator answered and said they contacted vendor who denied request to change date (to today) - I would understand if I was asking for a refund but I just wanted to change the date - so BEWARE when booking with Viator as they really don’t offer any help or guarantee. I have used them often all over the world but will NOT use them again.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi James, so you made a mistake and somehow it is our fault? Also, you should not lie. We received a message from you at 1:19 (just 41 minutes before the start of the tour) that read: "Weather is not good. Any way to change our tour to tomorrow or Wednesday?". We did answer you on the same day the following: "Hi James, we're sorry that you decided not to join us today. Our tours are offered rain or shine. The first half of the tour is actually protected from the rain. It wasn't raining on the second part." There was light rain indeed that day, but somehow all the other 10 guests did show up for the tour. It is clearly stated before you book that our tours are offered rain or shine (actually the first hour of the tour is inside the covered galleries) and that we only offer refunds for cancellations made up to 24 hours before the start of the tour. When you book, your places are blocked and no one else can book them. Next time James, take the time to read the information before you book and most of all, don't lie.
More than just a chocolate tasting
Leslie_N, Jun 2022
This was a nice tour that included more than just chocolate tastings. We were given information about the history of chocolate as well as the history of the stores we visited.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi Leslie, thank you very much for your review. Cheers!
This is a great tour.
Jeni_D, Jun 2022
Yummy. That’s all I got. It’s was so so yummy. I got back home and ate regular chocolate and it just doesn’t compare.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi Jeni, thank you for your review. Indeed that is the problem, once you try good Belgian chocolate is hard to go back to the usual stuff. Cheers!
Waste of money. Great chocolate..but no need to tour.
Michal_L, Jun 2022
The chocolate shops themselves were amazing and of course the chocolate was divine. The tour guide we had was called Caesar and he was late to the meetup. He was very anti-american and did not really try to mask it even in a group of all Americans. Among other things he mocked us as gluttons who just eat anything and don't bother to read the labels on food. Then he later went on about topics that had nothing to do with chocolate....guns in America, the fact that the moon landing was faked, how uptight American laws are compared to Belgium...since Belgium allows drinking at 15 and support euthanasia and assisted suicide. When he asked me directly if I thought we really landed on the moon I said 'I just came came for a chocolate tour.' I had to say that more than once during the tour. He also was generally arrogant and unfriendly. After coming from London where the tour guides were super knowledgeable and friendly and helpful he was such a stark contrast that it made me regret booking the tour. I should have just walked the shops myself and asked questions of the shop owners. He was either a horrible person or he has been a guide too long and is burnt out. Either way he sucked.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hello, Cesar here. I'm very surprised about your review. Yesterday's group was composed of 13 guests, all of them from the United States. I've already gotten two five star reviews for yesterday's tour, one below given by Daphanie and another by Lilly who booked via Airbnb. I got €45 tip as well, which is extraordinary. I thought the whole group had a great time as I did. I wonder what went wrong here since I don't care much about guest's nationalities, I treat them all of them with equal respect. I just ask where they come from as a way to break the ice. It might be that you misunderstood me or didn't get (or didn't like) my jokes which is ok, it can happen. I also arrived at the meeting point before 2 pm so I'm surprised about this comment too. I never mocked anyone, I said (and I say in almost every tour) that the average chocolate consumer does not read the package labels and therefore does not know what he or she ingests. This is always confirmed by guests (from different countries) who almost always say that they never read the information labels. The moon landing thing was of course a joke. The facts about Belgium were to add a little extra to the chocolate tour (as were the Galleries and Grand Place descriptions). Some guests just come to Brussels to take one of our tours so I always think they might enjoy learning an extra thing or two about Belgium. I'm really sorry that you didn't like my guiding style, please request Viator a full refund which I will kindly accept. I'm happy to learn that at least you enjoyed the shops and the chocolate.
Best tour we had
Daphanie_D, Jun 2022
Our guide, Cesar, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The pace was great. The childcare shops were visited were amazing. Our group learned so much about Brussels and chocolate. Would highly recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hello Daphane, I'm very happy to learn that you had such a great time on the tour. Thank you very much for your review. Cheers!
Tour of Brussels chocolate shops
Joe_M, Jun 2022
Going to all the shops, getting history and sampling. our guide Cesar was very knowledgeable and made the tour fun and interesting
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi Joe, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for your kind words. Cheers!
Had a great time tasting...
GalinaF, May 2022
Had a great time tasting chocolates and learning about their history. Would recommend this trip to any chocolate lovers. Julia was a wonderful tour guide!
Response from Host, May 2022
Thank you Galina, Julia is happy to learn that you enjoyed your tour with her. Until next time in Brussels. Cheers!
For casual chocolate fans
Badriku_E, May 2022
It's a good tour if you're casually interested in chocolate. Just walking around tasting different styles.
Response from Host, May 2022
We're happy to learn that you enjoyed the experience. Cheers!
Tour was ok, but overpriced
Lance_Y, May 2022
We visited 5 chocolate stores. It was a lot of walking and you got 1-2 pieces of chocolate in each store (7 pieces in total). The guide likes chocolate but is definitely not an expert. The tour seems to be quite overpriced. You can go to all these stores yourself and ask for guidance.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi Lance, we're sorry to learn that the tour didn't meet your expectations. We walk for 10 minutes between two areas that have several chocolate shops. The amount of chocolate and the price is specified before you take the tour. We'll be happy to give you a full refund if you wish since we have a satisfaction guarantee. Please get in touch with us.
Bad tour guide
Alberto_V, Apr 2022
The tour started before the Official start time. Then when I asked the guide if this was our tour she first said no, then after walking around for 15 minutes I asked her again to please check the tickets, only then she realised we were part of the tour. Really bad experience, she doesn't have a list of names and started 5-10 minutes before.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi Alberto, I spoke with your guide Julia to see what happened. You took the tour on Saturday, April 23rd. and we had 13 people booked overall. Her version is that you arrived a little late and showed her your Viator booking to which she incorrectly said it was not ours. Our mistake, sorry. You then left and came back again to the group, she then double-checked your booking and this time she acknowledged that you were in the right tour. The tour then carried on normally. Our tours never start before the hour, why would we do that? I think that giving us one star because of this misunderstanding is a little exaggerated but thank you for your review anyway.
Chocolates All Day with History
Benjie_C, Apr 2022
Out guide, Tarek (not sure I spelled this right), knows his stuff. He talked about overview of how chocolates are made, where and how makers source their cacao. I thought he knows chocolates like the back of his hands. It’s chocolates galore! I never had so much chocolates in a day my entire life until this activity. I thought all of them are good chocolates, but then there’s okay-good chocolates, then there’s chocolates that are nothing short of euphoric, and there’s those in between. I am not a chocolate person, never a fan of dark chocolates. This activity introduced me to dark chocolates that are not a bitter taste in my mouth. I ended up giving dark chocolates a second look.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thank you very much for your review. Tarek is happy to learn that you learned so much with him and that you enjoyed the chocolate selection. Look forward to seeing you again Brussels soon. Cheers!
Chocolate tour
Roslyn_C, Apr 2022
Of course, the chocolate. Overall it was a great tour. I was expecting to be able to see "behind the curtain" of the production, but that didn't happen. The tour guide was very good but walked too quickly for me to not lag behind ( my problem, not his.) Also, being Good Friday) the stores were very crowded and we had to be outside. Weather was great, so no real issue there. Overall, fun tour.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi Roslyn, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your experience. Our tour doesn't get into the manufacturing part as you say, we focus on the front end. Good Friday was really crowded as you note, tourism is fortunately back in Brussels after two hard years of no visitors. Cheers!
Chocolate bonanza!
Elissa_S, Apr 2022
We loved all the chocolate tastings and learned so much about the different types. Tarek was a great guide!
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi Elissa, thank you for your review. Tarek is happy to learn that you enjoyed your tour with him. Cheers, César
Potential to be really great, but a bit lacking.
Gwendoline_H, Apr 2022
Pros: We had a super sweet and lovely guide. His love of chocolate definitely came through. The chocolates were quite an interesting variety. Less-great parts: Our guide (despite being lovely) consistently had trouble speaking loud enough for our group of 10 people to hear him. Managing expectations with the length of walking between the "gallery" chocolate shops and the Sablon shops would have been appreciated -- no one was made aware we'd be walking 10-15 minutes with no breaks, and he walked ahead without really checking everyone (including mostly seniors) was following, or giving information on the area we were walking through. When asked about the actual process of making chocolate, he was unable to really explain the process. He also kept returning to the same point of chocolate having too much sugar being detrimental to the "true" taste of chocolate, which is totally fair, but ended up feeling really repetitive. I think this tour has potential to be really awesome if there was 1) more thorough training regarding managing guests' expectations & speaking loud enough 2) much more information on the actual process of chocolate making, the history of chocolate itself, and so on.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate your constructive criticism it allows us to improve. I've already spoken to your guide and he'll be making changes to his tours accordingly. I'd like to remind you that we have a "satisfaction guaranteed" policy, if for any reason you believe that we didn't meet your expectations we'll refund in full. Please contact us. Cordially, César
Too much Racism for me.
Jim_C, Apr 2022
Tour director mentioned “hook nose Jews”. I thought that was TOTALLY inappropriate. He went on and on with “jokes” that had no relevance to a Chocolate tour. He needed to get into 2022 ideology. I asked a question, when did something first occur and he spent three mins on another subject.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi Jim, I'm truly sorry to hear that you completely misunderstood what I said. I was explaining the hidden meaning of the Smurfs (a world famous Belgian comic franchise from 1958) while we were visiting a chocolate shop that had several Smurfs on display. The Smurfs seem to represent, according to several authors, a utopian communist society and their enemy being Gargamel, with his unfortunate physical clichés, and his mean cat friend Azrael. It was Peyo, the Smurfs creator, that invented this, not me. I thought you might find this information interesting since it is not generally known. The Smurfs were created during the cold war, therefore the imagery. I believe there is one race, the human race and that everyone deserves to be treated with respect. We've welcomed thousands of visitors from many countries since we started offering tours in 2009. After 13 years of guiding, this is the first time someone leaves such a inappropriate comment. I don't appreciate you calling me a racist, at all. I'm sure you're aware Jim that we have a "satisfaction guaranteed" policy. Please contact us (since we can't identify you) and we'll fully refund you. Cordially, César
1 traveler found this review helpful
...

Questions?

Product code: 34677P1