Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

|
Buenos Aires, Argentina
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free Cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
Chat now

Overview

Experience a traditional 'fiesta gaucho' (gaucho party) on this full-day excursion to the Argentine countryside. Visit the Argentinian cowboys, or gauchos, who live on the open plains at Estancia Don Silvano, a traditional ranch that hosts you for a day of activities. Enjoy a barbecue lunch with wine and mate, horseback riding, trick horse demonstrations, and dancing. Learn about life on a ranch on the Argentinian pampas from your guide and hosts, with round-trip transportation from your downtown Buenos Aires hotel.
  • Day trip to Estancia Don Silvano, a ranch outside of Buenos Aires
  • Go horseback riding and learn about life on a ranch
  • Enjoy a delicious Argentine barbecue lunch accompanied by wine
  • Marvel at the horse-riding skills of the gauchos
Authentic Argentine Lunch with Beverages
Afternoon Snacks
Professional English- and Spanish-speaking guide
Horseback riding
Hotel pickup and drop-off (Downtown hotels only)
Gratuities

Departure Point

Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District

Traveler pickup is offered
The pick up transfer is only from selected centrally located hotels. If your hotel is outside the geographic area, we will confirm you the closest meeting point. Indicate the name and address of your hotel.

Departure Time

9:30 AM

Return Details

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Board a comfortable coach at your downtown Buenos Aires hotel and head out into the Argentine pampas (plains). Attend a friendly welcome reception upon arrival at Estancia Don Silvano that includes juice, wine, and traditional empanadas.

Visit the ranch's bakery and its museum before attending a milking demonstration. Help the gauchos milk the cows yourself if you like, then watch as they saddle up the horses. Climb on a tame horse and enjoy a relaxed ride through the surrounding countryside.

After the ride, eat a barbecue lunch including chicken, ribs, sausages, potato salad and ice cream for dessert. Watch a traditional Argentinian folkloric show including singing and dancing while you enjoy your beverages, including wine, soft drinks, coffee, and water. Get on your feet and try out some of the dances yourself before opting for a carriage or tractor ride to view other parts of ranch. Watch the gauchos participate in ring racing and other demonstrations of their incredible horsemanship.

Have a snack of quince jelly on sweet cakes before boarding your bus back to the city. Try mate, a traditional Argentine drink made of yerba mate leaves steeped in hot water that has its own rituals and history. Your full-day estancia (ranch) excursion on the pampas ends with drop-off in downtown Buenos Aires.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Buenos Aires
Depart Buenos Aires in a comfortable coach for the scenic ride through the Argentine pampas (plains) to Estancia Don Silvano.
Stop At:  
Touristic Argentinian Ranch Don Silvano
When you arrive at the estancia (ranch), your day of gaucho fun begins with a friendly welcome reception including empanadas, wine and juice. Visit some of the ranch’s attractions, and then, watch the gauchos saddle up the horses, and take off on a leisurely horseback ride through the countryside. Back at the ranch, tuck into a delicious BBQ lunch of grilled sausages, ribs and chicken accompanied by potato salad and ice cream. Red and white wine, soda, water and coffee are also all included. During lunch, be entertained by a folkloric song and dance show, and then work off your meal by participating in some traditional Argentine dances. Later, go for a carriage or tractor ride, and then watch the gauchos show off their incredible horse-riding skills with ring races and other performances. Before heading back to Buenos Aires, enjoy a glass of mate (an Argentine drink of yerba mate leaves steeped in hot water) accompanied by sweet cakes with quince jelly.
Duration: 8 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Passport name, number, date of birth, expiry and country is required at time of booking for ALL participants
  • IMPORTANT: You must bring your passport at the time of the tour as there may be checks during the trip
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Quick welcome reception with drinks and empanadas, then straight to the horseback riding/carriage ride which are optional." See review
  • "It is well run and lots of activities to enjoy." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
143 Reviews
5 stars
78
4 stars
39
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 143 reviews
star-1
Unfortunate Experience
mle
, Mar 2020
I paid more than $300 for this excursion. Unfortunately, I had to travel to an alternate location to be picked up (they wouldn't pick me up where I was staying, unlike other more quality excursions). I also had no idea traffic would be as bad as it was at that hour. Obviously we were running late. Even though we had them on the phone, telling them we were 5 minutes away, they wouldn't wait. We missed the shuttle, and missed the excursion. Not only that, but it was clear that there wouldn't even be a partial refund. Lost my $300, even though we arrived within the 9:30 to 10:00 window that they had stipulated. While obviously we should have arrived at 9:30, they could've told us traffic was as bad as it was at that hour. How was I to know? I would also think that, having paid more than $300, they could have waited another 5 min. Clearly out to make money and not to serve the needs of their client.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Dear Traveler, We are really sorry to read your disappointment. The tour you booked includes pick-ups transfers only from centrally located hotels because, being regular tours and Buenos Aires a very big city, the time that passengers would lose until complete the tour from and to their hotel would be unacceptable. So, in your case we selected the closest meeting point for you. Unfortunately we cannot wait long since we have other people taking the same activity (tour guide waited 20 minutes). We hope you understand that there are also other people participating in the excursion and we must respect the schedules for everyone. Thank you for your review, it always helps us to improve our services. Best regards, Tangol Travel Agency
star-4
Great day at Don Silvano
Megan_G
, Feb 2020
It was a great day! Quick welcome reception with drinks and empanadas, then straight to the horseback riding/carriage ride which are optional. I did both; the horse ride was very leisurely and an adequate length of time (gauchos lead and end the pack), the carriage ride was faster and quite bumpy. Then we got a lesson on making mate, and got to try some (again, optional). Then came the barbecue lunch with fantastic entertainment. The gauchos’ riding games were fun to watch and learn the origins of, and then we had an optional merienda before leaving (I recommend getting the sweet pastry with quince filling; I was told the savoury one didn’t have much flavour). All in all it was an awesome experience. Only small complaint: when the guide on the bus spoke into the microphone, the acoustics were not good and it was extremely loud, making it really difficult to understand what she was saying, even when she spoke English. She was very nice though, and a photographer took pictures of everyone throughout the day that we could choose to purchase at the end.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Megan Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience with the gauchos. We really appreciate your comments as it helps us improve our services. This tour shows closely our gaucho culture, we are glad to have been your host for this excursion. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the beauties of Argentina. It will be a pleasure to assist you on your next visit! Best regards
star-4
Thoughtful entertainment
nrudmik
, Feb 2020
We were picked up at a hotel which was convenient. The food was very good. The singing entertainment was excellent as was the dancing. They have a great place to take a horseback ride. This includes their setup for getting on & off a horse and the trail ride - not going around a corral. It is a picturesque place with lots of animals & birds. We felt it was good "bang for the buck".
star-5
A Brilliant day out
ngee77
, Jan 2020
An excellent day out and well worth the money. Lot’s to see and do and really nice people. I would definitely recommend it
star-5
Wonderful day trip to ranch
Madip
, Dec 2019
Well organized tour with excellent shows, lunch and horse rides. Guide Soledad was very attentive and professional.
star-3
Medium experience
Danimite
, Nov 2019
The singers dancers and food were excellent. The rest of the tour felt extremely unorganized. Guide had fairly weak English for a tour of this price the bus ac was not functioning properly so it was humid and uncomfortable both there and back. You must queue for 30 to 40 mins for the horse ride which lasts 10 mins. Also they had all the horses corralled in a small space when the rides were over didnt look particularly comfortable for them.wouldnt recommend this experience other than the music the singer in particular was amazing.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Dani! Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the show, which is so characteristic of our country. In this excursion, we provide free time for the passenger to enjoy all the amenities this is the reason you feel the tour was unorganized. However, we really appreciate your time to write this review! Kind regards, Tangol
star-2
Overpriced, terrible experience
BryanN300
, Nov 2019
This may have been the worst tour I've ever been on. Overpriced, lack of activities, and no direction from the tour guides. Here is what the real itinerary is: You'll hop onto the bus at either your hotel or a pickup point. From there, the group takes the bus for about 40 or so minutes to the ranch. The ranch itself looks like it was built solely for the purpose of taking in tours. Immediately after getting off the bus, you're told to go eat an empanada and have wine. No introduction to the ranch or the background (I wonder why...hmm...). After literally five minutes, you're swooped away to the horse riding area and told to get in line to ride the horse. There is no direction on: 1. Where you are riding the horse 2. How to ride a horse (commands, stopping, going, etc.) 3. How long the ride is Other groups come to the ranch as well, so there will be several different rounds of horse riding. The actual ride is about fifteen minutes on a pre-defined path, and your horses pretty much just follow each other. Ignore the one horse that got a little out of control and one of the ranch hands had to come and help the tourist stop their horse. Again, no training at all. From there, you're told it's about two hours (yes, two) until the next activity, lunch. You have two entire hours to walk around the very small ranch. No guided tour or explanation on the animals or history of gaucho life. You're left to yourself for two hours while the tour guides sit around the ranch hands cook. Half an hour later, we're all just sitting around waiting for lunch. Just waiting. Finally, lunch begins. The first 45 minutes is the starter (salad and bread). Then, endless meat begins coming out. We're talking several rounds of sausage, chicken, pork, and steak. Like everything else, no explanation or introduction to the lunch. None of us had any idea how much to eat or what was coming out. The food was good, but not a good experience at all. Throughout this meat fest, a singer and dancers go on stage to perform traditional dances. This was interesting (still no spoken background on what gaucho life is like). However, after that ends, they begin singing songs that represent each country represented in the group and they ask you to sing along. It was absolutely terrible. Following that, you have about an hour until they begin horse racing for about a half hour. That part was interesting. You then head back, but they drop you off in three areas instead of your hotel.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Dear Bryan Nagy, we are sorry to hear that the Don Silvano Ranch did not meet all your expectations. This excursion is mostly about discovering a typical Estancia of Argentina. The tour tries to mediate between the preferences of all the passengers, since most of them prefer to have free time to enjoy the facilities, the horseback riding and the farm animals. In relation to the music, the whole show is folkloric, only the last minutes we try to represent all the nationalities that visit us through a song. We are sorry you did not like it. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the folkloric show, the demonstrations of the gauchos in the field and the asado. Thank you for your review, as it help us to improve our services. Kind regards, Tangol
star-4
Quiet day in the country
Patricia C
, Nov 2019
The food , dancing and horsemanship were excellent, A plesant day in the country. I feel it was overpriced.
star-5
Good day out
sarcher56
, Oct 2019
It was a good day out, something different away from the city. People very friendly. Food was good plenty of it.
star-5
Pampas
eileen374
, Sep 2018
I guess i booked this trip not knowing what to expect. It was an overall great experience. We ranch was gorgeous and had tons of animals (i.e. sheep, pigs, horses, peacocks, chickens, etc). They had a mini rope obstacle course which ended with a zip line. The food and entertainment was amazing. I would highly recommend this trip for anyone.

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 5674FIESTA

Explore Similar Things to Do