Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Tigre Delta Half-Day Tour & Cruise from Buenos Aires

Buenos Aires, Argentina

From $83.95

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Take an easy half-day trip from Buenos Aires to the Tigre Delta. Enjoy a scenic cruise around this unique suburb, built around the swampy land and meandering waterways that empty from the Rio Paraná into the Rio de la Plata. Explore San Isidro and embark upon a catamaran cruise along the river deltas in Tigre City.
  • Half-day tour from Buenos Aires to the Tigre Delta
  • Discover what lies outside of Buenos Aires and see another way of local life
  • Take a boat ride on the delta to see its waterfront sights, including homes on stilts
  • Round-trip transportation from Buenos Aires city center

What's Included

  • Professional English- and Spanish-speaking guide
  • Boat ride on the delta
  • Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
  • Drop-off in the center of Buenos Aires (no drop-off at Hotels)
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel drop-off
  • Food and drinks

Departure & Return

This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.

Departure Point

  • Buenos Aires
    Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District

    The pick up transfer is only from centrally located hotels.

Pickup Details

Possible departure locations
View departure locations

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Return Details

  • Buenos Aires
    Buenos Aires, Argentina

    Drop-off in the city center of Buenos Aires (no-drop off at hotels)

Please Note

The pick up transfer is only from selected centrally located hotels. If your hotel is outside the geographic area, we will confirm you the closest meeting point. Indicate the name and address of your hotel.

What To Expect

Choose from a morning or afternoon departure, and begin your half-day tour with hotel pickup (for more distant hotels, meet your guide in central Buenos Aires). Ride on a comfortable coach along the Rio de la Plata to the charming northern suburb of San Isidro, home to an impressive cathedral and mansions built by the city’s old aristocratic families.

Continue on to Tigre, where you embark on a delta cruise. Float past stilted homes and learn how delta-dwellers access goods and services through a network of floating markets. See landmarks that line the waterways in the relaxed town of Tigre, including Sarmiento’s historic home and museum. After your tour, relax on the scenic coach ride back to Buenos Aires.

Buenos Aires

You will be picked up from your hotel where you will be aboard a comfortable bus.

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Tigre

On board a comfortable coach, ride along Costanera Avenue, parallel to the Rio de la Plata, and head out of the city center to Tigre. See its Cathedral and the many mansions inhabited by old aristocratic families before continuing on to Tigre.

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • IMPORTANT: This tour is not suitable for cruise passengers
  • Cruise Passengers are not allowed to take this tour
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Filter by:

Q:What is the pick up location?

A:We offer pick ups from most hotels. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.

Jul 2019

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Tigre Delta Half-Day Tour & Cruise from Buenos Aires?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Tigre Delta Half-Day Tour & Cruise from Buenos Aires?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Tigre Delta Half-Day Tour & Cruise from Buenos Aires?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Tigre Delta Half-Day Tour & Cruise from Buenos Aires?

A:The policy on staff health & safety is:
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Pick up at hotel on time highly unusual in this very busy city.
Reviews
4.0
330 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 330 reviews
Excellent tour.
terry_s, Dec 2020
Tour was great. The boat ride was very good, except it was pretty crowded onboard. The best tip is to stay on top of the vessel and avoid the main cabin with seats. Use your sunscreen!
Response from Host, Dec 2020
Hi, Terry! Thank you for sharing your experience! We are glad to know that you enjoyed the tour. Best regards, Tangol
Tigre Delta tour rocks!
Lynda_M, Mar 2020
The tour was a great way to get out of BA and see something very different!! Perfect length of time, great pick up and drop off service, good guide and loved seeing the Tigre Delta!! Very interesting!!!
Response from Host, Sep 2020
Dear traveler Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on your tour. In this excursion, we can see an important extract of our history, such as Delta de Tigre. It defines a lot of our culture. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the knowledge of our guide. Your words make us very happy, and we really appreciate your time to write this review!
Interesting boat ride, takes a while to get there and back
Warren_G, Mar 2020
We enjoyed the boat ride in Tigre, including the narration, and it gives you an experience of a very different part of Buenos Aires. It takes a while to get there and back, and we had already seen most of the landmarks we passed early on. They did a good job of picking people up, but at the end of it, you have to get back to where you started. This limits its usefulness for cruise travelers. We were able to make it back to the ship, but lack of good metro or bus service to the port necessitates a taxi ride to get back there and eliminates any plans you might make for doing other things after the tour. Would be a better choice for non-cruisers.
Response from Host, Jul 2020
Dear Warren Gray, We are really sorry to know that the tour did not meet all your expectations. When you booked through the online platform you have the specifications regarding inclusions and exclusions. You made a reservation in regular which was only for passengers staying in downtown hotels, not for cruise terminal (pick up from cruise ships has an additional fee). Our agency decided to confirm it anyway assuming the charges for the entrance to the cruise terminal and the additional guide who made the initial contact with you. The distance from the cruise up to the drop-off area is 20 minutes walking. However, we are really happy to know that you joined our tour and that you enjoyed the Tigre Delta. We really appreciate your comments as it helps us improve our services. Kind regards.
Not worth the money
John_Z, Feb 2020
The tour wasn’t as described. We went straight to the boat. It was not a catamaran. Just an old boat and very crowded, hot, dirty, and difficult to see anything. Then we took a short tour of San Isidro. If we had gone in the order described, we would have ended at the boat and we would have stayed in that area for a while. Then made our own way back on the train. We were supposed to take the train back which didn’t happen because we had the rest of the tour after the boat. Do it on your own.
Response from Host, Jun 2020
Dear John Zehnder, we are really sorry to read that the tour was not what you were expecting. Your booking request was made for the half day tour. The full day option is wich includes the train back to Buenos Aires. We apologise if it wasn´t clear enought. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it helps us to improve our services. Tangol
Nice to get out of Town
RVerginia, Feb 2020
Nice excursion to some surrounding areas of Buenos Aires. Enjoyed the route, the narration of our very knowledgeable and personable guide, Sol, and the pace of the afternoon. The Tigre Delta area is quite unique and the one hour boat tour around a few of the islands was very pleasant and interesting. Additionally, Sol said they could drop us off anywhere in the city on our return. It was our last day and we wanted to see El Ateneo, so we were dropped off a few blocks from there. Great experience!
Tigre River Cruise Saturday
Mitchel_M, Feb 2020
The boat trip was very nice and we felt for the price it was right. Our guide Laura was polite and knowledgeable. Pickup and drop off were excellent.
changes in the last minute
Piotr_W, Feb 2020
The operator advanced the departure time by 45 minutes, on the tour day, so we cannot participate in the trip.
Response from Host, Jun 2020
Dear Piotr Wolejsza, We are truly sorry to read that you did not take this tour. The tour you booked is a regular service. The schedule was not changed, you were the first to get on the bus. When we sent you the pick up details, you were in Uruguay and asked us for the last pick up place. Unfortunately, you did not arrive on time as you had to leave your luggage because it is not allowed on the tour. The tour guide waited for you 20 minutes at the meeting point with the other passengers who were taking the same vehicle. We are very sorry you could not join us. Thank you for your review, it always helps us to improve our services. Kind regards, Tangol Travel Agency
Not do interesting
Mona_L, Jan 2020
The guide was difficult to understand. It seemed that she spoke much, much more in Spanish than in English. I do not believe she translated everything she said in Spanish into English. The boat ride was good, but not very informative. Overall, the tour was not very interesting.
Response from Host, Jul 2020
Dear Mona, Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear that the tour did not meet your expectations. In this excursion, we can see an important extract of our history, such as the Rio de La Plata. The guide who made the excursion is a graduate guide and who has also received intensive training in our tours. All our guides are certified. However, we take this feedback and forward it to the guide as an opportunity to improve our services Will be a pleasure to assist you in your next visit! Kind regards!
an ok tour
Anna_S, Dec 2019
Got picked up at 2.20, clean van and pleasant. It took an hour to pick up the other guests from 3 other different hotels. It would have been a perfect occasion for our guide to talk to us and tell us what we were driving by, but no commentary only started when we were all on board. Spanish first, English second then Portuguese. My Spanish is not that good but I could hear that the English translation was only a part of what had been said in Spanish. Why? Poor girl I felt sorry for the little training she had obviously been given. On arrival at Tigre we stopped for 45 minutes at the mercado de frutos which is in my opinion a terrible market. The two hour cruise was very good with good commentary. The cruise finished in Puerto Madero and we got a choice of making our own way back to the hotel or been dropped of at Obelisco.
Response from Host, Jul 2020
Dear traveler, Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear that the Mercado de frutos did not meet your expectations. In this excursion, we can see an important extract of our history, such as the Rio de La Plata. Unfortunately, making comments during the pick-up would not be appropriate as not all the passengers on the tour are present yet. The guide who made the excursion is a graduate guide and who has also received intensive training in our tours. All our guides are certified. However, we take this feedback and forward it to the guide as an opportunity to improve our services. Will be a pleasure to assist you in your next visit! Kind regards!
Final day in Buenos Aires
George_A, Dec 2019
Pick up at hotel on time highly unusual in this very busy city. Took the scenic route with a stop in a picturesque town. The boat tour was about an hour with commentary in at least 3 languages. It was absolutely worth while
Tour well organized, delta not very interesting
Joseph_H, Nov 2019
Half day bus tour with a 1 hour cruise of the delta. Well organized with hotel pick up and return to the city centre as scheduled and the cruise boat was waiting when we arrived in Tigre. Unfortunately the delta is not that interesting. All the original fruit farms have been replaced by weekend or vacation homes and there’s not really much to see. There’s better ways to spend an afternoon in Buenos Aires.
Response from Host, Jul 2020
Dear Alice, Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear that Tigre did not meet your expectations. In this excursion, we can see an important extract of our history, such as the Rio de La Plata, and spend a quiet day in the Delta. However, we really appreciate your comments as it helps us improve our services. Will be a pleasure to assist you in your next visit! Kind regards!
Pleasant cruise
dgent79, Aug 2019
We enjoyed a very pleasant day from start to finish. A lovely cruise down the delta, then a great visit to the charming town of Tigre. Our guide Carlos was outstanding and extremely helpful. A mellow and enjoyable trip.
Review of the Delta Cruise
Melissa_C, Aug 2019
Guide was nice but the pick-up was late. We had to wait about 50 minutes. Also, we don't see much of it. The ride on the boat at this time of the year is not that interesting.
Response from Host, Sep 2020
Hi! Thank you for your time writing a review! We are really sorry to know that the tour did not meet all your expectations. The excursion you booked is a regular service in which we must go through different hotels to pick up passengers. Your location was the last to get on the bus. Clearly, the tour takes place in a delta, with typical characteristics of the region, which make it attractive as it is practically integrated to the urban fabric of a megalopolis like Buenos Aires. We are very sorry that this tour has been boring for you. Thank you for your comments, as it helps us to improve our services. Kind regards.
Not that interesting
486maryq, Jul 2019
We did the full day “tour”, but in retrospect should have done a half day or skipped Tigre delta altogether. The tour just includes your boat ticket (nice boat ride), your bus ticket within Tigre (nothing to see), and your “train” ticket back (just a lite rail, no view of anything interesting. Had 90 min to spend at Tigre market but by the time we finished lunch there was no time left. The tour guide helped us get from point A to point B but didn’t provide much additional info about the places we were visiting. Could easily do this half day trip on your own by buying the boat ticket and buying the return lite rail train ticket. No need to book a “tour”.
Response from Host, Jun 2020
We are really sorry to know that the tour did not meet all your expectations. Clearly, the tour takes place in a delta, with typical characteristics of the region, which make it attractive as it is practically integrated to the urban fabric of a megalopolis like Buenos Aires. We are very sorry that this tour has been boring for you. We would like to say that we have different options for different preferences and types of passengers. For us, travelling alone is not the same as being accompanied by a professional local guide who knows the city and can explain our culture, history, flavours and passions. We regret that the tour did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your comments, as it helps us to improve our services. Kind regards, Tangol.
Afternoon trip
Robin_T, Mar 2019
Enjoyable and informative and while our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgible she spoke very quickly and combined with the somewhat distorted microphone on the transport, we found it hard to follow.
Figure trip.
Stacey_P, Jan 2019
Fine one day trip. It was fine. Nothing else to report except frustration will need for 100 characters to complete .
Perfect and very cheap
Gianluca_C, Dec 2018
Pick up at selected hotel on time, nice trip to Tigre. Maybe a 5 min stop in San Isidro just to take a picture would be great. The guide was repeating same things in Spanish Portuguese and English.. Amazing!!!
Great day
martinelliss, Nov 2018
The trip to to Tigre Delta was nice and the boat trip really beautiful! During the bus ride to Tigre the guide (Elba) told a lot of interesting facts about Baires and the surroundings. She was also really helpful and let us borrow her phone to make a phone call!
Average Tour
xclnt, Sep 2018
River cruise was nice. Rest of tour was very boring. Took us to a shopping area for locals i.e. furniture, light fixtures, large household items.
Response from Host, Sep 2020
Dear traveler Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on your tour. In this excursion, we can see an important extract of our history, such as the Rio de La Plata. It defines a lot of our culture. We are truly sorry if the tour didn't meet your expectations. This excursion is to be considered as a city tour to discover Tigre and the countryside near Buenos Aires, to get another vision of the Argentinian life. We really appreciate your time to write this review!
The tour is mainly just...
Abhyudaya A, May 2018
The tour is mainly just transportation, which you can do yourself by taking public transit. The boat ride on the Tigre is pretty disappointing. The audio commentary in English is really bad, hard to really understand what is being said. I would not recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Jun 2020
We are really sorry to read about your disappointment. The tour includes pick up services, navigation, driver and a tour guide who explain everything we see from the bus. We offer other tours which includes public transportation with profesional guide; you can also find different alternatives, in relation to the itinerary. For us, travelling alone is not the same as being accompanied by a professional local guide who knows the city and can explain our culture, history, flavours and passions. We regret that the tour did not meet your expectations. Kind regards, Tangol
...

Questions?

Product code: 5674TTDAY