Cape Town
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Big-Five Safari Full Day Guided Return Transfer from Cape Town

Cape Town Central, South Africa

From $145.57

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 8 to 9 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket

Overview

Spotting the Big Five—lion, leopard, rhinoceros, elephant, and Cape buffalo—is a priority for many visitors to South Africa and this tour is ideal for those with limited time. Travel from Cape Town by upmarket air-conditioned vehicle, enjoying views of the Breede River, Hex River Wine Valley, and Table Mountain along the way, then join a group safari drive at a private game reserve and enjoy some incredible wildlife-watching opportunities.
  • Express tour from Cape Town: ideal for those short on time
  • Guided game drive: maximize your chances of spotting the Big Five
  • Delicious buffet lunch including a glass of champagne
  • Round-trip transport from Cape Town by upmarket air-conditioned vehicle
Operated by:

What's Included

  • Bottled water
  • Professional guide
  • Hotel pick-up and drop-off
  • Transport in an upmarket vehicle
  • Game park charge (R1550pp normal rate, R1700pp peak rate - includes lunch & game drive)
  • Gratuities
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

09:00 AM

Pickup details

We pick up and drop off from any hotel, guesthouse, vacation rental or private residence in Cape Town.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Infant seats are available on request if advised at time of booking (cost excluded)
  • Infant meals not included
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Essentially this is a private transfer to and from Aquila Private Reserve (takes about 2.5hrs each way).
Reviews
4.5
175 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 175 reviews
Wonderful trip
Frank_Z, Jan 2023
Our guide, Chris, did everything possible to make this a memorable trip. We saw many animals and lions up close. A very wonderful and relaxing way to see the beauties of South Africa.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Chris will be delighted with the well deserved high praise. I will be sure to pass this on to him. Thank you for the five star review !
Very disappointed
FoyeEllis_D, Jan 2023
Very poor tour guide and trip to the park. First the van arrived late by 20 minutes and we received no notification. The sound system was very poor in the van. There was “no” water in The van as promised. When I asked about the water the answer was “we don’t have any water.” Very poor information proved by Lin about the tour. Only responded to questions. She was on her phone and texting most of the time. On the return trip she seemed to be be having a private conversation with the people up front. The actual safari and lunch was superb and worth the money. Otherwise I would have give this tour a 1 star rating!
Response from Host, Feb 2023
We can only apologise for your disappointing experience. We seldom have poor reviews and do take them seriously. We have addressed the issues you have mentioned, but need to mention that Lyn has provided WhatsApp proof that she notified you of the pickup delay. She has a number of 5 star reviews to her credit and was mortified about this poor review. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience.
I had two lovely...
jakiyah_r, Jan 2023
I had two lovely gentlemen. They were so nice and informational it was a great experience. Would recommend booking this experience with them. This private ride in his expense car was a great experience.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you for your high praise and the great review. It's very encouraging to know that our guests have had a lovely experience.
Amazing journey
Yasir_A, Jan 2023
It was a wonderful journey, we will never ever forget the fun and happiness that filled us in this experince, Mike was so frindlly and nice person, we appreciate his kindness. Also, we thank Max the guider in the safari, he was so knowledgeable funny person. Overall, If we have the chance to repeat this experience we will absolutely do.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
It is such a pleasure to know that the service we provide meets the five star standard. Thank you for your great review !
Safari from Cale Town
Alonso_G, Jan 2023
We chose this tour because we had limited time and it is close to Cape Town. Overall it was a great experience; our tour guy Mike was very knowledgeable and went the extra mile to make sure we had a great experience.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day with Mike and really appreciate you taking the time to post a five star review.
1 traveler found this review helpful
A great visit to a giant zoo
Mitchell_A, Jan 2023
I traveled alone from Chicago to Cape Town and saw this neat opportunity, and I am glad I did it. I believe Aquila is the nearest place tourists can get an experience to see animals (about a 2 hour drive from CT). Note the animals are not in the wild, though. It is a giant zoo. There were 3 of us in the group, and our guide Lloyd was so great. He is knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. Along the way, we stopped to get some pictures of the great views and had a surprise visit to De Vet Cellar for a brief wine tasting of 5 wines. That was a great addition. We made it to Aquila, where we were welcome by a glass of wine and a buffet lunch. We then went to the caravan for a drive around the private zoo for a few hours. We got to see giraffes, rhinos, hippos, zebras, gazelles, elephants, and buffalo. The lions were hiding, so we didn't see them. It was a good time, but note it isn't a true open safari but rather a very large zoo.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Yes, some of the animals have been rehabilitated and whilst they roam freely on the 10,000 hectare reserve, they do have to be fed as they are unable to hunt for themselves. The purpose is to protect and preserve Africa’s increasingly threatened wildlife through numerous conservation projects and also to give a second chance to rehabilitated animals who would otherwise be euthanaised. The reserve has re-introduced the Big 5 into the Western Cape and their efforts have recently been rewarded with the SKAL International Sustainable Tourism Award for their various projects and policies that find the perfect balance between tourism, conservation, and the community. So every visitor is making a contribution to this worthwhile endeavour and we thank you for that as well as your five star review !
1 traveler found this review helpful
Highly recommend
Paul_M, Jan 2023
Lynn was the perfect driver; lovely lady, friendly, informative, kind and patient. I highly recommend this trip. Steven was a hilarious safari guide - also patient and knowledgeable.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Lynn will be delighted with your high praise. She is one of our most experienced guides and always gives of her best. We really appreciate your five star review !
1 traveler found this review helpful
Highly recommend
Meghan_C, Jan 2023
Excellent day! Melody was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable. We highly recommend this to anyone looking to do just a one day safari, especially if you’re staying in Cape Town.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Best tour guide !
Jenny_W, Jan 2023
The tour guide Melodie was simply the best tour guide EVER, she was very knowledgeable and I learned a lot about the history of SA and Cape Town on the way to Aquila Game Reserve !! I had the best time and lots of fun, I enjoyed the drive a lot and can only recommend it !!
The best!!!!!
ANA_A, Jan 2023
Mike Klee I was the best!! He made our experience one to always remember, pick-up early, great service, good talking along the way, great stop for tea. We love it!!!
Spectacular safari
Jervin_P, Jan 2023
Great experience at this safari. Renu our guide was very knowledgeable and can spot the animals from far. He was also able have us wait a bit and get the perfect pictures of the animals.
Amazing experience
Ramy_E, Jan 2023
The experience was so good. The guide Mike was very helpful, professional and making us happy was his ultimate objective . The car Mercedes Benz vehicle which picked us from hotel was very luxurious and in very good condition. Trip was very safe and the game driver at the park was very funny , confident and tried his best to make us see all the animals there and we did . We took a long time searching for the lion , but finally met him 😄
Response from Host, Jan 2023
We are delighted that you enjoyed the day and thank you for the five stars ! We will pass on your review to MIke and we hope to see you back in Cape Town some time soon.
Day Trip to Aquila
kelly_s, Jan 2023
Aquila Safari was nice, but almost zoo-like since the animals are in specific locations and many are fed. It was nice to be able to see the animals up close and take photographs, the kids. Our driver was very nice, however our tour guide was not overly pleasant.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
We don't often get disappointed customers, but to clarify, our one day tour is designed to satisfy customers who do not have the luxury of time, but would still like to enjoy an African safari experience. Yes, some of the animals have been rehabilitated and whilst they roam freely on the 10,000 hectare reserve, they do have to be fed as they are unable to hunt for themselves. The purpose is to protect and preserve Africa’s increasingly threatened wildlife through numerous conservation projects and also to give a second chance to rehabilitated animals. The reserve has re-introduced the Big 5 into the Western Cape and their efforts have recently been rewarded with the SKAL International Sustainable Tourism Award for their various projects and policies that find the perfect balance between tourism, conservation, and the community. So every visitor is making a contribution to this worthwhile endeavour and we thank you for that.
Great time!
Kimberly_M, Jan 2023
This was an amazing experience. We saw Buffalo, antelope, lions, ostrich, rhino, hippo, giraffe, elephants and zebras. We were also able to see some baboons on the drive to the reserve. Tour guide included some fun stops on the way along with some information on the locations we passed. Very fun and I would most certainly do this again.
Mike was an amazing...
Amelia_B, Jan 2023
Mike was an amazing guide! I will look for him when I visit Cape Town again! He truly knows his country!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Yes he is an amazing guide ! Many thanks for the vote of confidence.
Nice safari, super guide!
CecilieUtnesHansen, Jan 2023
We saw a lot of animals (and even more people-filled busses ;) ) during the safari drive. Nice lunch and drinks. The best thing about the tour, though, was our chauffeur/guide, Melody. She is very knowledgeable about South African history and today’s society. Our conversations with her was the best part of the trip!
Response from Host, Jan 2023
I'll be sure to let Melodie know that she has another five star review! Thank you for taking the time to write this - much appreciated.
Great day with Mike
Sonya_V, Dec 2022
This tour was great. Mike was upbeat, engaging, informative and a great story teller both of facts and local folklore. We felt well taken care throughout our entire day. He went the extra mile to make sure we were welcome and safe, which we truly appreciated. He truly loves his work and serves as a high bar for others in the hospitality industry to follow. Would absolutely recommend this tour to go to Aquila. As for Aquila, I wish I had known before booking all the legs of my trip that one could do an overnight there. It might be nice to get back out on the truck for the sunset tour. Very enjoyable experience. One note: might not have done Aquila if I had already done a true safari. It’s a bit of a “Jurrasic Park” in that the animals are collected / rescued there for viewing. But it was huge and lovely to see the animals roaming in nature. We did see baboons, ostriches, giraffes, elephants, rhinos, buffalos, hippos and a lion. Excellent day and much more fun than it would be driving ourselves.
Mike was an excellent...
Julie_K, Dec 2022
Mike was an excellent guide! Great day! Well organized, knowledgeable and very attentive! Helped us throughout our entire day. From arrival to departure.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Mike will be preening with such high praise ! Thank you for the five star review - much appreciated.
Great Guide!
Medjine_L, Dec 2022
Mike was an AMAZING guide! I traveled as a solo traveler but others booked the tour too. Mike gave me great advice as a solo traveler in South Africa along with recommendations. He took us on the most scenic route to get to the game reserve. Provide a lot of fun facts along the way and all around very pleasant. 10/10 would recommend.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
It is such a pleasure to know that the service we provide meets the five star standard. Thank you for your great review !
Convenient access to the Big Five from Cape Town
Kathleen_B, Dec 2022
The driver was prompt and well informed so that he offered engaging commentary on the long drive to/from Cape Town. The experience of the game reserve was very good. The driver at the reserve went out of this way to drive to the best locations so we could see as many animals as possible and get close enough to take good pictures. I have read that some people described the reserve like a zoo. We watched a lion nab prey for a meal. If it is a zoo, it is one with 11,000 acres of open space and the animals room freely. The only drawback was that at the last minute I was informed that I had to pay the game reserve fee in advance rather than at the reserve. That is easier said than done from a cruise ship in the Atlantic.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you for your lovely review - much appreciated ! Apologies regarding the prepayment policy. They recently lost one of their rhinos in a poaching incident and have since introduced this policy for security reasons.
...

Questions?

Product code: 26736P8