Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

From $24.69

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


    What's Included

    • By professional actors
    • Alcoholic Beverages

    Departure & Return

    Departure Point

    • Beehive Inn
      18-20 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JU, UK

      Look out for our Ticketing person wearing bright vest. The tour starts up the stairs at The Beehive on the top floor. Feel free to purchase a drink at the bar beforehand and bring it upstairs with you to enjoy the first scene!

    Departure Time

    7:30 PM

    Return Details

    • Milnes Bar
      35 Hanover St, Edinburgh EH2 2PJ, UK

      The end point of the tour varies depending on group size and weather etc but generally we aim to finish up in The West-End in "The New Town". Please drop us an email if you need to know in advance or speak with our actors on the night.

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    about cancellations.

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    338 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-4 of 338 reviews
    No one turned up
    Yentel_E, Jul 2021
    The tour didnt take place, we got to the meeting point. And after waiting for over 10 minutes, I called them and didnt pick up. I then called Viator and the lady spoke directly to the company. The company then tried to contact me and told us that the the tour didnt happen because the actors didnt turn up and they would refund the money. As it is the weekend I cannot confirm if the money has been refunded yet. This was upsetting as we are only visiting for a couple of days and we struggle to find places where we could have a drink as you are expected to prebook
    Response from Host, May 2022
    Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. I appreciate the untimely nature of this reply, but we would still like to rectify this situation. We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are gutted when we don’t meet expectations. However we have had a difficult time bouncing back from the pandemic, we are finally recovering and running again. Of course this is no excuse! So please email us on f so we can discuss how we can rectify this situation for you We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again.
    Scam, Avoid!
    Elif_O, Jul 2021
    This tour is a scam! When we went to the meeting place we learned that it hasn't taken place for more than a year. I cannot believe that the tickets are still sold here!
    Response from Host, May 2022
    Thanks for having taken the time to bring this to our attention. I appreciate the untimely nature of this reply, but we would still like to rectify this situation. Unfortunately, we have had a difficult time bouncing back from the pandemic, but we are finally recovering and running again. We appreciate customers such as yourself and would like to take this opportunity to offer you 2 free tickets to a tour in the future. All you have to do is email with this message and we will book you on free of charge. You feedback has been greatly considered and we have used it to train and improve our tour going forward. thank you very much once again
    Lovely literary tour that fizzled out
    Richard_J, Nov 2019
    The tour started off brilliantly at the beehive in the grassmarket. The two actors playing there parts with fun. The group of 40 people was too great and a limit of 30 should be set. (They have had over 60 on the tour) the two hour tour took more than three hours with time in pubs wasted because of too many people waiting to be served. The final bar (where we stayed for nearly an hour) had no tour elements because there private room was in use and the final session then lasted only 10 minutes after the one hour wait only 30 yards away. The actors, who had been excellent earlier seemed to lose the plot and forget their lines and the tour just fizzled out.
    Fun times
    Susan_M, Oct 2019
    The whole thing was very nicely staged. Our hosts were spot on with their lines and the venues we went to were places I would not have thought to go. I highly recommend taking this tour to get a quick history of Edinburgh's literary history amidst the backdrop of the city itself. I'm sorry not to remember one of our hosts' names but Fergus, the Scot comes to mind.
    1 traveler found this review helpful


    Product code: 170517P1