Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh

Badge of ExcellenceEdinburgh, United Kingdom
Likely to Sell Out

From $70.35

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 12 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

See the best of Scotland in one action-packed day on this Glencoe, Loch Ness and the Highlands tour from Edinburgh. Pass Stirling Castle on route to Kilmahog with a guide, then continue through Rannoch Moor to the soaring Highland peaks of Glen Coe. Head along the banks of Loch Linnhe to Fort William and gaze over Ben Nevis — Scotland’s highest mountain. Enjoy free time to explore Loch Ness and learn the famous legend of Nessie! Pass by Inverness, then travel through the mighty Grampian Mountains to Edinburgh.
  • Discover Glencoe, Loch Ness and the Highlands in a day—ideal for travellers short on time
  • Admire the iconic Stirling Castle and impressive Grampian Mountains as you journey through the wild landscape
  • Learn some of Scotland's rich history from your guide—ideal for history buffs
  • Enjoy free time to explore Loch Ness at your leisure

What's Included

  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Attraction Tickets

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 521-523 Lawnmarket
    521-523 Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PE, UK

    Outside the Ensign Ewart pub

Start time

08:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 4 years old.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark the bus.
  • The castle & cruise currently need to be pre-booked.
  • Please arrive 30 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • Top tip - You could bring a cold packed lunch with you in order to make the most of your time at each stop - this would be particularly time-saving in the busier months!
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 53 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


You can pack snacks - which I encourage - just no ‘hot food’ on the coach.
the castle and boat ride are boring and there is extra charge for both.
This is an interesting tour, but it makes for a VERY long day.
Reviews
4.5
941 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 941 reviews
Incredible
THOMAS_W, Aug 2022
Paul was a fantastic guide! His historical knowledge and expert narration really brought to life the history of the area. My favorite part was the Glencoe area, it is the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen.
We had the chance to have...
Vronique_D, Aug 2022
We had the chance to have John as a tour guide. He made the experience absolutely special, with stories and local music. Totally recommendable!
A magical trip!
Stacy_D, Aug 2022
This trip was stunning. Even the weather cooperated. It rained enough to give us waterfalls to see and it was sunny enough to enjoy an outdoor lunch. Our tour guide, Frazer, was the best. He had tons of information to give at different points of the tour as well as a soundtrack that went with the scenery. You can tell he is dedicated to telling his country's story. And isn't that what we came for? A great story? I loved this trip. Kudos to Adam, our driver! He did great too!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. It's always a bonus when the weather is on your side for a tour. I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time out with Fraser and that he was full of information, with Adam being a fab driver too. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon. All the best, David
Great tour of the Highlands
Kate_F, Aug 2022
Jane and our driver Adam were friendly and knowledgeable. The coach was nice and clean and the tour was fantastic. The only knock would be that we were told at booking that our pick netting point would be the same as our return point. We picked the tour because we were drying super close to the tour location. We did not return to the same location due to the military tattoo which is understandable, but this should be updated before the tour begins nor shortly before return. Overall a fantastic experience!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time out on tour with Jane and Adam. I'm sorry that there was a wee bit of a change with the drop-off point, however, as it is the fringe, the Royal Mile can be incredibly busy. All the best, David
The guide (George) was...
Aurobind_S, Aug 2022
The guide (George) was excellent. He explained Scottish history very well. He gave clear instructions
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time out on tour with George and he gave great explanations about Scottish history throughout. Hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best, David
Loved the Music!
Emily_B, Aug 2022
My daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. We covered a lot of ground throughout the day, but our guide Jamie made it interesting and enjoyable. He made enough stops so that we felt we had a chance to see different things, and there were times for bathroom and snack breaks. I absolutely loved his use of music throughout the tour. The only downside was that it was cloudy most of the day, but I have a feeling that's more common than the blue skies we see in all the pictures. We only had one full day in Scotland, and I'm glad I chose this tour.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you and your daughter really enjoyed the tour and that Jamie really made it interesting. Unfortunately, you weren't as lucky with the weather, which is a real shame as we've recently had a lot of beautiful weather. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon and the sun will come out for you. All the best, David
Very nice tour
latopping, Aug 2022
Peter was a very informative guide, you can tell he is very passionate about Scotland. My one constructive criticism would be that when we parked at our first stop Peter disappeared. It wants quite chilly and there wasn’t that much to do so several of us wanted to get back on the bus about 5 minutes before our departure time. Peter was no where to be seen. One tour guest figured out how to open the door and let us in. Peter was quite upset with him when he returned. I understand the security of items left on the bus but just my personal opinion- Peter should stay closer to the bus for those who want to get back on a little early.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that Peter's passion and enthusiasm shone through and that he was a really informative guide. We will also take that feedback on board to prevent any situations like that in the future. I hope you still had a great time nevertheless. All the best, David
First bus tour: nice experience
Kevin_D, Aug 2022
Really nice tour given by Martin our guide and driver, pretty perfect I had so much fun. Hope I can do more in the future
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you had a really nice time on our Loch Ness tour with martin as your guide and you had a lot of fun. Hopefully we will see you on another one soon. All the best, David
Great Day Trip!
Nana_A, Jul 2022
We had a wonderful day trip. Our guide (Paul) is very knowledgeable, funny and made our 12h day trip less tiring. We visited a lot of historic places and Paul always gave us the background of those place. We will definitely recommending this trip whenever you visit Edinburgh.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that Paul was a brilliant guide for your tour and made it less tiring with a great commentary full of details about where you were visiting. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
Highland beauty
Otilia_M, Jul 2022
For a 12+ hours, this tour went amazingly well. We owe it mostly to our driver/guide, Nestor, who made the trip very relaxed, entertaining, and educational at the same time. We stopped frequently, to stretch or to take amazing pictures, and while on the bus, Nestor regaled us with interesting stories of modern and historical Scotland. He even organized a musical trivia on our way back, which I think was much appreciated by everyone. Both major destinations, Loch Ness and Urquhart, were amazing, and we had the added advantage of being able to buy tickets to both while on our way there, directly from Nestor. We were also offered a flexible schedule, with 3 possible options to choose from. Not an easy drive by any means, still I would recommend this tour enthusiastically to anyone who wants to see the beauty of the Highlands, albeit in a shorter time frame.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm really pleased to hear that you had such a great time on the Loch Ness tour with Nestor as your guide and that he really made it entertaining and educational, giving you plenty of stops and even adding in a wee quiz. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
Nessie
Jorien_P, Jul 2022
Really nice tour given by Martin, a busdriver with very good sense of humour. We loved the high lands, nessie and the wiskey icecream🤘
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! Did you manage to spot Nessie? I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time on tour with Martin and really enjoyed all the things you saw. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon. All the best, David
Norbert made the trip quite unique ad special for us! Thank you.
Lori_H, Jul 2022
The boat trip on loch ness, though all the views were enjoyable. We enjoyed the histories told about Scotland, especially saddened by Mary Queen of Scots struggles in her life.
Avoid this tour!
Nalin_R, Jul 2022
Spent ~10 hours out of 12 sitting on the bus!! Not even a small walk in the highlands… Driver sells tickets for castle/cruise for cash only and doesn’t communicate effectively. When asked, he said I could buy tickets with credit card at the location itself. However when we arrived at the location, he guided only the people who had bought tickets from him to the castle and the rest of us had no idea what was going on! He suggested leaving us at the castle without a ride back when I asked him where I could buy a ticket for the castle + 30min cruise with a credit card.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Nalin, Many thanks for sending us your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that the tour didn’t turn out as you had expected it. The Loch Ness tour is indeed a very long tour and unfortunately a lot of time is spent on the coach due to the sheer distance that needs to be covered to get to Loch Ness and back in one day. The “What to expect” section on Viator clearly shows that not much time is spent at stops on this tour. I am sorry to hear that you had problems buying your castle and cruise tickets on the day. We do advise to bring along cash for attractions, but of course the driver should have informed you about how to pay via card instead. Again, I am sorry the tour didn’t live up to your expectations. Kind regards, Lisa
Great trip for view of the Highlands
Cyle_S, Jul 2022
Paul is a God among tour guides. He was both Guide and Driver and provided plenty of Scottish History, culture, humor and entertainment to make a long day, enjoyable and not seem as long.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. It's fab to hear that you had such a great experience with Paul as your guide and that he was full of knowledge, history, culture and humour and made the day pass quickly. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
Not good
Lillian_M, Jul 2022
Would not go on this, and would tell other people not to go on this. It was an awful experience. The views were wonderful but we didn’t stop a single time! Someone was 15 min late and he said we had to skip stops. He was not very friendly but it seemed like it was a lot for him to be a guide and driver. It just was not a fun time and other people were complaining as well. Wish we could stop to take a quick photo or two.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Lillian, Many thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that the tour didn’t turn out as expected. The Loch Ness tour is indeed a very long tour and unfortunately a lot of time is spent on the coach due to the distance that needs to be covered to get to Loch Ness and back in one day. It is not accurate that you didn't stop a single time - you stopped at Glencoe for photos and also for an hour at Loch Ness + regular comfort stops along the way. Again, I am very sorry the tour didn’t live up to your expectations. Kind regards, Lisa
Nessie
Zamra_Q, Jul 2022
Wanted something Todo and this fit the bill glen cove is by far the best views and great for pictures the cruise at loche Ness is pointless save it money and go to the castle the guide was great and kept us informed Could have stopped a few more places to get pics and driven slower to avoid blury pics Overall definitely worth it Next time I'm in the area I want to pre-book the train tour but that seems to be fully booked throughout the summer
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed the views at Glencoe and that overall, you felt the tour was worth it. All the best, David
Loch Ness, Glencoe with Paul
ghassan_m, Jul 2022
The trip covered the highlands and the Loch Ness and was enjoyable. Paul the driver and the guide made the trip richer and more enjoyable by his vast knowledge about the Scott history and his sens of humor.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time out on our Loch Ness tour with Paul as your driver-guide who was full of knowledge with a great sense of humour. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! All the best, David
Glencoe was wonderful and...
Gareth_L, Jul 2022
Glencoe was wonderful and the driver Paul was both funny and informative. Unfortunately we had to skip one attraction due to car accident in front of us but we got a refund consummate with this. A long but very enjoyable day.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time out on our Loch Ness tour with Paul as your guide. Unfortunately, being a company that is on the road all day, from time to time we will be impacted by events like that, but I'm glad to hear you were appropriately refunded a wee bit to make up for this and I hope it didn't spoil your day. All the best, David
Timberbush Tours- Highlands
Marina_J, Jul 2022
Hi there! Our experience with Timberbush tours was unique. We highly recommend it to everyone who is interested in exploring the Highlands. In other words, not only was it super exciting but also very informative because Paul Henderson, our tour guide and driver shares amazing stories while we drive to the destinations. He is very professional and friendly. We loved our experience. Thanks Paul!
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time out on tour with Paul and that you would recommend us to anyone visiting the Highlands. It's really great that he was a brilliant guide and full of stories, whilst being really professional and friendly. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon! All the best, David
The highlands by itself...
Nithiya_S, Jul 2022
The highlands by itself was a beautiful place. The cruise was the best part of the trip. But our tour guide was very rude.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for leaving your feedback. I'm pleased that you found the highlands beautiful, but I'm sorry to hear that this was your experience with your guide - we would love to know more about this if possible? All the best, David
...

Questions?

Product code: 6898P6