Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Isle of Skye, The Highlands and Loch Ness- 3 Day Group Tour from Edinburgh

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Likely to Sell Out

From $216.00

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Free cancellation before August 24.
  • 3 days (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

The Isle of Skye is the largest of Scotland’s Hebrides Islands and this multi-day tour from Edinburgh ensures you take in all the highlights. Admire natural wonders such as Loch Ness, Glencoe, and Ben Nevis; visit Lealt Falls, Dunvegan Castle, and Kilt Rock on the Isle of Skye; and see Eilean Donan Castle, where 'Highlander' was filmed.
  • 3-day Isle of Skye tour from Edinburgh
  • Admire views of Glencoe, Loch Ness, Loch Lomond, and Ben Nevis
  • Take in the highlights of the Isle of Skye, including Kilt Rock and Dunvegan Castle
  • Great-value tour includes accommodation and round-trip transport

What's Included

  • 2 nights accommodation (unless 'no accommodation' option is selected)
  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Digital Downloadable Translations on request
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Accommodation, unless chosen
  • Attraction Tickets
  • Gratuities

Departure & Return

Departure Point

  • 521 Lawnmarket
    521 Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PE, UK

    Pick up outside the Ensign Ewart Pub

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Return Details

  • Edinburgh Waverley
    Edinburgh EH1 1BE, UK

    Drop off outside the Train Station

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Minimum age is 4 years.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
  • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • If booking your own accommodation, it must be within 2km of Portree town centre.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 7 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 7 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • Any changes made less than 6 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a 50% refund, you must cancel 3–6 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Maybe 3 days is not enough, so I would treat this tour as a taste of places you might want to return to without a bus full of people.
Portree is experiencing serious overbooking with the number of tourists and restaurants just could not accommodate everyone.
Reviews
4.5
236 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 236 reviews
Gorgeous scenery and Castles- good guide
ArleneSue_N, Aug 2022
Our tour guide Michael was terrific- good storyteller, funny, considerate and tried, in spite of the weather, to give us a great trip.. Downside- Tinderbush tour company did not prepare us for bad weather. We had rain gear we left behind and they dissuaded us from being hiking boots ( which were waterproof)
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you had a good time out on tour and found Michael to be a terrific storyteller, funny and considerate. I'm sorry to hear that the weather wasn't on your side and you felt that we did not prepare you for bad weather but I hope this didn't spoil your experience. All the best, David
Great tour!
lisajschaerer, Aug 2022
Adrian was a wonderful guide and driver. Always pleasant, full of great information and fun. Thank you for a terrific trip!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time out on tour with Adrian and that he was super pleasant, full of information and fun. Hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best, David
Isle of Skye and Beyond
Michael_M, Jul 2022
Tour was excellent!!! It was a great balance between stopping at all of the sites and spending adequate time at those sites. Kenny, our leader, was entertaining, educational and caring for everyone. Need to be prepared for restaurant challenges at Portree but that was somewhat expected. Would definitely recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time on our Skye tour with Kenny and that he was super educational, caring and entertaining. It's always a good idea to book ahead for restaurants in Portree, especially now we are in the busy season. Hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
Wonderful tour
Laurent_R, Jul 2022
Wonderful road trip. Jim is an excellent guide, his explanations are clear and his anecdotes are interesting. The choice of places to visit is relevant. I won't hesitate to take a ride again with timberbush on my next trip to Scotland
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you had a great time out on tour with Jim and that he had really interesting anecdotes and clear explanations. Hopefully we will see you on another tour when you are back in Scotland! All the best, David
Incredible IAN and Skye tour
Angela_L, Jul 2022
"IF" you are fortunate enough to get Ian you will have an awesome crazy filled tour!! He is personable and super knowledgeable about the Skye and the Highlands. Ask to be on his tour.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you had such a great time on tour with Iain and that he was super personable and knowledgeable. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon. All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
I will not recommend this tour
Jiaxi_L, Jul 2022
I will not recommend this tour company, and the guide Jim: 1. The stop duration and schedule is not well planned, in a beautiful view spot, the guide only gave you 10 minutes, but in a boring tourist center, the driver gave you 1 or more than 1 hour. Like today, we have spent 3 hours in Loch Ness, which is totally not necessary, because, in the end, most of the guests just sit in a cafe and wait. 2. All entry tickets are not included, and you will need to pay by cash. 3. The bus is not well designed for air flow or AC, the whole trip on the bus is stuffy, hot, and very uncomfortable. 4. The guide is not prepared, because it's in high season, in the isle of Skye, hotels are all full, so many guests stayed in B&B, and there're so many B&Bs in Portree. The guide didn't check the distribution of B&B before we arrive, so even though we are able to arrive at Portree at 6 pm, he took 90 minutes to drop off other guests, we go around the town again and again, but he can't find a correct B&B. 5. The guide is not look back at the guests when he start the engine and drove, he almost made me and another lady fall down when we are trying to put the bags. It could be very dangerous. So I will not recommend this tour company and this trip.
5 travelers found this review helpful
trip
robert_O, Jun 2022
great trip; tour guide excellent. enough said. you are aggravating me. i don't want to say a little MORE
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you found the tour great and the driver-guide excellent. Hopefully we will see you again some day. All the best, David
Review
Richard_S, Jun 2022
Kenny was an amazing tour guide, glad we was able to get him. Definitely made the 3 day trip worth it! Was loads of fun.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. It's great to hear that Kenny made your 3 day Isle of Skye tour even better and it was loads of fun. Hopefully we will see you again some day. All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great getaway from Edinburgh
Sireesha_A, Jun 2022
I took the 3 day Isle of Skye trip from Edinburgh with Timberbush tours via Viator. We had an absolutely delightful time with our amazing guide, Neil. The trip started in Edinburgh at a common pick up point but once we were on the bus, they took care of dropping us off everyday and picking us up from the BnB they arranged for us in Portree. The trip was great in several ways. A lot of interesting places were checked off on this trip like Loch Lomond, Kilt rock, fairy glen and Loch Ness. The weather was unfortunately pretty rainy so we couldn't see every place we had on mind, but despite that, Neil made our trip very enjoyable by thinking of places on the fly. He had a perfect balance of keeping the crowd on the bus engaged with his incredible knowledge about the place, playing wonderful Scottish music and keeping it quiet at times for us to catch a nap. He was funny as well as very good at keeping us on time for everything. Even though there was a lot of drive time, I still enjoyed the trip quite a lot because of the beautiful Scottish Highlands that was postcard perfect at every turn. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who's looking for an easy way to explore Skye and especially Neil, if you want to take it up a notch!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's a shame to hear that the weather wasn't on your side during your tour, but I'm glad it didn't spoil the experience. It sounds like you had a brilliant tour with Neil as your driver-guide and didn't let a bit of rain stop you, still getting to visit so many interesting places, having a laugh and learning all about the history along the way. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
Fantastic time!
conniemh0401, Jun 2022
Michael was an excellent guide! He went out of his way to make sure everyone saw what they wanted to see!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm really happy to hear that Michael was a brilliant driver-guide on your 3 day Skye tour and that you were able to see everything you wanted to thanks to him going out of his way to show you. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon. All the best, David
Wonderful guide and itinerary, but lodging arrangements need improvements
WaiKin_C, Jun 2022
Our guide, Kenny, was wonderful. He was pretty charming with his story telling of the historical significance of the places we visited. Throughout the trip he went deep into his playlist, personally I enjoyed the tunes that he curated. It matched the incredible scenery of the Scotland highlands that gave me quite the mood to travel. Minor displeasure about the lodging arrangement though. We were travelling in a group of 9 including 3 kiddos 1) Quite upset when we were separated in 2 places 2) one of the lodging places assigned was above a crowded bar which we had to pass through to get to the rooms, felt that it was not really appropriate
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm really pleased to hear that you really enjoyed having Kenny as your driver-guide on Skye and that he really helped you understand the histories and stories of the places you visit. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your lodging situation. At this time of year, Skye is extremely busy, so for this to have happened and your group be split up, I imagine there were few other options for our team to give you, especially with a group so large. We do offer the option for you to book your own accommodation as well so if you travel with us again, this would always be an option. I apologise again for that, but I hope you were still able to have a brilliant time on tour. All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
Best Tour Ever!!!
David_L, Jun 2022
I would totally recommend this trip to anyone who loves beautiful views and adventure. Kenny was such a genuine and wonderful guide who had a love of Scottish history and fun and entertaining side. We had a wonderful time exploring and seeing the incredible Scotland landscapes. Our favorite part of the trip was the second day when Kenny took us around the Isle of Skye and we were able to stop and hike to the Fairy Glen and the Fairy Ponds. We had our two kids with us and they had such a great time as well. I would do this trip again and ask for Kenny! He is the best!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, David. Thank you for your review! I'm really pleased to hear you had such a great time on the 3 day Skye tour with Kenny as your driver-guide. It's great that both you, and the kids, enjoyed it and you were able to hear plenty of history, stories, and explore the landscape! Hopefully we will see you all on another tour some day soon. All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
I am not at all happy...
Pratik_K, Jun 2022
I am not at all happy with Viator. They charged the trip £230pp without accommodation. For accommodation option extra £200pp was shown in the cart. The actual tour organisers is “timberbush” and they provide this tour at £235pp including accommodation. Huge difference right? I opted the self accommodation option coming to know that all the hostels and B&B were already booked. So got a guest house for £100 which is still cheaper than what Viator provided. So 5 star for the tour but 0 star for Viator.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you leaving this feedback. I am really glad you enjoyed your tour, but I'm sorry to see that you've left a 2* review that reflects another business. Hopefully we will see you again some day. All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
Awesome trip
RobinPradhan_C, Jun 2022
Jim was very Engaging. He shared his knowledge in an engaging, interactive and entertaining way. We all had a fantastic time
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear you had a great time on your 3 day Isle of Skye tour with Jim as your driver-guide. It's a brilliant tour and even better when your driver-guide is full of knowledge, engaging and entertaining. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon! Best wishes, David
Breath taking through and through
Nancy_N, May 2022
Beautiful views and beautiful weather! Our guide Brian was also so much fun and knowledgeable! Best Skye sound track!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, Nancy. Thank you for your review! Sounds like you got lucky with the Scottish weather and it was lovely! I'm glad you enjoyed having Brian as your driver-guide so much and that he was fun and knowledgeable. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon. All the best, David
Isle of Skye scenery was...
Jeanie_C, May 2022
Isle of Skye scenery was amazing. Our guide Andrew T. was very informative. The weather was great each made the trip even more memorable
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! The scenery on the Isle of Skye is beautiful, I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed it on your tour with Andrew T. It's always a bonus when the Scottish weather plays ball and it doesn't rain! Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon to show you more of Scotland's scenery. All the best, David
Great little trip through the Highlands and to Skye!
Scott_R, May 2022
Had a great time on this trip with Paul B as our tour guide - he was a smashing chap who was entertaining and knowledgable over the course of the three days. Only constructive feedback I have in hindsight is that we should've spoken up about going to the Fairy Pools, that would've been better than Dunvegan castle I think. But overall really enjoyed it, and would recommend the tour to anybody!
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Hi there, Scott. Thank you for your review! Unfortunately, the fairy pools are quite difficult to reach. The parking is quite far from the actual pools and it can be quite a difficult walk, especially after rain or anything like that, so we don't include them as it often isn't possible for passengers with limited mobility. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of the tour however and that Paul was a brilliant driver-guide. Hopefully we will see you again some day! Best wishes, David
Wonderful
Larry_V, May 2022
Paul was a fantastic guide and driver. Very knowledgeable and accommodating. Overall a pleasant few days.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi there, Larry. Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that Paul was a fantastic driver-guide on your 3 day Isle of Skye tour and that he was really knowledgeable and accommodating. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon to show you more of Scotland! Best wishes, David
Rip off
Shally_G, May 2022
This tour is a complete rip off for money. The tour operator offers is at a cheaper rate so better to book it directly from them. I have over paid at least 120 pounds extra for this one.. so totally not worth the price that I paid. The place is good and beautiful but the overcharging has left a very bad memory and experience. I don’t think I can ever trust Viator again.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hi there, I believe this review represents Viator and not us. I hope you had a great time out on tour regardless. All the best, David
Beauty around every corner! The tour to take!
Mindy_B, May 2022
Despite drizzling rain and very low cloud cover, Martin kept the tour flowing with wonderful information and music along our route. It felt like every stop just built upon the last and the scenery just became more and more amazing. There was plenty of time at each stop to take photos, ask questions and absorb the beauty before moving on for more. This tour was the highlight of our trip. 100% recommend! Thank you Martin for your great work!
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi there, Mindy. Thank you for your review! Drizzling rain is hard to escape here in Scotland, but I'm glad it didn't put a dampener on your trip and you still had a wonderful time. I'm happy to hear that Martin was a brilliant driver-guide and was full of information and able to answer any question. I hope you got some brilliant photos, and hopefully we will see you on another tour soon! Best wishes, David

Questions?

Product code: 6898P19