Recent Searches
Clear
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles

Are you interested in?

Nature and Wildlife Tours
40 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
50 Tours & Activities
Dalton Highway
Dalton Highway Tours
4 Tours & Activities
Why you are seeing these recommendations
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks with Transportation

star-4.5337 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Fairbanks, United States
icon_solid_phone
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785(888) 651-9785
chat-bubbles
Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks with Transportation

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Why you are seeing these recommendations
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Transport by van
Free snacks and bottled Water
Official personalized Arctic Circle Certificate
Hotel pickup and drop-off within the city limits of Fairbanks or North Pole (Any address is possible, as long as it is in the city limits)
Gratuities
pick up outside the city limits
Lunch (we will stop at Fred Meyer for 30 mins to purchase lunch items for the tour)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

7:00 AM
Pick up will occur between 7 am and 8 am, depending on the hotel location. We will contact you the day before your tour with your exact pickup time. We can only pick up from addresses within the Fairbanks or North Pole city limits. We do not pick up from the airport. If you are staying outside the city limits, we can pick you up at Walmart or another hotel location. Please call our office to discuss what options are available.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Please dress appropriately. During the winter months, temperatures are usually very low, so please dress in layers and wear warm winter clothing. During the summer month it could get very warm and rain might be always possible. We recommend to bring sturdy shoes and a rain/weather jacket.
  • The weather conditions are in no way predictable in our area and we will not offer a refund in case of too many clouds.
  • Adult pricing applies to all travelers.
  • This tour is not recommended for children under 10 years of age.
  • There is a possibility of cancellation due to dangerous weather and/or road conditions. If this occurs, an alternative date or full refund will be offered.
  • Type of transportation: Van
  • The group size is limited to 9 guests for each Transit van. Larger group bookings are possible and multiple vans will be used in this case.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour requires being able to enter and exit our van with limited assistance. Please contact us if you have any concerns about mobility.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 9 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Alaska Wildlife Guide LLC
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
I am a vegetarian / I have allergies / I am gluten or lacto free.
A:Just let us know any dietary requirements in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks with Transportation?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks with Transportation.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks with Transportation?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks with Transportation.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "There were plenty of stops which was just as well because the bus was very tight and not at all comfortable." See review
  • "Seat rotations are a suggestion as legroom and views are at a premium." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
337 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 337 reviews
star-5
Great adventure
Charles_S
, Aug 2022
Long day, but enjoyed seeing many beautiful sights and crossing the arctic circle was a highlight. Tour guide, Tony, gave wonderful insight into he Alaskan wilds.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Wish they would have had...
Tammie_D
, Aug 2022
Wish they would have had a speaker system in the van. We were in the very back and are hard of hearing anyway so feel like we missed a lot.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Driver was fast
John_B
, Jul 2022
If I ever have the opportunity to go to the Arctic Circle again, I would drive my own vehicle as the road was better than what I had been told. However, our driver did drive the road too fast and the ride was extremely rough for passengers in the back. Our driver was a nice young man though.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Finger mountain is wonderful
Andrew_S
, Jul 2022
Finger mountain is wonderful Our driver Jacob was a great narrator on our journey. We were glad he was the driver
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Tour operator tipping protocol.
Chander_P
, Jul 2022
Excellent experience. Viator should explicitly tell us if we are supposed to tip the trip operator. This is important because tipping customs vary from country to country.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for posting your review of our company. We strive to make every experience an excellent one for all of our guests. You are correct that tipping customs do vary from country to country. With that being said, our company does not require nor request tips from any of our guests. Our tour guides are always very appreciative of the tips that they do receive but we do not expect any of our guests to tip unless the guest would like to. Thank you again for your 5 star review of our tour and if you are ever in the great state of Alaska, please let us take you out again and show you another excellent experience.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
On top of the world!
Rhonda_W
, Jul 2022
It was a great trip! Our guide was great, the other people in our group was great, the scenery and our view was great! Not so great were the roads, but we were expecting that. Stops along the way were interesting - the pipeline and walking down to the Yukon River. This was a big check off my bucket list!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Awesome bucket list check off
Joan_B
, Jul 2022
Jake was an amazing guide, very knowledgeable and tried his best to make the most memorable experience for everyone!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Arctic Circle Trek
Stephanie_N
, Jul 2022
Great trip to the Arctic Circle that offers a unique perspective on just how vast Alaska is. Definitely recommend.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Tour Cancelled…
Suvobroto_G
, Jul 2022
My trip was canceled at the last minute by the tour operator saying the bus broke down, no alternate bus available.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are sorry to have cancelled your tour last minute due to mechanical issues. We were unable to foresee this issue happening and unfortunately we did not have another vehicle to be able to take this tour out as we were already booked with other tours. We have issued a full refund for this tour as promised when we spoke to you on the phone. Again we are very sorry to have had to cancel this tour last minute. Please feel free to reach out to our office during normal business hours if you would like to speak to a member of our office staff or the manager further.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A Must Do Adventure
Carlana_M
, Jun 2022
Thoroughly enjoyed our adventure to the Arctic Circle. Our guide Cole was extremely informative and a great and safe driver. I highly recommend this trip.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great
Sai_T
, Jun 2022
Even though the ride was a little bumpy, our driver Cole made sure to make it as smooth as possible. He gave enough breaks for streching legs, bathroom and food. I would definitely recommend this one.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great Service!
Bonnie_H
, Jun 2022
I’m rating this 5 stars because of the way this trip and situation was handled. Our trip was scheduled for Tuesday morning. I received a call from Viator Monday morning to confirm the reservation and to let us know that the restaurant at the Arctic Circle would be open and we could enjoy a limited lunch there if we desired. All was good with the world. Then, late Monday night, I received another call from them explaining that there was a forest fire rapidly approaching our touring spot and the Forest Service was evacuating everyone from that area…therefore our trip had unfortunately been canceled. With many apologies, they asked if other tours could be booked for us in that space, or would we prefer to receive a refund. We made our decisions and were delighted with our alternate plans. So, the world was, once again, good. It was the courtesy and concern of the employees I spoke with that impressed me. Very accommodating as well. Would I use this Company again? Absolutely! We will return to Alaska and try again to visit the Arctic Circle…and greatly look forward to making that happen. Thank you everyone for your help and assistance!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words. Here at Alaska Wildlife Guide we make all of our guests' safety our number one priority. As soon as we knew about the growing wild fire and the closures we reached out to all of our guests to be completely transparent. We dislike cancelling tours last minute but did not feel right taking our guests into potential danger and not being able to provide the best possible tour. Thank you for being so understanding with the whole situation. We are glad that you enjoyed the Beauty of the North tour as an alternate tour. And most certainly when you come back to Alaska, reach out to us so that we can make your trip to the Arctic Circle become a reality. Everyone here at Alaska Wildlife Guide thanks you again for your kind words.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great trip to arctic circle
Patti_M
, Jun 2022
We had wanted to make the trip to the arctic circle since our first trip to Alaska. Our guide/driver, Mr. Harvey, was awesome. The scenery to the arctic circle was beautiful. We saw a blond grizzly bear on the way back!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Arctic circle
Sheila_B
, Jun 2022
Enjoying the trip with the driver and others on the van, various stops, and actually being at the arctic circle. "
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
I met a couple who...
Xin_C
, Jun 2022
I met a couple who started their road trip from Key West, FL in February at Yukon River Camp site when our group was taking a break. Also there were other interesting people we met at arctic circle. It was an unforgettable journey!
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Northward!
Doug
, Jun 2022
We were three couples and a single lady who enjoyed each other’s company. Beautiful weather. Road was “smoother” than expected.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are glad that you and the rest of the guests on this tour had a good time. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel that this tour was 5 star worthy though. Please reach out to our office during normal business hours if you would like to speak further about your experience on this tour. And most certainly if you are ever visiting our great state again we hope that you would book another tour with us so that we can show you a 5 star experience.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
The delightful...
Henry_T
, Jun 2022
The delightful information that Cole gave us. The scenery was awesome. Cole was helpful and allow enough stops to make the trip pleasant and not seem very long.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Make the trip!
Casey_W
, Jun 2022
Fun day to a place most people never get to. Great tour. They even give you a certificate to say you've been there.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Worth the trip
Cynthia_T
, Jun 2022
It was a long day but worth it to see the wonderful wilderness in Alaska. our driver was very entertaining and knowledgeble.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Just very average
Pam_B
, May 2022
The scenery is very beautiful and we had an awesome weather day. But this is a very very longggg tour on really BAD roads (bumpy, dips, pot holes, and more than half the way is gravel). I was nearly sick, something that seldom happens to me while riding. There is about two tiny places to stop and purchase a drink/snack but don’t expect much! For us it was a terribly long drive just to see a sign that says “The Arctic Circle” and take a couple pics. I only recommend this if you just like to spend 14 hours in a very uncomfortable van.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We are sorry to hear that you felt this way in regards to our Arctic Circle tour. Yes, you are correct, taking this tour makes for a long day. On a good day it can take up to 6 hours to reach the Arctic Circle sign from Fairbanks, if not more depending on traffic and road conditions. We make every effort to inform our guests about the length of this tour when confirming as well as when you book this tour it does have an estimated time back which is 14 hours after the start of the tour. We also make multiple stops along the way to and from so that guests are not sitting in a van for long periods of time. Many of our roads outside of the bigger towns are not paved and are made using gravel. This can lead to the roads feeling "bumpy" as is the case with the Dalton Highway. Many guests to Alaska prefer to have our tour company drive them up to the Arctic Circle, which is a bucket list for many, as this drive can be difficult on both driver and vehicle because of the condition of the roads. Our guides are seasoned drivers of this route and make every effort to provide a comfortable ride as much as possible even with the road conditions that they are dealt. Due to staffing shortages at the rest stops along the drive, many business have had to cut back with what they are offering to travelers. For this reason our guides make a stop at a local grocery store to allow the guests to purchase lunch, snacks and drinks for the tour as well as us providing snacks and water. Our office staff makes every effort in informing our guests as well to these changes when confirming the tours. Again, we are sorry that you felt that this tour was only worthy of a 2 star review. If you would like to speak more about your experiences on this tour, please feel free to reach out to our office during normal business hours.
HelpfulHelpful

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your must-do activities without being locked in
Product code: 5957ARCTIC

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks with Transportation
Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks with Transportation

star-4.5337

12 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$235.00

star-4.590

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$288.00

star-4.5363

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$260.00

star-4.59

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00

star-4.570

1 hour 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$268.00

star-4.55

1 day 6 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$329.00

star-4.593

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-470

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$206.00

star-5634

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations