Genoa
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Do Eat Better Experience - Food Tours in Genoa

Badge of ExcellenceGenova, Italy
Likely to Sell Out

From $82.96

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Capital of Italy’s beautiful Liguria region, the coastal city of Genoa takes great pride in its local cuisine—with fresh flavors and traditional recipes handed down through the generations. On this walking tour, explore Genoa’s culture and lifestyle through its food and learn why Italian cuisine is the envy of the world. Sample pasta dishes with fresh pesto, local cheeses and seafood, and savory pastries, and taste the flavors the locals love.
  • Explore Genoa’s food culture and tradition with your guide
  • Visit local restaurants and cafes, and sample the fresh produce on offer
  • Try locally made pasta, cheeses, meats, and wine
  • Learn of the role food plays in Italian culture and society
Operated by:

What's Included

  • Food tasting
  • Lunch
  • Local guide
  • Bottled water
  • Coffee and/or Tea
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Molo Ponte Calvi
    Molo Ponte Calvi, 16124 Genova GE, Italy

    The meeting point is in front of Neptune Galleon

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


I'm pretty sure it's impossible to leave this food tour hungry, so that alone is worth it.
This was one of the best tours ever, highly recommend!
Reviews
5.0
219 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 219 reviews
Great way to see Genoa!
Joni_R, Nov 2022
We were so fortunate to end up with a private tour with Marina! She was so friendly and knowledgeable about Genoa - she knew the shopkeepers and restaurant owners and gave us good advice - not just about the food but also about other places to see in Genoa. We really enjoyed the tour!
Outstanding. Eat delicious food and see the town.
Susan_Y, Nov 2022
Outstanding! There were 12 in our group and Samantha did an excellent job navigating us through the city and the food. We ate at 5 places, great variety ranging from foccia, to fresh seafood, to three types of pasta and 4 types of foccia pizza. Finished with yummy gelato. Saw a lot of the city on the walk. Wine was included with the pasta. If you want to see the town while eating lots and lots of delicious food then this is a great tour!
Do not miss foodie experience
bzdrmom, Nov 2022
Marina was a wonderful guide...we are some of the best food I've had in Europe. She is charming and very knowledgeable. Great experience. I highly recommend this tour!!
A must for foodies visiting Genova!
Steven_M, Oct 2022
We had a lovely time on this Genova food tour. Marina was so fun to be with and was very passionate and knowledgeable about the food that we shared that day. She truly loves this city and took us through many of the back alleys of the old town of Genova. There were only four in our group, so this small number made it all the more intimate. This tour was definitely a highlight of our time in Genova.
Awesome
Misty_S, Oct 2022
If you are looking for a great food tour in Genova this is your tour. Marina knew all the little local places to eat that we would never have thought of visiting. She even gave us additional suggestions for lunch and dinner that used and we’re fabulous. The Focaccia place she took us to was the best in town. The seafood appetizers was the envy of people watching us eat. The pasta and pizza ( not the correct term for what we ate but I don’t remember the actual name so it’s pizza) had so many different flavors I didn’t know what finger to lick first. Last but certainly not least the Gelato place. Best Gelato we had in Italy and we traveled. Please ask her for suggestions you won’t be sorry. I would like to add that there was only two of us on this tour so we had her undivided attention which was AWESOME.
Not worth the money
George_M, Oct 2022
Long strenuous walks between food stops, fast walking . Food selections poor, fried and greasy and not worth the time or money
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Good morning George, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the tour and food were not to your liking. The places we go to are typical Genoese places and of high quality, and the products we serve are all respectful of the local culinary tradition. If you were expecting to eat pasta and pizza this is obviously not the case. In your specific case, you booked the street food tour and tasted fried fish, focaccia, vegetable pies, focaccia al formaggio, and ice cream. So all the typical city street food. Then in addition to being a food tour, it is a walking food tour so of course, you walk around the historic center. If you didn't want to walk, this is definitely not the tour for you. In fact, the total walking tour is a maximum of 2 kilometers (about 1.2 miles) so not even that long. Anyway, thank you for your review and hope to see you again to change your mind.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great sampling of the tastes of Genoa!
John_K, Oct 2022
Francesca was a wonderful guide through a wide range of tasty experiences. From the simple cone of fried 'whatever' fish to two very different Foccasia, to a pasta sampler to (of course) some very unique gelato, she shared her love for Genoa, the food, the culture and her desire to make us love the city as well. It was a great group of people on the tour and we had a wonderful time! Don't each much beforehand! It was a filling experience!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Beware of Viator and Do Eat Better business practices.
Wayne_P, Sep 2022
Raining heavily on our tour date and via telephone call our guide confirmed cancellation and also confirmed a refund due to weather. Now we are unable to get a refund. Viator simply refused with no explanation. Highly unethical. Consider this when booking Viator. Once they have your money, you will not see it again under any reasonable circumstances. Direct contact with Do Eat Better also resulted in refusal to refund. We received nothing yet they are keeping our money. Beware both Do Eat Better and Viator.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Good morning Wayne, I am reporting to you exactly what was also reported by Viator. Viator offers the possibility to cancel up to 24 hours before the tour (which I would say is a pretty flexible cancellation...) It was raining on the morning of the tour, but normally the tour is carried out anyway. You say that you called our guide and she told you that the tour was canceled. We find it really strange because the tour was held with other clients and your guide worked that day. So what is the point of having told you it was canceled if it was not? In fact, after a while, it even stopped raining and the sun came out. We don't want to "steal" money as you would like to imply. But clearly, we also cannot accept a cancellation 5 minutes before the start of the tour.
Delicious Tour
amoss72, Aug 2022
This was a great tour to learn about the city’s history while sampling the most delicious foods. Our guide, Guilia, was amazing! She took us to some fantastic restaurants and spots that locals frequent. We had the most delicious focaccia we’ve ever had- gelato, too! Guilia is funny and knowledgeable about Genoa. We had a great time!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Delicious street food in the old town Genova
Helen_T, Jul 2022
Our guide, Marina, shared her cuisine with 5 different stops around the old part of Genoa. Each food tasted was a local dish and we had LOTS of food. It was delicious! It was a small group of 5 which was most enjoyable. Marina was very upbeat and gave us a great intro to Genoese street food cuisine.
1 traveler found this review helpful
A culinary tour of Genoa!
Amanda_B, Jul 2022
After two days of eating in tourist traps we found the Do Eat Better tour. We SO wish we’d done this tour our first day in Genoa (not our third). Our guide, Marina, chose foods that showed off the best of REAL Ligurian cuisine. Plus she was so kind and personable. We learned so much about the food and the city. Leave room because you will eat a TON of food. DON’T MISS THIS TOUR!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Unique Way to See and Eat Your Way Through Genoa
Lani_B, Jun 2022
Unique way to see the major sights in Genoa with a local guide. The food choices were all based in history and were delicious. You will eat for 4 hours on this walking tour. DO NOT EAT BEFORE THIS TRIP. Carb extravaganza! Our guide, Valeria, was simply fantastic. She gave great insight into the food culture of Genoa, but also the modern history. Our 11-year-old also enjoyed this trip.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Cuisine and Culture Combined
Whitney_F, Jun 2022
We loved learning about the history of Genoa and the stories behind the regional street food. Everything was delicious and our guide was fantastic.
Delicioso
Okan_E, Jun 2022
Food is was amazing, loved focaccia and mixed fried seafood. Our guide was very knowledgeable and polite
1 traveler found this review helpful
Bring an appetite!
Cedric_B, Jun 2022
This was a great tour for foodies. Julia hit all the famous food aspects of Genoa. The Foccacia, Pesto, and deep fried seafood was amazing! The ice cream at the end was a great treat. The only criticism I would give is that there be a sign or something signifying that this is the tour as my family and a couple of others were wondering where the tour guide was when we met at the pickup point. Julia was quick to pick up who we were and we started our awesome food experience. Bring an appetite!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Bring your appetite!
Buddy_G, Jun 2022
Wonderful and relaxed tour around Genoa to savor dishes in several select restaurants. I thought it would be little tastes or tapas, but we received larger, almost entree sized portions! The guide was so knowledgeable about the food of the area, its history, and how it compared to different regions of Italy and France. We were able to see different sites in the city as well, as we walked from restaurant to restaurant. Small group of just 7 of us made for a more personal tour! Bravo!
Food, Food, Food
William_Z, Jun 2022
First, I would give this tour 10 stars if I could. The tour was made special by Valeria, the guide. She explained all the history of Genova and the food we were eating. The food was EXCELLENT at every location. The wine was aso very good. If all food tours were like this, I would go on them all.
Gluttony in Genova
Stuart_E, Jun 2022
Our guide, Valeria, was wonderful. She knows the city very well and kept the tour interesting. Yes, we enjoyed the food as well😉.
Fabulous Food Tour!!
Maria_G, Apr 2022
Valeria, our guide, was fabulous! Friendly, knowledgeable, humorous and she knows the neighborhood very well. The food was fabulous, and the places are those only locals would know. Caution: do not eat before this tour! The food is delicious and plentiful! Do not miss this tour, it is well worth the time and money. Thanks Valeria!! Maria and George
1 traveler found this review helpful
Food with Genoa History
Ryleigh_M, Apr 2022
An AMAZING tour. Valentina was so insightful and kind. The food was amazing and had a great variety. Got to learn about Genoa while eating delicious food. Would recommend!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Questions?

Product code: 51159P1