Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Great Smoky Mountains National Park Self Driving Tour

Swain County, United States

From $10.00

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 2 to 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Combine the convenience of a guided tour with the freedom of independent travel. Download this self-guided driving tour onto your phone and explore Great Smoky Mountains National Park while learning about Cherokee history and legends, Appalachian life, and more. Your guide will point you to all the best spots, such as Clingman's Dome, Cades Cove, and Rainbow Falls.
  • Self-guided driving tour of Great Smoky Mountains: Download onto your phone
  • Explore Great Smoky Mountains National Park at your own pace
  • No expiration: You can keep the guided tour forever
  • Get insights into the history and heritage of the Smoky Mountains

What's Included

  • Flexible Planning
  • Works Offline
  • Live GPS Map
  • Audios, Images, and Text
  • Family-friendly
  • Email, Chat, Call Support
  • Entrance Ticket
  • Vehicle Rental
  • Food, Drinks & Parking

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 7/22/2020 - 8/30/2023

    Monday - Sunday : 06:00 AM - 07:00 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No expiration — The tour comes with lifetime validity!
  • Most travelers can participate
  • After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Great Smoky Mountains National Park Self Driving Tour ?

A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas

Traveler Photos

See more
91 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews
Beautiful Mountain Tour
Kelli_F, Aug 2022
My fiancé and I really enjoyed being able to set off on our own and see the sights. We had no service on several parts of the tour so being able to download and see a map at all times was awesome. The tour guide had a lot of cool facts and we were able to venture off on our own hikes in between. 10/10 this was a great tour.
Informative easy to use...
Kathleen_B, Jun 2022
Informative easy to use would have liked the information before arriving at the spot did not always have time to hear everything
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thanks so much for the feedback! I’m always tweaking the tour to get the perfect balance between “hear in advance” and “hear onsite” so I’ll keep this mind for the next update.
Great smokies tour
John_P, Jun 2022
Very informative and easy to navigate. all the time needed for pictures for photographer husband……..
Response from Host, Jun 2022
That sounds like a perfect trip John! If you're still there, I hope you'll take my Cades Cove Driving Tour (a great place to photograph) or my other tours on your future travels!
Doesn't work in the Smoky Mountains.
Marcus_E, May 2022
It doesn't work in the Smoky Mountains, stopped working as we went higher up the mountain. I think it stopped at stop 5. So we just did our own tour.
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Thanks for the feedback, Marcus. The tour works completely offline once downloaded (so driving up the mountain doesn’t matter) and the issue may have been with your Bluetooth/audio connection (especially if driving a rental) or phone model (a very old phone which does not have an accurate GPS sensor). Either way, I’d love to be able to turn this around for you — please e-mail me for the next steps!
We were sent on back...
Susan_M, May 2022
We were sent on back roads that were not a part of the tour. We were not able to hear the narrator. It was broken up. And it got us lost.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi Susan, it sounds like you may be talking about something else. Our tour route is only on the main road through the park (no way to get lost going straight!) and the audio pipes up automatically when driving.
Too bad we spent wasted hours in the park without cell phone service. Had no idea how to get back to our hotel
Steven_M, May 2022
The narrator was interesting. We were not interested in hiking or nature walks. But the scenery was beautiful
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi Steven, I’m thrilled you enjoyed the tour but I don’t understand your comment about getting back to the hotel — is that meant for someone else?
I’m smarter!
harveyc_s, Apr 2022
Great education and simple to use but sometimes it wasn’t in sync with our locale and they should not take us to Gatlinburg during the tour instead of just ending the tour there.
Response from Host, May 2022
Thanks Harvey! I’m thrilled you got so much value from the tour! I didn’t quite follow your Gatlinburg recommendation — should I add more content there or less?
Self guided tour allowed independence during tour while learning about history of area. Amazing!
Kelli_C, Apr 2022
We loved this self guided tour and the flexibility it allowed. We learned so much about the area while having the ability to stop and take in the beautiful sights. Well worth the $10 for the app.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
The Great Smoky Mountains are incredibly beautiful! I’m that our self-guided audio tour added a lot to your experience. We also have more tours across the country at Thanks!
Use only if you need stories
Amy_S, Apr 2022
It was very difficult to get to the 'start' of this tour and get the app started. We were lost for 2 hours - because once you take a wrong turn in the mountains, there really is no turning back. That pretty much took up most of our day and put us in a bad mood to even continue with the rest of the drive. Once you get to the start and get orientated, it was pleasant but honestly, it just takes you on the one road up and down the mountain, you could do yourself. The stories are nice though.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
This tour is an audio guide for your drive through the park — so I’m glad you found our stories pleasant! If our description is unclear, please let us know. Since the park has only one road through the mountain, the tour begins at either end (both addresses are clearly provided). Simply select which end you’re starting at (again, both options are in the app once you download) and start. There’s just one road, so it’s straightforward!
Very good commentary and guide
Ali_S, Mar 2022
Very good audio tour. Always remember to download the tour operator’s app as per their email and the tours when you have good internet connection. Signals might not be consistent in Smokey Mountains especially TMobile is almost non existent up there. Very nice commentary, great details of the history/background of each milestone throughout the tour from Gatlinburg to Cherokee.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thanks so much Sara! I’m so glad you enjoyed the Great Smoky tour! I’ll look into some of the pin placements for the reverse version — there wasn’t anything wrong during my last test, but it’s always worthwhile to check again. If you remember the specific spots, I can focus on those (I’m available over the Action Tour Guide support e-mail). Thanks again!
Very good but there could be some improvements
Sara_S, Mar 2022
We started at the “end” of the trail and there was an option on the driving trail to do it this way. However, there were several times where the tour was off and told us about a site after we had already passed it. It was like they tried to use the recording for both directions rather than recording it a second time. Overall we really enjoyed it though.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thank you so much! I’m thrilled that you enjoyed our Smokies self-guided tour! And yes — downloading ahead of time due to signal issues is critical. Excellent advice. I hope you get the chance to try out some of our other tours across the country on your next vacations. Thanks again!
Great experience
Nirdesh_M, Mar 2022
Great way to cover the park for a first timer! The app works offline after you get to the starting point, which was a lifesaver.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Thanks so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed our Great Smoky tour and downloading beforehand is definitely essential because there’s no signal! I hope you get the chance to try another Action Tour Guide tour on your next adventure!
Couldn’t use
Tamara_B, Feb 2022
This is the Newfoundland Gap route only. Prior to purchase it was difficult to know what route it covered. We did Newfound Gap with a tour, but would have loved to listen to the history after the fact. Appears you can only access while physically at the location. I’m disappointed by lack of transparency
Response from Host, Feb 2022
This appears to be a review for something else. Our tour covers the Smokies from Gatlinburg to Cherokee and can be played either on-site or at home.
Would definitely recommend this audio tour.
Barry_M, Jan 2022
We attempted to start the morning off with a visit to the Great Smoky Mountains BUT we didn’t get too far. Due to the snow/ice/downed trees that occurred a few days prior, the roads were still closed so we rearranged our itinerary and luckily were able to visit later in the day! The information provided in the audio was very interesting throughout the drive. More snow on the way tomorrow!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thanks, Barry! I’m so glad they cleared up the roads in time for an afternoon visit. The park looks amazing in the snow!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Godly sights
Lennie_D, Jan 2022
Godly sights, needed some nature, got it and history too. People were mostly patient. Some of the tour was 'road closed'. Wanted to start in Cherokee but link to phone picked up where we were. If we wanted to catch up, we would stop and listen for a bit. Skipped section about the fires..last year's in No Ca heard enough about fires forever.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thanks, Lennie! I’m glad you enjoyed the tour! You can use this guide again if you visit in the summer when the winter closures are lifted! We also have more tours at for your future travels. Thanks again!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Gorgeous views!
Terrena_S, Nov 2021
My breath was taken away by the gorgeous views of the Smokies! Definitely recommend. Learned so much about the Cherokee tribe during this tour and I loved it.
Response from Host, Nov 2021
Yay, thank you so much! I’m thrilled that our tour was able to add so much to your Smokies trip, and help make it a truly special day! The park is absolutely gorgeous and jam-packed with wonderful stories hidden behind the scenery. We have more self-guided audio tours of other parks and cities across the country at Thanks again!
1 traveler found this review helpful
A nice idea whose time has not yet arrived.
Tonya_W, Nov 2021
Very hard to use this app. Most of the roadway is one way. One loop is only 6 miles long, but takes a full hour to drive. We desperately wanted to view the thousand drips, and although we listened carefully and watched carefully, somehow we did not see it. Nothing was easy. We spent a day fighting with it, missing things we wanted to see, and could not feasibly return to. We got so frustrated after missing the thousand drips, we just gave up and went back to our hotel. We drove past less than half of the attractions. I would have been better off with a transcript. It is suppose to sync with your navigation system, but that is not really refined yet. It is a nice idea whose time has not yet arrived.
Response from Host, Nov 2021
Hi Tonya, I’m so sorry to hear about your experience! Please keep an eye out for an email with the next steps. I would like to address some points as well — Great Smoky is not one-way. We offer bonus stories along the Great Smoky tour for the Roaring Fork Trail Detour, which is a one-way loop. Thousand Drips is a waterfall along Roaring Fork and is visible right off the side of the road. Additionally, the app displays this waterfall stop right on the Map View and ListView. And lastly, a transcript is already available for every stop (select the transcript icon in the app).
Lost in Gatlinburg.
ELLIS_T, Nov 2021
What I remember most is h Getting lost in Gatlinburg. This was the program's fault. It said "continue the tour." It didn't say turn around.
Response from Host, Nov 2021
Hi Ellis, I’m sorry you got lost but I’m glad you still enjoyed the tour. Our Smokies tour is mainly a straight, one-directional path through the park. After most audios, the tour asks you to “look at the map when it pops back up and follows the route to the next stop”. There are no u-turns. I’d love to understand exactly what happened — please feel free to contact us via our website.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Smokey birthday
Jennifer_C, Nov 2021
Gorgeous views! Great information and great stories! Really enjoyed the sunset at the top! I go hiking trails!
Response from Host, Nov 2021
Thanks, Jennifer! I’m so glad you enjoyed the stories and the views! It’s definitely a fantastic park with tons to do. We have more self-guided tours all over the country at Thanks again!
1 traveler found this review helpful
History on the move
Dawn_M, Nov 2021
We loved all the extra information we learned as we drove along. The beauty of the mountains is breathtaking. Another neat spot was standing where FDR stood. I wouldn't have known that info if the app hadn't shared.
Response from Host, Nov 2021
Thanks Dawn! I’m thrilled that we were able to make your visit to Great Smoky so special! I also love being “in the footsteps” of history. We have similar self-guided tours of other parks and historical sites at Thanks again!
1 traveler found this review helpful


Product code: 267535P22