Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Coral Reef Private Snorkel Tour at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park

Badge of ExcellenceKey Largo, United States
Likely to Sell Out

From $624.00

per group (up to 6)

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours 30 minutes (Approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


One of the best ways to experience Key Largo is by getting out onto the water. Big boat tours tend to feel crowded so opt for a private tour for a more personal experience. This private tour takes you snorkeling on the coral reefs at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park where you'll see a wide variety of marine life, from parrot fish to southern stingrays.
  • Go snorkeling in the turquoise waters off Key Largo
  • Private tour, exclusively for your group, ensures a personal experience
  • Learn about local marine life and coral from your guide
  • Convenient Key Largo departure and return point

What's Included

  • Bottled water
  • Soda/Pop
  • Snacks
  • Use of Snorkeling equipment
  • Photo Package
  • Reef Safe Sunscreen

    Departure & Return

    Departure Point

    • 527 Caribbean Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037, USA
      We are located in Key Largo Resort Marina in a slip between Holiday Inn Express and Skippers Dockside with free parking in the back of the Holiday Inn Express or Skippers Dockside once parked just a short walk down to the marina.

    Return Details

    • Returns to original departure point

    What To Expect

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Must know how to swim to snorkel.
    • Must be 5 years or older to snorkel.
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • Please arrive 30 minutes before departure time.
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    Operated by Snorkel the Keys

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    about cancellations

    Frequently Asked Questions

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

    Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Coral Reef Private Snorkel Tour at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park ?

    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    See all safety measures taken by Coral Reef Private Snorkel Tour at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park .

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips

    The flexibility and first class experience is very worth it.
    22 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers
    Showing 1-7 of 22 reviews
    Just okay
    Nicole_C, Dec 2021
    Our snorkel excursion was just okay. The boat captain didn't seem to be a people person, wasn't interested in small talk, interacted with us only when necessary, and lacked the enthusiasm we have experienced on similar excursions. He seemed annoyed we brought beer to consume after snorkeling. We received a long series of instructions on how to call the coast guard, followed by another long series of instructions on where to snorkel, followed by yet another lengthy set of instructions on how to use the underwater camera. Due to the information overload, when we got into the water, none of us had grasped how to use the camera and each of us hoped someone else knew how. To make this process better, the captain could have laminated the instructions on how to call the coast guard in an emergency, so he could have briefly went over them, and told us where to locate them. Then, he could have asked who will be using the camera and made sure the person who was going to use it understood how it worked. We were surprised nobody went into the water with us to guide us to where the fish were. It was difficult to know where to go for snorkeling, because the boat, our point-of-reference, kept turning around. It was just okay, and it didn't seem like Captain Bob wanted us there.
    Response from Host, Dec 2021
    I would like to start by saying I will not compromise on the safety of my guests it is required by USCG that I go over the safety items on the boat and how to use them and takes less than a few minutes. I do not offer a free in-water guide and nowhere in the listing does it say that because the locations I go to are right at the reef, and with a short briefing, it hasn't been an issue plus I don't know any other tours that do that here. I always show the group how to use the camera because usually, they will pass it around the 1-minute explanation on the two buttons hasn't been a problem. When your group of 6 arrived at the marina carrying beer the only comment, I made was that you couldn't drink before getting in the water to snorkel that is when I was informed that 3 of the guests were not snorkeling, I also informed you that it was going to be wavy out and gave you the option of canceling with a full refund. I always talk and give information on the way out, but I did not want to be rude and interrupt your conversations and it already seemed that you were annoyed with me, and it had nothing to do with me not wanting you there I always want my guests to have a safe and fun experience, but I also respect their privacy. Since it was wavy out and we could only go to the one location on a protected reef I gave you a refund for the difference I feel I did my best to give your group a good experience and was flexible because of the conditions on that day. Capt. Bob
    Captain Bob has a...
    BarbieBarbara_H, Dec 2021
    Captain Bob has a beautiful boat and fantastic equipment. He adjusted our trip due to conditions and we were able to have a great experience. Our only compliant is that he was not very friendly. All of the reviews were excellent, except for the one with a family and we were also a family. 12,14 year old kids. Maybe he is better with adults.
    Response from Host, Dec 2021
    Hi Barbie, I'm glad you had a great experience I do my best to make sure everyone has a good time unfortunately the week of your trip I had to put my dog down due to age I rescued her right after I came to the Keys in 2010 she was the only family I have here and I took it very hard I always do my best to separate my personal life from my business but this extremely difficult I do apologize but hope you can understand. Thank you, Capt. Bob
    Great trip
    William_W, Jul 2021
    Trip was great. Took my two granddaughters out and Capt Bob was extremely kind and accommodating. Already talking about our next trip
    Response from Host, Jul 2021
    Thank you, I'm glad you had a great time and enjoyed seeing the reef and the marine life. I look forward to seeing you on your next snorkel adventure! Capt. Bob
    Just do it, don't do the big public tours
    Ryan_T, Jun 2021
    If you're debating a public tour or this, stop. Captain Bob is amazing. The flexibility and first class experience is very worth it. Make sure to confirm for 3.5 hrs
    Response from Host, Jun 2021
    Thanks, Ryan I glad you had a great time on your snorkel adventure. Capt. Bob
    Great trip
    JLM, Feb 2021
    Knowledgeable captain, great communication leading up to and during the trip, boat clean and in excellent condition. Highly recommend. We had a great time.
    Response from Host, Feb 2021
    Thank you, I'm glad you had a great time and liked the boat on your tour. Capt. Bob
    Snorkeling in Paradise
    Angela_N, Sep 2020
    The three snorkel locations were beyond our best expectations, Captain was knowledgeable and prepared! We were so impressed, will book again and again.
    Response from Host, Sep 2020
    Thank you! I'm really glad you had a great time looking forward to seeing you next time. Capt. Bob
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Private snorkeling charter
    Heath_O, Aug 2020
    Captain Bob was awesome and the reefs were truly amazing. Very clean boat and beverages provided. Highly recommend this private charter!
    Response from Host, Aug 2020
    Thank you, Heath, I'm glad you enjoyed the beautiful reefs and marine life here in Key Largo. Capt. Bob


    Product code: 214152P1