Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond

Badge of ExcellenceKyoto, Japan

From $119.00

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


Get an insiders' eye perspective on Kyoto on this walking tour that combines a food tour with anthropological insight. Wander through the city's streets and understand the nighttime entertainment scene, from geiko (geisha) to hostesses. Afterward, sample regional specialties accompanied by included drinks at standing bars/restaurants.
  • Get insight into the nighttime economies of Kyoto, from traditional geisha to modern-day hostesses
  • Sample regional specialties at locals' bars/restaurants
  • Get an even deeper insight into the city's culture from your guide
  • Includes two alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages
Operated by:

What's Included

  • Dinner
  • Two Alcoholic or Non-Alcoholic Beverages (one in each restaurant)
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Drinks beyond the two included. Additional drinks can be purchased directly from the restaurants if you wish.

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Gion-Shijo Station
    Kawabatacho, Higashiyama Ward, Kyoto, 605-0076, Japan

    Departure Point: Exit 5 (at street level) of Gion Shijo Station. This is the NW corner of the intersection, which is on the river side. There is a statue of a geisha here too.

Start time

06:30 PM

End point

  • Kyoto-Kawaramachi Station
    Japan, 〒600-8001 Kyoto, Shimogyo Ward, Otabichō, 河原町西入真町52

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 4 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • The minimum drinking age in Japan is 20 years old.
  • Tours limited to 6, but groups up to 8 are welcome in cases where the entire group is the same reservation.
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Vegetarians happily accommodated.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Gratuities are uncommon in Japan, however if you really enjoyed your time and want to show your guide how much you appreciate them, they’ll be extremely happy!
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See more
93 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 93 reviews
A good look at Gion
Thomas_J, Jan 2023
A fun walk through Gion followed by some local eats in Nishiki. Lots of history, delicious flavors, and colorful sights. A little more walking than expected, but not too bad. Some of the sights are far apart and there’s some pauses in the action as you make your way to the next spot.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
We're not sure if ours is the tour you actually took since our tour does not go to Nishiki at all, and we certainly don't eat any of the food sold from the vendors there. That said, all tours in Kyoto are probably a bit more walking than expected :) We don't think ours is a particularly long walk, but of course each person has different standards for that!
Fabulous time
Bianca_N, Jan 2023
We really loved the shared meal bit as we got to experience Japan in a way we wouldn’t have done by ourselves with other people from across the world.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Japan. About half our time is spent at restaurants, and half exploring Kyoto's sights.
Awesome experience!
Stacy_J, Dec 2022
We learned a lot! Martin was an excellent guide - informative, fun, and entertaining! I loved that he pointed out great picture taking opportunities as well!
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Stacy, thank you for this excellent review of our Kyoto evening culture and food tour. It always brightens our day to see a review such as this. Thank you for choosing this experience, and thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Great Insight of Kyoto's Hidden Gems
Aleke_K, Dec 2022
Our tour guide Anna showed us great hidden gems in Kyoto with local food tastings. I would highly recommend this tour for first time visitors.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Hi Aleke! Thank you so much for writing this super positive review! We appreciate you taking the time, and are very happy to hear you enjoyed the evening so much.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great locally run tour with history and variety!
Zach, Dec 2022
The tour was great! Our guide a Kyoto local with an interesting Irish accent led us on a walk through the Gion area which was beautiful and shared some insights into the history of the area. After a short walk we had a wide selection of food (in the photo and other food) followed by exploring some of the older looking alleys before finishing our night at a small, intimate bar/food place. Out guide was super friendly, personable. Highly recommend this tour for those who want to see the area more broadly and try a variety of food! Food highlights: Mushy tofu (forgot it's real name but it was great), mochi with pickled leaf, potato flower/seeds at the last stop.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Zach, thank you so much for writing this fantastic review! Your guide Anna has one Japanese parent and one Irish one, so she's a great match for visitors such as yourself that want to know all about Kyoto. And by keeping our groups to six or less, our guests are always sure to get lots of personal attention. Also glad you enjoyed the food so much! Kyoto loves its tofu, so I'm not sure which style you got, but with 10-15 types of food on tap each night, our guests always seem to find something they love :)
Great experience with great tour guide
MingJie_H, Nov 2022
Andres was a very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Loved his enthusiasm and hospitality. In short, it was a great experience and my wife and I loved the tour so much!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Humble thanks for your very kind review. Leaving our guests with warm memories of a night in Kyoto is our goal, and it pleases us to no end when we see reviews such as yours. Best wishes in your further explorations, be they in Japan or otherwise.
Fun tour through a beautiful city
Patrick_P, Nov 2022
Our family had a wonderful time with Kevin and the tour. He was very insightful by explaining the nightlife of the Japanese people and social interactions that take place. We walked around Kyoto tasting and drinking a bit all along the way. Kyoto doesn’t make itself hard to be memorable and the tour enhances it.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi Patrick! Thank you for the fantastic review, and for taking the time to write it in the first place. We aim to provide tours with insight and lots of good food, all with an upbeat, entertaining vibe. Glad it hit the spot for your family.
Over priced and very basic.
Jeff_L, Nov 2022
For over 15000 Yen a person, one would have expect more than 2 stops at local cafe type places. Guide is not a local thus not much introduction on Japan culture or history.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi Jeff, The tour is 12,500 yen per person, though exchange rates can cause some fluxation in that. In the case of a solo traveler, we charge about an extra 2,000 yen so that we only barely go in the red if it ends up being only that one guest. Perhaps the cost of doing business in Japan is more than you realize..? We pay our guides more than other companies, and specifically state that we don't want tips. At any rate, all of our guides are very well versed in Japanese history and culture, and all have lived in Kyoto or very close by for years. I am not sure what meets your standard for "local," but when we share the kind of stuff we talk about on the tour with our Japanese friends, they are shocked we know so much that they don't. In all the reviews we've had across our various sales outlets, I don't believe we've ever had someone say our tour is overpriced. We keep groups to no more than six. We serve food that is not just fried chicken and some other cheapo stuff. We have truly bilingual guides. We stand by our product, and are sorry you did not get the value from it that the vast majority of our guests do. Many other tours do not accept solo travelers. Although we do charge a bit more for them, we welcome solo travelers with open arms.
History & Food!
Neeraj_S, Nov 2022
Loved the cultural aspect of this tour. The other ones we have been on were just food focused, so we enjoyed learning about some of the history of Kyoto. We had Andres as our tour guide, he was so friendly and very knowledgeable. He even texted us the next day with some restaurant recommendations near where we were staying. He had a great sense of humor and created a chill vibe for our group. The food and drinks were good and he made sure we were stuffed before we left for the night. We were very glad to do this tour on our first night as it made the next few days in Gion easier to self guide. Thank you Andres!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi Neeraj_S, Thank you for the top flight review! We're especially happy to see that you appreciated our balance of food and cultural insight - and that we don't skimp on either! Andres is a real pro when it comes to showing out guests a nice night out in Kyoto. We're so happy to have been able to host you and create good memories.
Nighttime tour
Johanna_S, Nov 2022
Kevin took us to to small bars/restaurants on tiny side streets that we would have never found on our own. It was great to be shown around at night.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi Johanna, So happy you enjoyed my tour! :) Taking guests in small groups to hidden and very local spots is pretty much what we live for lol Do come back again soon! There's so much more of Japan to discover.
Fun delicious interesting
Ruben_A, Nov 2022
A very nice visit of Gyon with two delicious and satisfying stops for food and drink. Andres was simply fantastic funny and knowledgeable
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Hi Ruben, Thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our mix of Gion and other cultural sights combined with tasty food and drink. Also very happy to hear you enjoyed Andrés as well! Happy travels!
Fun tour experiencing a...
Brigitte_J, Oct 2022
Fun tour experiencing a variety of Japanese food styles while touring interesting spots. One suggestion we made to our tour guide, Brian, was that they should choose one sit down eating spot rather than all stand-up locations - especially after a day of touring, or a day of travel. Otherwise, it was great!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hi Brigitte! Thank you for the top marks review. We do try and find ways for our guests to sit down (usually at one restaurant we can), but it seems that your particular evening was a bit short on that front. Sorry about that. Still, we are happy to hear you enjoyed food and interesting spots along the way. We hope to see you again someday.
Worth it!
Rachel_J, Mar 2022
Mardi was a great guide! She is a native English speaker and was able to answer all of our questions and much more! The food was great. We tried lots of things we never would have known to order on our own.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Rachel_J, thanks for taking the time to leave us this flattering review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the evening.
Really engaging and informative tour with some great food!
Ben_O, Dec 2020
Wonderful Night time tour through the streets of Kyoto that was equal parts informative and funny. So many great historical, cultural, religious and political insights accompanied with some excellent food stops! Definitely worth booking, particularly if it is your first time in Kyoto like it was ours
Response from Host, Dec 2020
Ben, you two were such great fun, and to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much makes me even happier! We do strive for that perfect balance of information, cultural exploration, and deliciously different food and drink (without being too crazy!). Thanks for your review, and the glowing recommendation!
Raymond_D, Mar 2020
Our guide was very good with lots of information on areas.However we had this tour canceled because the company said they could not get produce ? So it was booked and canceled in one day .We agreed to go the next night and we were sent an email to say we would both be given an extra drink .Very awkward as we in a group of other travelers.Our poor guide had not been communicated with this by company and at the end when we asked for it he rang the company who ssid yes if we went back to other dinner venue Disappointed and feel we should be given a credit from company .Not a nice way to end the night.We also felt for the price there should have been more food. Not our guides fault at all .We would have to question the company cancellation in the first place as we find it hard to believe Gion area had run out of food ! Still waiting to hear bout our drink refund .Disappointing
Response from Host, Mar 2020
We are all sorry to hear your experience did not go as well as hoped. We are constantly looking at ways to improve, so with that in mind, I would like to address each point you raised. First of all, on the plus side, I am happy to hear that you felt the guide to be a very good one, with lots of information. As for the problems, we asked you if you could switch your tour to one day later than your originally requested day. This had nothing to do with "produce". I believe you were told we did not have a supplier in place which, admittedly, was a confusing word for our admin staff to use with you. There was no shortage of food in Gion; this was all simply a miscommunication. Looking back, the person you spoke to should have more clearly and simply stated that we did not have a guide for you. We have since had a discussion with that person about this incident. (The guide that was scheduled was not feeling well, and in these times, erring on the side of caution seemed best.) Incidentally, it should be noted that you reserved your tour with us mere hours before it was to begin, which is why it was hard to find someone else. We did try our best though. At any rate, you graciously accepted the revised departure date (which was for the following day), and we told you we'd buy you each a drink in appreciation. The offer was for an extra drink during the tour, not, as you later requested while on tour, a private extension of the tour during which you would be taken to a new bar for a drink. I am sorry if you felt it would have been awkward to enjoy that second drink at one of the venues while on the tour proper, but in our experience, there is plenty of time at each venue to have two drinks, and in fact it is not unusual for our guests to order an additional drink on their own while at a given stop. As for giving you a credit, the guide does not recall having a discussion with you about that. If you wanted a credit for the value of the drink, you were welcome to contact us about that. You did not purchase the tour through our website, and we cannot give partial credits via the supplier you used, but if that topic came up during the end of night discussion and phone call, we would have most certainly authorized the guide to just give you the equivalent amount in cash. Finally, we've had a word with the guide about there not being enough food served. It is unusual for us to hear this, but it is a completely fair criticism on your part. You should not leave a food tour feeling there wasn't enough food. The guide should have asked if everyone had enough food, and then ordered more if the answer wasn't a solid yes. We generally get excellent reviews for this tour, and I am being completely genuine when I speak of the sadness we feel due to the way your extra drink was handled (or, not handled). It gives me some solace to know that you enjoyed the tour for the most part, but believe me when I say we are deeply sorry for the part that went awry.
What a fantastic experience
Judith_R, Jan 2020
What a fantastic experience! We did the walking tour on New Year's Eve and it set us up for the best New Year's Eve celebration ever. Our guide showed us some of the hidden treasures of Gion, and introduced us to the more quirky area within Gion, where the izakaya's are cheaper and more local's attend. Had we not gone on the tour, we would have never known about this particular area, which ended up being a highlight of our holiday and the cause of some very sore heads the next day!!
Response from Host, Jan 2020
Hi Judith, What a fantastic story -- at least until the hangover part! We're so happy we were able to be part of your New Year's Eve, and even better, such a memorable event of your trip. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it.
Great small group tour
Kimberly_W, Dec 2019
I really enjoyed the night foodie tour. It was a great way to see the city and some temples and try food at restaurants I’d never ventured to on my own. The food was delicious and the temple tour was cool too. I felt like I learned so much more about Japan than I expected to on this tour. Mardi, our tour guide, was lovely. She has such a knowledge of the country and area and her Japanese is so impressive! She also gave me tips on other night illuminations I should visit while in Kyoto. I would highly recommend this tour! Ask for Mardi!
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Hi Kim, Thanks for your review! We're so happy to hear that it was a such a nice night for you. Learning, exploring, and eating are treated with equal care on our night out, and I'm glad this combination was pleasing to you. Mardi will the thrilled to hear the kind praise you have given her!
amy_J, Nov 2019
Thoroughly underwhelmed with this tour and the tour guide. The food and locations we stopped were very good, but the guide’s style was a little abrasive and we were very anxious for the tour to end. It was a strange experience to have a guide who led with sarcasm and disparaging remarks about a lot of what she showed us, including a few odd comments about us being midwesterners. This was especially strange considering she was from Texas. Save your money. It’s definitely better spent elsewhere.
Response from Host, Dec 2019
Dear Travel Volumes, Unfortunately, I think this was the case of a connection just not being made. Mardi has thrilled hundreds of guests with her style (which, I would venture to say is more observational humor than sarcasm or disparaging remarks), and she has a warm heart. This does not mean that what you say is irrelevant by any means. She should have been more perceptive and considerate. As for her joke about potato salad and Midwesterners, the joke is that Japanese like potato salad quite a bit, and are a little tickled by the idea of serving it to Westerners. Obviously, she did not handle that nuance very well. Please rest assured that Mardi and I have chatted about being more conscientious and how to more astutely handle situations. We appreciate you having chosen us in Kyoto, and apologize for the disappointment.
Fun & worthwhile
Kent_B, Oct 2019
Andres was a thoughtful and erudite host. He gave us meaningful context on Kyoto history, and showed us some fun local color, vibes, and food. Recommended!
A trip in to the night life
Nigel_C, Oct 2019
A warm and intermittently wet evening took nothing away from the interesting tour Maddy took us on through the back streets of historical Tokyo. It is amazing what is hidden in these seemingly innocuous little streets right next to the front line commercial area. Maddy was a knowledgeable and fun person to have as the guide. We were also able to try some new food we would not normally have selected. Highly recommended if you are in Kyoto.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Hi! Thanks for the flattering review of our Kyoto night tour! Mardi's got all kinds of knowledge about the history and culture up her sleeve, and she's got a great pulse on good food too :) We appreciate you taking the time to write this resounding endorsement!


Product code: 33348P10