Lima
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Lima: Palomino Islands Excursion & Swimming with Sea Lions with Hotel Transfers

Badge of ExcellenceLima, Peru

From $110.00

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Cruise off the coast of Lima during a half-day tour of five islands. Sail aboard a luxury yacht and relax with provided snacks and beverages while you sightsee. Admire the beautiful natural scenery en route to El Camotal, San Lorenzo, and the Palomino Islands. Then slip on a provided wetsuit and life jacket before you frolic in the Pacific Ocean with sea lions.
  • Island sightseeing cruise and sea lion swim from Lima
  • Sail aboard a yacht to the Palomino Islands and more
  • Get a close encounter with regional marine life and birdlife
  • Don a wetsuit to swim near playful sea lions in the Pacific
  • Round-trip private hotel transfer included

What's Included

  • Hotel Pickup and Drop Off (Minivan or SUV).
  • Tour Escort/Host.
  • Professional Tour Guide.
  • Wetsuit & Lifejacket.
  • Snacks & Drinks on board.
  • Admission Tickets & Taxes.
  • Permanent Assistance and Emergency Equipment.
  • Gratuities (Optional).
  • Souvenir photos (Available to purchase).

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point
Type to search

Start time

09:00 AM

Pickup details

• Pickup and drop off available from/to any hotel or apartment located in the areas of Miraflores, San Isidro, Barranco, Surco or Cercado de Lima.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Have a light breakfast before the tour
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Lima: Palomino Islands Excursion & Swimming with Sea Lions with Hotel Transfers?

A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Lima: Palomino Islands Excursion & Swimming with Sea Lions with Hotel Transfers?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Lima: Palomino Islands Excursion & Swimming with Sea Lions with Hotel Transfers?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Lima: Palomino Islands Excursion & Swimming with Sea Lions with Hotel Transfers?

A:The policies on staff health & safety are:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


Bring towels, hat, sunglasses, sunscreen, and warm clothing, as well.
Take the sea sickness pill offered, it gets rough, 2/7 people got sick.
Reviews
4.5
82 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 82 reviews
Amazing
Angela_w, Jul 2022
Amazing experience. Water was freezing but once you become numb, I mean used to the water, it Is an unforgettable experience. Highly recommend!
Trip was a disaster
MaryAnnBromley, Jun 2022
Seeing the penguins was the best part of the trip. However, I did not like that the boat captain kept moving the boat closer to a mother penguin when she was clearly distressed and trying to protect her young. Sea Lion swimming was swimming with jellyfish; being dropped off too far from the sea lions and a boat ladder that was lost at sea which meant that people had to be literally and painfully dragged back into the baot
1 traveler found this review helpful
Memorable experience!
Louisa_G, Jun 2022
This was a beyond memorable experience that I will never forget! The operator was responsive and came to pick me and another person up to go. Had a great tour of the islands (the guide knew a lot about animals) and the sea lions were amazing! The guide also gave great, clear instructions on what to/not to do. The only reason I mark it down a star is because essentially I paid for the tour and overpaid for a ride there and back. The guy was lovely, but could have gotten myself there and back and saved a lot more
Unforgettable experience.
Istvan_P, May 2022
Swimming with 20-30 sealions 2 meters away and seeing penguins + seeing the diversity of the islands passed by.
1 traveler found this review helpful
My only complaint is that...
jennai_c, May 2022
My only complaint is that I purchased a 125 dollar trip on a yacht. The yacht was unavailable so we went on the 72 dollar trip on a speed boat and only got a $ 20 refund. Rip off. Trip was nice though.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Would do it again
Rc_b, Mar 2022
The explanation of how to conduct oneself, and what to expect could have been more thorough. It seemed a little non-chalant. Make sure to bring your own waterproof cover for your phone, as the ones they sell do not see robust enough to protect the phone if one chose to swim with it. The company should have a representative taking pictures of patrons, and/or video taping it to sell after the fact. Also, there should be some type of warning for overweight people regarding the wetsuit and lifejackets. I was trying to help a patron who was overweight get himself safely into his gears, and it was not working. I felt badly for him as it was borderline whether he could get in and swim, and I felt like he really wanted to do so, but was scared/reluctant and I wasn't going to push for that to happen.
Not exactly what I paid for but still a good day
Patricia_G, Dec 2021
Overall I really enjoyed the experience but I did not exactly get what I paid for when it came to this tour. I was picked up by a personable driver and taken to a plaza in Callao to await the boat but was dropped off maybe 45 minutes before I was actually supposed to meet the boat. The person I met who gave me my wrist band didn't speak much English but we were able to communicate enough to determine what time the boat was going to leave and that he would find me when the time came. While waiting I made friends with a nice elderly Peruvian man who helped me practice my Spanish and told me about the Palomino Islands. When it was time for the tour to actually start we boarded a smaller boat and tendered out to the boat we would be using for the tour. Only one of the staff members spoke English and I don't necessarily expect others to know English in a Spanish speaking country but I specifically chose this tour because it was advertised as being conducted in English. I was one of two people on the tour who did not speak Spanish, the other person had a friend to translate for them and as I was a solo traveler I did not have that benefit. Most of the tour was conducted in Spanish with the one english speaking guide ( who was lovely and dressed as Captain Jack Sparrow ) occasionally pausing his presentation to provide some English narration. I heard my name a few times while he was addressing the rest of the guests and everyone laughed. I know this was all in good fun but it gave me a new appreciation for monolingual people in the U.S. While I believe the humor was good natured I can't be absolutely certain and it was a very wild and isolating experience. There were no snacks and drinks provided on board as the description advertised which was fine, I wasn't really hungry or thirsty. They only had standard size life jackets and wetsuits so if you are like me and exceed the standard size I suggest bringing your own as it was a little uncomfortable. The experience with the sea lions was incredible. It smelled really bad but they got really close and it was absolutely delightful. Be careful jumping into the water, I nearly lost the phone I wore around my neck when I did.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Dear Patricia: We apologize for the differences on the itinerary and for the lack of snacks and drinks on the tour. We are glad you enjoyed the tour anymays.
A Remarkable experience
Karen_R, Oct 2021
The tour was great fun! There was initial disappointment because an email from the company advised us that, due to mechanical failures on the yacht, we would be traveling by speedboat instead. I don’t know what the yacht experience would have been like so I’m only guessing that it was probably more spacious and perhaps offered a few more conveniences. Our group, however, was just great. The other travelers were fun and we had a great time visiting the islands. Of course, swimming with the sea lions was a highlight. I’m so glad I did not miss out on this experience. Our tour guide, Rodrigo, did a great job and made sure we were always informed and comfortable.
Amazing!
Isabell_S, May 2021
What a great experience! It’s definitely worth going! The tour guide was so helpful to make sure you make the most out of your experience!
Amazing
John_P, May 2021
Amazing! Thousands of sea lions! Swam WITH them, not near them! Long boat ride, but worth it. Friendly staff and friendly sea lions.
Disappointing
SES, Feb 2020
After booking the tour, the registration for the trip was not well organized. We were 1 hour late Leaving the dock for an other 2 hour boat ride to Palomino island. The Boat moored quite a distance from the sea lions. So it was a bit of a swim to get NEAR them. We did not swim WITH them. It was amazing to see such a large gathering of sea lions in one Place
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Dear passenger: Unfortunately there was an sports event that day that delayed our tour. We are very sorry for the inconveniences.
Great tour but book outside of Viator for a better deal on the exact same experience
mattbuccelli, Jan 2020
This was a really great tour and unique experience and the whole crew was really good. We had an excellent and super knowledgeable guide and everyone else from the water guide to the photographer to the boat captain were super friendly and professional. My only complaint is actually with Viator. You can get this exact same tour with the exact same operator (Vista Adventures) for at least $50 less on other tour sites like GetYourGuide whereas Viator marked it up to $125. I’m feeling a bit of regret for not doing some additional research before I booked, but this also feels a little bit sketchy on Viator’s part. So in summary - do this amazing tour, but book it with somebody else besides Viator (or book through the provider directly, which is better for them) because Viator charges an insane markup. Don’t make the same mistake as me!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Awesome Experience
buabahn, Nov 2019
This was one of the neatest experiences of my life. The sea lions were curious and friendly and got pretty close. Our guide was knowledgeable and told us stories about the nearby islands as we drove past them. The ride out to Palamino Island took about 2 hours and the ocean was rough. They did provide anti nausea medication at the beginning of the trip though. The employee that went in the water with us, was great too. He did such a great job of helping the weak swimmers and keeping us all safe.
Great experience.
benjamin_e, Oct 2019
Well looked after by the guide and crew onboard. Swimming with sealions was amazing. The water is quite cold even with the wetsuit. Definitely a worthwhile experience not to be missed. Thank you.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed this experience.
Fantastic crew and cruise!
tpm5150, Sep 2019
40-minute drive from Miraflores to La Punta port. Beautiful architecture in this coastal city and former capital region. Two and a half hour cruise to Palomino Island to swim with the sea lions, apx 30-min stop, then back to port. Salty snack lunch and beverages served on cruise back. Excellent crew will take care of you in all aspects of tour: local knowledge, safety, position you for action photos with sea lions, and comfort if motion sickness results. ** TAKE MOTION SICKNESS MEDICATION PRIOR TO CRUISE ... SEAS COULD BE ROUGH UPON APPROACH AND EXIT FROM ISLANDS **. Bring towels, hat, sunglasses, sunscreen, and warm clothing, as well. Nice trip!
1 traveler found this review helpful
AMAZING EXPERIENCE!
Tonya C, Aug 2019
First, I'll begin by saying I cannot swim and I have anemia which means I have an intolerance to cold. I was hesitant to book this tour due to the feedback regarding the cold water. I'm however glad I did! I forgot about the temperature of the water the second I began interacting with the animals. I did not want to leave! ...and the guide in the water stayed with me the whole time (being I can't swim). I'll definitely do this tour again!!!! Highly recommended.
Sea lions
Gail M, Aug 2019
The crew was excellent. Unfortunately it was a cloudy and cold winter day in Lima. The water was very rough so both my husband and I got seasick. We were unable to go in the water. We did enjoy seeing all the sea lions and penguins.
Sea Lion Fun
Jordan_H, Jul 2019
I had a great time swimming with the sea lions. Take the sea sickness pill offered, it gets rough, 2/7 people got sick. Ask for goggles to look under the water. Be prepared for very cold water and very smelly sea lions. Bring a full change of clothes to change out of your swimsuit after. Have fun!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Good experience
FarAway56284846849, Jun 2019
Awesome experience with the sea lions and saw thousands of birds which were beautiful. Would have ranked higher but we had a Speed boat instead of yacht (saw other groups in much nicer vessels) and Not very much information was provided about the species seen.
Response from Host, Jun 2019
We are very sorry we had to use a speed boat instead of our yacht that day. We apologize for these inconveniences.
March 2019
Jeanne_N, Mar 2019
Tout was exactly as stated, but several were under the impression that you got off the boat to see islands. You pass an old island prison and one that is used by the military. Ride is rough, they offer sea sick pills upon departure. Several wish they would have done that. No wet suit no flippers. Provided a life vest. Should know how to swim to be enjoyable
...

Questions?

Product code: 20336P4