Traditional Slovenian Dinner and Show - Reviews

From USD $ 48.80 View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Advertisement
Advertisement
Viewing All 17 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sweeney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2018

Great evening--small intimate group with lots of audience participation offered. Lovely people all around.

Henry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2018

This tour was amazing!

Julianna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2017

My husband is from Slovenia, so I thought he might find this a bit cheesy. However, we both enjoyed it immensely and would highly recommend the Traditional Slovenian Dinner to anyone!

Virginia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2017

A delicious taste of Slovenia, in one evening

This was our first trip to Slovenia, and sadly, we only had one day - so we searched for a way to enjoy some of the local food and culture, in a fun, welcoming environment. Gostilna Sestica and the Traditional Slovenian Dinner and Show, turned out to be all we could have hoped for. We arrived early, walking from our hotel. Some places might have been stressed at the early arrival, but Matevs and company promptly seated us, bringing us our welcoming schnapps and wine. The event included those drinks, appetizers, salad, entree and dessert. However, as we had had a long day hiking to Bled Castle and driving from Venice, we ordered beer before the starting time.....again, everyone took our non-standard order in stride. So.....first the food: starting with mixed appetizers of two kinds of sausages, pickles, 2 cheeses, and bread - wonderful, flavorful and well presented. Then a salad - just the right size to cleanse the palate as well as fresh with some kind of grain topping barley perhaps? that was unusual and appetizing. Entree - well, I'm a Czech girl and the fried chicken tasted just like what grandma used to make - accompanied by an extremely tender slice of pork, with gravy and mashed potatoes. We both left as members of the clean plate club. Dessert was poached pear I believe in a red wine sauce but I could be mistaken with a wonderful custard. Bottom line, the food, presentation and service alone made our evening a hit. But.....then the entertainment and educational part of the evening hit it out of the park. Again Matevs stepped forward, this time as our master of ceremonies - introducing 3 pairs of dancers in traditional garb of a particular region as I recall, it was Krakow - Slovenia, not Poland describing the various articles of clothing and explaining a bit of the background. He did an exception job of informing without being pedantic and got everyone in the spirit of the moment. Truly a fine host. The dancers and accompanist who were all gifted performers demonstrated several styles of dance. However, another fun aspect of the evening was involving the guests to participate which was great fun for those performing as well as those observing. All in all, a wonderful evening

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2017

This was one of the best dinner and shows we have been to. Such a nice warm welcome with fruit and drinks, down to the singing and dancing. Love how they interacted with the guests and got everyone involved in the dancing. We had trouble with where the location was at. But I received both a call and email letting me know where we needed to be.

faris.mssfeui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2017

Unforgettable moment with my wife, having a traditional Slovenian dinner with dance and games, we do really loves it.
with personalized services and hospitality given by the manager, makes us feel so pleased..

By the time we revisit Slovenia, surely we will going back here..


notes:
at the beginning we've quiet confuse since we thought the CP would welcome us on the front gate,
besides there was a huge group coming as well.
Hence I need to call her. just to make sure we are not entering the wrong restaurant, and feel worried at the first 10 minutes, but then after the CP / manager come to us, all seems running well.

gulsenesgi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2017

very good tour

Gregor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2017

Absolutely beautiful dancing and costumes. Two hour flew by! It was lovely to finish the day on such a positive and lovely note. The dancers looked so sweet, the show made me well up with happiness. The food is great and the location in only five minutes walk from famous Tripple bridge. Well worth the money and there's nice souvenir you get after the show. I recommend Traditional Slovenian Dinner to everybody who visits Ljubljana, Slovenia.

Daniel T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I was looking forward to this event to experience the traditional folklore of Slovenia and was not disappointed. The show took place in restaurant 5 min walk from famous Triple Bridge. Walking through the door we were welcomed by folklore groupe, they offered us dried fruits and a local spirit.
There were also other guests, but no more than two dozen making cozy, and pristine atmospheree.
The food vas great, 3 course menu ending with poached pear in spiced red wine- delicious. Musicians and dancers make a joyful and cheer show accompanied by song, dance, and singing.
I also figured out how to improve my polka dance skills
Overall a pleasant evening...

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Slovenian evening fulfilled all my expectations. My daughter and I found the location right away, 5 minutes from hotel Turist in city center. At the entrance we were greeted by boys and girls dressed in traditional costumes and liquer borovnicevec was great! Food was excellent and my picky daughter ate pear in teran sauce. We played a game with hats and had great time with other guests. Night was fulfilled with folclore and dancing. If you are interested in heritage and good traditional food, then this is something you can't miss.

Tiffani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing experience! The hostess was very lovely and helpful! The food and entertainment were GREAT!

Crystal T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fabulous! The dancers were so engaging, putting on a great show and involving the audience in the fun. The food was good, and of course the Schnapp's and Slovenian wine were a treat. Excellent!

Sherrie M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2017

This was a fun evening and a fun introduction to Slovenian food and folk traditions. The staff was very accommodating and went out of their way to make us feel welcome, despite the fact that we had come as individuals when everyone else was with tour groups.

As a negative, we had some difficulty finding the restaurant. It is located in a below-ground pedestrian mall and the signage is not in English.

Also, the restaurant does not have A/C and was very hot during a summer heatwave. I felt very badly for the staff and performers!

Lee H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2017

We felt that the restaurant was trying to rush things almost like they had a second sitting. The food was ok but not great although we did get enough food.

Barbara W

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The meal in restaurant was OK and the dancing was a little basic. This could be a lot better, but it did give you a taste of the traditional Slovenia.

Linda USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2017

Dinner took place at Skriti Kot Restaurant. While the host gave us an extra cordial and the food was decent, the folklore show itself was lacking in both quality and length of performance. It was disappointing as the highlight should have been the performance. And to pay over $80 for two for this???

James N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

I was on my own no one showed up from the travel company. Had a lot of trouble getting people at restaurant to understand i had paid for the dinner. IT IS LIKE THEY NEVER SAW A VOUCHER.

Note from Viator: Thank you for your message. We have received an e-mail from the tour operator concerning your complaint and we wanted to include some of their response.

As per the inclusions and exclusions for this tour, Hotel Pickup and Drop off is not included. You would need to make your own way to the venue. However, the tour operator said you were staying very close (within a block or so) and that you would have no difficulty getting to the restaurant.

The Tour Operator said they were able to receive your voucher without issue, and they also have your information written down in a list of booking confirmations they have for that evening. Customers should feel confident that they are able to take part in the evening without issue. Just be sure to follow all of the instructions on your voucher for reconfirmation and meeting your tour.

We do hope this information helps you, and future travelers in having the smoothest possible tour experience. Thank you again for your message, and we wish you Happy Travels.

Viewing 1 of 1

Page: 1

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message