Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"
Book online or call: (888) 651-9785

Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London

Badge of ExcellenceGreater London, United Kingdom
Likely to Sell Out

From $97.44

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Reserve Now & Pay Later
Secure your spot while staying flexible
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 10 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Experience a wealth of England’s rural and historical treasures, and the fictional ‘Downton Abbey’ village, on this full-day trip from London with an expert guide. Marvel at splendid Blenheim Palace, the UNESCO-protected country house where Sir Winston Churchill was born, and discover the enchanting scenery of the Cotswolds, with visits to an idyllic village: either Bibury or Bourton-on-the-Water. Lastly, explore the pretty village of Bampton to see some of the locations where the much-loved TV series, ‘Downton Abbey’, was filmed, and enjoy time for lunch here before returning to London.
  • Full-day trip to Blenheim Palace, the Cotswolds, and Downton Abbey village from London, led by an expert guide
  • Explore Blenheim Palace, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and the birthplace of Sir William Churchill
  • Revel in the quintessentially English villages and thatched-roof houses of the Cotswolds from the comfort of a luxury coach
  • Visit the charming village of Bibury or Bourton-on-the-Water
  • Enjoy a walking tour of the village of Bampton, featured in Downton Abbey as Downton village
  • Please note a visit to Highclere Castle is not included

What's Included

  • Professional guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Free WiFi on coach
  • Vox Headset
  • Blenheim Palace, State Rooms and Gardens
  • Optional gratuities
  • Food and beverages
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Victoria Coach Station
    Victoria Coach Station, 164 Buckingham Palace Rd, London SW1W 9TP, UK

    Tour departs at 9 am (boarding at 8.30 am), Victoria Coach Station, Gate 1-5

Start time

09:00 AM

End point

  • Victoria Station
    Victoria Station, London SW1V 1JT, UK

    Tour finishes near Victoria Station

What To Expect

Depart Victoria coach station by comfortable, air-conditioned coach, and travel northwest into scenic Oxfordshire.

After approximately 1.5 hours on the road, stop at UNESCO-listed Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir William Churchill. Head inside, put on your audio headsets to hear commentary from your guide, and stroll around the opulent State Rooms of this magnificent stately house, built in the 1700s. Admire the priceless artworks and tapestries that adorn the walls and view the formal gardens on a leisurely walk in the grounds.

Back aboard your coach, soak up the views of the gorgeous Cotswolds region, where rolling green hills give way to stone-built market towns and thatched villages. Stop in at one of two charming villages: the picture-postcard hamlet of Bibury, to amble past its famous weavers’ cottages, originally built as a wool store in 1380, and the 12th-century St. Mary's Church.

Or, drive on to idyllic Bourton-on-the-Water, sometimes known as ‘Little Venice’ for the series of handsome low bridges that cross the Windrush River that flows through the village center. Amble through the lanes and admire the lush greens, quaint shops, and stone banks along the riversides.

Finally, continue to Bampton, the classic English village that doubled as fictional Downton village in the famous TV drama series of Downton Abbey. View the church where Lady Mary and Matthew Crawley were wed and the house that served as Isobel Crawley’s home. Pass the old school that was Downton Hospital and buildings that starred as two village pubs. While you’re here, take the opportunity to relax over lunch (own expense) at a local restaurant or café, and then return to London where your trip finishes at Westminster.

Blenheim Palace

This awe-inspiring stately home, the current private residence of the 11th Duke and Duchess of Marlborough, is perhaps best-known as the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. Admire the stunning details behind the portraits, tapestry and furniture in the lavishly decorated State Rooms, which includes furniture ornate furniture by Boulle, Savonniere carpet and the iconic 'Victories' series of tapestries celebrating the Duke's victory over the French armies of 'The Sun King', Louis XIV, at the Battle of Blenheim. Enjoy a stroll through the beautifully landscaped formal gardens and more than 2,000 acres of parkland, or walk in the footsteps of Sir Winston Churchill; visit his most cherished outdoor places on the grounds of Blenheim Palace, including the spot where he proposed to Clementine Hozier.

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Bampton Heritage & Visitor Centre

Our final stop of the day sees us visit the picturesque village of Bampton; the filming location for many of the famous landmarks featured on the popular period drama television series, Downton Abbey. You’ll see the buildings that played the part of the home of Isobel Crawley, the Downton Cottage Hospital, the church, and also the location for two fictional local pubs, The Grantham Arms and The Dog & Duck.

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please Note: this tour does not visit Highclere Castle
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 51 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

about cancellations.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:What is the policy on sanitization during Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London?

A:The policies on sanitization are:
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized

Q:What is the social distancing policy during Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London?

A:The policy on social distancing is:
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons

Q:What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds Day Trip from London?

A:The policy on staff health & safety is:
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips


The trip itself is wisely planned giving you enough time to see the most.
Reviews
4.5
248 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 248 reviews
Great day in the Cotswolds.
Rob_G, Sep 2022
Our trip to Blenheim Palace, Burton on the Water and Bampton was awesome. Our driver Walter was professioal and curteous. Our guide Ildi was knowledgeable and polite with a graciuos disposition. Ildi made our tour a rousing success.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hello Rob, Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so happy to hear you had such a good experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our top priority. We're constantly looking for opportunities to exceed expectations. We hope you come visit us again soon! Best wishes, Evan Evans Team
Not what I expected
DonnaKinnear, Sep 2022
I feel the tour was not worth the cost and the last stop was a waste of time, there was nothing there just a wee town with some shops. Very disappointed
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hello Donna, Thank you for leaving us feedback about the tour. We're sorry to hear our Downton Abbey Village, Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds tour did not live up to your expectations. Though it’s never easy hearing we’ve disappointed one of our customers, we appreciate you taking the time to share where we fell short, so we can improve going forward. Sending you our best wishes Evan Evans Team
Great tour guide brought...
Nancy_B, Sep 2022
Great tour guide brought all locations to be memorable and fun - provided great tips and recommendations
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hello Nancy Thank you for leaving us a fantastic 5* review! We continuously work to create good experiences for our customers, and we are thrilled to see we were able to offer you a memorable day! We hope you come visit us again soon! Best wishes Evan Evans Team
The entire trip gave us a...
Maribel_C, Sep 2022
The entire trip gave us a snapshot of the British countryside. The Palace was magnificent! I would recommend this tour! Our tour guide, David Simmons was wonderful!
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hello Maribel_C, Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you took the time to leave us this wonderful note. We do our best to keep our customers happy and we are glad that our hard work has paid off! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes Evan Evans Team
Save your money and time, rent your own car
trentd, Sep 2022
In the hope that I can save someone from wasting time and money, I'm posting this on the return trip to London. The day started fine at Victoria Coach Station (there is a Starbucks and Pret I the station although the bathrooms need some air freshener and hand soap). We arrived at 8:20 for the noted 8:30 boarding. You will receive a wrist band to note whether you have or have not purchased entry into Blenheim Palace as well as a Vox Box to hear the guide. Boarding actually commenced at 8:55 so no need to arrive at the stated time. The trip to Bampton was uneventful. The guide explained that we would go to Bampton, then Burton on the Water for lunch, and finally Blenheim Palace before returning to London. She noted that we should eat in Burton as we would need all of the time to fully explore Blenheim. Upon arrival at Bampton, we had 30 minutes total and saw the outside of what was purportedly Elizabeth Crawley's house on Downton Abbey as well as the church where Lady Edith was stood up on her wedding day. The church is neat but with only 30 minutes on the ground and 10 minutes of walking, you can't really look at the details. Especially if you need to use the restroom (note that the restroom requires 20 pence to enter). We left Bampton after 30 minutes sharp, took a left, and the bus couldn't get through. A quick backup and we were on our way to Burton (spoiler alert for the upcoming plot twist). We ended up on what seemed to be a bike path for several miles. Eventually, the road ended and the bus had to turn around by driving into a field and executing a 25 point turn. It was quite impressive and I look forward to more tours through areas that are apparently off limits to vehicles. After the 10 minute drive back to Bampton which reminded me of Nation Lampoon's European Vacation (look kide, Big Ben and Parliament), the guide notified us that we would be going to Blenheim Palace for lunch first (boom, plot twist delivered). Since it is not 1993 anymore, we decided to map out the route to Blenheim on our phones. It look like a 28 minute drive so not a deal breaker. But, apparently the driver does not realize that Google and Apple have maps so we missed several turns and took a full 45 minutes to get to Blenheim. Upon arrival, the guide mentioned that it was a walk from the parking area to the castle entrance (heck of a time for that notification) and we had 2 1/4 hours to explore. We dutifully started listening to the Vox Box and she let us know that she couldn't use it inside the palace and that the free audio guide was not recommended. Whatever, by now I didn't want to deal with either her or the driver so I was happy. We toured the house and wondered about a lot of it so I would say the audio guide is recommended by this tour participant. We had lunch at the Stable and it was slow and overpriced so thanks for the itinerary switch. Also, no gluten free food is available other than ice cream. We left at 3 p.m. on the dot. It seems that departure times are the one thing that goes smoothly on this tour. We backtracked for the third time of the day to go to Burton on the Water. The guide threw out some random observations on the drive but added less knowledge than a quick Google search.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Dear Trent, Thank you for providing us with feedback. We apologize that your experience failed to meet your expectations. As a whole, our company strives to provide our customers with the best experience possible. Please know that your experience is not normal, and we have taken steps to ensure that no other customers have the same issue. We would like to hear from you with any additional questions, comments, or concerns. You can contact us on 0207951777 or email us on Reservations@evanevanstours.co.uk We would love the chance to make things right with you and hope you choose to give us a second chance. Sending you our best wishes, Evan Evans Team
Not enough time at all
Janet_K, Sep 2022
We went expecting to have time to really look around Blenheim Place but not the case at all. Rushed in and out did not need the final trip to Cotswold nothing there would much rather of had this hour to see the castle, didn’t even get to the gardens, or exhibition let only complete the full audio tour. The guide and driver were really wonderful though .
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely comments about our guide and driver. We are sorry to hear that your felt rushed at Blenheim Palace, indeed it is a busy schedule and time at each location is limited. We will keep your feedback in mind when planning next year's itinerary and timings and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Evan Evans Team
Lovely day trip
David_B, Sep 2022
My wife and I had such a lovely day with John and Leslie! Lesie is very knowledgeable about the region and is very good at her job. It is a shame that Blenheim castle does not allow her to do her own guided tour as I'm sure it would be amazing, however that is not her fault John drove beautifully and wr got everywhere safely without being jerked all over the place!! Would definitely do another tour through these guys!!
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hello David_B, Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so happy to hear you had such a good experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our top priority. We're constantly looking for opportunities to exceed expectations. We hope you come visit us again soon! Best wishes, Evan Evans Team
cotswalds
cindy_y, Aug 2022
burton was beautiful but we needed A lot more time there. For me the village for Downton Abbey was filmed was a waste of Tom, as there was nothing of interest there.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hello Cindy, Thank you for leaving us feedback about the tour. We are glad that our team did a great job. We work very hard to ensure that our customers get outstanding service and it makes us very happy that it reflected during your recent visit. We agree that we would like to give more time at each venue however due to time constraints unfortunately this is not possible. If you have any queries please get in touch with us at reservations@evanevanstours.co.uk We hope you come visit us again soon! Best wishes Evan Evans Team
Downton Abbey was not the main attraction on this trip
Cynthia_A, Aug 2022
I had a lovely time on this trip but the The Downton Abbey portion was not the main thing which is why I booked this trip The majority of the time was spent at the Blenheim palace It was very interesting and very lovely but I was not expecting to spend so much time there We went to Burton on the water in the Cotswolds It was very crowded because the day was lovely I understand that but it was only a 30 minute stop Then we went to Bampton which is a small village where certain portions of Downton Abbey were filmed it was very underwhelming I was expecting a tour of Highclere castle Our tour guide was very nice and our bus driver was very adept at driving through the small towns
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Cynthia, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you had a lovely time. As specified in the additional info on Viator, "this tour does not visit Highclere Castle", we apologise if that was not clear enough. If you wish to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact us at reservations@evanevanstours.co.uk All the best, Evan Evans Team
It's not really Downton Abbey...
Maya_W, Aug 2022
It's not really Downton Abbey... I complained to the operator as they need to be really upfront that this is just some relatively filming locations from the series. It does not go to the castle. Really disappointed that our day was ruined. As we were on a time constrained holiday, we could not rebook. What a shame. The staff were great and I feel sorry for them that they have to explain at the start that the castle isn't included.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Maya, We are sorry to hear that you felt the need to complain about this tour. In the additional notes on Viator it is specified that "this tour does not visit Highclere Castle", we apologise if that was not clear enough. If you wish to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact us at reservations@evanevanstours.co.uk All the best, Evan Evans Team
Terrible Service
Joann_Z, Aug 2022
My husband was I’ll and I wanted to reschedule the tour and I was told I couldn’t reschedule or get my money back! Terrible customer service. I will tell my friends not to use your tours and write a poor review!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Joann, We are sorry to hear that you could not reschedule your tour. At Evan Evans we offer a flexible cancellation and amendment policy, allowing as little as 24 hours before travel on most of our tours to cancel or change your reservation completely free of charge, for any reason. Where guests have to cancel the same day or with very little notice under extenuating circumstances, we will review these reservations case-by-case – unfortunately in some situations we have already paid or committed to pay our suppliers and we’re unable to facilitate a refund or date change. In these situations, we would recommend for you to check if you are covered under your travel insurance policy. Wherever possible, even within cancellation charges, we will do our very best to provide a refund where possible in extenuating circumstances or offer a date change – unfortunately sometimes this is not possible, and we are very sorry this seemed to be the case with your booking. Best wishes Evan Evans Team
Never reserve this tour
Leila_A, Aug 2022
Never ever reserve this Tour.Evans Evans are hustlers . I was on my way to pick up location.It was subway strike in London. I called and texted Evans Evans and boat out and told them I be a few minutes late but they just hanged up. I missed the bus just 5 minutes late and they didn't refund my money although it was not my fault and was an unexpected event. I even lost my bag on my way to this horrible greedy bad omen tour.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Leila, We are sorry to hear that you arrived five minutes late, however we are instructed by Victoria Coach Station to close departure gates two minutes before departure and to depart on time to avoid a hefty fine. This is the reason why we recommend guests to arrive 30 minutes before departure time. Unfortunately as we have already paid or committed to pay our suppliers, we are unable to facilitate a refund for delayed passengers. In these situations, we would recommend for you to check if you are covered under your travel insurance policy. All the best, Evan Evans Team
Blenheim Palace and Cotswolds
Irina_L, Aug 2022
Blenheim Palace was beautiful, could have used more time to explore the grounds and gardens. On the other hand, I felt it was too much time in Bourton on Water, especially since most places closed at 5 pm, so staying till 5:30 pm there made no sense. Also, the tour is advertised as Downtown Abbey, but we hear almost nothing about that. The tour guide was very good.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Irina, Thank you for your 4* review and lovely comment about our guide. We will definitely take your feedback into account when planning next year's itineraries. Best wishes, Evan Evans Team
Viator Sucks
Laurie_S, Aug 2022
I will never use Viator again. Real customer service is non-existent. I sent a message explaining that there were issues with locating the bus for the tour to Downton Abbey. Initially I requested a refund. When that was refused, I requested to change the date. All I got were email responses that are obviously bot-generated. This is not the first time I have had a bungled trip through Viator. I am going back to Booking.com, which is the lesser of two evils.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Laurie, We are very sorry to hear your feedback about finding Victoria Coach Station. The majority of our day tours depart from Victoria Coach Station, and when guests make their reservation this is clearly stated as the departure point with instructions of how to find the location, as is the case with Viator. At Evan Evans we offer a flexible cancellation and amendment policy, allowing as little as 24 hours before travel on most of our tours to cancel or change your reservation completely free of charge, for any reason. Where guests have to cancel the same day or with very little notice under extenuating circumstances, we will review these reservations case-by-case – unfortunately in some situations we have already paid or committed to pay our suppliers and we’re unable to facilitate a refund or date change. In these situations, we would recommend for you to check if you are covered under your travel insurance policy. Wherever possible, even within cancellation charges, we will do our very best to provide a refund where possible in extenuating circumstances or offer a date change – unfortunately sometimes this is not possible, and we are very sorry this seemed to be the case with your booking. Best wishes, Evan Evans Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
It was a very interesting...
Yuri_D, Aug 2022
It was a very interesting trip - the Blenheim palace and the surrounding garden + lake are very beautiful. The guide (Andy) was great - very knowledgable and communicative and explained everything in a funny manner.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hello Yuri_D, Thank you for leaving us a 5* review! We work hard to offer high-quality service to every guest, and it makes us happy to see you had a wonderful experience with us. We will share this feedback with Andy so they get the recognition that he deserves. He will be delighted to hear your feedback. We hope to see you again soon on another one of our tours. Best wishes Evan Evans Team
Must go
Deepali_J, Aug 2022
Great trip with knowledgable guide. Kavin was our guide for the trip and he did justice to his work. thanks
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Deepali_J, We would like to thank you for your kind words and for sharing it with the rest of the community. Our team works very hard to provide the best service and it makes us very happy that it reflected during your visit to our establishment. We hope you come visit us again soon! Best wishes Evan Evans Team
More Cotswold instead of Downtown Abby
alanklo000, Aug 2022
Downtown Abby trip is interesting, used for marketing rather than a very nice attraction. Better spend the time to see another Cotswold town while people can also have lunch on their own because the Cotswold is really beautiful.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Dear Alan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you found the trip very nice and comfortable, and welcome your feedback. In general, Downtown Abbey Village is a very popular inclusion on this tour as fans of the TV series have the opportunity to see some real life filming locations, although we appreciate this might not be as interesting for those who are not fans of Downtown Abbey, the village itself is incredibly beautiful and we usually spend 30 minutes there. However, if you would like to spend more time at the cotswolds then we do offer a small group tour of just visiting the beautiful villages of the cotswolds. All the very best, Evan Evans Team
Very lovely trip. Wish we...
Maria_P, Aug 2022
Very lovely trip. Wish we could spend more time in the Cotswolds. We had a wonderful time. Also Blenheim palace was gorgeous 🫠 I would go again.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hello Maria_P, Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so happy to hear you had such a good experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our top priority. We're constantly looking for opportunities to exceed expectations. We hope you come visit us again soon! Best wishes, Evan Evans Team
Great day trip
Hadia_A, Jul 2022
We had a great time on this trip. Kevin was a wonderful tour guide with a great personality that entertained us with stories and historical quips throughout without losing any of his enthusiastic energy. The time spent on each stop was appropriate and we got home on time
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Hello Hadia, Thank you for leaving us this fantastic 5* review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us soon! Best wishes Evan Evans Team
Worth the trip!
Nancy_G, Jul 2022
The drive was lovely and our guide Andy was great (as was the driver). Blenheim Palace is beautiful and has a fascinating history (plus a bonus Harry Potter sight). My one big piece of advice for anyone going on this adventure: we found that there was too much time at the palace and not enough time at the villages we visited, so I suggest eating at the palace so you have more time to explore the village without having to make time to grab a bite. The only real complaint I have is that the coach windows were in desperate need of a good wash! Overall it was a great way to spend the day outside of London.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Nancy, Thank you for your 4* review and lovely comments about our guide Andy. We are glad to hear that you had a great day out and we hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Evan Evans Team
...

Questions?

Product code: 3858EE019